User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 149
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ACE5
    Nov 4, 2006
    7
    The Graphics can be considered, " Works of Art". The gameplay on the otherhand is a mixed bag. I found myself hating the controls at first, thinking... O.K., maybe I just gotta get used to it, and then it will feel natural... but no, the controls acted funny throughout the entire game. The there are the missions. I love games that involve stealth action, but I got tired of the levels. To The Graphics can be considered, " Works of Art". The gameplay on the otherhand is a mixed bag. I found myself hating the controls at first, thinking... O.K., maybe I just gotta get used to it, and then it will feel natural... but no, the controls acted funny throughout the entire game. The there are the missions. I love games that involve stealth action, but I got tired of the levels. To me it felt like I kept doing the same thing over and over again. True, there are some parts of the game that fun to play, But, the more I played this game, the more I didn't feel like being bothered with it. It's like the game you buy cause everyone says it's good, but when you get it, you never feel like playing it. And then it just sits and depreciates until you try to trade it in, and get a dollar for it. I do like the direction the Splinter Cell series is moving in, I just think it will need more work for it to be great again. "HELLOOOO, R6: Vegas!" Expand
  2. YouriD.
    Oct 19, 2006
    5
    Typical Splinter Cell action marred by an enexcusable lack of split screen for multiplayer modes. The major selling point was in multiplayer and co-op action, but in order to do that I now need another xbox 360 and another copy of the game. I guess goodbye to having the system link with two mercs on one tv and two spies on the other for Splinter Cell parties.
  3. MikeL.
    Oct 20, 2006
    5
    Online play was a major downgrade from Chaos Theory.
  4. MikkoP.
    Nov 21, 2006
    7
    The plot is vastly improved comparing to previous Splinter Cell games. The storyline branches, depending on what you do. The graphics are very next gen too. Too bad, in few missions there is SEVERE frame rate issues. Personally, I thinks it is unforgivable in a game like Splinter Cell where your movements and subtle moving are everything. This is why I gave an 7 instead of 10. Chaos The plot is vastly improved comparing to previous Splinter Cell games. The storyline branches, depending on what you do. The graphics are very next gen too. Too bad, in few missions there is SEVERE frame rate issues. Personally, I thinks it is unforgivable in a game like Splinter Cell where your movements and subtle moving are everything. This is why I gave an 7 instead of 10. Chaos Theory still looks great on old Xbox, and it has a solid framerate. What the hell, Ubisoft? Yea, it looks great on screenshots... BUT, would be nice to be able to play it, too. Luckily, the frame rate issue apllies only to some missions, others run smoothly as they should. Online play is much easier to learn, and still deep and demands skill. The frame rate is solid. Map design could have been better. Theres only one really great map, Boss House. Others are just variations of the same map. (Dark warehouse -type of places) I would have hoped for more everyday locations, like, say, an airborne jumbo jet, a hospital, a shopping mall, a luxurous boat on open sea, few different luxurous private houses, a moving train. It´s easier to communicate with team, when you say, like "I´m going trough the kitchen" than, "I´m going trought this dark warehouse with some crates...err, one of them, anyway". Online rules, I hope there will be a map pack with more maps like Boss House. Expand
  5. Topik
    Jan 6, 2007
    6
    How can people say this game is thousand better time than chaos theory... this is a good game..but Ubisoft made a much more BETTER double agent for Xbox (yes XBOX is Better than 360). I'm talking about Better Plot (story is much more complete) Better Multiplayer (360 mplay is as Pandora tomorrow, on Xbox double agent we STILL have REAL Co-Op Mission ).360 version is obviously far How can people say this game is thousand better time than chaos theory... this is a good game..but Ubisoft made a much more BETTER double agent for Xbox (yes XBOX is Better than 360). I'm talking about Better Plot (story is much more complete) Better Multiplayer (360 mplay is as Pandora tomorrow, on Xbox double agent we STILL have REAL Co-Op Mission ).360 version is obviously far superior in graphic depertment but what we see is a shine game that must demonstrate the better graphics capability of the 360 , and to do that a LOT of mission are played in full day (you still have night goggles.. useless for almost all the game!!).If you want to play real splinter cell I suggest you to try the XBOX version! For me this is a nice version but 360 take 6 and I give 9 to Xbox version. Expand
  6. J.G.
    Aug 16, 2007
    7
    Not a bad game, but what the heck is going on with not having a splitscreen multiplayer. I know that the playstation version has a splitscreen multiplayer. Xbox 360 is really starting to tick me off with this whole money grubbing Xbox Live crap!!!!!! Why do I have to pay extra money for xbox live when I have two extra control ports on my system. I mean, what's the freaking point of Not a bad game, but what the heck is going on with not having a splitscreen multiplayer. I know that the playstation version has a splitscreen multiplayer. Xbox 360 is really starting to tick me off with this whole money grubbing Xbox Live crap!!!!!! Why do I have to pay extra money for xbox live when I have two extra control ports on my system. I mean, what's the freaking point of having extra controls?!!!!! I think I'll being switching to another system if this doesn't change soon!! Expand
  7. MattF.
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    Nice online mode with some cool modes. Great if you have a mate to play it with. Also has some cool parts to the single player mode, but it can be very difficult at times and should not be the decider of a purchase.
  8. Jul 15, 2012
    5
    Double Agent doesn't feel like a next-generation game in terms of its presentation, nor does it innovate enough to bring the franchise into a new generation. The story is richer than ever, but the gameplay suffers from enormous frame rate problems and came across as more or less identical to previous titles - expect from a few new icons and minor changes here and there. The time limitsDouble Agent doesn't feel like a next-generation game in terms of its presentation, nor does it innovate enough to bring the franchise into a new generation. The story is richer than ever, but the gameplay suffers from enormous frame rate problems and came across as more or less identical to previous titles - expect from a few new icons and minor changes here and there. The time limits seems like they have been put in place because the developers were out of intuitive gameplay ideas, and the night vision goggles have been rendered worse than the previous games with its wide lens approach. The war zone levels didn't quite fit the stealth genre, certainly not with the current style of gameplay, and I no longer felt like I was in control of my surroundings. The checkpoints are not frequent enough, and there are no opportunity to quick save, so saving becomes quite tedious after a while with its eventual 15 second loading time. This game was obviously made for Xbox and simply ported to the 360 at a higher resolution. Ubisoft has already done far better with their previous titles. A shame really. Expand
  9. Mar 22, 2017
    7
    Splinter Cell Double Agent ,has by far the best story in the franchise and Sam Fisher that you play as being both the NSA and a terrorist in John Browns Army is absolutely enthralling, The choices you make feel more emotionally driven in the narrative than logical and thats pretty darn rare to find in any game. the premise alone and the fleshed out story makes double agent worth playingSplinter Cell Double Agent ,has by far the best story in the franchise and Sam Fisher that you play as being both the NSA and a terrorist in John Browns Army is absolutely enthralling, The choices you make feel more emotionally driven in the narrative than logical and thats pretty darn rare to find in any game. the premise alone and the fleshed out story makes double agent worth playing but its not without its flaws, the mechanics/controls is its biggest flaw and maybe its only an issue for the 360-ps3 port, its just very clunky at times and has less refined game play than chaos theory nonetheless its still a fun game to play but in general it didn't feel very cleaned up mechanic wise. and the multiplayer is unique and also fun but also could've had a little more to it. In conclusion Splinter Cell Double Agent is my favorite Splinter Cell story out of the whole series but game play wise it can fall short and under perform at times, but if you are a fan of the franchise or stealth espionage i would highly recommend this game to you. i would give it a mid to high seven. 7.4-7.7 Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Rupturing quality and oozing tension, this is stealth gaming of the highest calibre, full of imagination and augmented by an excellent two-way Trust system that leaves you pondering every choice you make and then having to deal with the consequences. [Nov 2006, p.8]
  2. Official Xbox Magazine
    90
    Just think of Double Agent as the least amazing Splinter Cell yet, rather than the worst game in the series - because it's simply not. It's the gutsiest, and the chances it takes (but doesn't quite nail) give the series room to evolve into something better than could've possibly imagined to iterations ago. [Dec 2006, p.70]
  3. 90
    All sorts of improvements have been made to level design, AI, gameplay mechanics (which are simplified yet still require skill), and a meaningful storyline punctuated with directed moments. While some may argue the point, the new Mercs Vs. Spies mode is good fun and should prove to have legs on Xbox Live.