• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Apr 13, 2010
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 538 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 538

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    No one will stop Sam Fisher, nor do you. Slick control is perfect for stealth and combat, strong voice acting gives life to the awesome story and the flashy black and white ( in the shadow) adds cool effect to it. The multiplayer is appealing, i set more with the co-op mode, versus is sometimes frustrating , but it adds tension. Conviction never felt so good
  2. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Tom Clancy really outdid himself with his latest installment of the "Splinter Cell" series. The game features heated, stealth combat in which Sam Fisher seeks the destruction of the corrupt Third Echelon (administration of the United states of America), after they have done much wrong to him, as the trained killing machine that he is. This game far surpasses a lesser shooter (Call of Duty, Halo 3, etc.) with the various features (in-game combat and battle) and challenges that I have come to love. I have had the game since April 3rd, 2010 (now 2012) and rank it among the highest in my collection. Such a masterpiece will blow you mind and leave anxious for the sequel! Expand
  3. May 14, 2012
    10
    Brilliant 2 player feature...and the fact that its a different story from the single campaign makes it more intresting...It literaly made me an my friend whisper in the living room..
  4. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Splinter Cell Conviction is another amazing game in the series. The story is great and the gameplay is just awesome. Original fans of the series might be turned off by the lack of stealth options but you still CAN complete the game without becoming detected and become the Sam Fisher that you know and love. The multiplayer is good but not great and without Spies vs. Mercs, many fans will immediately turn this down. In reality, the multiplayer/co-op game types can offer hours and hours of replayability and some of the modes are really fun to enjoy over Xbox Live. Overall, I recommend this game to anyone a fan of the stealth genre and kicking ass. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    I personally have never been a big fan of Stealth games like Metal Gear Solid , Hitman and Splinter Cell etc .... until now that is ! Right of the bat I'll say I loved Splinter Cell Conviction , it takes everything about Stealth games and finally makes them accessible to everyone. I'm sure alot of c more »asual gamers have wanted to play games like this but have always been put off by over complex controls and complexity. You dont have to hide bodies in this game and you can slip ito the shadows really easily , you can shoot out light bulbs to make the darkness you need , or you can go in more aggressively with this game , the controls are smooth and intuitive and the graphics and animations are superb. The main storyline is very standard revenge and betrayal stuff, but it holds the game together in a realy positive way, you actually feel satisfaction when you kill bad guys in this game .. just like the feeling you get in the movies ! The only downside is the length of the main campaign I finished it in about 8 or 9 hours although I'm already planning to play it again on different realistic mode to get some other Achieves. The game also has some great co-op modes such as the Story Co-op and Hunter and Last Stand modes, I hav'nt really played these modes properly yet and will edit my review accordingly when I do ....... " Play it again Sam ! " go out and sell both your grannies and get this game... Brilliant ! 9/10 Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    This is my first time playing a game in the Splinter Cell series, and my first time playing a stealth based game like this, and as a newcomer to both I can say that this game has made a fantastic first impression, the story is awesome and backed by phenomenal voice acting, the graphics are phenomenal, the game play and controls are tight and responsive, and it's just a lot of fun, it also has some multiplayer and co-op levels and they were fun, but the single player was my personal favorite part and is what will keep me coming back, so in closing as a newcomer to the series and genre I recommend it, it's the perfect jumping on point for newcomers, and I believe fans of the series will also love this, I mean why wouldn't they? it's so much fun, a truly fantastic game. Expand
  7. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    First of all, I just want to say this is not the Sam Fisher we've known for the past eight years. Since Fisher's last outing, a tragic turn of events turned Fisher's world upside down. Fisher is no more a government operative, he just wants to seek vengeance on those who wronged him, and by using any means necessary. Since the storyline has taken up a much darker tone, Fisher comes across a killing machine. This is by no means a bad thing, hand-to-hand combat is much more brutal along with the new execution feature which allows you to take out multiple enemies at once, using bullet time. The cover system has also been revamped, this allows Fisher pop out of cover, shoot, and slide into cover again. Enemy AI is effective and will use the same tactics to take Fisher down, this will force the player to use some light tactical elements. In terms of visuals, the game is built on the Unreal Engine 3. The engine might be dated now, but it's looking prettier than ever. The graphics are incredible, with sharp visuals and excellent lighting effects.There is some slight slowdown, but that shouldn't deter the player from experience. If I have to gripe at this amazing title, it will be the length of the campaign. One should be able to complete the single-player campaign in about four hours. However, if you want to get your money's worth, I suggest you make some friends and find a buddy to take on the co-op campaign. This is not a mere add-on, the co-op campaign has the same, high quality production values as the single player component itself. Splinter Cell Conviction redefines the franchise by altering every aspect we've come to expect from the previous titles in the series. These changes are welcome and it's easy to immerse the player into the story and the revamped gameplay mechanic. It is a fantastic game, and is obviously one of the best action games of the year. However, the experience is over all to quickly. Expand
  8. May 9, 2011
    9
    As a fan of the original Splinter Cells I don't think I was the only one who felt disappointed with Double Agent. A reboot or overhaul if you like was something that the series needed to breathe life back into the franchise. And Ubisoft apparently agreed as Splinter Cell: Conviction was all change for the series. The big question is would it pay-off? In one word; Yes! After trying out the demo at my cousins I immediately purchased the game and stole my brothers 360 to play the game and I wasn't left disappointed at all. The gameplay brings a fresh approach to SC. It will no doubt divide SC fans but I fully endorse Ubisoft's decision to bring a new feel to things and shake it up. You can take the stealth route (which is the best for me) or you can go all guns blazing, not all the time ofcourse and its not always wise as a few shots and Sam is down and out! The stealth approach allows you to plan to your method to take down an enemy and execute your move at the tap of a button. A new feature introduced is being almost invisible when you are in the dark areas e.g shadows and also when the lights are out. The storyline picks up with Sam in Malta before being contacted by a former colleague Grim who informs him a group of hitmen are on his tail, Sam ultimately kills them and is pointed in the direction of Kobin who is believed to have killed his daughter and warns Sam that her death was part of a bigger conspiracy and events unfold from there. At times the story drifts and is a bit all over the place at times and quite hard to get a grasp of especially if you are new to the SC games but it all manages to come together rather nicely with a few good twists and turns along the way. Visually its still typical Splinter Cell and there has been an improvement in that department with some great settings for missions. Their is now DLC available to further enhance your experience and also online multiplayer as well as co-op. Ive not played multiplayer reguarly to give a definitive view but from what I know it seems decent enough but leaves room for improvement. All in all Conviction is a welcome return to form for the SC franchise and the decision to reboot SC has proved to be a success based on the results and leaves it set up perfectly for further installments, all I would ask of Ubisoft, please don't make the next outing a 360 exclusive Expand
  9. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    I had Double Agent and sold it back almost immediately. I bought this used for $17 and I love it. This is a must buy, get it used at gamestop and you won't regret it. The only thing I don't like is the inability to remove weapon mods once they a purchased. The story is fun, coop is awesome, and weapon choices are great. I will probably buy the next installment new because if it's like this game it will be worth it. Expand
  10. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Conviction is overall a very good game. The stealth mechanics are top of the line and this is how the stealth genre should work, Fisher is easy to control and the story is top-of-the line. If the story were longer and if the AI wasn't so annoying talkative and for stealth there was a stealth meter because the blac-and-white concept caused some visual problems and if the story were a bit longer. The multiplayer is also dissappointing but the co-op campaign is a nice addition that gives a break from story mode. Co-op is not as good as story mode but still pretty good. Overall Conviction is a good game that does not fail to entertain. It is a good way to continue the series. Expand
  11. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Mind blowing game.i loved this game so much the only problem with this game was a very short campaign,Gameplay was awesome.I hope that in next installment we will have a longer campaign than this game.But overall this game is mind blowing for 3rd person shooters.
  12. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    Conviction is the perfect balance between steath and shooting, now instead of hiding in the shadows you are attacking in the shadows conviction is no longer about calm infiltration now is fully action packed the story is great and answers many questions about the events of double agent while the campaing is about stalking enemies the deniable ops is more strategy focused, deniable ops is a challange game mode in wich you can kill all enemies, kill all enemies while avoiding detection and defending a base all this modes are pretty challenging in big maps. Theres also a co op campaing with its own strory line and is sweet. Higly recommended Expand
  13. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Awsome game , Awsome graphics , Awsome meele , Awsome everithing , , I love how they searched every detail , Infortunaley it cant run with out lag in every pc, I dont have a pc Gamer so I need it to install Game Booster it help me a lot, but with out that its awsome , one of my best games 1710
  14. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    I was never a big fan of the other Splinter Cell games. Found them a bit clunky - all that split legged climbing up wall nonsense. Conviction was quite a bit different - and all the better for it. Some fan boys of the series might not like it but I did. This was one of my early purchases. The game was so good I played nothing but this - then on completion on medium skill, played it again on hard.
  15. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    In my opinion the best Splinter Cell so far. The graphic is excellent, the way the shadow effect are made, the way how Sam Fisher moves, the way how your objective appears lighted on wall, the after close-combat-take down gained system of Mark & Execute... On the other hand, the Splinter Cell series' fans might not like this absolutely new, bad ass, Sam Fisher. Also the game difficulty isn't too high, Conviction's REALISTIC difficulty is as hard as the original Splinter Cell's easy difficulty...

    The campaign is very well-done, the story is beyond amazing, maybe except flashback Iraq mission, which is totally different; it's more like third person shooter... The Interrogation system is also very nice, the way you can for example bake your prey's head in the oven...
    The multiplayer/CO-OP/Deniable Ops are also quiet interesting, CO-OP offers you another story, which works like the Pro-log to single-player. Multiplayer contains 3(4) different game types, Infiltration (which you have to download from the U-play store for price of 50 UP), Hunter, Face-off and Last Stand.

    I give Conviction rating 9; it has few mistakes, yes, but there's just a minimum of them.
    Expand
  16. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    Sam Fisher is a total bad*** in this game! No rules, no gadgets, no mercy, what an awesome guy! Though its not the same Splinter Cell we know, which is what the fans are complaining about, it'll definitely catch their eyes!
  17. May 27, 2013
    9
    I really love the Splinter Cell games. and after playing through Conviction multiple times, I can say this is my favorite Splinter Cell game. The story is very well written. I found myself wanting to find out more as the story progressed, and I felt bad for Sam Fisher in emotional moments. the gameplay is as great as always, but some changes to it I'm not a big fan of that much. the way you can now move around stealthily is when the screen turns black and white. no sound meter, no HUD, just staying in darkness makes you mostly invisible. I don't see why they abandoned things like the goggles and sound meters, but this change for the game is ok at best. The game controls very nicely; possible one of the best games I've controlled. the soundtrack is pretty good. some tunes are pretty catchy, but nothing stands out, making the soundtrack very forgettable. the graphics are among the best I've seen in a video game. the character models look very impressive, and environments in the game look beautiful. the voice acting in the game is great. all the actors do excellent as usual in this game, and even some new ones do their performances very well, giving this game excellent presentation. there is also co-op in this game, but honestly, I didn't bother as much with this. the co-op is very chaotic at times, since you have to help each other, and it gets more chaotic when split screen is enabled. Overall, Splinter Cell: Conviction is a great stealth game. the story is among the best I've seen, the gameplay, while kind of a downgrade, is still tons of fun, and the presentation of the game is excellent. Expand
  18. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    Splinter Cell Conviction is one of the best stealth games to date. Rather than have players bored waiting and using clunky controls; Conviction uses speed and smooth controls. With a story mode that isn't stretched out and has a much more brutal Sam Fisher; the campaign is paced well and even lets the regular action crowd go Gears of War style sometimes. The campaign relies on smart tactics and sharp reflexes-super addictive. There are also coop modes-campaign, elimination, defence and even versus modes for more gameplay. The story is fun and interesting, gameplay is fast and intelligent and there are plenty of hours to play. One final note is the light meter and cover system; the light meter is simple-when you are invisible; the screen goes black at white. And the cover system has you smoothly and precisely move from cover to cover, without getting stuck. Action and Stealth fans-this is a must own. Expand
  19. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    this is my first splinter cell game and damn!! it is the best stealth defining game ever. i always wanted a stealth game and this was perfect!!! as a PS3 owner the only reason i borrowed Xbox 360 from my friend was to play this game. some real awesome advanced weaponry and gagets, night vision goggles are by far the coolest. completed it thrice and both of us had really tough time completing the co-op mode. the hardest part of this game is the co-op mode as it needs a lot of teamwork and perfect timed kills. this is one hell for a challenging game many bashed about this game. i personally think this is a great addition in the splinter cell series Expand
  20. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    It is very different from older installments of the series however they fit into Conviction very well. This is a great third person shooter with great storytelling, gameplay, and mutiplayer options.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 90
  2. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. 93
    It was a huge risk deviating from the trial-and-error style that made the series famous, but it paid off. Splinter Cell Conviction is awesome.
  2. Splinter Cell: Conviction isn't the series' high point, but it does get the franchise back on track. [May 2010, p.89]
  3. Splinter Cell: Conviction is faster and more action oriented than previous games in the series. It's getting closer to a third person shooter, but Conviction has not lost its unique Fisheresque soul. This is great entertainment.