Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Veteran agent Sam Fisher is back. But he's never faced an enemy like this before. To stop a devastating terrorist attack, he must infiltrate a vicious terrorist group and destroy it from within. For the first time ever, experience the relentless tension and gut-wrenching dilemmas of life asVeteran agent Sam Fisher is back. But he's never faced an enemy like this before. To stop a devastating terrorist attack, he must infiltrate a vicious terrorist group and destroy it from within. For the first time ever, experience the relentless tension and gut-wrenching dilemmas of life as a double agent. As you infiltrate a terrorist organization in its American headquarters, you must carefully weigh the consequences of your actions. Kill too many criminals and you'll blow your cover. Hesitate too long and millions will die. Do whatever it takes to complete your mission, but get out alive. Dual objectives to fulfill: NSA government agents and terrorists will each want you to accomplish opposing tasks at the same time. Discover the tension of being a double agent: Use actual tactics employed by today’s real-life double agents to sabotage the terrorists' plans. Explore a branching storyline with multiple endings: Your choices have an impact on how the story and game play unfolds. Missions from all over the world, from Asia to Africa to the heart of the US. Experience extreme situations: underwater or in a sandstorm, hiding behind the dust or smoke – and even skydiving. Master the latest weapons and gadgets used by NSA government agents in addition to black-market terrorist weapons. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Magnificent on the Xbox 360, this could be a contender for game of the year.
  2. Involving missions, cutting edge graphics and an excellent narrative that, while not always living up to its potential, strives mightily to expand the storytelling and emotional connection while maintaining the right balance of fun and adventure.
  3. Veterans of Splinter Cell Chaos Theory may be disappointed with Double Agent's multiplayer. Yet, while some may call this game stripped down, we thought the lack of gadgets streamlined the multiplayer experience and sped up matches online.
  4. Games Master UK
    86
    Excellent as it is, it fails to match the impossibly high standards set by "Chaos Theory." [Dec 2006, p.96]
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    83
    Splinter Cell still offers the most unique multiplayer around, and Double Agent will keep me happily entertained for quite some time--probably well past Fisher's retirement party. [Dec. 2006, p.121]
  6. A huge variety of settings and missions mean Ubisoft really gets to show off graphically, and we found that the 360’s HD capabilities gave the game a sleek, immersive feel. A few niggles in terms of camera views and accessibility for people new to the series let it down, but overall it’s a must have for Splinter Cell fans.
  7. 60
    While single player offers enough to keep things new, the same cannot be said for multiplayer.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31
  1. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    The beautiful lighting and graphics really add an amazing layered animation look. Double Agent is extremely engaging and free. Awesome!
  2. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    Pros:Sam,places,musics,characters,endings,multiple choises!
    cons:not really!
    This is the best splinter cell game in the world there is no
    Pros:Sam,places,musics,characters,endings,multiple choises!
    cons:not really!

    This is the best splinter cell game in the world there is no mistake the story is amazing and fantastic, fisher is different finally...multiple choises is fantastic,JBA HQ is pretty great this whole double agent things is something new.different endings finally.Sam fisher looking is great...plus the gameplay is like the old SC games.
    Expand
  3. TyroneB.
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    In no other game can you run up behind a merc and have him scream (different things every time) just to use him as body armor. The game is In no other game can you run up behind a merc and have him scream (different things every time) just to use him as body armor. The game is revolutionary. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    I played a lot of this game a few years ago, but I never really got around to beating it. A lot of the missions were a blast to play. TheI played a lot of this game a few years ago, but I never really got around to beating it. A lot of the missions were a blast to play. The problem is that there is a level you have to play over and over again, the objectives change each time but your still playing on the same recycled level. Basically your agent is infiltration a terrorist base over and over again. No complaints about the graphics and gameplay. I can only give this game an 8/10 Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2017
    7
    Splinter Cell Double Agent ,has by far the best story in the franchise and Sam Fisher that you play as being both the NSA and a terrorist inSplinter Cell Double Agent ,has by far the best story in the franchise and Sam Fisher that you play as being both the NSA and a terrorist in John Browns Army is absolutely enthralling, The choices you make feel more emotionally driven in the narrative than logical and thats pretty darn rare to find in any game. the premise alone and the fleshed out story makes double agent worth playing but its not without its flaws, the mechanics/controls is its biggest flaw and maybe its only an issue for the 360-ps3 port, its just very clunky at times and has less refined game play than chaos theory nonetheless its still a fun game to play but in general it didn't feel very cleaned up mechanic wise. and the multiplayer is unique and also fun but also could've had a little more to it. In conclusion Splinter Cell Double Agent is my favorite Splinter Cell story out of the whole series but game play wise it can fall short and under perform at times, but if you are a fan of the franchise or stealth espionage i would highly recommend this game to you. i would give it a mid to high seven. 7.4-7.7 Expand
  6. MikkoP.
    Nov 21, 2006
    7
    The plot is vastly improved comparing to previous Splinter Cell games. The storyline branches, depending on what you do. The graphics are The plot is vastly improved comparing to previous Splinter Cell games. The storyline branches, depending on what you do. The graphics are very next gen too. Too bad, in few missions there is SEVERE frame rate issues. Personally, I thinks it is unforgivable in a game like Splinter Cell where your movements and subtle moving are everything. This is why I gave an 7 instead of 10. Chaos Theory still looks great on old Xbox, and it has a solid framerate. What the hell, Ubisoft? Yea, it looks great on screenshots... BUT, would be nice to be able to play it, too. Luckily, the frame rate issue apllies only to some missions, others run smoothly as they should. Online play is much easier to learn, and still deep and demands skill. The frame rate is solid. Map design could have been better. Theres only one really great map, Boss House. Others are just variations of the same map. (Dark warehouse -type of places) I would have hoped for more everyday locations, like, say, an airborne jumbo jet, a hospital, a shopping mall, a luxurous boat on open sea, few different luxurous private houses, a moving train. It´s easier to communicate with team, when you say, like "I´m going trough the kitchen" than, "I´m going trought this dark warehouse with some crates...err, one of them, anyway". Online rules, I hope there will be a map pack with more maps like Boss House. Expand
  7. SamM.
    Feb 7, 2007
    1
    This game disappointed me, although graphically good and the single player was intense at times, the online multiplayer was horrible. I am i This game disappointed me, although graphically good and the single player was intense at times, the online multiplayer was horrible. I am i big splintercell fan and loved playing chos thery online but since this newsplinter cell came out it has just lost the fun in online play. Its so easy to hack theres no stealth kills and worst of all your meant to be a spy but the mercs have a blleping thing that goes off when your close!! doesn't that just define the point??? all you have to do as a merc is run round till u here a beep then find which way it goes and wait for him to move. Your motion will pick him up and there we have it. So this game for me was rubbish I never play it even though I got to the top of onix mission 6 but im not there any more but are probably close like top 50 maybe I haven't checked. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.