Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 341 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash the force of the most lethal agent to ever exist. You are Sam Fisher, and you've been granted the ultimate license to protect innocents against an array of global terror attacks known as Blacklist - the freedom to use limitless power, to bend or break virtually every law, and to rise to the level of the world's most lethal operative. If you are successful, the President of the United States will deny your existence. If you fail, millions will likely face their deaths. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    92
    The melding of Conviction’s third person shooter elements and more traditional Splinter Cell gameplay are more than the sum of their parts here. No doubt about it, this is the definitive Splinter Cell experience. I’d even go as far as to say it’s the best stealth game of this console generation. Sorry, Kojima.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Blacklist is made with great care and full of content, whether online or not, for countless hours of fun. A package that's truly commendable, although slightly reduced by not very exciting AI, a factor that prevents the Ubisoft production from becoming a classic.
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    90
    Blacklist has it all. Perfect controls, highlights from all the previous games, a perfect focus on multiplayer fun without sacrificing the enjoyment of the single-player and a great presentation to finish it all off. It has it all, unless you’re looking for innovation. You won’t find that in this best of compilation that manages to feel like a new product.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    81
    Meaty chunks of great stealth game book-ended by identity breaking flourishes. [Nov 2013, p.56]
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    Blacklist should be the best Splinter Cell yet, but it’s held back by some unperceptive AI, the odd gameplay quirk, and a sub-par story. Even so, it’s still a great game, and both those put off by or attracted to Conviction’s action focus will find much to love here.
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    80
    Viewed on its own merits it’s a highly entertaining and feature-packed video game, and that’s all that really matters.
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    60
    By the time you reach the end of Blacklist everything has grown so big and so explosive that you’re left exhausted but not entirely satisfied, and maybe after all that incoherent action you’ll recall the time when a single flashlight in Chaos Theory’s Panamanian bank made you hold your breath.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 86
  2. Negative: 19 out of 86
  1. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    I hadn't been into the series in a while but, man, this game. It's like they cared. Like they made it for people like me. Forget COD run and gun jocks barking into your ear, Blacklist requires thought if you want to be elite. Favorite game of this year easily. Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    It is irrational that Conviction is better rated. Blacklist still uses the lead engine what makes it feel different from the older games but Ubisoft did its best to deliver the good old Gameplay possibilities and I think they did a good Job. Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Splinter Cell Blacklist, Ubisoft's next installment in the Splinter Cell franchise takes it further than any of it's predecessors. The game includes a good single player campaign with a nice variety of side missions which can be done in both Solo and Coop, a few separate missions requiring two players to initiate and last but not least the addicting Spies Vs. Mercs multiplayer mode. The Single player and Coop is enjoyable for a larger audience this time around, as players are now able to either play "Assault" and run and gun everyone in the mission or play "Panther", killing all hostiles in a stealthy manner without alerting anyone. The hardcore fans can play by Sam's rules and "Ghost" meaning that they sneak through the entire mission without taking down unnecessary hostiles and leave absolutely no trail behind. Additionally, the single player and Coop now feature a point system which rewards players based on their play style and the players can purchase upgrades for both multiplayer and single player modes.

    Splinter Cell Blacklist also features a new difficulty level called "Perfectionist Difficulty" which basically disables all the various assists you normally have such as the thermal vision see-through ability and the "Mark & Execute" ability making the game much more of a challenge and making stealth the key to success. However those are not the only differences, the A.I also becomes much more realistic spotting you easier than it did on lower difficulties while doing so legitimately. The different NPC Archytypes added to the game in general add a lot more depth to the game, forcing you to change tactics and adapt to the circumstances. For example we now have an engineer NPC which uses recon robots to scan the area for hostiles while disabling your thermal vision with his jammer backpack. Another example of the new NPCs is the armored guard. These guards wear bomb defusing suits and bulletproof vests making them much more difficult to take down compared to the average hostile, forcing you to change your approach on the go.

    The multiplayer mode is very well done, consisting 6 different modes including a separate playlist for the hardcore fans called "SVM Classic". No matter which class you choose you never feel overpowered as each class has benefits and disadvantages making them balanced and interesting at the same time. Each class has different and numerous upgrades and equipment available to them allowing the player to improve their character according to their play style. For example the Mercs have upgrades like jammer, armor and etc. and heavy machine guns while the Spies have upgrades such as gadget belts, proximity jammers, various goggles and etc.

    Like every game we know of, Splinter Cell Blacklist is much more fun when you have a buddy along for the ride. While the game doesn't require you to have a coop partner for 80% of the side missions it still rewards you for playing with a mate by offering quite a few different opportunities only available through cooperative gameplay such as dual executing and dual breach which add another dimension to the levels.

    I've waited for the game for three years and it has been completely worth it as the game has much to offer to both multiplayer and single player fans considering that it is also very polished and bug- free contrary to most of Ubisoft's releases. The only reason I don't give this game a 10/10 is that the plot scenario and ending could have been more interesting and although the new voice actor is good he doesn't do Sam justice like Micheal Ironside did in the previous installments.
    Collapse
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    I got this game with my purchase of GTA V and I will have to admit that I play that more than this. But that doesn't mean that its bad game because its definitely one of the best games I've played this year! Sam Fisher is a fantastic protagonist and the Engineer narrative is intriguing. The gameplay is also great, anyone can play however they want. Personally I take the stealthy path and when I do I discover a lot more and feel a lot more badass. The game also gives a lot of bang for your buck! Besides the 10 hour campaign there is also a hoard mode, a co-op mode (SUPER fun) and a fantastic reissue of Spies vs Mercs! Spies vs Mercs is insanely fun and is one of the best multiplayer modes I've played in a while! The only con is that the controls get kind've frustrating, the graphics aren't that great and there are a lot of texture pop ins. Great game though Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    6
    This game makes me furious.
    First off, it is NOT like Chaos Theory like you would hope it'd be. It is an OKAY game and is fun when it allows.
    The story is your basic good guys vs terrorist bad guys with no interesting twists or turns that make you care. Characters are 2D and as flat as you can imagine and the switch of Eric Johnson allows for some awkward conversations with his daughter and some weird gruff voice imitation and then more natural voice portrayal. It's ridiculous. There is a good amount of content, however replayability is really at a low. You never get to "play your way" in every sense of the word. The controls are abysmal and whoever programmed this game should be hung because they had the release delay to remove at least a good chunk of bugs and I'm seeing a whole LOAD of them. I can't have a play session without at least seeing 5 glitches or bugs. And if it's not the bugs that aren't letting me have fun, it's the controls. You will find yourself saying, "That's not what I wanted to do" too many times and if you don't, you clearly haven't tried out various movements. The multiplayer community is terrible, leaving matches left and right, likely because of the game attracting a larger audience of people who just want some quick fun. then the rage inducing multiplayer seeps into their emotions. The multiplayer takes more decision making skills rather than control skill. However, a good team is essential, as you cannot play without a good team, unless you are a beast. Classic mode is not classic btw and it's gotten to the point where nobody plays the game anymore, so you either find newcomers who come to play and leave or veterans. Rank does not matter, so a level 1 can beat the out of anyone because they can theoretically buy every equipment up front; they don't actually need it though. The music score is mostly terrible in game as you'll hear annoying electronic music. The tracks that are good are either by Kaveh Cohen or a part of the song. Patches haven't solved enough to make me enjoy the game each time I play it. Huge disappointment. Whoever said "Chaos Theory Killer" hasn't played enough or is swept up in the moment upon first playing it. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    Well, some of my friends say, that I judge the games and don’t even play in them. Well I completed this game on xbox. I completed everything I could complete. EVERYTHING IS COMPLETED. So I can judge the game anyhow I want.
    So let’s begin.
    That was the first game I actually completed from Splinter Cell Multylogy, but even in my first game I can say that it is completely SAME. Every single mission looks exactly the same as previous one. Just changed decorations. Like Call of Duty series from Call of Duty 4 MW1. There is also a no-weapons-for some-reasons-because-we-think-all-people-playing-TPS-games-are-masochists cliche. So it also looks same as other TPS. This was a general review. Lets make it more detailed.
    Graphics
    Missing textures somewhere are included so… True TPS I played on XBOX so graphics are like other TPS games, because xbox 360 cant make graphics in game better. Its just 1080p. Nothing special. Not PC. And stuff…
    Logic
    No logic. Lets continue.
    Sounds
    Russian version sounds nice. But also nothing special. Epic moments Epic music. Just walking around just walking around music. Nothing special. Just TPS.
    Gameplay
    BUGS, BUGS, BUGS. Like in pre-last mission with bombs. I fell on the ground and exploded for no reason. Just because And just TPS. Weapons are nice but too expensive. Also lets remember that black market weapons should be bought like: buy a plane upgrade buy 1 nice 6/ ‘bout 15 weapons buy second upgrade buy another weapon that you need after buying a Honey Barger (or something like that). That’s all. Oh by the way that 2 upgrades cost you 200k single. And weapons from black market cost ‘bout 60k each and aren't really upgrading. BTW nice fact. I completed game with sniper rifle… even in low range missions. OMG LOGIC!!!!!!
    Story
    Cliché. Game is cliché. Everything is cliché. People have you got any brains with fresh ideas in them???!!!
    You read till this place. Man your brain is made of iron!!!!
    So… MARKS TIME (like adventure time).
    Graphics 7/10 (just 1080p game nothing special)
    Logic 2/10 (no logic)
    Sounds 6/10 (everything like it should be, but still nothing special)
    Gameplay 4/10 (made me scream with really bad words like a girl)
    Story 5/10 (because of nothing special and cliché)
    7+2+6+4+5=24
    24/5=5
    So……..5

    By MrArtemka
    Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    0
    Me and a friend bought this game together in order to play through the co-op and mercs vs spies together, but Ubisoft's notoriously bad combination of Uplay and poor server connections made it near impossible for us to play together. As we scrambled to find solutions, sure that no company could allow an ongoing issue as big as the inability to connect to any friends on THEIR MANDATORY GAME DISTRIBUTION PLATFORM our hearts sank as we found out that people have been reporting this problem for around 6 or 7 months now. Obviously no headway was being made by the devs, so we set about to find a solution ourselves. About 2 hours of work later we both said screw it, no game is worth this much work when for years we haven't had issues playing any previous games together. There are about a hundred different forum posts about this, so I know that the problem is widespread, but Ubisoft forum managers always just claim that customers should contact customer support, which simply tells you to mess around with your firewall settings and the like, which is just general speak for 'we don't know what's going on, try some basic stuff to try and fix it while we do nothing on a more complicated level like trying to rewrite any game code or fix how our modems and servers work'. The software for smooth, clean co-op connection has been around for like a decade, only adding to our incredible frustration at not being able to fulfill the primary purpose for which we bought the game. Sure, you can fix the issue with a combination of firewall exceptions, port forwarding, deleting certain programs and a whole lot of other work, but it just isn't worth it when literally no other game has made me do this before. I feel cheated, and almost like I should be refunded for the unfinished product which no one is doing anything about to fix. While looking up fixes I found people claiming that this very issue happened with previous Ubisoft games for years and NO ONE FIXED THEM. I rate this a 0 not because it is a bad game, but because it was literally unplayable and unfinished to the point that I felt that I deserved my money back because I didn't want it going to a company with such terrible customer support or response to such issues. Expand

See all 86 User Reviews