Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 220 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 220
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SteveM
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Honestly the best next generation online game evr created. The only reason games such as call of duty are rated better is because any one can play it its run throw a nade spray then die its sooo boring. However with vegas it takes skill and i can say right now the only people who dont like this agme is people who are bad at it.
  2. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Pick this game up for under $2 at Gamestop, it is well worth it. I wasn't expecting much but myself and several friends all decided to buy it. Terrorist mode is fun and it STILL has an online community.
  3. CFR
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    I think this game could not be better with the stunning explosions and the extra force on each bullet, the 4000 unique animations and the perfected cover system this game is the best shooter game on any console I have played so far I have 1 problem with the textures though on multiplayer and the tower top levels the graphics goe really blurred so please could someone help me.
  4. GavinB.
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Excellent game. The only thing left dragging behind in this game is sadly its slightly less "Able" Single player missions. Multiplayer is by far one of the best components of any game out for the xbox 360 at the moment.
  5. SamF.
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Awesome game.. as with other raters, I rarely play anything else. I got Gears Of War at the same time and it barely gets a look-in unless friends who don't have Rainbow Six Vegas are online. Otherwise, I'm on this. For the people disparaging the offline play, they're idiots. This is a brilliant, immersive game with great sound, graphics and gameplay. The controls are Awesome game.. as with other raters, I rarely play anything else. I got Gears Of War at the same time and it barely gets a look-in unless friends who don't have Rainbow Six Vegas are online. Otherwise, I'm on this. For the people disparaging the offline play, they're idiots. This is a brilliant, immersive game with great sound, graphics and gameplay. The controls are intuitive, the cover mechanics are superb and it even has a simple, but engaging storyline to tie it all together in a nice bundle. Online it is also tons of fun. Nothing is better than getting a couple of friends into a team and running through the co-op missions and terrorist hunts. Brilliant fun! Expand
  6. BruinsFan247
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    Ignore all negative posts on this game, it means only that the negative poster cant stand getting owned. I by no means am great at this game, but it brings back the fun that was Rainbow Six 3. Its all here. I havent b een able to take this game out of my console since I brought it home. No, the graphics arent what you might come to expect for a nex-gen game, WHO CARES! The game play is Ignore all negative posts on this game, it means only that the negative poster cant stand getting owned. I by no means am great at this game, but it brings back the fun that was Rainbow Six 3. Its all here. I havent b een able to take this game out of my console since I brought it home. No, the graphics arent what you might come to expect for a nex-gen game, WHO CARES! The game play is top notch, isnt that what matters? Some of the levels are too big, although "Street" is back for an encore (as well as most of the older maps im sure via marketplace download in the future) with enhanced visualls. Any fan of online shooters with an Xbox360, this is a must have! Expand
  7. AlexS.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    A fantastic game the most balanced and tactical Rainbow Six in years! So well done, the cover system is genius and the action comes thick and fast. The fact that the graphics are "washed out" doesn't really matter, the physics and grittiness of it makes it seem almost like real life sometimes, which, in my opinion, outweighs the graphics by a large margin. The online multiplayer is A fantastic game the most balanced and tactical Rainbow Six in years! So well done, the cover system is genius and the action comes thick and fast. The fact that the graphics are "washed out" doesn't really matter, the physics and grittiness of it makes it seem almost like real life sometimes, which, in my opinion, outweighs the graphics by a large margin. The online multiplayer is fantastic as well, being able to cutomise your character any way you want is awesome, especially with over 5 million possible combinations! The maps are so well mapped out, and the gunfights that take place are so tense and thrilling! Great fun to play, bastard-hard as well. Great game. Expand
  8. MichaelR.
    Oct 1, 2007
    10
    This game is with out a doubt the best game ever made.Its a great tactical shooter game,very smart AI, & it has absolutely the greatest graphics I have ever seen.Some levels were like a war zone and it was very intense from start to finish.There were no glitches what so ever.The only complaint I have which is the same complaint about all games is that its just to short.I beat it at normal This game is with out a doubt the best game ever made.Its a great tactical shooter game,very smart AI, & it has absolutely the greatest graphics I have ever seen.Some levels were like a war zone and it was very intense from start to finish.There were no glitches what so ever.The only complaint I have which is the same complaint about all games is that its just to short.I beat it at normal mode in 2 days.I imagine that the hard mode would take 4 days.Its definitley worth buying. Expand
  9. JakeT.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Give it a 9.5. I am a fan of shooters, and this one is top notch. I don't even know where to start. It is certainly one of the most balanced FPS games I've played. There really aren't any sure fire tactics that work all the time, which I like. You have to have different tactics for different situations. This game does almost as good at discouraging camping as Gears does, Give it a 9.5. I am a fan of shooters, and this one is top notch. I don't even know where to start. It is certainly one of the most balanced FPS games I've played. There really aren't any sure fire tactics that work all the time, which I like. You have to have different tactics for different situations. This game does almost as good at discouraging camping as Gears does, which means a lot to me. It is fairly easy to discourage campers in most of the game modes, which this game is surely not short on. Personally, the deathmatches on this game don't do a whole lot for me but many of the other modes are really fun when you give them a chance. One thing that bums me on this game, though, is the fact that they dropped the option of having the one handed low caliber grenade launcher instead of a pistol. I loved that from previous installments. The single and multiplayer modes are a blast. The game does require patience, so make sure you know that coming in. It is the perfect compliment to Gears, actually. It is super-realistic as far as games go. The guns all feel right on. The Co-op Terrorist hunts online totally rock. If you have surround sound and have been in a Casino before, you will be absolutely blown away by the sound of this game. Stunning. Don't listen to the naysayers and especially don't pay attention to the Edge Mag rating. There is a reason that their ratings are almost always completely different from everyone else's. They want attention. Good magazine, they just march to the beat of a different drummer on ratings. How much you have enjoyed R6 games in the past needs to be considered before you buy this game, though. If you like old R6 games, this one will rock you. If you hate them, you'll hate this one. You might like it online, but you'll hate single player. Expand
  10. TeroU.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Almost perfect shooting game with brilliant duck&cover -system.
  11. ScottW.
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    All I can say is WOW! Awesome graphics and gameplay. Rainbow SixVegas online is just wow really long challenging plenty of game types to keep you going and I think there should be some new ranks to get some more weapons that are really cool.
  12. DylanS.
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    This game is great, graphics, story, multiplayer, etc. But my only problem was the checkpoints, there wasn't enough. But overall this is a must buy game.
  13. StewL.
    Mar 8, 2007
    8
    Great game. Minus for bland graphics in multiplayer and not enough game options online.
  14. TimG.
    May 1, 2007
    9
    The Multiplayer is one of the best I've ever played, they just didn't take the same time on the story mode in my opinion.
  15. DaveA.
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Must have for fans of the genre, better than most games on 360. It would be in my top 5, there are some minor shadowing issues but overall a great experience single and multiplayer, my mates and I cannot get enough.
  16. RobC.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    As a previous soldier, this game defines what its like to really be out there in the action. Awesome.
  17. TrevorB.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    This is an excellent title and a "must" for any fan of console shooters. The story is great, the game play is top notch, and the environment/setting couldn't be better.
  18. KhristianRainford
    Oct 2, 2008
    8
    The Rainbow Six games always remind me of a more Arcade approach to the tactical based shooter series whereas Ghost Recon is slightly more strategic. Its a very very good game and the options of rushing and sending several of your mum in through another door works really well. It is a bit disappointing thouh when you find this is part of a series of games and there isn't aThe Rainbow Six games always remind me of a more Arcade approach to the tactical based shooter series whereas Ghost Recon is slightly more strategic. Its a very very good game and the options of rushing and sending several of your mum in through another door works really well. It is a bit disappointing thouh when you find this is part of a series of games and there isn't a conclusive ending..it sort of makes you feel cheated.

    SCORE : 89%
    Expand
  19. AronovitchJ.
    Nov 25, 2006
    10
    After releasing a disaterous Rainbow Six Lockdown, Ubisoft got their act together, pulled out all the stops and gave us Rainbow Six Vegas. The graphics are top notch, the storyline is compelling and (yes even though this is a Tom Clancy game) the AI for both your squad and the enemy is actually quite good. This is the Rainbow game we have all been waiting for.
  20. SionHughes
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    Awesome game I agree that the online multiplayer is a little sketchy but that can easily be overcome by its amazing gameplay and realism.
  21. SuperWolf
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    I must say that having not picked up a Rainbow Six game in nearly five years, I was not planning on buying this title until I downloaded the demo. Completely revamped from previous outings and the new improved duck and cover system makes for some of the most intense shootouts seen on the console (on par with Gears of War in this respect). The array of weapons is satisfactory, but I must say that having not picked up a Rainbow Six game in nearly five years, I was not planning on buying this title until I downloaded the demo. Completely revamped from previous outings and the new improved duck and cover system makes for some of the most intense shootouts seen on the console (on par with Gears of War in this respect). The array of weapons is satisfactory, but what's more impressive is the customization allowed, want a laser sight on your shotgun? I'm pretty sure you could do it if you want. Only real downside I have noticed is there doesn't seem to be any way to play split screen multiplayer over XBox Live. I have heard rumors that this is just a glitch and may be patched, since the manual (in all it's miniscule glory) seems to allude to the ability to do this, though the two sentences in the manual that explain how to do this are vague at best. Other high points are the environments (much bigger than previous efforts) and the team command control. Now that everything is context sensitive, you need only send your team to a door, where they will wait until you determine what action they should perform (breach door, smoke door, flash bang door) using the D-Pad. The game takes away all the micro-management of previous entries and has simplified everything in this respect, making the experience all that more immersive. Casual shooter fans may be discouraged by the high level of difficulty, even on normal mode (Realistic mode provides a nice challenge for the seasoned veteran). I could go on, but suffice it to say this game is a top 5 for the Xbox 360 library for sure. In fact if I could I would have given it a 9.5. Expand
  22. Pidgeman
    Dec 9, 2006
    9
    I loved the Rainbow Six games on the original X Box and so this was one of the games i was most eager to get on the 360 (Halo 3 being top). Ubisoft have not disappointed! The team command system has been slighly simplified from previous games and this makes things a bit smoother, i particularly like the enemy tag system which makes storming a hostage situation a little less nerve I loved the Rainbow Six games on the original X Box and so this was one of the games i was most eager to get on the 360 (Halo 3 being top). Ubisoft have not disappointed! The team command system has been slighly simplified from previous games and this makes things a bit smoother, i particularly like the enemy tag system which makes storming a hostage situation a little less nerve wracking. That does not mean that the game is by any means easier than the previous games, the enemy AI is much higher than before, and the single player campaign is challenging even on the lowest difficulty setting. Once again Rainbow Six really delivers online. All the usual types of team game are available, as well as co-op challenges through the story mode. The servers seem to be spot on and i have noticed no lag or glitches. Graphics and sound are both excellent really adding to the atmosphere and tension. All in all definitely worth the wait. A must have. Expand
  23. FredrickZ.
    Jan 10, 2007
    9
    I gave this a 9 for one very good reason. I friggin love this game but I did find the single player compared to the multi player kinda linear. But overall a great fun game. Usually I don't like Rainbow Six games but this one really changed my opinoin. BUY IT!
  24. JasonL.
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    I actually give this game an 8.5 and it is for one reason only that this game doesn't get a 9.5 or a 10. That reason is that this is the worst community I have ever had for a game. Trying to find a decent room is like pulling teeth. First off the servers don't really update, if you hit refresh and then you go into a room that says lobby the game will have already started and be I actually give this game an 8.5 and it is for one reason only that this game doesn't get a 9.5 or a 10. That reason is that this is the worst community I have ever had for a game. Trying to find a decent room is like pulling teeth. First off the servers don't really update, if you hit refresh and then you go into a room that says lobby the game will have already started and be 3 minutes in and then you just have to wait for the round to be over or try again. Sometimes when you get in a room and wait for the round to be over the host ends the game and once again you are back to square one. You have people that don't know how to host (they don't know how many people they can hold in their room), or the host just boots you for no reason, no explanation or anything. And then of course there are the in game problems like the host booting people off your team if they are playing well and crap like that. I have had a host actually wait till his team was in the lead, boot everyone on his team but himself and then just hide for the rest of the round to max out on points. I had one game where my team was playing against a clan and they were killing each other in front of doors so that we could not open those doors becuase the body was in the way (blocking all routes so we only had one way to go) and once they saw that we had pushed them back into their spawn the clan host booted everyone on our team. I mean the game is great and if you have friends that play it by all means pick this game up and even if you don't the campaign co-op and multiplayer make this almost a must have but don't be suprised if trying to play online frustrates you. Expand
  25. Gingerman
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    The most exciting, nerve racking, un-belivable all around game I have ever played in my entire life. Gigantic leap for the rainbow series. new rappeling, cover and physics system...uses every bit of power the xbox360 can squeeze out. This doesnt even feel like a game, this is a simulation for swat teams or something...after playing this game, any other shooter seems like a cartoon...even The most exciting, nerve racking, un-belivable all around game I have ever played in my entire life. Gigantic leap for the rainbow series. new rappeling, cover and physics system...uses every bit of power the xbox360 can squeeze out. This doesnt even feel like a game, this is a simulation for swat teams or something...after playing this game, any other shooter seems like a cartoon...even the holly grail of all games "halo". let me put it this way, i think twice sometimes...if I should put this disc in my 360...or play some easy, happy game like Fifa 07 instead...because frankly, some days I dont feel ready to experience the excitement and shell shock this game delivers...it that good! Expand
  26. FojakV.
    Jan 24, 2007
    9
    Interesting FPS, maybe one of the best for the 360, challenging, great graphics,engaging gameplay, pulse nerve action. Better than G. Recon with more feeling of FPS + tactics, SWAT team works well and act more intelligent than any other similar games. BUY IT!
  27. BenH.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    9!! Very close to perfect! Everything is good. I love commanding my guys to breach doors, flash rooms, etc They can be incompetent sometimes, but over all the game is realistic and you can easily get into it. 3rd person views are kinda dumb are hurt the overall "realism", and the 2 player should just be the whole campaign, but other than that it's awesome! I'm all about the 9!! Very close to perfect! Everything is good. I love commanding my guys to breach doors, flash rooms, etc They can be incompetent sometimes, but over all the game is realistic and you can easily get into it. 3rd person views are kinda dumb are hurt the overall "realism", and the 2 player should just be the whole campaign, but other than that it's awesome! I'm all about the tactical shooters and this one IS! Expand
  28. WillS.
    Feb 10, 2007
    9
    This game is great fun! Nothing really wrong about it except maybe the save system and sometimes A.I. is a little on the strong side. Everything else like graphics and gameplay, perfect!
  29. Jonathan
    Feb 5, 2007
    9
    Two problems keep this game from a 10, when you zoom in on your scope and run around, the scope does not move at all, but the bullets are very innacurate. this does not make sense cuz whether youre in motion or not, the bullets hit where you point at with your scope. second, there is no bullet physics, they are light speed like most games, and gravity and wind does not affect them.
  30. JeffB.
    Feb 5, 2007
    9
    This is a great first person shooter with many tactical elements. The online play is exciting and is fully worth the price of the game. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is due to the fact that the save feature is poor. In other words, it doesn't allow you to save your progress from a suitable point.
  31. RedXIII
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    This is one of the best shooters out for 360 right now, though it is not ultra-realistic it is far from a run and gun game, it involves strategy and team work. The single player is a lot of fun with many different levels from the streets in Mexico to Casino's in Las Vegas. The online is where this game really shines so many different game modes on good maps, you can create your own This is one of the best shooters out for 360 right now, though it is not ultra-realistic it is far from a run and gun game, it involves strategy and team work. The single player is a lot of fun with many different levels from the streets in Mexico to Casino's in Las Vegas. The online is where this game really shines so many different game modes on good maps, you can create your own character, and level up win or lose (though it does take a while to level up). But overall a great game, I haven't really been a fan of Tom Clancy's other games, but this one the non-harcore strategy gamer can pick up and play with no problems, highly recommended. Expand
  32. JanisP.
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    Greatness. Single player campaing is great. Even greater in co-op with 3 friends. Graphics are great mostly, some multiplayer maps look bad, but Vegas´s depiction of mexican streets beats Ghost Recon anyday. Firefights feel frighteninly real. The cover system is superior comparing to Gears of War and Ghost Recon 2. Weapon sound, greatest ever heard. Enemy AI in terrorist hunt is Greatness. Single player campaing is great. Even greater in co-op with 3 friends. Graphics are great mostly, some multiplayer maps look bad, but Vegas´s depiction of mexican streets beats Ghost Recon anyday. Firefights feel frighteninly real. The cover system is superior comparing to Gears of War and Ghost Recon 2. Weapon sound, greatest ever heard. Enemy AI in terrorist hunt is mindblowing. Terorrist hunt is endless fun because of the vast variation in enemy behavior. My only nitpick would be the 3rd person angle, ´cos it gives unrealistic advantage for the camping player. As it does in Ghost Recon. I know the blindfire is maybe impossible to simulate in 1st person only, but I´d like to see some game in the future to try to pull it off. Since I hate scifi elements in games, this is THE killer fps title for X360 at the moment. And probably for a long while. Expand
  33. JamesH.
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    Simply one of the best shooters available for the 360. The single player game is an excellent challenge, especially on "hard" difficulty. Its online where it shines the brightest though - this game has some real lasting appeal... Playing this together with friends is a real "team experience" and success depends on co-ordinated play.... All in all, inspite of its graphical inferiority, I Simply one of the best shooters available for the 360. The single player game is an excellent challenge, especially on "hard" difficulty. Its online where it shines the brightest though - this game has some real lasting appeal... Playing this together with friends is a real "team experience" and success depends on co-ordinated play.... All in all, inspite of its graphical inferiority, I really think this is better than Gears of War too. Expand
  34. Max
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    Very great game both online and offline. It's fun to play coop with my friends and I like every map they give you to play over Xbox Live. The only thing that bugs me about this game is that 80% of the games you find online take place on the Calypso Casino level (which is the gamers' fault not the games).
  35. MattN.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    This game is brilliant!! Personally i don't like the single player but when playing multiplayer with mates it is possibly the best game i have ever played. The take cover option means that you have to practise a lot. When you play it for the first time you get hammered, but when you get better and go to a better rank (i am captain At the minute,) you will think it is amazing!!
  36. FroggyDaFrenchy
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    On my third mission of the SP game so far and I'm loving it. Great graphics, amazing gameplay and fun story. Much more satisfying than GRAW in my opinion and quite possibly the best tactical and realistic shooter for the XBOX360. A couple of awkward respawns (behind you even though you cleared the room) and largely scripted and furious ambushes by ennemies do lift the "suspension of On my third mission of the SP game so far and I'm loving it. Great graphics, amazing gameplay and fun story. Much more satisfying than GRAW in my opinion and quite possibly the best tactical and realistic shooter for the XBOX360. A couple of awkward respawns (behind you even though you cleared the room) and largely scripted and furious ambushes by ennemies do lift the "suspension of disbelief" but not to the point where you just want to throw your controller at your TV. The game is very very challenging and normal mode. "Run-and-gun" types need not apply ; this is a methodical and ruthless military-style shooter. Gritty and authentic. Just the way I like it. If that's you think, I can't recommend this game enough. Cheers and happy gaming. Expand
  37. RandyM.
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Simply put, Vegas revitalizes the Rainbow Six series and the tactical shooter genre alike. With brilliant sound, graphics, gameplay and online play, it's easily the 360's must own title of the year that, in my book, beats out Gears of War.
  38. LB
    Nov 28, 2006
    9
    If you want "realism" join the military. If you a great tactical shooter with a great online mp, then Rainbow Six Vegas is it.
  39. MikeP.
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    How can Gears of War possibly rate better than this game? Man, I guess even professional critics are susceptible to marketing hype. RSV is a substantially more solid game.
  40. DaveR.
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    I will not waste time writing yet another review. This is definitively the absolutely best game on the XBOX 360 at this point. I am an avid gamer, I have played every title in the XBOX 360 collection. The game should receive a 9.5 out of 10.
  41. richk
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    It's first person in multiplayer same as other rainbow 6 games. I don't know what Perse K was talking about, HE never played it and he gave it a review of 1. It is the best tactical shooter on 360 and multiplayer is awesome. It seems like you are in a movie, sound , atmosphere is top notch.
  42. ACE5
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    First things first... Edge magazine is a U.K. mag. In america we have different standards for what games should be... A.K.A..."EDGE SUCKS!" With that said, anyone who doesn't like R6:Vegas just doesn't like shooters. With the amount of great shooters on the 360 (CoD2, G.R.A.W., GoW, and R6:Vegas), I feel like I have already been in a real war. I don't like most shooting First things first... Edge magazine is a U.K. mag. In america we have different standards for what games should be... A.K.A..."EDGE SUCKS!" With that said, anyone who doesn't like R6:Vegas just doesn't like shooters. With the amount of great shooters on the 360 (CoD2, G.R.A.W., GoW, and R6:Vegas), I feel like I have already been in a real war. I don't like most shooting games because I find too many faults within them, which is why when I say a game is good... it's great! CoD3 did not impress me. F.E.A.R didn't either. R6:Vegas is one of the first shooters that I am actually playing through again...And it is still fun! I really gave this game a 9 because the graphics are very good, I just wish they were a little bit better. But since people keep giving this game a bad score, I added another point to it. This game ranks with the best of all time in my book, and should be respected as so. Don't believe the idiots who say this game is bad, because they probably think that playing tic-tac-toe is hard, so they are in no shape to play a game of this caliber. Expand
  43. CoryB.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    It is an awesome game with the great ability of the squad. ALL I EVER ASKED FOR
  44. GatorB.
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    If you asked me to straight-up compare this game with GoW, I probably would not rate this game higher then GoW in any catagory, except one . . . Time Spent Playing. This game is a blast to play online or by yourself. The game levels are well set up and leave multiple options and strategy to clearing a room. The friendly A.I. works very well, although you get some typical enemy A.I. If you asked me to straight-up compare this game with GoW, I probably would not rate this game higher then GoW in any catagory, except one . . . Time Spent Playing. This game is a blast to play online or by yourself. The game levels are well set up and leave multiple options and strategy to clearing a room. The friendly A.I. works very well, although you get some typical enemy A.I. problems that plague most games. I think most people that dislike this game lack the patience that is required to successfully complete it. I Expand
  45. PaxtonC.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This game rules. Probably the best tactical shooter to date. The very slow rate at which you rank up in multiplayer can be discouraging, but the character customization makes it all worth it. That, combined with the T-hunt mode and epic campaign make this game one step up from a must-have.
  46. [Anonymous]
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    Wow! I'm not sure why some people didn't like this game more. I was a big fan of Rainbow Six on the PC and Rainbow Six 3 on Xbox, and if you liked those I think you'd probably love this. This one is a little more action focused, however, not quite as much of a tactical sim. I slightly miss the vocal commands you could give your squad in RS3, and this one has a more Wow! I'm not sure why some people didn't like this game more. I was a big fan of Rainbow Six on the PC and Rainbow Six 3 on Xbox, and if you liked those I think you'd probably love this. This one is a little more action focused, however, not quite as much of a tactical sim. I slightly miss the vocal commands you could give your squad in RS3, and this one has a more gratuitous action feel, with the unrealistic damage recovery and such, but I'm absolutely loving it. It is similar of course to GRAW, being another Clancy FPS, but the difference is that instead of laying down in cover with a sniper and seeing who moves first in multi-player, there is constant action with folks popping out left and right, and for me that makes for much better action. If you want less action, more stealth, play survival mode online, if you want gratuitous action and to be able to go boots to the shoot, then play on sharpshooter modes with respawns. They don't force you into one or the other this time, there are lots of on-line adverserial modes, so that aspect of the game is great. So our the on-line co-op terrorist hunts. I've spent so much time on those aspects, I haven't even made it to the mission mode, except for the first one, which I actually was having a blast with, I've just gotten so side-tracked by the awesome multi-player I haven't found the time for the rest of the missions. Anyway, if you like your FPS squad tactical games with a little extra action, this is great. If you want all strategy/laying in a bush and waiting while your squad handles the dirtywork or while you wait for the other guy to get impatient and leave cover so you can hit him with a sniper shot, then this isn't going to be as great for you as you might have liked, though you can still pretty much do all that if that's what you really like. Expand
  47. AndrewG.
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    A beautiful game that can be both really intense and frustrating on "realistic" mode, and a relatively quick but strategic blast on normal mode. Highly recommended due to the excellent cover system, and cool variation in maps. Coop is especially fun - my friend and I play it every time I go over to his place.
  48. Starbuck101
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    This is probably one of the best shooters since Halo 2, and is a game that requires Tactical and Navigational skills to play. I think this game is about even with Gears of War.
  49. Tazz
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    First to Boman..... they don't respawn! What actually happens is the enemy AI is smart. They leave their room or area to flank you. To avoid that is very hard. You have to be silent or close doors behind you. I just bought a 360 due to no games for my PS3. This is the best game I've ever played. Former Marine and in my 30s and this game isn't a cake walk. I do agree that First to Boman..... they don't respawn! What actually happens is the enemy AI is smart. They leave their room or area to flank you. To avoid that is very hard. You have to be silent or close doors behind you. I just bought a 360 due to no games for my PS3. This is the best game I've ever played. Former Marine and in my 30s and this game isn't a cake walk. I do agree that there should be a easier way to play online with friends but I think you can in unranked rooms. Anyway until Heavenly Sword or Lair prys me away I'll be playing Vegas. Expand
  50. Raein
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    Rainbow Six: Vegas is one of the greatest games for the Xbox 360 and hands down the best first person shooter for the console. The single player is long, entertaining, and fun, and the same can be said for the multiplayer's replay value.
  51. RastykR.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    I bought this game about 4-5 months ago and rarely play anything else. Can't say much more than this.
  52. SteveM>
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    AMAZING! Love the MP, love the SP, love the COOP... great fun all the way. Crank the difficulty up to Realistic, play Terro Hunt splitscreen with a friend... tell me that isn't great gaming!
  53. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    The king of FPS! Where is rsv3? This games owns, single player is crap but online is still the best, beats all cod games to date and battlefield games. It's realistic in damage but is a lot of fun too. Maps are spot on also. I hate ghost recon but I hope ubisoft make another rsv without copying the dead FPS years we have been through. NO KILLSTREAKS NO PISSING ABOUT WITH RESETTING RANKS!The king of FPS! Where is rsv3? This games owns, single player is crap but online is still the best, beats all cod games to date and battlefield games. It's realistic in damage but is a lot of fun too. Maps are spot on also. I hate ghost recon but I hope ubisoft make another rsv without copying the dead FPS years we have been through. NO KILLSTREAKS NO PISSING ABOUT WITH RESETTING RANKS! just hardcore death matches! Expand
  54. May 11, 2011
    9
    Rainbow 6 Vegas 1&2 are the best Swat team games ever made to date,in my opinion! They're not boring,have planty of action & tension,& yet is quite realistic at the same time.By that i mean the tactics you can employ & options available to you,Real life weapons & equipment,& can die quickly if your careless.The graphics are good,with some great detail,& its great that the game can beRainbow 6 Vegas 1&2 are the best Swat team games ever made to date,in my opinion! They're not boring,have planty of action & tension,& yet is quite realistic at the same time.By that i mean the tactics you can employ & options available to you,Real life weapons & equipment,& can die quickly if your careless.The graphics are good,with some great detail,& its great that the game can be played Co-Op online & off via Split-Screen,Though its a pity you dont get the cutscenes & storytelling when you play in Co-Op.Shame.. Which is the only reason this doesnt get a perfect 10. Expand
  55. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    It is a good game with its features but the gameplay is extremely hard when I started the game the check points where to scarce and the enemy's can take 3 bullets when you can only take one and there is about 20 enemy. If you like fps games and have money to spare you might as well get it but if you want a *{GREAT}* game for your money than this is not the game you want its not a greatIt is a good game with its features but the gameplay is extremely hard when I started the game the check points where to scarce and the enemy's can take 3 bullets when you can only take one and there is about 20 enemy. If you like fps games and have money to spare you might as well get it but if you want a *{GREAT}* game for your money than this is not the game you want its not a great game but it is good(and i see someone says that the only people who dislike are the ones that are bad at it that is not true. Me and my friend play games to 12:00 at night we play all different shooters and we are not horrible at them Expand
  56. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    The single player is quite bad. There's almost no story. But online is where this shines as a tactical shooter. It's so much better multiplayer than RSV2, more fun to play as well. The only real issue is that there's only 1 gun people use: FAMAS 6x scope. But lots of good and fun games have outstanding weapons. In every way, it's gun on gun action. A good player can dominate a bad playerThe single player is quite bad. There's almost no story. But online is where this shines as a tactical shooter. It's so much better multiplayer than RSV2, more fun to play as well. The only real issue is that there's only 1 gun people use: FAMAS 6x scope. But lots of good and fun games have outstanding weapons. In every way, it's gun on gun action. A good player can dominate a bad player regardless of what gun they use. Another issue with this game is major lag at times online. Collapse
  57. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This is in my top 5 favorite games ever list even now it still plays great sure the single player maybe a little weak but it beats the newer CoD games and battlefield games hands down and the multiplayer is amazing
  58. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    I remember when tom clancy games were great. This game is awesome, a lot of fun in this game, best in the series in my opinion. The graphics, and plot were great and the first person to third person mechanics are amazing. The dev team did a great job on this one.
  59. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    With absolutely perfect combat, an interesting story, an awesome assortment of guns, and arguably the best squad-command-based combat system of all time, "Rainbow Six Vegas" rightfully inserts itself into the Tom Clancy game empire.
  60. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Fun game to play, but short story line and limited in what you can do and where you can go.
    I only played offline, single player so I can't comment on the online or multiple player aspect.
    Good graphics and sound.
  61. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    this was the first real shooter for 360. got many awards and also goty editiion. i had 360 and ps3 version. it was my favorite game out of all for the longest duration of years. now that i dont have a copy, im ready for a new copy and miss it. Logan keller was my favorite g.i. joe for hella long
  62. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    The best first person modern military shooter this generation and for one reason only, the terrorist hunt multi-player game mode. With it's excellent AI and level design the terrorist hunt is still challenging even seven years after the game was released and best of all it could be enjoyed split-screen. This is a game me and my friends pick up to play every couple of months, it's a realThe best first person modern military shooter this generation and for one reason only, the terrorist hunt multi-player game mode. With it's excellent AI and level design the terrorist hunt is still challenging even seven years after the game was released and best of all it could be enjoyed split-screen. This is a game me and my friends pick up to play every couple of months, it's a real teamwork building experience (although, Dean, your crap. Sorry but you are dude). The game fails on the 10 for it's single player campaign, although quite enjoyable it didn't really have any memorable moments and it's more the gameplay and room layouts you want to master rather than being gripped by story. Overall a non stop giver of a game if you like to play with friends. Expand
  63. Nov 19, 2015
    9
    After experiencing greatness in the previous entries of the franchise, Vegas lived up to the Rainbow Six name. The campaign was realistic and a lot of fun. Terrorist Hunt was a blast with friends. The competitive multiplayer was one of the best on Xbox 360. This is what the FPS genre is all about. This is a classic.
  64. Oct 24, 2011
    0
    The single player is quite bad. There's almost no story. But online is where this shines as a tactical shooter. It's so much better multiplayer than RSV2, more fun to play as well. The only real issue is that there's only 1 gun people use: FAMAS 6x scope. But lots of good and fun games have outstanding weapons. In every way, it's gun on gun action. A good player can dominate a bad playerThe single player is quite bad. There's almost no story. But online is where this shines as a tactical shooter. It's so much better multiplayer than RSV2, more fun to play as well. The only real issue is that there's only 1 gun people use: FAMAS 6x scope. But lots of good and fun games have outstanding weapons. In every way, it's gun on gun action. A good player can dominate a bad player regardless of what gun they use. Another issue with this game is major lag at times online. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. 93
    The sprawling levels like the glowing Fremont Street or the Hoover Dam open up Rainbow like it's never been before, and the result is a balanced shooter that is as much close-quarter combat as long-range head shots...The best first-person shooter on the Xbox 360.
  2. It's the game's multiplayer mode that will keep us playing Vegas for years to come. This isn't just the multiplayer game of the year, it may actually be the best multiplayer game in the whole Xbox 360 library.
  3. 360 Gamer Magazine UK
    80
    Due to the easy-to-use squad control, advanced A.I., gorgeous visuals, realistic physics, and intense action, Rainbow Six Vegas is easily the best in the series. While the game has been slightly simplified - and is not a massive next-gen leap forward - the result is a fantastic, intense experience that few others can rival. [Issue 18, p.62]