Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 355 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unleash the force of the most lethal agent to ever exist. You are Sam Fisher, and you've been granted the ultimate license to protect innocents against an array of global terror attacks known as Blacklist - the freedom to use limitless power, to bend or break virtually every law, and to riseUnleash the force of the most lethal agent to ever exist. You are Sam Fisher, and you've been granted the ultimate license to protect innocents against an array of global terror attacks known as Blacklist - the freedom to use limitless power, to bend or break virtually every law, and to rise to the level of the world's most lethal operative. If you are successful, the President of the United States will deny your existence. If you fail, millions will likely face their deaths. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    92
    The melding of Conviction’s third person shooter elements and more traditional Splinter Cell gameplay are more than the sum of their parts here. No doubt about it, this is the definitive Splinter Cell experience. I’d even go as far as to say it’s the best stealth game of this console generation. Sorry, Kojima.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Blacklist is made with great care and full of content, whether online or not, for countless hours of fun. A package that's truly commendable, although slightly reduced by not very exciting AI, a factor that prevents the Ubisoft production from becoming a classic.
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    90
    Blacklist has it all. Perfect controls, highlights from all the previous games, a perfect focus on multiplayer fun without sacrificing the enjoyment of the single-player and a great presentation to finish it all off. It has it all, unless you’re looking for innovation. You won’t find that in this best of compilation that manages to feel like a new product.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    81
    Meaty chunks of great stealth game book-ended by identity breaking flourishes. [Nov 2013, p.56]
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    80
    Blacklist should be the best Splinter Cell yet, but it’s held back by some unperceptive AI, the odd gameplay quirk, and a sub-par story. Even so, it’s still a great game, and both those put off by or attracted to Conviction’s action focus will find much to love here.
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    80
    Viewed on its own merits it’s a highly entertaining and feature-packed video game, and that’s all that really matters.
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    60
    By the time you reach the end of Blacklist everything has grown so big and so explosive that you’re left exhausted but not entirely satisfied, and maybe after all that incoherent action you’ll recall the time when a single flashlight in Chaos Theory’s Panamanian bank made you hold your breath.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 88
  2. Negative: 20 out of 88
  1. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    I hadn't been into the series in a while but, man, this game. It's like they cared. Like they made it for people like me. Forget COD run andI hadn't been into the series in a while but, man, this game. It's like they cared. Like they made it for people like me. Forget COD run and gun jocks barking into your ear, Blacklist requires thought if you want to be elite. Favorite game of this year easily. Collapse
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    A truly great game. Improves the style of gameplay introduced by SC:C.

    The game offers loads of single, coop and multiplayer content. The
    A truly great game. Improves the style of gameplay introduced by SC:C.

    The game offers loads of single, coop and multiplayer content. The Stealth is a brand of fast paced quick movement stealth, not much like the earlier games, however it is a nice evolution of the gameplay and still feels plausible. You can even play the game gun blazing style, if you are very good.

    Co-op missions are super fun, best gamepaly experience of this year, nothing more to say.

    SvM is also great for a multiplayer mode.

    Graphics are good in terms of detail and textures, but not so much in lighting. Game still looks good though.

    Totally worth your money.
    Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Its so fun to play Spies versus mercenaries, sure happy they brought it back. The single player is a blast and coop is still just as fun asIts so fun to play Spies versus mercenaries, sure happy they brought it back. The single player is a blast and coop is still just as fun as Conviction's. Definitely a must play. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    I got this game with my purchase of GTA V and I will have to admit that I play that more than this. But that doesn't mean that its bad gameI got this game with my purchase of GTA V and I will have to admit that I play that more than this. But that doesn't mean that its bad game because its definitely one of the best games I've played this year! Sam Fisher is a fantastic protagonist and the Engineer narrative is intriguing. The gameplay is also great, anyone can play however they want. Personally I take the stealthy path and when I do I discover a lot more and feel a lot more badass. The game also gives a lot of bang for your buck! Besides the 10 hour campaign there is also a hoard mode, a co-op mode (SUPER fun) and a fantastic reissue of Spies vs Mercs! Spies vs Mercs is insanely fun and is one of the best multiplayer modes I've played in a while! The only con is that the controls get kind've frustrating, the graphics aren't that great and there are a lot of texture pop ins. Great game though Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    6
    This game makes me furious.
    First off, it is NOT like Chaos Theory like you would hope it'd be. It is an OKAY game and is fun when it allows.
    This game makes me furious.
    First off, it is NOT like Chaos Theory like you would hope it'd be. It is an OKAY game and is fun when it allows. The story is your basic good guys vs terrorist bad guys with no interesting twists or turns that make you care. Characters are 2D and as flat as you can imagine and the switch of Eric Johnson allows for some awkward conversations with his daughter and some weird gruff voice imitation and then more natural voice portrayal. It's ridiculous. There is a good amount of content, however replayability is really at a low. You never get to "play your way" in every sense of the word. The controls are abysmal and whoever programmed this game should be hung because they had the release delay to remove at least a good chunk of bugs and I'm seeing a whole LOAD of them. I can't have a play session without at least seeing 5 glitches or bugs. And if it's not the bugs that aren't letting me have fun, it's the controls. You will find yourself saying, "That's not what I wanted to do" too many times and if you don't, you clearly haven't tried out various movements. The multiplayer community is terrible, leaving matches left and right, likely because of the game attracting a larger audience of people who just want some quick fun. then the rage inducing multiplayer seeps into their emotions. The multiplayer takes more decision making skills rather than control skill. However, a good team is essential, as you cannot play without a good team, unless you are a beast. Classic mode is not classic btw and it's gotten to the point where nobody plays the game anymore, so you either find newcomers who come to play and leave or veterans. Rank does not matter, so a level 1 can beat the out of anyone because they can theoretically buy every equipment up front; they don't actually need it though. The music score is mostly terrible in game as you'll hear annoying electronic music. The tracks that are good are either by Kaveh Cohen or a part of the song. Patches haven't solved enough to make me enjoy the game each time I play it. Huge disappointment. Whoever said "Chaos Theory Killer" hasn't played enough or is swept up in the moment upon first playing it.
    Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2013
    5
    here goes.

    I could go on how ive played nearly every sc, I wont. from the first couple levels of blacklist I felt already the game was
    here goes.

    I could go on how ive played nearly every sc, I wont.

    from the first couple levels of blacklist I felt already the game was different, controls were snappier, a.i. was more aggressive and deadlier than splinter cell conviction but the overall game didnt feel as polished up.

    the storyline was a bore, but I wouldnt know too much because I primarily skipped around every cutscene, its great they allow this feature because this is a LONG game with LONG cutscenes...I can say for certain I felt pretty uncomfortable with the interrogation scenes as they are pretty brutal compared to previous splinter cell games...the game itself forces you to make some pretty bad decisions like putting a bullet to someones head while watching the person get shot multiple times or impaling a person with a spike until he stops suffocating and dies...brutal, am not sure why they included this in the game you always have the passive decision of letting them live but then you feel as though they got away. they should have figured out a medium in the cutscenes for dealing with the criminal, instead sam fisher seems like the terrorist, he always seems pissed off and short attention spanned unlike the previous actor michael ironside he approached things with more control and intelligence. which reminds me...the acting was terrible and the rehashed sam fisher sounds so unoriginal and cliche...to bad.

    as for the game itself. the cat and mouse gameplay was great, there were some challenging levels where you had to think twice on how to approach a level. lots of replay ability in this game i could tell.

    could not play multiplayer because i had downloaded the pirate version. but am thinking of buying the game for replaying the levels and multiplayer itself.

    there are a ton of gadgets and gizmos not to mention arsenal of weapons like sc3000 returning, different ways to customize them with acogs to redots. the guns seem pretty balanced and well thought out. as well as customize sam's suit, goggles,
    Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2014
    0
    Me and a friend bought this game together in order to play through the co-op and mercs vs spies together, but Ubisoft's notoriously badMe and a friend bought this game together in order to play through the co-op and mercs vs spies together, but Ubisoft's notoriously bad combination of Uplay and poor server connections made it near impossible for us to play together. As we scrambled to find solutions, sure that no company could allow an ongoing issue as big as the inability to connect to any friends on THEIR MANDATORY GAME DISTRIBUTION PLATFORM our hearts sank as we found out that people have been reporting this problem for around 6 or 7 months now. Obviously no headway was being made by the devs, so we set about to find a solution ourselves. About 2 hours of work later we both said screw it, no game is worth this much work when for years we haven't had issues playing any previous games together. There are about a hundred different forum posts about this, so I know that the problem is widespread, but Ubisoft forum managers always just claim that customers should contact customer support, which simply tells you to mess around with your firewall settings and the like, which is just general speak for 'we don't know what's going on, try some basic stuff to try and fix it while we do nothing on a more complicated level like trying to rewrite any game code or fix how our modems and servers work'. The software for smooth, clean co-op connection has been around for like a decade, only adding to our incredible frustration at not being able to fulfill the primary purpose for which we bought the game. Sure, you can fix the issue with a combination of firewall exceptions, port forwarding, deleting certain programs and a whole lot of other work, but it just isn't worth it when literally no other game has made me do this before. I feel cheated, and almost like I should be refunded for the unfinished product which no one is doing anything about to fix. While looking up fixes I found people claiming that this very issue happened with previous Ubisoft games for years and NO ONE FIXED THEM. I rate this a 0 not because it is a bad game, but because it was literally unplayable and unfinished to the point that I felt that I deserved my money back because I didn't want it going to a company with such terrible customer support or response to such issues. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews