User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 133

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JunkE.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    No wonder you liked the voice acting; it's Michael Ironside's voice! Great game b.t.w.
  2. SamFisher
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    I just checked IGN to see what they've given SCDA, they say 9.0. I think that's a little conservative. 9.6, easily. The level design, especially - although I've only been through the first two - is just astounding. Every hallway, nook and cranny is mind-blowing. And every little detail can be destroyed! Which is awesome IMHO.
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    More of a Splinter Cell 3.5 than a fully revamped 4, Double Agent could've been so much more. That said, and if viewed as if it was the first game in the series, it's an enjoyable experience that is definitely worth picking up whether you're a fan of the series or a newcomer - and especially if found at a price well below retail. A fairly easy 1000 if looked at simply from an achievementMore of a Splinter Cell 3.5 than a fully revamped 4, Double Agent could've been so much more. That said, and if viewed as if it was the first game in the series, it's an enjoyable experience that is definitely worth picking up whether you're a fan of the series or a newcomer - and especially if found at a price well below retail. A fairly easy 1000 if looked at simply from an achievement point of view. Here's hoping Splinter Cell 5: Conviction provides a more worthy contender to the franchise. Expand
  4. TyroneB.
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    In no other game can you run up behind a merc and have him scream (different things every time) just to use him as body armor. The game is revolutionary.
  5. Aug 25, 2010
    2
    Disgustingly bad and obviously rushed. This game contains massive plot holes and about half of the missions are segments where you do undercover espionage in the same level. The levels are timed so even if you complete the objectives you can be left sitting for 20 or so minutes waiting for the timer to run out. The night vision has some weird look to it that makes it difficult to see. MyDisgustingly bad and obviously rushed. This game contains massive plot holes and about half of the missions are segments where you do undercover espionage in the same level. The levels are timed so even if you complete the objectives you can be left sitting for 20 or so minutes waiting for the timer to run out. The night vision has some weird look to it that makes it difficult to see. My biggest issue is the expert mode. It's not too hard, but the guards seem to be able to track you in most levels no matter what you do, how dark it is, or how quiet you are. The multilayer is also a huge disappointment. There is no spy vs merc death match or coop. The spy vs merc works like a sort of capture the flag. It's pretty impossible to kill a merc since they have a motion tracker that beeps louder depending on how close a spy is. So all they have to do is turn around when they hear it beep its loudest and put a round through your face. If you want more splintercell pick up chaos theory or the original xbox version of double agent. This game gets a 2 because sam can now throat chop people and it makes me giggle. Expand
  6. SamM.
    Feb 7, 2007
    1
    This game disappointed me, although graphically good and the single player was intense at times, the online multiplayer was horrible. I am i big splintercell fan and loved playing chos thery online but since this newsplinter cell came out it has just lost the fun in online play. Its so easy to hack theres no stealth kills and worst of all your meant to be a spy but the mercs have a This game disappointed me, although graphically good and the single player was intense at times, the online multiplayer was horrible. I am i big splintercell fan and loved playing chos thery online but since this newsplinter cell came out it has just lost the fun in online play. Its so easy to hack theres no stealth kills and worst of all your meant to be a spy but the mercs have a blleping thing that goes off when your close!! doesn't that just define the point??? all you have to do as a merc is run round till u here a beep then find which way it goes and wait for him to move. Your motion will pick him up and there we have it. So this game for me was rubbish I never play it even though I got to the top of onix mission 6 but im not there any more but are probably close like top 50 maybe I haven't checked. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    The beautiful lighting and graphics really add an amazing layered animation look. Double Agent is extremely engaging and free. Awesome!
  8. ACE5
    Nov 4, 2006
    7
    The Graphics can be considered, " Works of Art". The gameplay on the otherhand is a mixed bag. I found myself hating the controls at first, thinking... O.K., maybe I just gotta get used to it, and then it will feel natural... but no, the controls acted funny throughout the entire game. The there are the missions. I love games that involve stealth action, but I got tired of the levels. To The Graphics can be considered, " Works of Art". The gameplay on the otherhand is a mixed bag. I found myself hating the controls at first, thinking... O.K., maybe I just gotta get used to it, and then it will feel natural... but no, the controls acted funny throughout the entire game. The there are the missions. I love games that involve stealth action, but I got tired of the levels. To me it felt like I kept doing the same thing over and over again. True, there are some parts of the game that fun to play, But, the more I played this game, the more I didn't feel like being bothered with it. It's like the game you buy cause everyone says it's good, but when you get it, you never feel like playing it. And then it just sits and depreciates until you try to trade it in, and get a dollar for it. I do like the direction the Splinter Cell series is moving in, I just think it will need more work for it to be great again. "HELLOOOO, R6: Vegas!" Expand
  9. Horuso
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    About a thousand times better than Chaos Theory, I dont' care what anyone says. This game is just amazing.
  10. Dec 8, 2010
    1
    SO BAD. I played maybe the first four levels, then i quit. it's terrible/impossible. PLEASE don't buy this game. A waste of money. Try Splinter cell Conviction. SO much better. this is a broken game, and the fact that you can make guards gargle their own blood gives it a 1.
  11. Jan 11, 2014
    4
    The Splinter Cell series reached it's peak during chaos theory, the level where you rob that bank, since that point the series has been in decline with a tried and tested formula that was getting stale but double agent was the last in the series not to hold your hand all the way through, using one button techniques for taking enemies down from the opposite side of the room. Although theThe Splinter Cell series reached it's peak during chaos theory, the level where you rob that bank, since that point the series has been in decline with a tried and tested formula that was getting stale but double agent was the last in the series not to hold your hand all the way through, using one button techniques for taking enemies down from the opposite side of the room. Although the controls are old school the story is poo and playing as a double agent you don't really get the Sam Fisher experience with all his gear and traditional attire and having to return to a hub level over and over slowed the pace of the game and gave a real sense of boredom and pointlessness. It does look nice. Overall Double Agent is the best Splinter Cell game on the 360 and would be a good experience if you haven't played one before but falls way short of the heights of the first 3 games. Expand
  12. JG
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    Great singleplayer and online play. This is the best Splinter Cell game in the series.
  13. SimonG.
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    Well here is next gen at last, what Ubisoft have done here is made a fantastic series into an amazing one and one you must buy if you own a 360.. yeah the single player isnt massive (but great),and with the multiplayer your keep coming back for more, for months to come...mark my words.. great work ubisoft 10/10
  14. FPSMaster
    Oct 20, 2006
    9
    This is a huge step up graphically in single player from Chaos Theory and the multiplayer is also a step up looking about like Chaos Theory's single player portion. It plays like the old ones, but also feels a little like Metal Gear now with not as many shadows and more of a hide-behind-this-until-they-walk-past sort of feel, but it's nice. The first 3 games were essentially the This is a huge step up graphically in single player from Chaos Theory and the multiplayer is also a step up looking about like Chaos Theory's single player portion. It plays like the old ones, but also feels a little like Metal Gear now with not as many shadows and more of a hide-behind-this-until-they-walk-past sort of feel, but it's nice. The first 3 games were essentially the same thing with better graphics and a few new moves, so at least this game feeling different keeps it from becoming like all all the EA and Dynasty Warriros sequels. The Double Agent thing is a nice twist too, making you make game altering choices which hasn't been done in many games at all, let alone this series. The multiplayer is different than before..think more streamlined and quicker. And Youri, the story in this one is the major selling point this time, hence all the talk about the new direction the story was taking over all the other games. I suggest you get online like the other 4 million Livers and stop whining about 10 year old split screen. This game engine couldn't be doubled on the screen at the same time much like Doom 3 so I have no idea what you're complaining about. Split screen is all but history in this day and age of graphics engines that can barely run on the screen as it is, much less twice at the same time. Expand
  15. YouriD.
    Oct 19, 2006
    5
    Typical Splinter Cell action marred by an enexcusable lack of split screen for multiplayer modes. The major selling point was in multiplayer and co-op action, but in order to do that I now need another xbox 360 and another copy of the game. I guess goodbye to having the system link with two mercs on one tv and two spies on the other for Splinter Cell parties.
  16. MikeL.
    Oct 20, 2006
    5
    Online play was a major downgrade from Chaos Theory.
  17. Topik
    Jan 6, 2007
    6
    How can people say this game is thousand better time than chaos theory... this is a good game..but Ubisoft made a much more BETTER double agent for Xbox (yes XBOX is Better than 360). I'm talking about Better Plot (story is much more complete) Better Multiplayer (360 mplay is as Pandora tomorrow, on Xbox double agent we STILL have REAL Co-Op Mission ).360 version is obviously far How can people say this game is thousand better time than chaos theory... this is a good game..but Ubisoft made a much more BETTER double agent for Xbox (yes XBOX is Better than 360). I'm talking about Better Plot (story is much more complete) Better Multiplayer (360 mplay is as Pandora tomorrow, on Xbox double agent we STILL have REAL Co-Op Mission ).360 version is obviously far superior in graphic depertment but what we see is a shine game that must demonstrate the better graphics capability of the 360 , and to do that a LOT of mission are played in full day (you still have night goggles.. useless for almost all the game!!).If you want to play real splinter cell I suggest you to try the XBOX version! For me this is a nice version but 360 take 6 and I give 9 to Xbox version. Expand
  18. MikkoP.
    Nov 21, 2006
    7
    The plot is vastly improved comparing to previous Splinter Cell games. The storyline branches, depending on what you do. The graphics are very next gen too. Too bad, in few missions there is SEVERE frame rate issues. Personally, I thinks it is unforgivable in a game like Splinter Cell where your movements and subtle moving are everything. This is why I gave an 7 instead of 10. Chaos The plot is vastly improved comparing to previous Splinter Cell games. The storyline branches, depending on what you do. The graphics are very next gen too. Too bad, in few missions there is SEVERE frame rate issues. Personally, I thinks it is unforgivable in a game like Splinter Cell where your movements and subtle moving are everything. This is why I gave an 7 instead of 10. Chaos Theory still looks great on old Xbox, and it has a solid framerate. What the hell, Ubisoft? Yea, it looks great on screenshots... BUT, would be nice to be able to play it, too. Luckily, the frame rate issue apllies only to some missions, others run smoothly as they should. Online play is much easier to learn, and still deep and demands skill. The frame rate is solid. Map design could have been better. Theres only one really great map, Boss House. Others are just variations of the same map. (Dark warehouse -type of places) I would have hoped for more everyday locations, like, say, an airborne jumbo jet, a hospital, a shopping mall, a luxurous boat on open sea, few different luxurous private houses, a moving train. It´s easier to communicate with team, when you say, like "I´m going trough the kitchen" than, "I´m going trought this dark warehouse with some crates...err, one of them, anyway". Online rules, I hope there will be a map pack with more maps like Boss House. Expand
  19. NickB.
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    Something that probably won't be touched on by other customer reviewers is the voice acting. i'm a drama major at UCLA, and the inflections and emotions expressed in the person who does sam fisher's voice is amazingly executed. i'm impressed as an actor and as a video game junky. besides all this, the game just pretty much rules. i've never been so drawn into aSomething that probably won't be touched on by other customer reviewers is the voice acting. i'm a drama major at UCLA, and the inflections and emotions expressed in the person who does sam fisher's voice is amazingly executed. i'm impressed as an actor and as a video game junky. besides all this, the game just pretty much rules. i've never been so drawn into a shooter, and the stealth is way more difficult to execute than in the others. strategy is the name of the game. i give it a 9.9. Expand
  20. RickyM.
    Oct 17, 2006
    9
    One of my favorite aspects of this game is the amount of freedom you have. In certain levels you're allowed to explore the premises, and the level design makes for very open ended exploration. The bots and the environment make the levels exciting, and every turn is unexpected and somehow contributes or sets in well with the story. This game is truly a masterpiece. I can't wait One of my favorite aspects of this game is the amount of freedom you have. In certain levels you're allowed to explore the premises, and the level design makes for very open ended exploration. The bots and the environment make the levels exciting, and every turn is unexpected and somehow contributes or sets in well with the story. This game is truly a masterpiece. I can't wait until we get the next installment of Splinter Cell. Collapse
  21. Alex
    Oct 18, 2006
    9
    Wow. HUGE jump from Chaos Theory. this is both a good thing and a bad thing. lets start with the good: first off, this game SHINES. the graphics are some of the best on the 360 right now, although the game does suffer from some awkward clipping and animation issues. the new missions are very well done, but also warrant one of the more annoying aspects of the game. There aren't any Wow. HUGE jump from Chaos Theory. this is both a good thing and a bad thing. lets start with the good: first off, this game SHINES. the graphics are some of the best on the 360 right now, although the game does suffer from some awkward clipping and animation issues. the new missions are very well done, but also warrant one of the more annoying aspects of the game. There aren't any really exciting new gadgets to speak of, but there are some tweaks on old favorites like the sticky cam, which also explodes, and some sorta-new additions, sush as the wench, which was present in Chaos Theory, but only during co-op. The new trust system is very interesting. keeping both sides of the spectrum happy is a challange, especially on the Hard mode. but be warned: this game, even on easy, feels significantly tougher than Chaos Theory. between the levels with zero darkness cover, and the sometimes cheap AI, Double Agent can become maddeningly frustrating quite quickly. Versus mode has been completely redone. and almost all for the better. for one, the spies move MUCH faster (it takes a little getting used to), and have some really cool toys (like the Tech Glove) which helps offset the Mercs new raw stopping power and Spy-finding abilities. the graphics are pretty much on-par with the solo mode, but the spies litterally GLOW when they're in darkness. it does help to keep track of your spy, but it also becomes very distracting. my favorite upgrade to the Versus is that the control scheme actually matches the Solo mode. no more having to remember two different controls for the same game anymore. in the end, the Solo mode, thus far, isn't quite as god at Chaos Theory's was (but that's not to say it isn't amazing). however, the new versus mode is more than enough to make up for the difference. overall, 9.5 out of 10. Expand
  22. BenjaminF.
    Oct 24, 2006
    9
    Single player is way better than multi, but multi is still fun. I especially like spy vs. spy.
  23. BDub
    Dec 6, 2006
    8
    With COD 2, this is my favorite XBOX360 game. I own and have beaten every Splinter Cell and have left the last two campaigns not too satisfied. I had twice the amount of fun than i have had on any of the previous versions and i can equate it to the preciseness of the controls and the interesting boards. For the first time in SC history, once i got past the intial control learning curve i With COD 2, this is my favorite XBOX360 game. I own and have beaten every Splinter Cell and have left the last two campaigns not too satisfied. I had twice the amount of fun than i have had on any of the previous versions and i can equate it to the preciseness of the controls and the interesting boards. For the first time in SC history, once i got past the intial control learning curve i had no problems controlling sam perfectly. For the first time in SC i only screw up from bad decisions, not rolling out into the middle of four enemies by accident. The fact that he can actually creep backwards sounds like a no brainer but this is the first it was available. This is also the first time i played the whole game twice. I went into this game not expecting this greatness. So why the 8? The multiplayer sucks. I looked forward to the cool co-op campaigns they had in choas theory, but no luck. Expand
  24. Gingerman
    Jan 13, 2007
    8
    Chaos theory remains to be the better splinter cell game, however couple of the very few levels in this game stand out. especially the congo level and the china levels are quite well. i hated the "headquarters" levels, same old stuff over and over...also, this seemed like a cheap trick to me, to not make more deep levels. It seemed also like, more linear than the other splinter cell Chaos theory remains to be the better splinter cell game, however couple of the very few levels in this game stand out. especially the congo level and the china levels are quite well. i hated the "headquarters" levels, same old stuff over and over...also, this seemed like a cheap trick to me, to not make more deep levels. It seemed also like, more linear than the other splinter cell games, even though you can make decisions which affect the outcome of the game, there isnt much exploring, or creativity. given the power of Xbox 360, one would expect a deeper, longer splinter cell game. level design is kind of lame, there are 2 ships you need to be on...one is stuck in ice, the other is a moving cruise ship...I would have completely skipped the ice tanker for more attention on the cruise ship. since graphically this is the most attractive level...but you cannot go anywhere cool on the ship...again, bad levels. the swiming is new and very cool...the 5th splinter cell will be amazing no daubt...this 4th one is just a test ride. Expand
  25. MattF.
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    Nice online mode with some cool modes. Great if you have a mate to play it with. Also has some cool parts to the single player mode, but it can be very difficult at times and should not be the decider of a purchase.
  26. J.G.
    Aug 16, 2007
    7
    Not a bad game, but what the heck is going on with not having a splitscreen multiplayer. I know that the playstation version has a splitscreen multiplayer. Xbox 360 is really starting to tick me off with this whole money grubbing Xbox Live crap!!!!!! Why do I have to pay extra money for xbox live when I have two extra control ports on my system. I mean, what's the freaking point of Not a bad game, but what the heck is going on with not having a splitscreen multiplayer. I know that the playstation version has a splitscreen multiplayer. Xbox 360 is really starting to tick me off with this whole money grubbing Xbox Live crap!!!!!! Why do I have to pay extra money for xbox live when I have two extra control ports on my system. I mean, what's the freaking point of having extra controls?!!!!! I think I'll being switching to another system if this doesn't change soon!! Expand
  27. Jul 15, 2012
    5
    Double Agent doesn't feel like a next-generation game in terms of its presentation, nor does it innovate enough to bring the franchise into a new generation. The story is richer than ever, but the gameplay suffers from enormous frame rate problems and came across as more or less identical to previous titles - expect from a few new icons and minor changes here and there. The time limitsDouble Agent doesn't feel like a next-generation game in terms of its presentation, nor does it innovate enough to bring the franchise into a new generation. The story is richer than ever, but the gameplay suffers from enormous frame rate problems and came across as more or less identical to previous titles - expect from a few new icons and minor changes here and there. The time limits seems like they have been put in place because the developers were out of intuitive gameplay ideas, and the night vision goggles have been rendered worse than the previous games with its wide lens approach. The war zone levels didn't quite fit the stealth genre, certainly not with the current style of gameplay, and I no longer felt like I was in control of my surroundings. The checkpoints are not frequent enough, and there are no opportunity to quick save, so saving becomes quite tedious after a while with its eventual 15 second loading time. This game was obviously made for Xbox and simply ported to the 360 at a higher resolution. Ubisoft has already done far better with their previous titles. A shame really. Expand
  28. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    The single player in the 360 version of this game is very lackluster. Having played and beaten both I'm not sure what happened when they brought this to the 360, plot holes and at somes points full levels/missions are nowhere to be found. The upside to this game is its multiplayer, Spy vs Merc is different to the majority of shooter multiplayer games with only one team having a gun, butThe single player in the 360 version of this game is very lackluster. Having played and beaten both I'm not sure what happened when they brought this to the 360, plot holes and at somes points full levels/missions are nowhere to be found. The upside to this game is its multiplayer, Spy vs Merc is different to the majority of shooter multiplayer games with only one team having a gun, but learning to use the spy and being able to get so close to a merc that you can snap there neck without them even noticing you there is something you have to experience. Im giving this a 6/10 for singleplayer and a 10/10 for multiplayer. Expand
  29. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    I played a lot of this game a few years ago, but I never really got around to beating it. A lot of the missions were a blast to play. The problem is that there is a level you have to play over and over again, the objectives change each time but your still playing on the same recycled level. Basically your agent is infiltration a terrorist base over and over again. No complaints about theI played a lot of this game a few years ago, but I never really got around to beating it. A lot of the missions were a blast to play. The problem is that there is a level you have to play over and over again, the objectives change each time but your still playing on the same recycled level. Basically your agent is infiltration a terrorist base over and over again. No complaints about the graphics and gameplay. I can only give this game an 8/10 Expand
  30. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    Pros:Sam,places,musics,characters,endings,multiple choises!
    cons:not really!
    This is the best splinter cell game in the world there is no mistake the story is amazing and fantastic, fisher is different finally...multiple choises is fantastic,JBA HQ is pretty great this whole double agent things is something new.different endings finally.Sam fisher looking is great...plus the gameplay
    Pros:Sam,places,musics,characters,endings,multiple choises!
    cons:not really!

    This is the best splinter cell game in the world there is no mistake the story is amazing and fantastic, fisher is different finally...multiple choises is fantastic,JBA HQ is pretty great this whole double agent things is something new.different endings finally.Sam fisher looking is great...plus the gameplay is like the old SC games.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Rupturing quality and oozing tension, this is stealth gaming of the highest calibre, full of imagination and augmented by an excellent two-way Trust system that leaves you pondering every choice you make and then having to deal with the consequences. [Nov 2006, p.8]
  2. Just think of Double Agent as the least amazing Splinter Cell yet, rather than the worst game in the series - because it's simply not. It's the gutsiest, and the chances it takes (but doesn't quite nail) give the series room to evolve into something better than could've possibly imagined to iterations ago. [Dec 2006, p.70]
  3. 90
    All sorts of improvements have been made to level design, AI, gameplay mechanics (which are simplified yet still require skill), and a meaningful storyline punctuated with directed moments. While some may argue the point, the new Mercs Vs. Spies mode is good fun and should prove to have legs on Xbox Live.