• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Apr 13, 2010
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 551 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 551

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    No one will stop Sam Fisher, nor do you. Slick control is perfect for stealth and combat, strong voice acting gives life to the awesome story and the flashy black and white ( in the shadow) adds cool effect to it. The multiplayer is appealing, i set more with the co-op mode, versus is sometimes frustrating , but it adds tension. Conviction never felt so good
  2. SamF.
    Apr 16, 2010
    9
    This game is barely a Splinter Cell game. In fact, it's barely a Tom Clancy game. It's changed a lot, but that's not a bad thing. When Resident Evil 4 changed its gameplay mechanics for the better no one complained, and I dont see why every long time fan of the series is crying their dang pants off!! Anyways, this is more of a cover based action game than a stealth game, This game is barely a Splinter Cell game. In fact, it's barely a Tom Clancy game. It's changed a lot, but that's not a bad thing. When Resident Evil 4 changed its gameplay mechanics for the better no one complained, and I dont see why every long time fan of the series is crying their dang pants off!! Anyways, this is more of a cover based action game than a stealth game, and a good one at that. You get a lot of weapons, but you'll usually just stick to your pistol, and you only get a few gadgets but that's enough; it doesn't feel overwealming. A lot has been taken out from previouse games, too. You don't have the option to knock someone out instead of killing them, and you don't have to store bodies, and for the most part it made the game a lot better. The thing that improved most, though is the controles. Let me summerize how to defend yourself in previouse Splinter Cell games: you press X, than press RS to zoom in if you actually want to hit anything, press LT to hold your breath like Sam has asthma or something, and then finally press RT to shoot. Those are four buttons, mostly on different areas of the controller. Here's how you do it in conviction: press RT to shoot, and click RS to zoom in. Huge improvement. The way you can swich in and out of cover smoothly is also better than toggeling between sticking to walls or not. I like the interrogations because they're so over-the-top in a good way. It's funny to hear an enemy resist even though you've just broken two near by fragile objects on their face. The enemy AI is decent. It does a good job as working as a team but doesn't get the fact that a tactic may not work. Continuing to hold their position even though I've picked off ten of their guys is not smart of them. The game is very replayable and lasts longer than criticts have told us (remember that they play games for a living). As far as graphics and sound are concerned, the score is pretty good, voice acting is great, enviroments are detailed, and so are animations. The story is good, and you don't really need to play other Splinter Cell games to feel its intensity... and then it's over. The story ends so suddenly and throws you back to the main menu without even a "thanks for playing." Imagine if the campaign in Modern Warfare 2 ended right after the estate level, or if you never got to fight Nyx in Persona 3. It's like running into a brick wall. Oh, by the way, you get nothing for watching the credicts except for a few unimportant lines of diolaugue half way through. The credits are unforgivably long, though you can skip them, and I actually had to look up if there is an after-cretits cutscene after, no joke, about half an hour of watching the text scroll on. That's pretty much all there is to say about the game (there is no mass competitive multiplayer but we've got Bad Company 2 now, or Modern Warfare 2 if Infinity Ward ever decides to fix the ballance issues). It's not perfect but not every game is Persona 4 or Contra 4. It's funnest game I've played in a long, long time. BTW lots of free DLC!! Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Tom Clancy really outdid himself with his latest installment of the "Splinter Cell" series. The game features heated, stealth combat in which Sam Fisher seeks the destruction of the corrupt Third Echelon (administration of the United states of America), after they have done much wrong to him, as the trained killing machine that he is. This game far surpasses a lesser shooter (Call of Duty,Tom Clancy really outdid himself with his latest installment of the "Splinter Cell" series. The game features heated, stealth combat in which Sam Fisher seeks the destruction of the corrupt Third Echelon (administration of the United states of America), after they have done much wrong to him, as the trained killing machine that he is. This game far surpasses a lesser shooter (Call of Duty, Halo 3, etc.) with the various features (in-game combat and battle) and challenges that I have come to love. I have had the game since April 3rd, 2010 (now 2012) and rank it among the highest in my collection. Such a masterpiece will blow you mind and leave anxious for the sequel! Expand
  4. MartinP.
    Apr 19, 2010
    10
    This game was awesome it has ivolved splinter cell into a new era.All it need was more stealth missions but above that the game was awesome. Sam Fisher is like the modern Altair he kicks ass.. Ending was cool but would have been awesomer if president would have died. so there could be a sequel
  5. RodrigoG.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    Excelente juego, ubisoft se arriesgo, y saco adelante una muy buena actualización que ya era necesaria en la saga. hay otras grandes franquicias que no pueden decir lo mismo y apuestan siempre por lo seguro. premio la valentia
  6. May 14, 2012
    10
    Brilliant 2 player feature...and the fact that its a different story from the single campaign makes it more intresting...It literaly made me an my friend whisper in the living room..
  7. PaulL.
    Apr 19, 2010
    10
    How can you give this game a 0? The speed at which you are able to perform the actions of a super spy is really what I was looking for in the previous games. It's not that those were bad games, It's just that I can finally now enter a room, assess the situation, and execute a plan on the first try, often by highly entertaining means. And the Co-op is great. Don't believe How can you give this game a 0? The speed at which you are able to perform the actions of a super spy is really what I was looking for in the previous games. It's not that those were bad games, It's just that I can finally now enter a room, assess the situation, and execute a plan on the first try, often by highly entertaining means. And the Co-op is great. Don't believe the haters. This game is AAA. Expand
  8. Coky14
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    It's a shame some fanboys come here to give 0 or 3's... Splinter Cell reinvents stealth like never before. The game is beautifull and a blast to play. Saying it's too short is saying a lot because you never get enough of that great game. The replayabillity is high with all Deniable ops modes and all campain mission offer different paths and ways to get to your objective. It's a shame some fanboys come here to give 0 or 3's... Splinter Cell reinvents stealth like never before. The game is beautifull and a blast to play. Saying it's too short is saying a lot because you never get enough of that great game. The replayabillity is high with all Deniable ops modes and all campain mission offer different paths and ways to get to your objective. I'm a fan of the old Splinter Cells and I must say, playing the old games again a few days ago, made me very happy of the new Conviction reboot. Finally, the story is awesome and very well told. Also, the gameplay keeps changing, twists and turns make you think about the game differently as in a man chase or a third person shooting level. I really don't regret buying this game first day and encourage everyone to at least give it a shot. Expand
  9. FrankB.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game. Complete overhaul from the originals. The single player is amazingly encapsulating, albeit amazingly short. Graphics look stunning at times and just above average at others. Controls take getting used to, but the gameplay is very intuitive. Gone is the Splinter Cell where you are forced to pay attention to every little detail like hiding bodies, not making too much noise, Fantastic game. Complete overhaul from the originals. The single player is amazingly encapsulating, albeit amazingly short. Graphics look stunning at times and just above average at others. Controls take getting used to, but the gameplay is very intuitive. Gone is the Splinter Cell where you are forced to pay attention to every little detail like hiding bodies, not making too much noise, and closing doors or turning lights out. This is completely new. Sam no longer needs to worry about those things; instead he focuses on getting from point A to B and strategically killing anyone in his way, although sometimes utter stealth can get you through a level. Much better arsenal with customizable weapons, and I'm writing this review having played only the single player. This game is fantastic, and even as a hardcore Splinter Cell fan, this game takes the cake in terms of reflecting the spy/movie bad ass heroes like Bond and Bourne. Fisher's story is much more emotional, and by the end of the story you will have felt his anger, mourned with his despair, and exulted in his joy. Expand
  10. KeilyM.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    not really a SC but who cares? this is a solid game with solid graphics and solid gameplay. really enjoyed it.
  11. DanielL.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    The game is what you want it to be.... it can be as stealthy or as actiony as you want. Of course there are limits to how actiony you can be... a couple of shotgun shells will put you down on normal and one will terminate you on realistic.
  12. WilliamC.
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    Don't listen to these people who bash this game... It is amazing, short single player, but amazing. When you add up the 5-6 hour Co-op story that is the PREQUEL to the 5-6 hour single player campaign, then take into account the various Co-op and multiplayer modes, the game is of a suitable length. There is plenty to do in SC:C, not to mention all of the DLC Ubisoft just announced Don't listen to these people who bash this game... It is amazing, short single player, but amazing. When you add up the 5-6 hour Co-op story that is the PREQUEL to the 5-6 hour single player campaign, then take into account the various Co-op and multiplayer modes, the game is of a suitable length. There is plenty to do in SC:C, not to mention all of the DLC Ubisoft just announced that will come out every Thursday for the high price of FREE! Splinter Cell just keeps getting better and better. Don't listen to these people who bash the game, I would bet they haven't even played it, if they had... See for yourself. Expand
  13. SamS.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    Once you get used to the new gameplay you will know that this is probably the best game in the series giving you the choice of going all stealth or a faster more action gameplay with amazing story and pretty good Graphics this game is just perfect.
  14. DonnieG
    Apr 17, 2010
    10
    I started this game on realistic and hardly used the autoaim feature called "marking" which for me put the campaign at around 8 hours play time -- more than enough time especially with the level of detail put into all of the environments. The combat system was challenging and realistic. And I found myself planning out attacks ahead of time. For example, there was always the option to rush I started this game on realistic and hardly used the autoaim feature called "marking" which for me put the campaign at around 8 hours play time -- more than enough time especially with the level of detail put into all of the environments. The combat system was challenging and realistic. And I found myself planning out attacks ahead of time. For example, there was always the option to rush in with automatic weapons, however, those that take their time to maneuver around the maps and use strategy will not disappointed. Expand
  15. MattM.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    AWESOME! Co-op rocks.
  16. MannyLivchak
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    This game is way better than some people said. The stealth is great, and a few minor flaws don't mean much.
  17. omi25p
    Apr 13, 2010
    9
    For a gaming franchise i have cherished since i was a child and enjoyed each type the stealth and planning that you had to do in the originals playing this even though i enjoyed this game i cant help but be disappointed with the little the game reminds me of the originals.
  18. JesseM.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    Before my review, I would like to first say that diehard fanboys/fangirls of the Splinter Cell series are most likely not going to like what they see in Conviction. The majority of the low user scores will be from these people. As for my review, I felt Conviction was a wonderful change of pace. By breaking away from the game so many know and cherish, Conviction has done more than exceed Before my review, I would like to first say that diehard fanboys/fangirls of the Splinter Cell series are most likely not going to like what they see in Conviction. The majority of the low user scores will be from these people. As for my review, I felt Conviction was a wonderful change of pace. By breaking away from the game so many know and cherish, Conviction has done more than exceed my expectations. The gameplay is engaging and not as tedious as past Splinter Cell titles. It stands to be my favorite of the series, with absolutely no disappointments. Expand
  19. JoN.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    It's not the same breed as previous splinter cell games but it rocks! Nice gameplay, nice AI, nice story! A lot of replay value even in single player campain if you really want to explore the stealth elements. And with the nice COOP addon, it's a must buy!
  20. DerekT.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    Absolutely incredible game! innovative and refreshing new features. well worth the time we had to wait, and an amazing addition to the series. buy it now if you're a splinter cell fan!
  21. SamsonD.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    Stealth? The only reason this game is not stealthy is because you apparently dont play the game like you should to be stealthy. You can run and gun use stealth or a wealth of things. This game is the best possible change to SC that could ever have happened. Amazing game.
  22. NormaT.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    One of the most original innovative games ive ever played.
  23. JohnK.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    First off my rating is a 9.5 so I rounded it to 10 I guess. I really enjoyed the last splinter cell games minus DA, and will miss many of their past features. Conviction is not perfect, but on the other hand is well worth the wait. The story and gameplay are very engaging from start to finish. The coop as well being very engaging, but focus 's more on teamwork and feels more true to First off my rating is a 9.5 so I rounded it to 10 I guess. I really enjoyed the last splinter cell games minus DA, and will miss many of their past features. Conviction is not perfect, but on the other hand is well worth the wait. The story and gameplay are very engaging from start to finish. The coop as well being very engaging, but focus 's more on teamwork and feels more true to the series. I think fans will enjoy it. I would love to see the next installment have some sort of competitive multiplayer. Expand
  24. LudoM.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    A really good game i enjoyed from the beginning to the end, a very well polished game with almost no flaws.
  25. TrevorH.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    Amazing game! If you are rating this game below a 9 then you really should find another hobby or you had no business buying a game in the genre in the first place. This a gamers game...pure gaming goodness!
  26. IcecreamtreeJohnson
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    Very enjoyable evolution of the game concept. Players are meant to play more aggressively than in previous SC titles. More adversarial multiplayer content (a la Chaos Theory) would have made this a ten.
  27. PhilO.
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    This is one of my favorite video game franchise's and I have to say I am thoroughly impressed. I read many of the reviews before playing and the consensus is that it is a good game but short. After playing for about 4-5 hours last night, I was amazed. Yes they took out some of the things like hacking computers, lock picking, etc. but it seems as though it was intentional. The pace of This is one of my favorite video game franchise's and I have to say I am thoroughly impressed. I read many of the reviews before playing and the consensus is that it is a good game but short. After playing for about 4-5 hours last night, I was amazed. Yes they took out some of the things like hacking computers, lock picking, etc. but it seems as though it was intentional. The pace of the game is excellent, constantly keeping you engaged and on the edge of your seat. Animations are great and the cover system is exceptional. Minor issues like dumb guards (they say some random things sometimes) don't get in the way of my enjoyment of this game. This game is thrilling and although it might not be everyone's cup of tea, it is a must play. Expand
  28. Randyb
    Apr 15, 2010
    9
    great but not perfect, describes conviction the best. I found the story to be a little hard to follow and theres a issue thats never revolved involving a charater close to sam. The stealth on the other hand is amazing and the best stealth in any game. Mark and execute works greatly and the the set pieces blew me away(one involving a helicopter in particular). While not as good as the great but not perfect, describes conviction the best. I found the story to be a little hard to follow and theres a issue thats never revolved involving a charater close to sam. The stealth on the other hand is amazing and the best stealth in any game. Mark and execute works greatly and the the set pieces blew me away(one involving a helicopter in particular). While not as good as the first splinter cell this is def. the second best installment in the series and has the best coop in any stealth game that comes to mind. conviction isnt perfect but it is a helluva good time. Expand
  29. DynamicE
    Apr 15, 2010
    10
    Frankly I couldn't ask for more. While a substantial deviation from prior games it stands up well against the best of them. It is a faster, slicker game with some of the best co-op I have yet seen. I cannot recommend it more highly - a truly superb game.
  30. ThomasH
    Apr 16, 2010
    9
    Ubisoft have given Splinter Cell a new lease of life! Change is hard for some people, but Sam has taken it in his stride. A little short in the tooth on single player, but damn don't Archer and Kestrel make excellent candidates for an epic spin-off. Well worth investing in, but have an open mind it's not the old... it's the new.
  31. KillerToad12
    Apr 18, 2010
    9
    While I prefer the old-fashioned slow and tactical stealth games I actually still think Ubisoft did a great job on this one. Of course, I'm sad to see the game go in a more wide "consumer-direction" but while they took a very dangerous chance and changed the game so much they still managed to keep a lot of the things that I love about the games. I hope that Ubisoft will somehow bring While I prefer the old-fashioned slow and tactical stealth games I actually still think Ubisoft did a great job on this one. Of course, I'm sad to see the game go in a more wide "consumer-direction" but while they took a very dangerous chance and changed the game so much they still managed to keep a lot of the things that I love about the games. I hope that Ubisoft will somehow bring Sam Fisher back to his former self in later games, though they have certainly proven that they are also capable of this new "fast-stealth" genre. Expand
  32. TaylorM.
    Apr 19, 2010
    9
    I went into the game with bittersweet thoughts. As a long time vet of the series, I felt it was time for a change, but also as a vet I felt that change could go either way: bad or good. Thank the Gods and Goddesses, they went for the good change. For every 0 you see here, you see a 0 from someone who has not played this game or is bitter due to no SvM. Itâ??s an amazing game and I went into the game with bittersweet thoughts. As a long time vet of the series, I felt it was time for a change, but also as a vet I felt that change could go either way: bad or good. Thank the Gods and Goddesses, they went for the good change. For every 0 you see here, you see a 0 from someone who has not played this game or is bitter due to no SvM. Itâ??s an amazing game and keeps its SC essence despite the changes. There is no lack of stealth, so anyone saying that there isnâ??t any stealth has not played this game. There are even achievements and PEC challenges that award you for stealth play. Give the game a chance, you will see that itâ??s a lot better than some people are giving it credit for. Score the game on what it IS, not what you thought it should be. If you want a game to be JUST SO, make it yourself. Otherwise, score the game on what it tries to accomplish. This one succeeds in what it was going for. Expand
  33. VanceC.
    Apr 19, 2010
    9
    I canâ??t remember the last time I enjoyed an action game so much. Conviction features a rich story filled with espionage, action, stealth and an intensity rarely matched. Multiplayer is also rich, with a full co-op story mode that is a compliment to the single player story, plus a few other modes that can be played in co-op such as Hunter (kill all enemies) or Last Stand (defend an I canâ??t remember the last time I enjoyed an action game so much. Conviction features a rich story filled with espionage, action, stealth and an intensity rarely matched. Multiplayer is also rich, with a full co-op story mode that is a compliment to the single player story, plus a few other modes that can be played in co-op such as Hunter (kill all enemies) or Last Stand (defend an EMP generator from waves of enemies) and more. Multiplayer also has Face Off, which is player VS player with some enemy A.I. thrown in for spice. There is so much to do in this game both single and with friends, itâ??s a deep game that will stand the test of time. Expand
  34. MichaelJ.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    The game is simply fantastic. Anyone who rates it under 7 isn't being fair at all. They just want to take the contrarian view to be different and "cool" but they don't realize they are only being as cliche as anything else. The fact is this game delivers a fantastic experience, while maybe it doesn't break new ground, it does advance the franchise into a new and fresh The game is simply fantastic. Anyone who rates it under 7 isn't being fair at all. They just want to take the contrarian view to be different and "cool" but they don't realize they are only being as cliche as anything else. The fact is this game delivers a fantastic experience, while maybe it doesn't break new ground, it does advance the franchise into a new and fresh direction. Anyone who can't see that isnt' a fan of the stealth genre. It kills me when people take time to be so negative. If you are a fan of stealth action or any of the previous Splinter Cell franchises then you will absolutely LOVE this game. Sure there could be more ingenuity but at teh end of the day it's about the entertaiment value and this is one entertaining interactive experience! Expand
  35. BrianC.
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    A great experience from beginning to end. Don't put alot of weight into other opinions concerning the length of the game while the single player is short played on "Normal" if you play this on "Realistic" (the way it should be played) it should take between 8-12 hours to complete, also there is a great co-op campaign which provides around 8-10 hours of game-play, and then there is a A great experience from beginning to end. Don't put alot of weight into other opinions concerning the length of the game while the single player is short played on "Normal" if you play this on "Realistic" (the way it should be played) it should take between 8-12 hours to complete, also there is a great co-op campaign which provides around 8-10 hours of game-play, and then there is a multilayer mode as well. A well rounded package in all. A must buy for fans of the genre. Expand
  36. JohnM.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    The game is the best game in the splinter cell series. The game is the next step for stealth action games. Where mgs4 went all movies, this game went all action. And I love it, it was time stealth action games got some updates. I just finished the story mode and will be doing allot of co-op with friends. This game is perfect for me and I will play it for the next months or so to perfect The game is the best game in the splinter cell series. The game is the next step for stealth action games. Where mgs4 went all movies, this game went all action. And I love it, it was time stealth action games got some updates. I just finished the story mode and will be doing allot of co-op with friends. This game is perfect for me and I will play it for the next months or so to perfect my sneaking skills :-) All people voted 0 are b*tthurt ps3 fanboys that cannot play this awesome game. Expand
  37. RahulG.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    This game is simply awesome. While some may complain about the new direction of the game, splinter cell needed to reach out to a bigger audience.
  38. Aaron
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    This game is great. Granted I've only played the single player campaign. The story is intriguing and the gameplay is excellent. I have always been a fan of the stealth aspect of the Splinter Cell series but I agree with IGN in that the old gameplay was getting stale. This game changes that and gives SC new life.
  39. Miniiiii
    Apr 16, 2010
    10
    Awesome Game!, I'm a big fan of splinter cell since the first game (played and completed every one of them). All I can say is Ubisoft made a Big move changing the game formula, and it works, for the better now Sam feels like a hunter not a spy and it works as he isn't a spy any more. The only downside I can give this game is that the Reload button is located in the most idiotic Awesome Game!, I'm a big fan of splinter cell since the first game (played and completed every one of them). All I can say is Ubisoft made a Big move changing the game formula, and it works, for the better now Sam feels like a hunter not a spy and it works as he isn't a spy any more. The only downside I can give this game is that the Reload button is located in the most idiotic place ever, it's by pushing the Left stick. Overall I think it's a awesome game! Oh and I kind of miss dragging bodies too ='[ but I'm not too bothered. Expand
  40. JamesD
    Apr 17, 2010
    9
    Conviction might not be to everyone's taste, but I found the experience fairly addictive. The single player might be short but there is a lot to do afterwards. I do however feel Conviction leans too much towards shooting at times but stealth has never felt this refreshing.
  41. RyanF
    Apr 17, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome so what if its different wasnt that the point to give the games something new to expierence. This game is really good in fact you guys should go buy it right now if you dont have it. Screw anyone who doesn't like this game, its amazing.
  42. JamesT
    Apr 18, 2010
    9
    this games is extremely fun to play and offers varied play throughout the game. you can play like a stealthy ninja, wall climb like ezio, or just go with a straight out firefight. it is great. there are small glitches when an execute allows a player to shoot directly through a wall but nothing major. mark and execute and last known position are stunning new game mechanics that i hope to this games is extremely fun to play and offers varied play throughout the game. you can play like a stealthy ninja, wall climb like ezio, or just go with a straight out firefight. it is great. there are small glitches when an execute allows a player to shoot directly through a wall but nothing major. mark and execute and last known position are stunning new game mechanics that i hope to see repeated by other games. Splinter Cell: Conviction is a great game that is a great buy . Expand
  43. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Splinter Cell Conviction is another amazing game in the series. The story is great and the gameplay is just awesome. Original fans of the series might be turned off by the lack of stealth options but you still CAN complete the game without becoming detected and become the Sam Fisher that you know and love. The multiplayer is good but not great and without Spies vs. Mercs, many fans willSplinter Cell Conviction is another amazing game in the series. The story is great and the gameplay is just awesome. Original fans of the series might be turned off by the lack of stealth options but you still CAN complete the game without becoming detected and become the Sam Fisher that you know and love. The multiplayer is good but not great and without Spies vs. Mercs, many fans will immediately turn this down. In reality, the multiplayer/co-op game types can offer hours and hours of replayability and some of the modes are really fun to enjoy over Xbox Live. Overall, I recommend this game to anyone a fan of the stealth genre and kicking ass. Expand
  44. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    I personally have never been a big fan of Stealth games like Metal Gear Solid , Hitman and Splinter Cell etc .... until now that is ! Right of the bat I'll say I loved Splinter Cell Conviction , it takes everything about Stealth games and finally makes them accessible to everyone. I'm sure alot of c more »asual gamers have wanted to play games like this but have always beenI personally have never been a big fan of Stealth games like Metal Gear Solid , Hitman and Splinter Cell etc .... until now that is ! Right of the bat I'll say I loved Splinter Cell Conviction , it takes everything about Stealth games and finally makes them accessible to everyone. I'm sure alot of c more »asual gamers have wanted to play games like this but have always been put off by over complex controls and complexity. You dont have to hide bodies in this game and you can slip ito the shadows really easily , you can shoot out light bulbs to make the darkness you need , or you can go in more aggressively with this game , the controls are smooth and intuitive and the graphics and animations are superb. The main storyline is very standard revenge and betrayal stuff, but it holds the game together in a realy positive way, you actually feel satisfaction when you kill bad guys in this game .. just like the feeling you get in the movies ! The only downside is the length of the main campaign I finished it in about 8 or 9 hours although I'm already planning to play it again on different realistic mode to get some other Achieves. The game also has some great co-op modes such as the Story Co-op and Hunter and Last Stand modes, I hav'nt really played these modes properly yet and will edit my review accordingly when I do ....... " Play it again Sam ! " go out and sell both your grannies and get this game... Brilliant ! 9/10 Expand
  45. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    This is my first time playing a game in the Splinter Cell series, and my first time playing a stealth based game like this, and as a newcomer to both I can say that this game has made a fantastic first impression, the story is awesome and backed by phenomenal voice acting, the graphics are phenomenal, the game play and controls are tight and responsive, and it's just a lot of fun, it alsoThis is my first time playing a game in the Splinter Cell series, and my first time playing a stealth based game like this, and as a newcomer to both I can say that this game has made a fantastic first impression, the story is awesome and backed by phenomenal voice acting, the graphics are phenomenal, the game play and controls are tight and responsive, and it's just a lot of fun, it also has some multiplayer and co-op levels and they were fun, but the single player was my personal favorite part and is what will keep me coming back, so in closing as a newcomer to the series and genre I recommend it, it's the perfect jumping on point for newcomers, and I believe fans of the series will also love this, I mean why wouldn't they? it's so much fun, a truly fantastic game. Expand
  46. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    First of all, I just want to say this is not the Sam Fisher we've known for the past eight years. Since Fisher's last outing, a tragic turn of events turned Fisher's world upside down. Fisher is no more a government operative, he just wants to seek vengeance on those who wronged him, and by using any means necessary. Since the storyline has taken up a much darker tone, Fisher comes acrossFirst of all, I just want to say this is not the Sam Fisher we've known for the past eight years. Since Fisher's last outing, a tragic turn of events turned Fisher's world upside down. Fisher is no more a government operative, he just wants to seek vengeance on those who wronged him, and by using any means necessary. Since the storyline has taken up a much darker tone, Fisher comes across a killing machine. This is by no means a bad thing, hand-to-hand combat is much more brutal along with the new execution feature which allows you to take out multiple enemies at once, using bullet time. The cover system has also been revamped, this allows Fisher pop out of cover, shoot, and slide into cover again. Enemy AI is effective and will use the same tactics to take Fisher down, this will force the player to use some light tactical elements. In terms of visuals, the game is built on the Unreal Engine 3. The engine might be dated now, but it's looking prettier than ever. The graphics are incredible, with sharp visuals and excellent lighting effects.There is some slight slowdown, but that shouldn't deter the player from experience. If I have to gripe at this amazing title, it will be the length of the campaign. One should be able to complete the single-player campaign in about four hours. However, if you want to get your money's worth, I suggest you make some friends and find a buddy to take on the co-op campaign. This is not a mere add-on, the co-op campaign has the same, high quality production values as the single player component itself. Splinter Cell Conviction redefines the franchise by altering every aspect we've come to expect from the previous titles in the series. These changes are welcome and it's easy to immerse the player into the story and the revamped gameplay mechanic. It is a fantastic game, and is obviously one of the best action games of the year. However, the experience is over all to quickly. Expand
  47. May 9, 2011
    9
    As a fan of the original Splinter Cells I don't think I was the only one who felt disappointed with Double Agent. A reboot or overhaul if you like was something that the series needed to breathe life back into the franchise. And Ubisoft apparently agreed as Splinter Cell: Conviction was all change for the series. The big question is would it pay-off? In one word; Yes! After trying out theAs a fan of the original Splinter Cells I don't think I was the only one who felt disappointed with Double Agent. A reboot or overhaul if you like was something that the series needed to breathe life back into the franchise. And Ubisoft apparently agreed as Splinter Cell: Conviction was all change for the series. The big question is would it pay-off? In one word; Yes! After trying out the demo at my cousins I immediately purchased the game and stole my brothers 360 to play the game and I wasn't left disappointed at all. The gameplay brings a fresh approach to SC. It will no doubt divide SC fans but I fully endorse Ubisoft's decision to bring a new feel to things and shake it up. You can take the stealth route (which is the best for me) or you can go all guns blazing, not all the time ofcourse and its not always wise as a few shots and Sam is down and out! The stealth approach allows you to plan to your method to take down an enemy and execute your move at the tap of a button. A new feature introduced is being almost invisible when you are in the dark areas e.g shadows and also when the lights are out. The storyline picks up with Sam in Malta before being contacted by a former colleague Grim who informs him a group of hitmen are on his tail, Sam ultimately kills them and is pointed in the direction of Kobin who is believed to have killed his daughter and warns Sam that her death was part of a bigger conspiracy and events unfold from there. At times the story drifts and is a bit all over the place at times and quite hard to get a grasp of especially if you are new to the SC games but it all manages to come together rather nicely with a few good twists and turns along the way. Visually its still typical Splinter Cell and there has been an improvement in that department with some great settings for missions. Their is now DLC available to further enhance your experience and also online multiplayer as well as co-op. Ive not played multiplayer reguarly to give a definitive view but from what I know it seems decent enough but leaves room for improvement. All in all Conviction is a welcome return to form for the SC franchise and the decision to reboot SC has proved to be a success based on the results and leaves it set up perfectly for further installments, all I would ask of Ubisoft, please don't make the next outing a 360 exclusive Expand
  48. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    I had Double Agent and sold it back almost immediately. I bought this used for $17 and I love it. This is a must buy, get it used at gamestop and you won't regret it. The only thing I don't like is the inability to remove weapon mods once they a purchased. The story is fun, coop is awesome, and weapon choices are great. I will probably buy the next installment new because if it's like thisI had Double Agent and sold it back almost immediately. I bought this used for $17 and I love it. This is a must buy, get it used at gamestop and you won't regret it. The only thing I don't like is the inability to remove weapon mods once they a purchased. The story is fun, coop is awesome, and weapon choices are great. I will probably buy the next installment new because if it's like this game it will be worth it. Expand
  49. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Conviction is overall a very good game. The stealth mechanics are top of the line and this is how the stealth genre should work, Fisher is easy to control and the story is top-of-the line. If the story were longer and if the AI wasn't so annoying talkative and for stealth there was a stealth meter because the blac-and-white concept caused some visual problems and if the story were a bitConviction is overall a very good game. The stealth mechanics are top of the line and this is how the stealth genre should work, Fisher is easy to control and the story is top-of-the line. If the story were longer and if the AI wasn't so annoying talkative and for stealth there was a stealth meter because the blac-and-white concept caused some visual problems and if the story were a bit longer. The multiplayer is also dissappointing but the co-op campaign is a nice addition that gives a break from story mode. Co-op is not as good as story mode but still pretty good. Overall Conviction is a good game that does not fail to entertain. It is a good way to continue the series. Expand
  50. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Mind blowing game.i loved this game so much the only problem with this game was a very short campaign,Gameplay was awesome.I hope that in next installment we will have a longer campaign than this game.But overall this game is mind blowing for 3rd person shooters.
  51. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    Conviction is the perfect balance between steath and shooting, now instead of hiding in the shadows you are attacking in the shadows conviction is no longer about calm infiltration now is fully action packed the story is great and answers many questions about the events of double agent while the campaing is about stalking enemies the deniable ops is more strategy focused, deniable ops is aConviction is the perfect balance between steath and shooting, now instead of hiding in the shadows you are attacking in the shadows conviction is no longer about calm infiltration now is fully action packed the story is great and answers many questions about the events of double agent while the campaing is about stalking enemies the deniable ops is more strategy focused, deniable ops is a challange game mode in wich you can kill all enemies, kill all enemies while avoiding detection and defending a base all this modes are pretty challenging in big maps. Theres also a co op campaing with its own strory line and is sweet. Higly recommended Expand
  52. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Awsome game , Awsome graphics , Awsome meele , Awsome everithing , , I love how they searched every detail , Infortunaley it cant run with out lag in every pc, I dont have a pc Gamer so I need it to install Game Booster it help me a lot, but with out that its awsome , one of my best games 1710
  53. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    I was never a big fan of the other Splinter Cell games. Found them a bit clunky - all that split legged climbing up wall nonsense. Conviction was quite a bit different - and all the better for it. Some fan boys of the series might not like it but I did. This was one of my early purchases. The game was so good I played nothing but this - then on completion on medium skill, played it again on hard.
  54. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    In my opinion the best Splinter Cell so far. The graphic is excellent, the way the shadow effect are made, the way how Sam Fisher moves, the way how your objective appears lighted on wall, the after close-combat-take down gained system of Mark & Execute... On the other hand, the Splinter Cell series' fans might not like this absolutely new, bad ass, Sam Fisher. Also the game difficultyIn my opinion the best Splinter Cell so far. The graphic is excellent, the way the shadow effect are made, the way how Sam Fisher moves, the way how your objective appears lighted on wall, the after close-combat-take down gained system of Mark & Execute... On the other hand, the Splinter Cell series' fans might not like this absolutely new, bad ass, Sam Fisher. Also the game difficulty isn't too high, Conviction's REALISTIC difficulty is as hard as the original Splinter Cell's easy difficulty...

    The campaign is very well-done, the story is beyond amazing, maybe except flashback Iraq mission, which is totally different; it's more like third person shooter... The Interrogation system is also very nice, the way you can for example bake your prey's head in the oven...
    The multiplayer/CO-OP/Deniable Ops are also quiet interesting, CO-OP offers you another story, which works like the Pro-log to single-player. Multiplayer contains 3(4) different game types, Infiltration (which you have to download from the U-play store for price of 50 UP), Hunter, Face-off and Last Stand.

    I give Conviction rating 9; it has few mistakes, yes, but there's just a minimum of them.
    Expand
  55. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    Sam Fisher is a total bad*** in this game! No rules, no gadgets, no mercy, what an awesome guy! Though its not the same Splinter Cell we know, which is what the fans are complaining about, it'll definitely catch their eyes!
  56. May 27, 2013
    9
    I really love the Splinter Cell games. and after playing through Conviction multiple times, I can say this is my favorite Splinter Cell game. The story is very well written. I found myself wanting to find out more as the story progressed, and I felt bad for Sam Fisher in emotional moments. the gameplay is as great as always, but some changes to it I'm not a big fan of that much. the wayI really love the Splinter Cell games. and after playing through Conviction multiple times, I can say this is my favorite Splinter Cell game. The story is very well written. I found myself wanting to find out more as the story progressed, and I felt bad for Sam Fisher in emotional moments. the gameplay is as great as always, but some changes to it I'm not a big fan of that much. the way you can now move around stealthily is when the screen turns black and white. no sound meter, no HUD, just staying in darkness makes you mostly invisible. I don't see why they abandoned things like the goggles and sound meters, but this change for the game is ok at best. The game controls very nicely; possible one of the best games I've controlled. the soundtrack is pretty good. some tunes are pretty catchy, but nothing stands out, making the soundtrack very forgettable. the graphics are among the best I've seen in a video game. the character models look very impressive, and environments in the game look beautiful. the voice acting in the game is great. all the actors do excellent as usual in this game, and even some new ones do their performances very well, giving this game excellent presentation. there is also co-op in this game, but honestly, I didn't bother as much with this. the co-op is very chaotic at times, since you have to help each other, and it gets more chaotic when split screen is enabled. Overall, Splinter Cell: Conviction is a great stealth game. the story is among the best I've seen, the gameplay, while kind of a downgrade, is still tons of fun, and the presentation of the game is excellent. Expand
  57. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    Splinter Cell Conviction is one of the best stealth games to date. Rather than have players bored waiting and using clunky controls; Conviction uses speed and smooth controls. With a story mode that isn't stretched out and has a much more brutal Sam Fisher; the campaign is paced well and even lets the regular action crowd go Gears of War style sometimes. The campaign relies on smartSplinter Cell Conviction is one of the best stealth games to date. Rather than have players bored waiting and using clunky controls; Conviction uses speed and smooth controls. With a story mode that isn't stretched out and has a much more brutal Sam Fisher; the campaign is paced well and even lets the regular action crowd go Gears of War style sometimes. The campaign relies on smart tactics and sharp reflexes-super addictive. There are also coop modes-campaign, elimination, defence and even versus modes for more gameplay. The story is fun and interesting, gameplay is fast and intelligent and there are plenty of hours to play. One final note is the light meter and cover system; the light meter is simple-when you are invisible; the screen goes black at white. And the cover system has you smoothly and precisely move from cover to cover, without getting stuck. Action and Stealth fans-this is a must own. Expand
  58. AndrewO
    Apr 16, 2010
    9
    As a hardcore fan of the series I was skeptical but this is a fun step in a new direction. You feel more lethal, but if you screw up, you die real quick, which is a nice balance. The presentation is very slick, with the story unfolding in an engaging, mysterious fashion. What little multiplayer I've played is a lot of fun, and I can see myself playing it a lot.
  59. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    this is my first splinter cell game and damn!! it is the best stealth defining game ever. i always wanted a stealth game and this was perfect!!! as a PS3 owner the only reason i borrowed Xbox 360 from my friend was to play this game. some real awesome advanced weaponry and gagets, night vision goggles are by far the coolest. completed it thrice and both of us had really tough timethis is my first splinter cell game and damn!! it is the best stealth defining game ever. i always wanted a stealth game and this was perfect!!! as a PS3 owner the only reason i borrowed Xbox 360 from my friend was to play this game. some real awesome advanced weaponry and gagets, night vision goggles are by far the coolest. completed it thrice and both of us had really tough time completing the co-op mode. the hardest part of this game is the co-op mode as it needs a lot of teamwork and perfect timed kills. this is one hell for a challenging game many bashed about this game. i personally think this is a great addition in the splinter cell series Expand
  60. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    It is very different from older installments of the series however they fit into Conviction very well. This is a great third person shooter with great storytelling, gameplay, and mutiplayer options.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 90
  2. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. 93
    It was a huge risk deviating from the trial-and-error style that made the series famous, but it paid off. Splinter Cell Conviction is awesome.
  2. Splinter Cell: Conviction isn't the series' high point, but it does get the franchise back on track. [May 2010, p.89]
  3. Splinter Cell: Conviction is faster and more action oriented than previous games in the series. It's getting closer to a third person shooter, but Conviction has not lost its unique Fisheresque soul. This is great entertainment.