User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 136
  2. Negative: 10 out of 136

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JunkE.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    No wonder you liked the voice acting; it's Michael Ironside's voice! Great game b.t.w.
  2. SamFisher
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    I just checked IGN to see what they've given SCDA, they say 9.0. I think that's a little conservative. 9.6, easily. The level design, especially - although I've only been through the first two - is just astounding. Every hallway, nook and cranny is mind-blowing. And every little detail can be destroyed! Which is awesome IMHO.
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    More of a Splinter Cell 3.5 than a fully revamped 4, Double Agent could've been so much more. That said, and if viewed as if it was the first game in the series, it's an enjoyable experience that is definitely worth picking up whether you're a fan of the series or a newcomer - and especially if found at a price well below retail. A fairly easy 1000 if looked at simply from an achievementMore of a Splinter Cell 3.5 than a fully revamped 4, Double Agent could've been so much more. That said, and if viewed as if it was the first game in the series, it's an enjoyable experience that is definitely worth picking up whether you're a fan of the series or a newcomer - and especially if found at a price well below retail. A fairly easy 1000 if looked at simply from an achievement point of view. Here's hoping Splinter Cell 5: Conviction provides a more worthy contender to the franchise. Expand
  4. TyroneB.
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    In no other game can you run up behind a merc and have him scream (different things every time) just to use him as body armor. The game is revolutionary.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    The beautiful lighting and graphics really add an amazing layered animation look. Double Agent is extremely engaging and free. Awesome!
  6. Horuso
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    About a thousand times better than Chaos Theory, I dont' care what anyone says. This game is just amazing.
  7. JG
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    Great singleplayer and online play. This is the best Splinter Cell game in the series.
  8. SimonG.
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    Well here is next gen at last, what Ubisoft have done here is made a fantastic series into an amazing one and one you must buy if you own a 360.. yeah the single player isnt massive (but great),and with the multiplayer your keep coming back for more, for months to come...mark my words.. great work ubisoft 10/10
  9. FPSMaster
    Oct 20, 2006
    9
    This is a huge step up graphically in single player from Chaos Theory and the multiplayer is also a step up looking about like Chaos Theory's single player portion. It plays like the old ones, but also feels a little like Metal Gear now with not as many shadows and more of a hide-behind-this-until-they-walk-past sort of feel, but it's nice. The first 3 games were essentially the This is a huge step up graphically in single player from Chaos Theory and the multiplayer is also a step up looking about like Chaos Theory's single player portion. It plays like the old ones, but also feels a little like Metal Gear now with not as many shadows and more of a hide-behind-this-until-they-walk-past sort of feel, but it's nice. The first 3 games were essentially the same thing with better graphics and a few new moves, so at least this game feeling different keeps it from becoming like all all the EA and Dynasty Warriros sequels. The Double Agent thing is a nice twist too, making you make game altering choices which hasn't been done in many games at all, let alone this series. The multiplayer is different than before..think more streamlined and quicker. And Youri, the story in this one is the major selling point this time, hence all the talk about the new direction the story was taking over all the other games. I suggest you get online like the other 4 million Livers and stop whining about 10 year old split screen. This game engine couldn't be doubled on the screen at the same time much like Doom 3 so I have no idea what you're complaining about. Split screen is all but history in this day and age of graphics engines that can barely run on the screen as it is, much less twice at the same time. Expand
  10. NickB.
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    Something that probably won't be touched on by other customer reviewers is the voice acting. i'm a drama major at UCLA, and the inflections and emotions expressed in the person who does sam fisher's voice is amazingly executed. i'm impressed as an actor and as a video game junky. besides all this, the game just pretty much rules. i've never been so drawn into aSomething that probably won't be touched on by other customer reviewers is the voice acting. i'm a drama major at UCLA, and the inflections and emotions expressed in the person who does sam fisher's voice is amazingly executed. i'm impressed as an actor and as a video game junky. besides all this, the game just pretty much rules. i've never been so drawn into a shooter, and the stealth is way more difficult to execute than in the others. strategy is the name of the game. i give it a 9.9. Expand
  11. RickyM.
    Oct 17, 2006
    9
    One of my favorite aspects of this game is the amount of freedom you have. In certain levels you're allowed to explore the premises, and the level design makes for very open ended exploration. The bots and the environment make the levels exciting, and every turn is unexpected and somehow contributes or sets in well with the story. This game is truly a masterpiece. I can't wait One of my favorite aspects of this game is the amount of freedom you have. In certain levels you're allowed to explore the premises, and the level design makes for very open ended exploration. The bots and the environment make the levels exciting, and every turn is unexpected and somehow contributes or sets in well with the story. This game is truly a masterpiece. I can't wait until we get the next installment of Splinter Cell. Expand
  12. Alex
    Oct 18, 2006
    9
    Wow. HUGE jump from Chaos Theory. this is both a good thing and a bad thing. lets start with the good: first off, this game SHINES. the graphics are some of the best on the 360 right now, although the game does suffer from some awkward clipping and animation issues. the new missions are very well done, but also warrant one of the more annoying aspects of the game. There aren't any Wow. HUGE jump from Chaos Theory. this is both a good thing and a bad thing. lets start with the good: first off, this game SHINES. the graphics are some of the best on the 360 right now, although the game does suffer from some awkward clipping and animation issues. the new missions are very well done, but also warrant one of the more annoying aspects of the game. There aren't any really exciting new gadgets to speak of, but there are some tweaks on old favorites like the sticky cam, which also explodes, and some sorta-new additions, sush as the wench, which was present in Chaos Theory, but only during co-op. The new trust system is very interesting. keeping both sides of the spectrum happy is a challange, especially on the Hard mode. but be warned: this game, even on easy, feels significantly tougher than Chaos Theory. between the levels with zero darkness cover, and the sometimes cheap AI, Double Agent can become maddeningly frustrating quite quickly. Versus mode has been completely redone. and almost all for the better. for one, the spies move MUCH faster (it takes a little getting used to), and have some really cool toys (like the Tech Glove) which helps offset the Mercs new raw stopping power and Spy-finding abilities. the graphics are pretty much on-par with the solo mode, but the spies litterally GLOW when they're in darkness. it does help to keep track of your spy, but it also becomes very distracting. my favorite upgrade to the Versus is that the control scheme actually matches the Solo mode. no more having to remember two different controls for the same game anymore. in the end, the Solo mode, thus far, isn't quite as god at Chaos Theory's was (but that's not to say it isn't amazing). however, the new versus mode is more than enough to make up for the difference. overall, 9.5 out of 10. Expand
  13. BenjaminF.
    Oct 24, 2006
    9
    Single player is way better than multi, but multi is still fun. I especially like spy vs. spy.
  14. BDub
    Dec 6, 2006
    8
    With COD 2, this is my favorite XBOX360 game. I own and have beaten every Splinter Cell and have left the last two campaigns not too satisfied. I had twice the amount of fun than i have had on any of the previous versions and i can equate it to the preciseness of the controls and the interesting boards. For the first time in SC history, once i got past the intial control learning curve i With COD 2, this is my favorite XBOX360 game. I own and have beaten every Splinter Cell and have left the last two campaigns not too satisfied. I had twice the amount of fun than i have had on any of the previous versions and i can equate it to the preciseness of the controls and the interesting boards. For the first time in SC history, once i got past the intial control learning curve i had no problems controlling sam perfectly. For the first time in SC i only screw up from bad decisions, not rolling out into the middle of four enemies by accident. The fact that he can actually creep backwards sounds like a no brainer but this is the first it was available. This is also the first time i played the whole game twice. I went into this game not expecting this greatness. So why the 8? The multiplayer sucks. I looked forward to the cool co-op campaigns they had in choas theory, but no luck. Expand
  15. Gingerman
    Jan 13, 2007
    8
    Chaos theory remains to be the better splinter cell game, however couple of the very few levels in this game stand out. especially the congo level and the china levels are quite well. i hated the "headquarters" levels, same old stuff over and over...also, this seemed like a cheap trick to me, to not make more deep levels. It seemed also like, more linear than the other splinter cell Chaos theory remains to be the better splinter cell game, however couple of the very few levels in this game stand out. especially the congo level and the china levels are quite well. i hated the "headquarters" levels, same old stuff over and over...also, this seemed like a cheap trick to me, to not make more deep levels. It seemed also like, more linear than the other splinter cell games, even though you can make decisions which affect the outcome of the game, there isnt much exploring, or creativity. given the power of Xbox 360, one would expect a deeper, longer splinter cell game. level design is kind of lame, there are 2 ships you need to be on...one is stuck in ice, the other is a moving cruise ship...I would have completely skipped the ice tanker for more attention on the cruise ship. since graphically this is the most attractive level...but you cannot go anywhere cool on the ship...again, bad levels. the swiming is new and very cool...the 5th splinter cell will be amazing no daubt...this 4th one is just a test ride. Expand
  16. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    The single player in the 360 version of this game is very lackluster. Having played and beaten both I'm not sure what happened when they brought this to the 360, plot holes and at somes points full levels/missions are nowhere to be found. The upside to this game is its multiplayer, Spy vs Merc is different to the majority of shooter multiplayer games with only one team having a gun, butThe single player in the 360 version of this game is very lackluster. Having played and beaten both I'm not sure what happened when they brought this to the 360, plot holes and at somes points full levels/missions are nowhere to be found. The upside to this game is its multiplayer, Spy vs Merc is different to the majority of shooter multiplayer games with only one team having a gun, but learning to use the spy and being able to get so close to a merc that you can snap there neck without them even noticing you there is something you have to experience. Im giving this a 6/10 for singleplayer and a 10/10 for multiplayer. Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    I played a lot of this game a few years ago, but I never really got around to beating it. A lot of the missions were a blast to play. The problem is that there is a level you have to play over and over again, the objectives change each time but your still playing on the same recycled level. Basically your agent is infiltration a terrorist base over and over again. No complaints about theI played a lot of this game a few years ago, but I never really got around to beating it. A lot of the missions were a blast to play. The problem is that there is a level you have to play over and over again, the objectives change each time but your still playing on the same recycled level. Basically your agent is infiltration a terrorist base over and over again. No complaints about the graphics and gameplay. I can only give this game an 8/10 Expand
  18. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    Pros:Sam,places,musics,characters,endings,multiple choises!
    cons:not really!
    This is the best splinter cell game in the world there is no mistake the story is amazing and fantastic, fisher is different finally...multiple choises is fantastic,JBA HQ is pretty great this whole double agent things is something new.different endings finally.Sam fisher looking is great...plus the gameplay
    Pros:Sam,places,musics,characters,endings,multiple choises!
    cons:not really!

    This is the best splinter cell game in the world there is no mistake the story is amazing and fantastic, fisher is different finally...multiple choises is fantastic,JBA HQ is pretty great this whole double agent things is something new.different endings finally.Sam fisher looking is great...plus the gameplay is like the old SC games.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Rupturing quality and oozing tension, this is stealth gaming of the highest calibre, full of imagination and augmented by an excellent two-way Trust system that leaves you pondering every choice you make and then having to deal with the consequences. [Nov 2006, p.8]
  2. Just think of Double Agent as the least amazing Splinter Cell yet, rather than the worst game in the series - because it's simply not. It's the gutsiest, and the chances it takes (but doesn't quite nail) give the series room to evolve into something better than could've possibly imagined to iterations ago. [Dec 2006, p.70]
  3. 90
    All sorts of improvements have been made to level design, AI, gameplay mechanics (which are simplified yet still require skill), and a meaningful storyline punctuated with directed moments. While some may argue the point, the new Mercs Vs. Spies mode is good fun and should prove to have legs on Xbox Live.