Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 303 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Ghosts are an untraceable unit of soldiers who hunt down high value targets in the highest-risk conflict zones around the world. In the near future, four of these elite soldiers form the tip of the spear in a hidden war simmering world-wide. As the Ghosts accomplish their objectives, they discover a far greater threat - one that could permanently alter the international balance of power. Join the Ghosts – Control Sergeant Kozak and his unit through fourteen missions in eight exotic locales, from Africa to the Arctic Circle. Fight using the tech of tomorrow including optical camouflage, augmented reality and drones. Comandeer over 50 Weapons and customize them with Gunsmith Mode- Harness the formidable firepower of an army and optimize every aspect of your arsenal in the Gunsmith mode. Intense Multiplayer- four game modes, ten maps and multiple classes along with Ghost Recon's classic siege mode. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. May 28, 2012
    91
    Future Soldier finds the perfect balance between the classic tactical shooter experience and the more modern high-octane approach that today's gamers crave.
  2. May 24, 2012
    88
    An admirable amalgamation of all you fave shooters packed into one polished package. [July 2012, p.72]
  3. May 23, 2012
    84
    After a long and complicated development, Ghost Recon Future Soldier has resulted in a very good third-person action game. It is recommended for those who are a bit tired of frantic action other titles offer, or classic warfare first-person game. It is not as complex as previous Ghost Recon games, but it is also more accesible and implements great cooperative options.
  4. May 22, 2012
    80
    Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is a game that excels with its fantastic campaign, although I'm somewhat dissatisfied that I can't move dead bodies, which is possible in other games featuring stealth. Anyway, you will definitely have a great time with this game if you like tactical shooters.
  5. May 24, 2012
    80
    The multiplayer is engaging, whether you're gunning down your friends or enlisting them for team duty, and the gameplay never lets up, even though it bounces all over the place between non-controllable gunning segments, stealth and run-and-gun action.
  6. May 31, 2012
    75
    For a title with a famous author's name brandished on its cover like a medal of honour, frankly, Future Soldier's writing stinks. There's little to recommend the singleplayer experience, but ironically, those heading online to the plot-free pleasures of team multiplayer will discover the game's true strengths.
  7. May 31, 2012
    60
    A third-person shooter that feels caught between doctrines--it's not tactical enough to feel like a deep, strategic experience yet it punishes run-and-gun tactics just enough to prevent fans of those sorts of games from having a great time, either.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 129
  2. Negative: 19 out of 129
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game. Campaign reminds me of the old SOCOM games (1,2, & 3): very tactical and serious. The multiplayer is addictive and tactical as well. If you want a tactical TPS, look no further. Expand
  2. May 25, 2012
    10
    GRDS is a great squad based shooter that uses stealth and teamwork. The campaign so far has been pretty good through 5 missions. Its a nice change of pace from COD/Battlefield3. The multiplayer is fun also. Graphics look great most of the time. Really enjoying it. If you like FPSs then its a no brainer to buy. Expand
  3. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game since Saturday and I really like it. I stopped playing military type multiplayer games when COD BlackOps came out. I couldn't take the cheap, run & gun game play style. Calling in nukes is probably one of the stupidest things you could do in a game...makes no sense. A soldier cannot just call in a nuke, or an airstrike. There's certain channels you have to go through in order for both those things to happen. With that being said I decided to get back into social gaming by playing TC GR FS and I don't regret it. It's fun and for the most part, it's tactical. Yeah you could run and gun, but odds are you will get bucked. The game modes are all objective based which I don't mind. The gunsmith feature is really cool. This game is the thinkings man COD and that right there ...is high praise. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    I started playing this yesterday. The game reminds me of the Sniper ghost game in the way that you strategically kill enemies in a certain order to make it to the next stage. There is a lot more variety though having multiple teammates to work with, better graphics, more weapons, more strategy, etc...etc... If you liked Sniper Ghost Warrior, you'll really like this game. I can't comment on the online play but the single player mission is really fun. I had been disappointed about the Advanced Warfighter game mainly because it lacked any single player capability and I'm not much into online. Future Soldier is the game to buy if you want more of a single player experience. I usually like the 1st person shooters but the ability to switch shoulders holding the weapon was a nice feature for the 3rd person view. I only started playing this game but I foresee many more hours of fun. It has great graphics and the strategic addictive quality of eliminating the enemy in different ways (not as linear as Sniper was.). This makes it different than the typical shooters since running and gunning usually gets you killed or spotted. It almost feels like a real-time version of xcom (when battling the enemy) except more of a feeling of being live in the actual battle ordering your teammates to take out strategic positions (or take them out yourself). If you like this game, you may want to look at Brothers In Arms Highway to Hell (older strategic shooter but currently still pricey) I am still curious on how the kinect is going to work with this game. I do feel as though I got my $30 worth of a game and more, Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    The single player campaign is your pretty run of the mill military shooter campaign. Some parts of the missions are pretty linear but others offer a few varieties in ways you can accomplish your goal. In some cases though I found there is a formula to how/and who to shoot and when. I found myself in 1 mission, doing everything quietly and perfectly, the way you'd think it needed to be done, but, the game failed to let me progress to the next checkpoint, because it didn't recognize that I accomplished the previous checkpoint, because apparently, you have to noticed and enter into a firefight. The gadgets and teams you have at your disposal work pretty well. Tagging enemies and setting up shots simultaneously is pretty fun and I found myself tagging people and letting my teammates take them out while I "overlooked" the 'battlefield'. Having a game with helpful teammates is definitely a plus for this game.

    The multiplayer is alright. Personally I have never been that big of a fan of third person shooter multiplayer. If you get on a good team and start winning, it can be pretty easy to keep dominating the other team.

    The graphics seemed pretty subpar for a "AAA" type game coming out this late in a console generation. Sometimes they didn't seem all that awful, but I found myself just laughing during some cutscenes. If I could I would have given the game a 6.5, but that's not an option apparently?
    Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2012
    6
    The campaign is one of the most riveting ones available on the market compared to other militar shooter stories, examples: COD, Battlefield, SOCOM and Medal of Honor. Graphics are great not excellent (Battlefield much better) concept and options (customizations) awesome. Online play- the worst of any shooter game ever!!! If you are an online gamer don't even bother buying this so-called game, the connection issues are unbearable and make you wish for a refund. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    If you are looking to enjoy a session of tactical gunplay with your friends ... look somewhere else. Games are only 6v6, lag problems are terrible, killcam replays are utterly nonsensical, the list continues. This game has been out for over 2 weeks and no progress has been made addressing any of the issues brought by the community. In fact, Ubisoft and the developers are completely silent. Please save yourself $60 and wait for something better. Expand

See all 129 User Reviews