Tomb Raider: Legend Xbox 360

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 88
  2. Negative: 9 out of 88
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Tomb Raider: Legend was my 2006 game of the year (pause for applause). After years of not being a player of the action/adventure genre, that Lara now belongs to along with Mr Drake, Batman and some scruffy Prince of Persia, I really enjoyed this game. I thought the gameplay was great (apart from camera issues, key to the genre) but I went back and played through the levels again trying toTomb Raider: Legend was my 2006 game of the year (pause for applause). After years of not being a player of the action/adventure genre, that Lara now belongs to along with Mr Drake, Batman and some scruffy Prince of Persia, I really enjoyed this game. I thought the gameplay was great (apart from camera issues, key to the genre) but I went back and played through the levels again trying to achieve gold medals, something I rarely do in games but I found the flowing movement and level design of a real high standard. The story really got me, to me she was after the ultimate artefact and that's what this character was all about. Overall I think this is the 360 must own outing of Lara Croft, the game misses out on a ten by being too short, although it was good design that I wanted to go back and play again the fact is I craved more of this game and other titles, that mastered the genre with this generations hardware, showed more could have been done. It was for me the most engaging game of 2006. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Second best in the franchise in my opinion. Only beaten by anniversary. The main reason being because the game is to short. But this game is great from beginning to end. The graphics for an early Xbox 360 game are great. The control problems holding back earlier games is finally fixed with the crystal engine from crystal dynamics. The puzzles were fun to solve. And the platforming is wellSecond best in the franchise in my opinion. Only beaten by anniversary. The main reason being because the game is to short. But this game is great from beginning to end. The graphics for an early Xbox 360 game are great. The control problems holding back earlier games is finally fixed with the crystal engine from crystal dynamics. The puzzles were fun to solve. And the platforming is well done. Again i will say that anniversary is better. But that is only because of the games length. I recommend this game to anyone who loves platformers Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    Back to the basics. Pretty visuals and easy controls. The gameplay feels smooth and fast paced. The story is mediocre. Tons of re-playability and unlockables. Enjoyable.
  4. Feb 19, 2012
    9
    I just can't describe the epicness. It's unique, deep and the graphics are not THAT bad, considering it was made on the PS2. Some of the bosees are a pain in the ass though.
  5. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    Tomb Raider: Legend é um excelente jogo.Porém peca em sua inteligência artificial que é falha ao extremo e aos próprios momentos de falha da própria Lara.O visual é ótimo para a época em que foi lançado.Tem uma história boa que vale a pena serTomb Raider: Legend é um excelente jogo.Porém peca em sua inteligência artificial que é falha ao extremo e aos próprios momentos de falha da própria Lara.O visual é ótimo para a época em que foi lançado.Tem uma história boa que vale a pena ser explorada pelo jogador. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2011
    9
    Don't listen to the negative reviewer haters, They probably haven't even played the game or hate the xbox for some reason. Tomb Raider Legend is a very good game.Classic exploration, puzzles and shooting. That's it. The graphics are good, ( some minor framerate issues that we can live with ), music good, gameplay very good. Overall is an enjoyable experience
  7. Aug 14, 2010
    8
    The first worthy successor to the original game in the series. The story is engaging and in the same spirit as the original. The game has a good blend of exploration and action elements mingled with some rare but slightly annoying reaction time sequences. The pacing is excellent with some breathtaking scenery and a heroic soundtrack. Too bad shooting is the only way to resolve conflicts,The first worthy successor to the original game in the series. The story is engaging and in the same spirit as the original. The game has a good blend of exploration and action elements mingled with some rare but slightly annoying reaction time sequences. The pacing is excellent with some breathtaking scenery and a heroic soundtrack. Too bad shooting is the only way to resolve conflicts, but at the easiest setting this forced violence doesn't detract too much from the adventure. The original game had less violence and was a better experience overall. Expand
  8. DavidD
    Apr 26, 2009
    9
    First, I want to say that I have not played a Tomb Raider game since the 3rd one way back when. With a recommendation from a friend, I played this not too long ago (March of 2009). I was so surprised how much fun this was!! I am very glad they got this franchise back on track. I know a lot of people might not have liked the different feeling from what made Tomb Raider, Tomb Raider, but I First, I want to say that I have not played a Tomb Raider game since the 3rd one way back when. With a recommendation from a friend, I played this not too long ago (March of 2009). I was so surprised how much fun this was!! I am very glad they got this franchise back on track. I know a lot of people might not have liked the different feeling from what made Tomb Raider, Tomb Raider, but I thought it was great. The smaller levels, the different worlds, were all a great treat! I also liked the fact that Lara had others to talk to. I liked her gear very much also. I think even though this was 3 years ago, the graphics were still pretty good. The music and sound were just awesome!! Some people have said that this was a 6 hour game. I totally disagree. If you run threw it in the time trials, sure it is very short but that is after the fact. If you go threw it and try and get everything you can and try and look at everything so you don't miss anything, it is about a 10 hour game. Anyway, I was very happy with it and I think it is a great comeback for the franchise. Now, Off to playing Underworld. Expand
  9. JG
    Jun 2, 2006
    8
    Not a bad game, the story is ok, the graphics are good, I would definently rent it before buying it because once u beat it theres nothing else.
  10. Daz
    May 21, 2006
    9
    Is the last reviewer Bill Gates? If so why has he given it a 0? Tombraider is great. It's how i remembered the first tombraider to be before the series started to go downhill. There is a nice mixture of puzzles, acrobatics, and fighting. the presentation is good. All in all a return to form for Lara
  11. RickC.
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    Pure delight. Way to short, but if you are a fan of the previous TR releases, then you'll love this one. Already looking forward to the next TR release.
  12. ScottV.
    Apr 17, 2006
    8
    It's a bit short, and on the 360 the graphics could have been better (although they are still better than the other platforms) but in the end this is simply a very fun game. Most of it is puzzle solving that you can do at your own pace, punctuated by brief bursts of combat or other faster activities. There is a lot of variety and the level design is top notch. As for length, even the It's a bit short, and on the 360 the graphics could have been better (although they are still better than the other platforms) but in the end this is simply a very fun game. Most of it is puzzle solving that you can do at your own pace, punctuated by brief bursts of combat or other faster activities. There is a lot of variety and the level design is top notch. As for length, even the 8-hour time quoted by the reviewers is not stopping to smell the roses and search for hidden treasures (which unlock costumes and achievement points), much less 5 or 6 as one reviewer threw out. I figure a good stab at playing through the game and finding most of the (optional) hidden stuff without a walkthrough would take at least 10-12 hours, and getting all the achievements by going through all the levels in hard mode and time trial mode would take a few more hours. So, unless you're really strapped for cash I wouldn't consider the length to be a reason to avoid this game, and there is very little else to complain about. Expand
  13. TomW.
    Apr 9, 2006
    8
    a well planed game .simple controls , i did lose the mental chllenenge or exploration in all levels of gameplay. last she sooooo bad looks so good.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. It might not be the same sort of revitalization that "Resident Evil" got last year, but make no mistake, this is a very good game with plenty of thrills, twists, turns, and thanks to some great stages and tons of personality, Legend doesn't just bring TR back, it will make you forget everything about those old, dusty PlayStation games as well.
  2. If there is to be a sequel, and I join the rising chorus of voices demanding one, it is going to have to properly develop the core (design) gameplay that Tomb Raider: Legend gets back to.
  3. A brilliant game that no 360 gamer should ignore.