User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 978 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 978

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2013
    8
    Series reboots seem to be all the rage at present but Tomb Raider can certainly be held as an example of how to do it right. Series purists will argue that there is a little too much focus on combat at the expense of platforming but, for me at least, Lara Croft's first adventure struck mostly the right balance providing thoroughly enjoyable gameplay throughout is ten hour running time.

    A promising start and I’ll certainly be looking out for the sequel.
    Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    This game was a welcome return (reboot) of the franchise. Graphics are beautiful, control is superb, and the story is perhaps one of the best in the series so far. BUT, I do have my gripes too: 1) It's far too easy, even on the hardest difficulty. 2) Far to short. the solo campaign is really to short and the playable areas really aren't that big if you can look past the splendor of the awesome details. Overall: Had this game been a bit bigger, longer and harder it could have been perfect. The visuals are some of the best I have ever seen on the 360 and I know the PC version is even better. New Lara is totally believable and I look forward to her next game. Expand
  3. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Adventure, action, history... Good game...................................................................................................................
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Without EIDOS, Square Enix probably becomes a company that struggles to be relevant in the western world. Simply put, Tomb Raider is the best Tomb Raider since...the original Tomb Raider. A series that almost fell to obscurity, TR reinvigorates the franchise, so much so that it can stand shoulder to shoulder to another brilliant series that apes TR's original style to a hilt: the Uncharted series. TR's graphics is also a wonder to behold: using every tricks available to push this generation's systems to its fullest. Control is surprisingly great and Lara moves like a dream. Production values are great as well, with great voice acting on par with..the Uncharted series. While TR originates this style of adventuring, it took a lot of cues and improvements that Uncharted made in the past few years. The result: one of the best game of this generation. Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Having barely played Tomb Raider games in the past, I was very interested to see a reboot of the franchise that runs an origin story. This made it easy for me to decide to jump in and play an entire game to the end and see how it turned out. This Tomb Raider, which takes several cues from the best games of today, is absolutely fantastic. Easily one of the most cinematic titles I've ever played. The camera angles and treacherous environments all give a bit of a white-knuckle experience that I find more and more rare in games these days. I haven't embraced the multiplayer yet, but I bought this game for the story line and the single-player experience. I am very happy I did and look forward to what this franchise has to offer going forward. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    this is another game that had a terrible story but thanks to the great gameplay and exploration tomb raider can be a great game of this good year of the videogames.
  7. ERB
    Jan 22, 2014
    8
    Outstanding graphics,Beautiful world,and fun game play and interesting story Tomb Raider has to be one of the best video games of this year.This is a must buy game for you gamers.
  8. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    The leading female and one of the most recognisable video game characters is back! That's right Lara Croft! and man is she more bad ass then ever. After the series was heading for a land slide I'm glad crystal dynamics has pick it back up into its true glory. A total redesign of Lara's character structure and personality has influences a positive attitude towards gamers and made the game more believable and realistic. Tomb Raider is a true adventure filled with fun combat and graphical environments that are worth $80 just to look at. Apart from the cheesy characters and story this is a near perfect reboot to the franchise that was well in need of one. When the credits begun to roll, you will feel like your money was well spent and be filled with excitement to see what comes next. Expand
  9. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed playing this game. They did a most awesome job with the animation as Lara moves smoothly from shooting to melee combat, and traverses obstacles with ease and grace. Switching weapons is perhaps the best I've seen in any game nowadays. Graphics are great, voice acting superb and the storyline is engaging. Collecting salvage was actually enjoyable seeing how you are a survivor and everything you find is needed makes sense, not just senseless scavenger hunts that I detest in most games. The only problem I had was that the QTE was overplayed in some boss battles for dramatic effect instead of letting the player decide how to fight. Overall, bravo! I hope this series continues in the next-gen! Expand
  10. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    One of the highest productuion values on consoles, very well directed with stunning visuals and sound. There's no loading time in-game. Gameplay is very tight and a nice departure from previous titles on the franchise. The game is brutal, and when they say "tomb" they really mean it. Some locations could be on Morbid Angel or Cannibal Corpse's sleeve covers, and that's not exactly positive. The game can be disturbing at times, and the over abundance of enemies, altought commom place on the industry, seems like missed a oportunity for a more stealthy, strategic combat. Even so, a perfect exemple of how advanced videogames have become and systetises what this whole generation of gaming has been. Expand
  11. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    Tomb Raider has made a very welcome return to form. The gunplay feels suitably weighty and Lara's arsenal is well rounded and diverse. This isn't an Uncharted clone in the slightest, it's a very well pitched, beautiful game that you can explore at your leisure. Yamatai island feels like a character of its own, and the inhabitants are as strange as the environment itself. The story is slightly disappointing, given Lara's supernatural ability from going to a vulnerable young girl, to Rambo styled, arsenal fueled renegade. The lack of optional Tombs are disconcerting at just 7. Generally though, Tomb Raider manages to fit brilliantly into a genre with more than its share of clones. It's not quite a trail blazer, but is certainly an impressive adventure worthy of a sequel and a franchise separate from it forebears. Expand
  12. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    Overall, I enjoyed this game. The puzzles and the gameplay in general were good. I did find it samey in places, falling 1000 feet, sliding down, jump a few fences, hand glide across, done. Wasn't a big fan of the story of the characters either, but it does a nice job with Lara. Overall, I wasn't overwhelmed, because there are some nonsensical things in the story. But I enjoyed the game, 7/10.
  13. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    is an awesome shooter with frenetic action, story worthy of indiana jones, charismatic characters, beautiful graphics and lots of fun, no doubt, and a q cocorrente strong for best game of the year.
  14. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    This was a good game I liked it but I was bored after a while.I wish there was more to do in it.This is a should buy game its perfect for any gamer to play.
  15. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Great improvements make this game superior than its predecessors. Though not on par with the last 2 Uncharted games, it has greater depth in its gameplay and personally i like better the grim style.

    It's in the path of the Uncharted series as a cinematic experience and has kept some gameplay elements from previous TRs. It's spectacular and a thing of beauty to watch (some of the best
    graphics on the X360), technically proficient and has some great physics. The combat is hate/love, but it suits the neurotic situation and the character of the unexperienced Lara (though she kills a lot of bad guys...)

    If it had some more climbing to do, some more of the great physics puzzles (a lot more actually) and a more sturdy combat, it could have been perfect.
    Expand
  16. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    This game is awesome. I've never played any old tomb raider's games, and I didn't plan to get this game when it first came out. However, after checking a 20 minutes youtube play-through video, I felt the urgency to get the game on my hand, and turned out totally worth the money and the time. After Mass effect 3, my interests in video game reached a low point, all video publishers treat us as cash-cows and release unfinished/unpolished product. Finally, tomb raider makes me want to play video game again. and I have tons of WTF- that's so awesome moments when playing this game. In a way, I love Lara more than brain-dead Shepherd in ME3, that's how good the character development in TR. The combat is solid and fun to play. I have zero trouble with QTE, when the ring is on waiting for the 'Y' to show up, then press 'Y', i am not sure how anyone can miss it and think it is too hard. The story, well, is so-well done, after I finished the game I felt 'OK, it is possible again for video game to tell a COMPLETE story in a satisfying way'. You can feel that the developers put so much love in this game. Expand
  17. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Tomb Raider is a strong reboot for the franchise. It has great gameplay and story. The multiplayer is not great, but that is by far not the reason to not buy this game.
  18. Aug 11, 2014
    8
    What happened to Tomb Raider? It simply turned into a game like Uncharted, but that's okay. There is nothing to worry about. This one is good too, wonderful, refreshing, and full of adventures too. The graphics are amazing. The new Tomb Raider is very entertaining and no less important than the previous ones.
  19. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is a brilliantly crafted action/adventure game. Offering a directed experience, Tomb Raider is very cinematic, but it also features large environments within that allow you to explore, collect things, unlock pathways to new areas, etc. in the vein of the Metroidvania games. This is a very polished and beautiful game that deserves your attention. My one complaint are some annoying quick-time events. Expand
  20. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    Game was just plain excellent, Firstly to talk about the little things, your free running skills have been polished wonderfully and respond pretty much exactly as you intended the majority of the time, salvaging and upgrading weapons and skills is easy and fun but engaging enough for you to want to do it. Collectibles are manageable and don't just feel like a time waste to be completed after the game is over and the enemies attack with real intent and different strategies. The shooter and combat are well honed and the finishers and deaths are brutal but engaging all the while driven by an intense and riveting storyline made immersive through heart pumping quicktime events. I loved every moment of this game. (did not touch the multiplayer cannot comment) Expand
  21. Sep 15, 2013
    5
    BLEH. This game is nothing but a Uncharted clone, all you do throughout the game is shoot people, yo know, that thing TOMB RAIDER HAS NEVER BEEN ABOUT. Every Tomb Raider game before this one was all about the platforming challenges. Sure some games had more more combat than others, but in every other Tomb Raider game the platforming is the most important aspect. There is little to no platforming in this game. Whenever there is it is incredibly bland and uninteresting. Also this game is filled to the brim with scripted events.Which may look cool the first time you play the game, but if you play through the game multiple times they get very annoying.

    Graphically it looks pretty, But the character models to look rather jaggy and look like there was not as much effort put into them as the environments. Which look great. The soundtrack is nothing memorable. unlike previous titles which often had awesome soundtracks.
    The story is okay, but none of the characters, excluding Lara, have any character development and are really uninteresting.

    This games biggest problem is it's length and difficulty, this game is pathetically short and pathetically easy, It took me a day to finish this game the first time I played it. Overall this game is... Decent, nothing special. Recommend it to fans of Uncharted,Tomb Raider fans, and casual gamers.
    Expand
  22. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    Painfully linear with far too many quick time events and far too few optional tombs to actually raid, equals a Tomb Raider reboot that feels more like a run-of-the-mill action game than the Tomb Raiders of old. The optional tombs that DO exist are so small and straight forward that any one of them is easily finished in 5 minutes or less. However, the graphics and story do save the day and make the game at least worth a playthrough but perhaps not a purchase. In regards to the QTEs, anyone who tells you that QTEs in this game are limited after the first 2 hours is LYING. The usage of QTEs is pervasive, sometimes cropping up in the middle of high action sequences. They ruin the flow and are frequently buggy. QTEs are great once in a while but far too many games, including this one I'm sad to say, are overusing them in lieu of better engaging design. Expand
  23. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So a new Tomb Raider game. TR is indeed a reboot but also a prequel, I think. At the start of the game it really reminds me of Far Cry 3, because Lara and her friends have been kidnapped by pirates or something. When you finally get Bow and go off to the forest, you might think: Now this reminds me of AC3 because I have a bow and an axe and a pistol, but however the glitches in TR are so annoying that it toke me a whole week until I could continue the story, the glitch was a huge problem. Now the graphics in TR good especially for the PC, the multiplayer not as good. The villain in TR is really good, because you don't think that he would be a bad guy and try to kill you and your friends. TR is really enjoyable but I doubt it is the best game of 2013. 8/10 Expand
  24. Mar 2, 2014
    7
    Lara Croft is Born. Pros: Amazing graphics. Semi open world. Great level design. Atmospheric. Great protagonist with the nice English accent. Triple A voice acting. Action packed. About 10 to 16 hrs. Cons: Story is ridiculous. Lara's friends are bland. Side tombs are uninspired. Exploring island is too scripted. Lara is like a god surviving all that chaos, she's not superman, make it less set pieced. Expand
  25. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Every action fan has their favorites, among games some that hit chord with that thought include Batman: Arkham City, the Uncharted games, and maybe a tint of Far Cry as well. The thing with Tomb Raider is that it's like a hot fudge Sunday of all of those games, but still gets it own identity. The atmosphere is nailed, it's dark, even the lighter parts aren't too uplifting. We're in a realistic world with realistic physics and survival is key. The lighting is tremendous and only attributes to that atmosphere. The world is massive and abundant in resources, initially overwhelming but as the game goes on it's something you want to explore as you get new gear. Lara is a riveting character and as the game progresses you get to see every side of her from her first kill, making difficult decisions, killing animals for her survival, with a gain of remorse, and so many others. Gameplay is tight and responsive, nothing revolutionary for an action game but it has familiarity to it and style. The story is decent, you get engaged enough into the game to want to know what's coming next. Unfortunately the multiplayer, while decent, feels very tacked on. Stick to the single player mode, that's where the meat of the game is. Again everything in the game feels fantastic and I love to play it, it's not revolutionary. There's something to the game where even if you're not bewildered by everything, you're glued to the screen still wanting to continue though and that's what makes this game shine. Expand
  26. May 18, 2013
    4
    I can't believe this is the new Lara i mean she hate tombs,The story is nothing to do with tombs.The old Lara and her persona was way better,story was better king arthur,mystic tombs,This game should be called the "Lost Island" or something similar.
  27. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    I hate to compare this to uncharted, but it is all most impossible, but this should be seen as a complement. This game does every Uncharted does, and in my opinion much better. The story is great, and it had me interested from beginning to end, Lara is played brilliantly well, even if her transition from average girl to full blown badass is jarring. It plays great, the combat, to my surprise is very enjoyable. The cover system is one of the best I have seen, it's seamless and never slows down the action, the guns and bow feel great. The platforming is simple, and not to challenging, but none the less it's still fun and make for some really great cinematic moments. The game defiantly is not as puzzle heavy as the previous game, but there are puzzles, and they are fun. The game looks fantastic, full of colour, varied environments and never noticed texture pop in, frame rate slows down sometime but never enough to ruin the experience.But Multiplayer is bad a poor man uncharted Expand
  28. Apr 25, 2013
    6
    Definitely don't agree with those giving this 5 stars as "One of the best games ever" yeah...no. One question to these people, How many games have you actually played? As someone who has been a lifelong TR fan ever since i played the very first game in 1996 this certaintly is a much welcomed upgrade from the stale games circa 2003 2008. When you compare it on the Tomb Raider scale it is very very good but on video games as a whole it lacks substance.

    I found immersion very difficult, considering you fall and land on an iron spike impaling your side in the very first level then not 5 minutes later proceed to run, jump and climb objects as if you had already healed from the spike almost instantly, she even holds her side because of the pain! I guess walking is painful but climbing and running... not so much. This is not the only time this happens in the game we are supposed to be believing she is human in this reboot right?.

    Another thing i was dissapointed with was that they once again included quick time events in cutscenes, I can't be the only one who hates this? Watching a cinematic cutscene whilst constantly being primed to press a button just ruins the entertainment of it, instead of watching the action you're reminding yourself which button your finger is on so that you'll be ready. Let the game be the game and the cutscene be the cutscene, don't merge both into some anxious attention diverting gaming moment. Let us relax and watch the cutscene or let us play that part of the freaking game!!

    The actual story is pretty decent, could have been better but holds together well. The combat is 3rd person and i will agree it doesn't have many flaws, the cover system holds well and the enemies have decent enough AI to be a challenege at certain areas.
    I love games with looting systems in place, whether it be crates, enemies or treasure chests gathering loot and supplies is fun and i'm glad they included it in this game, However looting the same crap over and over again becomes repetitive and boring, but there wasn't really anything else in this game to be looted, no armor upgrades, rare ability boosting island remedies, unique weapons etc etc.

    The levels whilst they promote non linearity are infact linear, there is no exploration on any large scale. You get a sort of mini sandbox to explore which i felt was lacking as we were sold this huge island. I played this game for 8 straight hours before giving it up for good, the levels and challenege felt the same throughout the whole game. There was no mission where i thought "Hey, this is different!" maybe except the sneaking to avoid guards and the huge amount of bodies of WW2 soldiers in that bunker with the guardian.

    Am i expecting too much from this game? Well not really if you're going to class this as the best game ever or game of the year. I feel my review is fair, it's definitely not 1 star and it sure as hell isn't 5 stars, which doesn't change the fact this game to me is a letdown. If you Want a proper jungle exploration shooter? pick up Far Cry 3.
    Expand
  29. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    This is huge. The graphics are stunning and the story just as great. Surviving, defeating enemies and collecting documents and improving weapons have never been more interesting! This is Lara's greatest adventure and the best Tomb Raider to date.
  30. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    I have to update my review because I played the multiplayer portion of the game. It is bad, so bad. Garbage all the way. I know the only reason for adding a multiplayer is money. Online passes, map packs, outfits all equal profits. In this case it was a mistake to green light that crap. Once game makers start making great stand alone single player games and realize that multiplayer is not a cash cow necessity, then you will earn respect and maybe more profits. Expand
  31. May 2, 2013
    8
    The game started out a bit rough around the edges. The introductory stages weren't very interesting and it wasn't clear that you'd have to revisit these areas to access all areas. Once you get most of the critical mobility abilities, though, the gameplay really seats itself and reveals how enjoyable it was intended to be. The plot is on par with any Uncharted game. The facial detail on the characters during cutscenes leaves much room for improvement, but it's not so bad as to be off-putting. Close quarters combat could use a bit of refinement. Personally I'd like to see more puzzle solving and less combat, but I was having fun doing both. I will certainly play the next installment in this rebooted franchise. Expand
  32. May 1, 2013
    9
    i really wish they didn't objectify women so much in games (torrent "miss representation" film) but the game overall is really amazing. the story, gameplay, controls and character dev are all spot on, and so i've got to put my feminist politics aside.
  33. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Very nice reboot over the Tomb raider franchise.

    It's like a mix between uncharted and batman franchises, picking the best of their latest games.
    The story is entertaining, the exploration and secrets are interesting enough to look for them and technically it's top notch.

    Quite recommendable!
  34. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    As not being a fan of previous Tomb Raiders, I gave this a shot as it was a reboot of the crappy stuff previously released. Overall, it's good. The collectibles arn't crazy hard to locate, the upgrade trees are extensive, and the combat system isn't bad with plenty of options. Definately worth a play.
  35. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    Tomb Raider... Forth coming and engaging title for a game like this. Puzzles, action, platforming, beautiful island landscape, and Laura Croft. This game has a few was to describe it, both good... but also bad. Bad? Yes, this game is not flawless, but it has it's high marks for action and adventure, but when it comes to story and characters it drops slightly. Action can be powerful, but very linear. Adventure is open and wonderfully dynamic. But story moves oddly throughout the campaign and can be seen coming from a mile away to as it progresses. Characters are like cardboard and use a ungodly amount of psychology in their speaking, making them as bland as the lead characters from Dead Island. Laura is still young and new to this, but her character is just as bland. Other things of concern is the oddity of enemies: Turns out they are all shipwrecked and abandoned people who turned into prisoners of the island, but they are all well supplied with WWII and ancient Japanese weapons that they come out of the woodwork like they are infinite little bugs going up against a untrained and unconditioned 20 year old female that can seemingly murder then by the dozens... or thousands. It's obscene to think that many people actually live there... on a tiny island... with unlimited fuel and ammo... all men... and are at war with an unknown enemy that could kill them easily. Sorry to say, but with great adventure and platforming, comes linear combat, characters made of cardboard, and expecting storyline. Expand
  36. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    Tomb Raider is an exciting, thrilling, and visually gorgeous action/adventure game starring Lara Croft. A girl who goes from being a struggling survivor of a boat crash to a hardened killer almost too quickly. After she is forced to kill someone she is shocked but next thing you know she is stealth killing like a trained assassin. The story is interesting even if some of the characters are two-dimensional and the journals found along the way add to the history and characters on the island. The gameplay is smooth and works just as well as Gears, Mass Effect or any other cover-based shooter. Overall, a really great game with few problems. Can't wait for a sequel! Expand
  37. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Redefining what's possible on XBOX360, this game shows off next-gen graphics with absolutely flawless gameplay. The story is gripping, told with excellent voice acting, supported by a moving score and in a fully immersive manner I've never seen transitions between gameplay and in-engine "cinematic" done quite this well. The level design is cohesive yet varied it's remarkable how none of the levels feel like your usual copy/paste or cliched video game tropes. The story and action flow with a nice, natural pace. Puzzle mechanics are tightly integrated into the game world, they don't feel pasted on in terms of physics. Fighting is brutal, realistic and satisfying. I am very impressed with the results of being able to die easily and how it increases identification with the character. Weapons are varied, with resulting gameplay differences and individual upgrade paths that actually make physical sense! Incredible consistency, again contributing to immersion. There are moments in the game where the graphics will take your breath away, and there are some deeply satisfying moments in storytelling. I'll add that even the UX is fantastically well integrated with easy to navigate but fully integrated panels all the way through, none of your typical "let's rip you out of immersion and into some old-fashioned flash UX". All in all, the perfect game. I'll add that if this game had been called "The adventures of young Mary Jane" with no reference to the TR franchise, it'd still have been perfect. Tying it into the Croft Universe promises many great sequels and enriches what is already a game without peer. Thank you to the team who made this you achieved perfection :D Expand
  38. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    It's not very often that I would even consider giving a game a 10, but Tomb Raider earns it. Not only did Tomb Raider live up to my expectations, it exceeded them dramatically. This game has it all! Amazing graphics, great story, and fantastic gameplay. I often couldn't tell if I was watching a cut scene or playing the game! This is also one of the best Third Person Shooters I have ever played!
  39. May 4, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic, ive played the old tomb raiders before and they didnt really hook me, now Tomb Raider is more modern and it is sweet, alot of people are comparing this to Uncharted, but they are not really all that much alike. This game has a very unique story that isnt bad at all and will have you playing to see what happens next. This is a reboot of the series and the plot takes place as Laura Crofts first ever exbhibition, which is why at first she seems like a very broken women who cant handle herself.... well after about an hour into the game she is a killing machine capable of wiping out waves of dudes and becoming a serous threat to there plans. Gamplay is very good and is about the only thing that resembles Uncharted. Its a third person action game. There are alot of weapons to choose from but my favorite is the bow and arrow especially after you get the badass upgrade for it. And suprisingly its not a short game either there were a few times while i was playing it where i thought it was gonna end but it didnt, and there are alot of optional tombs for you to explore to get relics and extra xp, so replay value is present. As far as is the game worth the money or not... yes, yes it is. This game deserves all of the praise it has gotten and is a very worthy purchase. Expand
  40. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Lara Croft's third reinvention (Legend was her second) tells once again a tale of Lara's past (The Last Revelation and Legend did so too), but this time Lara goes down a different route, and like James Bond in Casino Royale, we have something that's gritty, and ironically expected in today's modern trends, yet manages to pack a punch, and overcome her rivals. Of the presentation in the game, the biggest shock is the graphics engine that drives it; a true tell of how stunning this game is, is how most of the cutscenes in the game use the same engine, and the transition is often seamless (there are cutscenes away from the engine, but its for good reason) the game just looks gorgeous, and even if there are moments of slight framerate loss, they're few. The sound is predominantly located to effects (with arrangements occurring during key moments), but the effect is somewhat otherworldly, and it adds tremendously to the action and tension present. The gameplay is mainly third-person platform action with elements of combat infused heavily, and a lot of action moments where you're forced to use your reflexes or die rather fast. However, the stats-heavy implementation towards Lara, combined with the almost MetroidVania aspect of developing skills and finding new areas, is a genius touch Tomb Raider may not appear to be the biggest game ever (I'll come back to that!!), but the sheer amount of involvement in the various tasks adds considerably. Back to the length of the game (its very short), I consider this game along the lines of another favourite of mine, namely Vanquish by Sega and Platinum, in that it may have a short campaign, but the campaign is so packed with great moments, you will come back again, and the quality will just keep you coming!! Square Enix have taken a great deal of care with Hitman in Absolution late last year, and now they give us nothing less than brilliance with this. Tomb Raider is the best movie you'll see and play all year, and although it may not last long, it more than deserves to outstay its welcome. Nathan Drake no longer has the advantage, in my view Lara has regained the crown. Expand
  41. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    All I have to say is wow. Overall with the 11 hour Campaign, it was pretty awesome. Both Multiplayer and Campaign have very good Graphics, Interfaces, and Animations. I have to say, that this game is good how it does Free-Roam and Story Mode put together, Love it.
  42. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Lara is back and she is back better then ever before. Wait more so! This game has style, not just graphics, but in its environments, quests, movements and game play. I never been too much of a fan of quick time events, but this game shows how they can be done to perfection. Each one unique and placed in interesting a pivotal places. It really makes you feel move involved in Lara's actions and her struggle. I never yelled encouragement at my TV before but Lara has done that. Great voice acting and believable movements and actions make for a fantastic narrative and setting. The weapon upgrading system is clever and add more visual flare as you upgrade your bow, pistol, shotgun a rifle. The use of only four weapons should be a hindrance, but they are designed in a way that make you interact with the environment. A superb game which I cannot fault, I really cant think of anything I disliked or noticed as out of place. A must buy for gamer, not just a fan of the series, this game is something else! Expand
  43. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    So I have only ever played one TR game in the past... I can't even remember what it was. This game is amazing and is extremely polished. People are rating it low because it is "An Uncharted knock off." LOL I remember when Uncharted came out and they said that it was a Tomb Raider knock-off. People... It's a video game. Quit with the politics and just enjoy it. It's been a long time since a game this polished and fun came out. Expand
  44. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    Enjoyable game with an above average story and great spectacle. Tomb Raider is the reboot of the famous series of the same name. It is about Lara Croft's first adventure, the one that defined her and turned her into the unshakable badass she is in the originals.

    In terms of gameplay, this is a very good third person shooter with stealth elements, and some enjoyable platforming. Very
    similar to Uncharted in that respect. You only have four weapons which you can upgrade throughout the game, and while this may sound boring, what else would you want outside of a shotgun, pistol, bow and machine gun? A different type of machine gun? The gunplay is fairly good, nothing amazing, but above average. The shotgun feels strangely weak when you actually use it outside of blowing destroyable walls with it. The platforming is fun, and the more cinematic scenes work extremely well with the platforming. The game is not very difficult aside from a few scenes which are shockingly difficult out of nowhere, although it could be more due to my extreme incompetence. I have not seen hard mode yet. The game is linear in a branching world. You will always go down pathways as the storyline dictates, similar to the PS2 action adventure Kya: Dark Lineage in that respect. The game is covered in quicktime events, although they are pretty lenient, and you'd need to reactions of a sloth to fail them. It is nowhere near as bad as Resident Evil in that respect.

    The soundtrack isn't incredible, with only a few great tracks, the rest just being acceptable.
    The graphics are nothing special, even for 360, but with how wide and open the areas appear (they are not actually wide open outside of the forest areas, which are pretty small) its understandable. The water effects look especially awful to a laughable degree.
    Story is above average, with great writing. It's heavily based around the supernatural tho, something not shown in the trailers.
    People have been complaining the platforming is way too easy compared to the old Tomb Raider games. Honestly, that's a good thing, they had stupid amounts of pixel perfect jumps in the old games, which were made worse by the delay before actually leaving the ground. Not going back to that is always a good thing in my books.

    Overall, a great game worse playing, but it is nor the greatest game ever made nor a literary masterpiece. Just a really good game.
    Expand
  45. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    A good reboot of the Tomb Raider series, everything was good apart from the ending which was very anti-climatic. Still the new cinematic style and personality that they have given the game makes it into a very enjoyable experience.
  46. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    A very enjoyable game to play mechanically; level design and controls interact in expert harmony. Ultra-violent gameplay/combat and a dark, insidious setting are juxtaposed against a story written to be palatable for a 6-year old. The new Tomb Raider.
  47. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    A survivor is born, that's the phrase of the game, and that's what you say when you finish the game. The Saga of Tomb Raider is back and stronger than ever.
  48. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    This is the Tomb Raider I wanted to play. Cinematic and engaging. This is game is well made. The game is not too long and not too short. The game is well paced without any crazy long fight scenes. The execution and game-play was very good. Beautiful graphics and good enough voice acting. I took off 2 points because the story should have been better. Something on the level of Metal Gear Solid. Other than that It was a well rounded good game. Expand
  49. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    Okay, this game is brutal, and when I say brutal, I mean really really brutal. Many props to a game that pulls no punches, and leaves the main character to die over and over again in a variety of cringe-worthy ways. A must-buy for Uncharted fans, or platforming fans. Minus a point for oddities like invisible enemies and little weirdnesses (how does she get back down from the top of the tower!?)
  50. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    No game is created without flaws and Tomb Raider is definitely no exception. However, this is one of the best games I have played in a long time. It certainly loses the classic tomb raider feeling and values but everything else in the game certainly makes up for it. Creating a Tomb Raider game of a sandbox style game seemed to be a risky move but it certainly passes in all aspects. The game play is smooth. the story is solid, the scenery is amazing and the music fits in perfectly. Everything a game needs to excel. Now yes, I encountered a few glitches and bugs (some serious and some not so serious) but after 18 years of playing video games, I have come to expect this and I expect many other gamers have as well. These issues should not leave a negative feel. Every game has them. I can see a lot of people complaining about this cause the Tomb Raider series has a strong impact on the gaming world already and making this jump is certainly different. But times change and games change so all I say to these people is "Deal with it". My biggest problem in the game story is actually the final 4 words of the game. Too many games, movies and stories end the words "I'm not going home" and it gets a little annoying. With the multiplayer aspect, I can't really say much as I haven't played it much. But what I have played it appears to be well balanced, smooth flowing and contains well designed maps. All in all, Tomb Raider is an amazing game and and I certainly recommend anyone to pick it up and play through it. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  51. JEK
    Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This game is great. Good graphics, nice story and gameplay. Lara Croft is vulnerable on this game (unlike from its predecessors). Great narrative. Buy IT!
  52. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Cada vez que jugaba a los juegos anteriores nunca los terminaba por que llegaba a aburrirme pero desde que lo vengo siguiendo mas o menos del 2011 creo o 2012, muy bien no me acuerdo, veía los trailers y como que me llamaba la atención y me daban ganas de probarlo, por suerte el martes me lo compre y hoy hace minutos lo termine.
    La verdad que yo no soy de sorprenderme tanto con algunos
    juegos solo pocos me han logrado sorprender y entre esos pocos voy a meter a este nuevo tomb raider. Nunca espere que me gustara tanto y me dieran ganas de terminarlo bueno ahora hablare sobre el juego.
    La historia se basa en que un grupo de.... no me sale la palabra bueno no importa ellos quieren descubrir sobre una reina del sol llamada "himiko" y tienen que dirigirse a una isla que no sale en el mapa.Bueno siendo sincero no se esmeraron en una gran historia pero es lo suficiente como para entretener. Esta lara croft es genial ,fragil al principio hasta que se convierte en una superviviente que no teme a nada, uno de los personajes femeninos de videojuegos que mas me gusta encima la pobre se hace mierda siempre xD Hablando gráficamente se ve excelente a pesar que la versión de 360 es inferior a la de ps3 y pc se ve muy bien los detalles del los lugares son geniales.
    La jugabilidad del juego es muy buena en ningún momento me queje ni putee la verdad que me sentí muy cómodo.
    La historia como dije no es la gran cosa ,mezclan la realidad con lo mistico(no se si en los otros juegos mezclan lo mitico) pero es entretenida lastima que el modo historia es corto y,para mi, el final no me gusto mucho y es predecible
    Algo que si pudieron haber hecho mejor ,es la inteligencia artificial de los enemigos porque puede resultar algo "fácil" debes en cuando te la saben complicar pero en la mayoría del juego es fácil.Una ambientación excelente la verdad que es muy buena, un mundo abierto y que siempre tengas que revisar todo el lugar por que seguro que hay para registrar alguna tumba ,lugares secretos ,recoger cofres o libros etc. Todo el mapa se conecta en si podes pasar por el mismo lugar como mas de 4 veces(aunque sigas el modo historia volves a pasar si o si) eso hace que ademas de hacer la historia te podrás entretener un rato. Los puzzles son divertidos pero algo simples los puzzles de los juegos anteriores son mas difíciles(eso fue lo que me llevo a no terminarlos xD, era chico y no me gustaba trabarme en un juego).
    Este juego de los otros que eh jugado, que por decirlo asi es el mas "oscuro" ,porque las muertes de los enemigos o de lara misma son algo fuertes hay mas sangre que en los otros
    Podes cazar,andar libremente por la isla buscando secretos y objetos para completar el juego al 100% ,aumentar de rango, mejorar las armas,no puedo hablar del modo multiplayer por que no lo puedo jugar. Aplaudo a Crystal dinamics por este excelente juego, aunque me hubiera gustado que lo hubieran hecho mas largo.
    Expand
  53. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    Lara Croft has redeemed her name. I see great things in her future. Yes, there are some mostly painless QTEs, a few design quirks that break the immersion, as well as a clumsy multiplayer mode, but this truly is an adventure that is more than the sum of its parts.

    The environments draw you in, the sound design is mostly spot on, and the controls are tighter than they've ever been, minus
    a few rough edges. The mix of semi-open areas and scripted events works better than I'd hoped, but I would love to see Lara's next adventure shed even more of the linear trappings of yesteryear.

    As for Ms. Croft herself, her rebirth is one worth celebrating. Great voice work (for our heroine) and character development make her someone I want to care about, rather than just a vehicle for nerd wet dreams.

    It's a memorable adventure that sets the scene for more things to come. Play it. As long as you aren't overly jaded over our girl's past, you'll love it.
    Expand
  54. May 16, 2013
    8
    This is a great game. I've previously played a lot of tomb raiders and this is by far the best. Great graphics and cinematic game play keep you clenched to your seat. You never know what to expect with each cut scene! Movement has greatly been improved. Customizable weapons are at you disposal, so you can progress faster in the game! Beautiful cinematic views and great area locations. Great physics along with great orchestrated music. Complete 100% of the game and review tons of game art. Definitely will make Game of the year list of 2013! If your looking for a game that pulls you in right from the beginning, then is game is for you! Expand
  55. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Excellent game and graphically brilliant.
    The story is good and you get quite attached to the new Lara and her struggle to survive. There's plenty of exploring and searching for collectibles and if done this way, you'll probably rack up 18 hours before you know it. I would like to have been able to start a new game with all the weapons I collected on completetion but no such luck, you can
    continue your original game to carry on finding items to get you 100% completion. Really enjoyed it. Expand
  56. May 17, 2014
    8
    I still dont know if it's worth an 8 or 9. really good game, immersive with crazy storyline. you really get into it. you feel lara's emotions. Nothing seems fake. it's detailed and beautiful. lots of variety. even some puzzles gameplay's amazing only negative point is concerning the bow. It really feels great when executed as it's supposed to but... when you've spent all your gun ammos and start to shoot with the bow without streching it at all like it would be a pistol and that it actually shoot and hits target.. hum (almost sorry to say that but it,s true)

    buy it
    Expand
  57. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall, I thought this was an excellent game. Lara purists may be disappointed with the new game, arguing that it is not really a Tomb Raider game any more. However, I really enjoyed the reimagining of Lara, particularly the storyline. OK, so Lara moves from frightened post-graduate to cold-blooded killer a bit too quickly but, hey, this is still a videogame, people! There will always be plot-holes as story needs to make way for gameplay occasionally! In fact, I would argue that Crystal Dynamics currently "do" survival horror a lot better than Capcom and their very average Resi 6. Can't say I was sh*tting my pants too many times with Redfield et al, but I certainly was with Lara. The sense of danger is something I have not experienced for a while, and the satisfaction of stealth kills and clearing an area silently takes me back to the Kojima glory days of the PS1/2. Well done to Rihanna Pratchett and the other contributors for a great storyline. A modern and thoughtful take on a heroine and origin story.

    I also liked the fact that there was a constant danger to your crew-mates. Moreover, we didn't get the stereotypical action-horror-movie ending where only Lara would survive a few crew members did survive with Lara. Where they didn't, the death scenes were often poignant and memorable. There seemed to be a reason for people to sacrifice themselves.

    Combat is smooth. Some of the weapons seem to have a sprinkler system fitted to the end of the barrel but I guess that is to be expected when you have a levelling-up system attributed to weapons skills. You're a bit crap. The weapons are a bit crap. Spray happens. Played in on Normal and there were a few bits where I was sweating but nowhere where I felt that I was getting frustrated. If I get spotted and then cornered/rushed then that was my own fault and probably quite realistic in terms of my chances of survival being slim.

    Collectibles are very addictive here. Some expand the storyline in interesting ways and I enjoyed finding them. Again, they never seemed to be in too-hard-to-reach areas as they have been in the past. e.g. an impossible jump leading to an invisible wall etc etc. That's the right level of challenge. The WWII stuff was particularly interesting.

    Which leads me to the island itself. Yes a star in itself. Beautiful scenery and some amazing set-pieces. The ship graveyard and the climb to the top of the radio tower are obvious highlights. But the level design is a triumph easy to navigate, interesting to explore, and with the added bonus of being able to return with more powerful tools to find new locations within previous maps. Really well done to the level designers the island felt real, tangible and a bit spooky.

    I quite liked the lack of supernatural enemies. It brought a "realness" and a grittiness to proceedings. Having to shoot a mummy with twin pistols can seem a bit far-fetched! The enemy AI was pretty good. The sub-bosses were interesting, challenging, without being frustrating. Mathias is a d*ck. 97% of people must have seen through his crap at the campfire with Sam we all knew he was a raging psycho from the moment we met him! Surely?

    Is the violence over the top? Not for me. I am an adult gamer in his 30s who started gaming waaaaay back in the early 80s. I've grown up. I now want to play adult games. I don't care for titillation (though I do play DOA games! lol) but I do care about imaginative, well-structured storylines and characters. And if that means that we go to uncomfortable places then so be it. It's a crime that videogames are censored, or banned, in certain countries and we should be grateful to the BBFC for allowing the majority of content to stand in the UK. Unfortunately, the majority of politicians have no clue about the demographics of those people that play videogames. If movies can explore difficult and challenging subjects then so should videogames. I was appalled at some of the violence, and THAT rape scene (which wasn't actually as bad as it was made out to be), and I should be. We need emotion in videogames. I'm a human being, fairly well-balanced I think, and this helps to tell a story and craft memorable characters. We need developers like Crystal Dynamics to promote this idea that videogames are adult entertainment. I just hope that parents didn't buy this game for their kids thinking that it was akin to the old Tomb Raider games. Then again, they were pretty brutal back in their day anyway. Lara the killer! It was just the lack of graphics that made it seem less than it was.

    To all those game developers who think that multiplayer is an important component of modern AAA games... IT IS NOT! Don't bother wasting time and resources crafting a MP addition to a game where it is unwarranted! You have wasted the time of obviously talented individuals and that time could have been better-spent on enriching the single-player experience or providing some decent DLC! [/rant] Thank you.
    Expand
  58. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    I bought this game (along with DIshonored, Far Cry 3, Halo 4, Bioshock Infinite, Call do Duty Black Ops 2, Call of Juarez Ginslinger, Tom Clancy Future soldier, and Medal of Honor Warfighter, along with a few others). I like Tomb Raider (so far) for what it is versus anything others think it should be. Tomb Raider is like Far Cry 3 but a little more puzzle-based (especially figuring out the right combo of buttons, stick movement), easier to kill foes, and a more linear based story. I dislike Halo 4 other than the breathtaking graphics. I play Black Ops 2, future soldier and gunslinger when I'm in a shooter mood with a little variety. But those times when I want a game similar to those games, but with more puzzle solving and less shooting and something more "simple", linear, Tomb Raider definitely solves the craving. It's a game that can leave you stuck on a section until you can get down the correct timing of pushing buttons on the remote versus stuck because of any strategic difficulty or killing of foe. i like this. All the games I've mentioned are worthy games I will never regret buying. Tomb Raider though is the one Game i play when it fits the right craving. I like the simple upgrading, the camp ground as the "shop" to do everything, the fire/torch to add a new twist, the ability to skip long sequences (although skipping them can leave a bit of initial confusion on what to do). There were a few frustrating times when the game didn't respond to the joystick movement which meant replaying a short (thankfully not long) kill sequence but this is really minor for a well done game which has kept me busy for several days already. I initially thought it might be a great game for my 10 year old niece but the deer hunting/gutting were a small, small amount of upsetting for a 10 year old (she likes fable 3). This game is fun and it's a game I enjoy playing for a few hours before switching to another. The graphics were slightly less sharp than I wish (I really like Far Cry 3). Since both games have a very, very high radio tower to climb, you can see the difference when climbing to the top (Far Cry 3 will leave you breathless). For the $30 I payed for Tomb Raider on demand, it was definitely worth the money for the entertainment so far even if the story does drag on a bit and there are some lengthy cut-scenes. Still, it's like watching a descent adventure movie where I get to make a difference and solve some puzzles along the way that are not so horribly difficult that I can't come back to the game and eventually figure them out (unlike Metro 2033 and some other games where I get frustrated enough to put the game on the shelf until I have time to google how to solve the part I'm stuck on). Tomb Raider did a really nice job of taking an old, worn character and give her new life with a now 3rd person enjoyable game that makes you feel things that you should feel when playing this kind of game (i really dislike the older tomb raider style games). Like Far Cry 3, they did a lot of things right with this game which far out-weigh any minor flaws. I just wish they had done a little better with some of the graphics. They are like "almost" great but slightly shy of being mouth dropping awesome. Some scenes are worth seeing in the game while others seem to be average typical in a game. Expand
  59. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Most beautiful Lara ever created...thanks to camilla luddington for lending voice & character .Engaging Music...Camera view is apt..very good story line.. Story of How young lara with no skills and weapons becomes skilled survivor Tomb Raider is clearly depicted all together make game engaging involving interesting Fantastic Job and great effort by Square Enix Its worth the wait of 2 years since first awesome lively trailer

    Best of Tomb Raider game ever till date..

    10hr of engaging gameplay

    Prince Of persia and TOmb Raider go hand in hand..if u miss the former,later can also be an alternative
    Expand
  60. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Overall is an amazing game and maybe my second favorite Tomb Raider game, what I didn't like a lot about this game it's the stage changes, some feel the same and Tomb Raider games usually have many stage changes, because usually they take you to different parts of the world, even when this is in one island, it's pretty good.

    The controls are great and fun, I enjoyed the gameplay a lot.
    The story is good enough but maybe the final part feels rushed, there's no face to face fight with Himiko and Mathias' button fight is dumb and too easy, it needed something better with those two.

    Visually is good, I like what they did to Lara's design and her character's emotions, she feels more vulnerable at first and you can feel how the character grows up while you continue playing. I recommend it a lot.
    Expand
  61. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    10/10: Excellent and fun game. No spoiler review: practically every element of this game is fun: exploring, the physics puzzles (and I usually dislike game puzzles), shooting, climbing, etc. If you like Uncharted but find it clunky you will love Tomb Raider because the gameplay is fun. The visuals and sound design are also excellent. There are many memorable moments of gameplay--the kind that make we want to replay a game every few years, like I do with the Mass Effect series. The only downsides: the story could have been better and some of the voice acting is flat (but they have few lines). Expand
  62. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Many people have dismissed this game saying it is nothing like classic Tomb Raider, well if you go back and play the original Playstation games you will see the gameplay is stiff and dated. What Crystal Dynamics have done with this reboot is bring the game and character of Lara Croft into the 21st century with style and gravitas. Lara is a much more believable character this time around, starting as a frightened castaway she grows and becomes a hardened survivor. The game play is solid and the shooting mechanics are some of if not the most enjoyable third person shooter controls I've played. It would have been nicer to have more Tombs to explore, but as a new starting point Crystal Dynamics have hit all the right notes. Definitely worth a purchase. Expand
  63. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This game contains a lot more action than the previous installments of the series. But at the same time it also contains a fantastic story with a very believable main character. It is not a story about another super hero fighting his way through countless enemies. Lara has feelings and opinions and they are portrayed in a believable way that even surpasses many movies. That surprising amount of depth makes this one of the rare games these days that take their adult players seriously. This game will certainly have to be a contestant for the game of the year awards. Expand
  64. Mar 8, 2013
    6
    With this game, the "Tomb Raider" franchise turned casual completely and if it wasn't for the protagonist's name, i would say this isn't Tomb Raider, at all. Looks more like "Dumb Raider" considering how frustratingly easy and linear this game is. The extreme linearity gives me the feeling that i'm controlling a laboratory rat through hallways inside of a closed chamber. The puzzles are lame, the combat is generic, the exploration almost doesn't exists and the plot, the motherf##ing plot, is easily the weakest of the whole series. If you like games that treats you like a retard, maybe you should get this one. Thanks a lot, Eidos. You f#cked up with Hitman and did the same thing to Tomb Raider... Expand
  65. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    I don't like playing a game as a woman. I find no empathy at all with the character. In fact I start thinking about things like tampons, boobs and having to squat to take a whiz. Chauvinistic, probably... but I am not a girl and being forced to play as a girl is kinda annoying. As I imagine it is for a girl having to play as a boy. I thought I would be able to look past the gender of the character but I can't. I bought the game because of the inclusion of a bow and arrow, I like games with those sort of mechanics. While the game itself isn't bad I just can't reconcile in my mind some of the things that happen. Like Lara upset at one moment about killing a deer, next minute pops off bad guys ten to the dozen with no signs of remorse. A female hero doesn't float my boat, never has and probably never will. The only thing that would peak my interest, so to speak, on this game would be if I could play as Lara but naked. I have never liked the Tomb Raider franchise, so buying this was probably a mistake from the start,. Just heard wonderful things about it so thought I would check it out. But the game to me is soured in the first half hour, so many quick time events that it was boring. I wanted to play the game and it was stopping me from playing. Didn't like that at all, though it gets better game it's sort of already spoiled in a way. I had already lost interest. Expand
  66. May 27, 2014
    9
    Beautiful game. Lara's a totally new character, we can feel more her, see her and her emotions. Her first kill and her first adventure in Yamatai to kill that **** of Himiko haha.
    Anyway, Tomb Raider give us a whole new experience, a journey with a new Lara. A more human Lara, a more characterized Lara, a totally new Lara.
  67. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    There's nothing else to say about this game. If you have a console go out and buy this.Uhmmm what else??? Well the weather is good...Playing videogames for hours makes me dizzy. Gonna go out and get some fresh air.
  68. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    I wasn't getting my hopes up with this game,but to my amazement the game is simply brilliant. I haven't had so much fun with an adventure game since Uncharted 3! The graphics are polished, especially the pc version. There are loads of white knuckle moments, which makes me kill Lara on purpose just to replay them over and over. So far the best game this year for me.
  69. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    This is the first tomb raider game I have played and I made a great choice to play this one first. Firstly I usually play the first games in the series then work my way up to the most recent ones but as this is a prequel and a re-boot to the franchise I thought I wouldn't miss anything. The game is the most mature of the series as it is rated 18 and it has a serious and dark story which is equally engaging as it is great. The plot is Lara and the crew of the Endurance get shipwrecked on the island, know they want to escape but, as Lara soon finds out, there is something on the island that keeps them from leaving. Know this game has some fantasy elements which is a throwback to the old tomb raider games which fans of the series would love. The characters are good and have good voice actors/actresses, especially Lara, and the platforming is one of the best I have played. There are a lot of unlucky moments which happen to Lara and are very exciting to the player, which is fun to play. The graphics are good and up to date too if you are a visual gamer. Bottom line the gameplay is amazing, the voice acting and sound is great and the story is engaging and fun, I would recommend this to the fans and even anyone who hasn't played another tomb raider game, like me. I will be buying future tomb raider games and maybe go on amazon and buy some of the old ones too. 10/10 (btw Lara doesn't have gigantic boobs in this game so don't be disappointed by that) Expand
  70. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    Everything has to have a reboot these days, so now it’s Tomb Raider’s turn. Granted, if a franchise was ever in serious need of a new take on it, it most assuredly is the Tomb Raider franchise. Now, I like the Tomb Raider games and have enjoyed all of them (with the exception of Angel of Darkness, though it had some good ideas), but let’s face it, the franchise was getting a bit long in the tooth, so I applauded Crystal Dynamics when they told us what the game was going to be.
    So, is the end result any good or is it another Angel of Darkness?
    Luckily the answer is that there is no Angel in sight! As a matter of fact, it’s a damn fine game.
    The first thing that strikes you, is how different the style is from the other games of the franchise. Lara is no longer the carefree, thrill seeking, overly confident action heroine we have gotten used to and love. Now, she is a somewhat naïve, adventure seeking, young, insecure, vulnerable woman who finds herself in a kill or be killed struggle for survival. A special shout out has to go to Camilla Luddington playing Lara who manages to perfectly mesh together the young Lara’s vulnerability and insecurity with the “kick butt and take names” attitude of the old Lara, making her quite a credible and sympathetic character to play.
    The gameplay has also changed somewhat as the caves and ancient ruins, though they are there, have largely been replaced by mountains, woods and more modern structures, all adding to a more gritty overall style. The shooting has been vastly improved. Rather than the lock-on system of old we now have the very familiar controls of any third person shooter, which to me is a good thing as I always found the shooting to be the weakest part of the Tomb Raider franchise, making the shooting sections a lot more satisfying. This fact combined with overall good and responsive controls, reasonable enemy AI, interesting and varied levels to explore and some good characters and an at least interesting story (if not close to original) which is extremely well presented, you’ve got one of the best games released in 2013 so far.
    However, I do have a few problems with this game.
    The hunting aspect is used only once. The rest of the “hunting” is not to get food, but simply to gain experience which seems like a bit of a missed opportunity. Why emphasize her first kill of a deer to get food, when it’s not used throughout the rest of the game? I know this scene is used more for character development than anything, but when you then go on a killing spree, slaughtering animals left and right for no other reason than to gain XP, it undermines Lara as it seems a bit out of character, even if there is a limit as to how many animals you can viciously slaughter.
    Secondly, Crystal Dynamics unfortunately seem to have fallen into the “fear-of-people-getting-stuck-so-we-better-hold-them-by-the-hand-like-a-child”-strategy which seems to permeate all triple A titles today. The introduction of the all too pervasive “sixth sense”, enabling you to see all points of interest as fluorescent, takes the exploration factor straight out of a game which actually seems to WANT the player to explore. Rather counterproductive, I would say. What ever happened to the player being able find things on their own without fluorescent lights and holograms guiding them all the way? What are developers so damn afraid of? This is also unfortunately present in the puzzles. Everything that can be manipulated is of course highlighted, but to further dumb down the puzzle aspect (which isn’t exactly rocket science to begin with) Lara will constantly give hints as to what needs to be done. Well, not so much hints, as almost bloody telling you exactly what to do with what and how. Really, Crystal Dynamics? You actually found that necessary in a game which is obviously not targeted at children?
    Lastly, we have the “stealth” parts of the game, which are so guided they might as well have been cutscenes. They do a good job in regard to the story, but not in regard to gameplay as there really are no other places to go than the one the game wants you to. Deviate and die, CoD style. Yet another missed opportunity.
    All of these problems lead to my main problem with Tomb Raider. It’s simply way, way, way too easy. Throughout the entire campaign I died three times. Three! I’m not exactly a joypad wizard, so when 99% of the times I die in a game like this is because I actually wanted to in order to see the rather effective and quite horrid death sequences, then the game is extremely easy.
    Without said problems I would have no problem calling Tomb Raider a classic in it’s genre, but with them it’s just (and this is by no means a bad thing) a very, very good game which deserves a lot of attention and though it feels too guided at times, I still found it extremely enjoyable to follow Lara on her new journey. Now, if Crystal Dynamics could just let go of our hand and go all the way…
    Expand
  71. May 11, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely awesome. The earlier titles of Tomb Raider were hard for me since I suck at jump puzzles. This game absolutely put those away. There were some inconsistencies with Lara being constantly hesitant of taking the shot at the big baddy and saving her friend. The truth is, in order to make the game longer the directors deliberately made this whole weird situation even worse. However as a whole, this is definetly the best game I've played this year. Expand
  72. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    Very entertaining game. Great graphics, story, dialog and suspense. Checkpoints are generous. Menus are easy to navigate and on-the-fly fighting and crashing is well crafted. Easy to navigate to your next objective thanks to some in game tools. There is significantly more violence in this game and ranks up there with the bloodiest of them which might be a turn-off to some classic players. Laura takes a major beating in this one, but remains humble and focused, which elicits plenty of empathy and support. Lots of extras for those side quest hunters. Overall highly recommended. Expand
  73. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Well thought out, fantastic combat (finally!), engaging story and a cool and interesting female lead character. This tomb raider delves further than any other tomb raider before it and I've played them all. Though I have a soft spot for tomb raider 2 and Legend, this really is better in every sense of the word. Gone are the glitches, the shoddy lock on combat and 2D Lara that there more for teen aged boys wet dream and than a character. The background characters are a little sketchy (excluding Roth), but they don't feature too heavily so it's a minor complaint. The only really negative thing about this game is the multiplayer, which although using the same system as the single player handles differently and seems very in favour of one team. U also die FAR too easily. It's really disappointing cause it could be good fun. Luckily the single player is so good, the game doesn't suffer. Expand
  74. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Intense Moments, The Great Combat and The Skills and Weapon upgrades are Truly Great. This is one of the most Promising Tomb Raider Game I have Ever Played/ Expand
  75. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is an origin story, that tries to reboot the franchise. And does it very well. The graphics are gorgeous, and Lara's characterization is wonderful. The game play still is the best of the package. The platforming and the fights are very well done, and the story is ok, with maybe some confusion. There are lots of things to do after beating the game, from the standard items that don't serve any purpose to documents that have information about Lara, her companions and the enemies. Other things that you can encounter are the Tombs, that are a lot of fun, and some items, that tell you information about this island. It's very welcomed that you can go to every part of the island whenever you want by going to a camp fire, in order to not forget anything secret. Probably the best game of 2013 to come recently. Expand
  76. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Love it! Not a typical tomb raider game. This one is more like a reset that heads to a different direction, and it is very successful.

    I feel like it's influenced b the Uncharted series which is a good thing. Now TR finally has a great story combined with great game play. There is just something about watching LC cry and struggle through all the obstacles. I am getting addicted. The
    character development is really good in this game. You get to explore and grow with LC, watching her getting stronger and become the great explorer! Expand
  77. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is a standalone classic within itself. Fans of the series may find themselves feeling strange with the more action adventure oriented game play, which is done in a more conventional style similar to Farcry 3 (©2013, Ubisoft)- in fact, parallels can be made with the game play regarding the environment interactivity, such as hunting and the RPG system of gaining experience for kills, relevant storyline actions, hidden loot and relics, however; with a system of beneficial crates and extra missions that are enjoyable and worthwhile stashed throughout the island, players are given a heightened incentive to explore. In fact, an additional similarity with Farcry 3 can be drawn to the overall premise. Where the game shines is within its production values, overall fluidity of controls, as well as a solid plot and stellar voice actors. One more distinct aspect of game play that can also be said to have been done prior is from Hitman: Absolution (2013, Square Enix), in which a heightened awareness can be activated, however unlike in the aforementioned title and for the benefit of Tomb Raider, this device is implemented to effectively encourage exploration and attention to detail to the environment, as objects such as plants, animals and crates appear highlighted on the screen. There is an interesting amount of realism to the game and this is in concerns to the direct characterization of the protagonist and the potential enmeshment for the gamer, made all the more great by a strong hook and a very gritty unveiling of the creation of what is, for all intents and purposes, a strong-willed woman who is malleable and apt to adapt to survive. It is refreshing to find a game in a male dominated market that offers such, as most women in games are portrayed as timid or in need of protection. On this note it should be mentioned that some gamers may be turned off by the role, perhaps because of the novelty and difference, although if preconception and doubts can be set aside, the treasure is plentiful.

    The adventure itself is fresh, given a presentation that is surprisingly macabre- with the graphics having a very desaturated tone to them, highlighting shadows and using an all around dark pallet, these constituents create a dim mood, almost somber or melancholy. It is this, over and above all the ingredients above that make for a classic within the genre, in note as the most stellar entry in the series. Issues with the game that some players may find could be that of its linearity, although the game is neither dull nor repetitive, with the tasks at hand providing an interaction that makes the player not only want to focus but be drawn into the smooth surroundings by tight controls and realistic physics. In addition, reply value is somewhat questionable, although many games similar that are heavily focused on narrative and eventual development fit with tutorials may leave the gamer with little desire to replay the title immediately. Regardless, this game is a definitive must have, with everything so ideally polished and honed that Tomb Raider is hard to put down for any gamer who enjoys adventure, exploration, a firm plot, and action. Even if not to necessarily a game to be played within the years to come, without doubt it will stand the test of time and is a must have for fans to put on the shelf.

    Score 10/10
    Expand
  78. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    Okay, first off, either every reviewer has gone insane and has not played a game since 2008 or Square Enix (the publisher) made sure to pay a very very grand sum of cash straight to most of them to give this game unreasonably high scores just to artificially push sales, because gamers these days only care about scores.

    Now onto the game: it is decent. Very flawed, yet abnormally good at
    some few parts. The art direction is great most of the time sometimes it's very brown and grey and ugly. Other times the green trees and fog is delightful. The graphical quality is average not good not bad. The animations are a mixed bag, though, with Lara's animations (while exploring) being very smooth and fluid, while during combat and "cinematic" set pieces they look blocky and bad. The combat is quite boring, and there is a lot of it, detracting from the whole emotional "a survivor is born!" storyline. Yeah, more like a raging killer one woman army sodier is born in the first 15 minutes. This makes the entire story falter, not that the already annoying and stereotypical cast of characters and predictable enemies and plot twist at the end doesn't. I mean really, ANOTHER Drake's Fortune plot twist? Overall the game is just very strangely built. It feels like the story and gameplay department didn't work together and then combined their parts at the very end. It's like making a hamburger with a hot dog bun on one half. The combat is tedious with subpar shooting mechanics, the platforming is satisfying, the puzzles are good, the story tries but fails, and I'm not even getting started with the horrendous multiplayer they shoved into the franchise. This is not the game we expected: no openness, no survival whatsoever, and no mature dark theme. Expand
  79. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    I went into this game not knowing what to expect. Tomb Raider game mechanics have been stale since the PS2 version. How refreshing this reboot is! It looks gorgeous (as does Lara) and plays equally as good! It doesn't hit the heights of the Uncharted series but comes close. Overall this is a great reboot and I look forward to Tomb Raider 2 on next gen.
  80. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Everything you want in a gaming experience and more. The story, the character growth of Laura Croft, the exciting/gorgeous cinematic visuals that perfectly meld into the gameplay--it is fun, fun, and more fun-- don't miss this one!!
  81. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I've been a BIG fan of the series since 1996, and let me just get this out of the way, I am a Core Design fanboy. Crystal Dynamics have finally nailed it. OK so they'll never meet the high standard set by Core, noone ever will, but this is a step in the right direction. Good for you guys, I'm very impressed. Get this game.
  82. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    After finishing this game today and playing all night the past two nights i have to say this is a great game. The gameplay is great, the graphics are excellent, the exploring alone could keep you playing for hours, does a fantastic job making you fee like you're in the game, this is just one well made game. The only flaws it has is compared to other third person games the combat system can be frustrating at times but that's the only thing i think could have been improved. But overall was a great experience and enjoyed it very much! 9 out of 10! Expand
  83. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    At first glance I thought this new Tomb raider would be a uncharted clone. But the end result was completely different then what i was expecting. The story was exciting and slowly piece together as you really notes left behind by characters. Lara is the star character in the game because she becomes a innocents girl to a killer. Though this was pretty fast because one moment she grieving from killing a man but then killing other people like nothing. It might have more enjoyable if the developers made this process a bit slower. The game mechanics of this game are really good and the weapons each have their own unique purpose. The stealth works well with this game and silently killing off guards is a blast The game is not completely free roam but the game offers you a chance to re explored previous areas to look for parts. The addition of tombs make this game even more enjoyable as you figure ways to complete the puzzle. The graphics are really good and the environment and character models are top notch. The only problem i had with the game was the multiplier which could use more work. Overall, I enjoyed this game more then uncharted and couldn't stop playing. Expand
  84. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    Just an absolute amazing game! I was so fearful that this was going to be mediocre, but wow, I was wrong. This game was a joy to play! The story was awesome! The characters and the acting was just as good. Seeing Lara change as the game went along was brilliant. The graphics was great also. The adventure/puzzling was also very fun. The movement and combat was smooth and just so much fun to pull off. I actually really felt every kill. Add to it that you could do some great stealth and finishing moves, and it made killing baddies even that much sweeter! I am not really a multi player guy so I am just judging this game on the single player. I did play multi player a bit and it is fun but nothing too special. You could just tell the developers put a lot of time and love into a game that was not easy to make. They had to keep the Tomb Raider feel but change it enough to show everyone that the series is back. Well done guys. You guys deserve every penny of what you make! A salute to you guys!! Keep up the great work. Expand
  85. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    The game really very good, a great deal of time and effort has been spent in putting the story and plot into a ‘real’ world setting this game is unlike the other tomb raider games where the emphasis was on high level complex puzzle solving, Lara’s outfits and the size of her chest. This woman is someone entirely different; a ‘deeper’ person, young, very green and afraid but not naïve, weak or fragile. The graphics are smooth and fluid with not a load screen in sight, the visuals are very good and well polished with lots of nice scenery the audio keeps pace with the action. The controls scheme is natural and lets you make the most of each area without having to manhandle your controller as long as you pay attention and keep up with Lara, as direction changes rapidly and when you least expect it. The pace is quick most of the time and not forgiving if you get distracted off screen. The puzzle element is not as strong as previous games; it is more obvious and not nearly as complex. Character upgrading in the form of weapon and equipment upgrades is measured, evenly paced and eminently more enjoyable with stealth or shock and awe assault options in almost every situation dependant on playing style. The games storyline is in tune with earlier games, carrying the archaeological/ supernatural elements forward well and while not the obvious highlight it does make you curious as Lara self narrates as you ride on her shoulder. The developers have taken the best elements of several of the best games in this genre and blended them into this game to make it utterly an enthralling experience. That said the game is serious, and for more mature games, should Lara die or fall you see her expire in a very gruesome and confronting manner each time this game pulls no punches and is well worth the money. Expand
  86. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    This game blew my mind. The visuals are amazing with a beyond solid frame rate. The motion capture is some of the best that I have ever seen. Lara moves very realistic and fluid.

    With a solid story and a very moving cut scenes, this is a very hard game to put down.
  87. Mar 8, 2013
    6
    Tomb Raider is like going to the newest restaurantfor the first time. It has been advertised to death, everyone is talking about it, and you just can't wait to try it. When you get there the decor looks great, the vibes are good and the food smells good. When you get your order and take your first bite, something just doesn't taste right. It's bitter and not at all what you expected. This is a bit what Tomb Raider felt like for me. I went into the game with high hopes but was left feeling like the game could have been SO much more. Don't get me wrong, it is a good game. It looks beautiful and the environments are believable. So much time I think was spent on the motion capture cutscenes and the breathtaking graphics that not as much attention was given to the gameplay that needed to be. The character movement is clunky, the gunplay is just as clunky if not more, if a jump is mis-timed by a small amount, Lara will sort of float onto what she needs to grab onto. Tomb Raider is more of a missed opportunity than anything. Because of the bad gameplay, I just can't recommend this game. I bought the game Tuesday and as I sit here writing this review now on Friday (took me just 3 days to beat the game!), I can't help but feel I have been a bit ripped off. There is zero replay value in the game. Once it's beaten it's done. Over. This game is a good weekend rental, not a buying worthy title. Expand
  88. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed this game immensely. From the story, to combat, to the environment and visuals, everything is excellent. There could have been a few more and tougher puzzles, but overall it's amazing. I thought Uncharted was really good, until I played this. Polished, fun, and I couldn't put it down.
  89. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played, and is a welcomed addition to the Tomb Raider franchise. It's a reboot of the original Tomb Raider series, and is leaps & bounds above the previous games.

    It's like sticking your hand in the honey jar. You're definitely going to pull out some golden, sweet, goodness.
  90. Apr 24, 2013
    7
    I'm torn about this one. It's ticks all the right boxes, but I don't feel it's worth full price. You must play this game, but you should not pay full price., it just doesn't feel to me like it's earned that much money.
  91. Aug 28, 2013
    7
    Funny game, made me lost some hours of my life trying to catch everything. A good reboot, much more fun than the old titles. Keep in this way and TB 2 or 3 can became a shiny gamer jewel.
  92. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    I do like this game. but the puzzle element has disappeared. I rem the old games being in awe at the size of the rooms. I just dont get that feeling on this game. production values excellent graphics excellent. the music misses the catchy tomb raider theme. picky yes. the game play is easy even on hard. steady progress is always made without dying. I must admit I enjoyed underworld more than this even though the graphic etc are better on the new game.ccertainly for the next generation gamer that prefer little thought in their and like fast paced gaming then tomb raider is ideal. I do like the new Lara croft. games is still linear but in my opinion miles better than farcry 3 which lacked emotion poor visual. and by far for me the biggest let down. but then again I've been playing games for just over 30 years. I still enjoy my gaming but it has developed to suite the younger generation. I score tomb raider 8.5/10 Expand
  93. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    A great reboot of the game making Lara grounded and more of a person than a symbol. Gear and skills are good but I wish they add more. The cinematics here are super high quality like from an action move
  94. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    It is a very good game with likable characters in game like sam or new tomb. I have console version and pc if you have nvidia card mine is 550 ti) you can get high settings and good frame rate when turning of tessellation,high precise, normal for ssao and depth of field. Overal you should buy Tomb raider on both platform
  95. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! I have never played a tomb raider game in my many years of gaming, and what a great time it was to start! Being new to the series doesn't matter at all. You fall in love with the characters in story mode. There are endless things to do such as find certain collectibles. This game is very open and similar to far cry 3 but with better graphics, lovable characters, a great story, and amazing 3rd person. My only complaint is that there is no online horde/ survival mode to do with friends (even co-op would be great). The multiplayer is still entertaining and nothing is more rewarding than setting a trap and catching an enemy to execute him! It's awesome. Expand
  96. Mar 11, 2013
    5
    Tomb Raider has a great story and the environments are beautiful and well done. The combat is also entertaining and becomes more so as you unlock skills to upgrade Lara and her arsenal. However the game has some seriously clunky controls. I found myself having to repeat QTE's over and over because the game couldn't recognize the control stick being mashed. (I checked, it's not the controller) Also there is no crouch button so I found myself being shot to death constantly seeing as you cannot choose when to crouch, and the game decides for you. This is especially annoying when trying to take cover behind a waist high wall. The y-axis will also become inverted at random and changing this in the menu doesn't do anything, you will have to restart your game to fix this. There are also times when things don't make any sense at all. Like you pull something down and it goes through the floor. When you look down the heavy object is no where to be seen, it just vanishes somehow. The main thing that kept me playing this until the end though was the combat. It was always satisfying to execute enemies no matter which weapon you are using. This isn't really interesting though until you start unlocking the executions. So overall, I think it's fun. It's just the controls are so screwy and cause so many unnecessary deaths. So it can get frustrating very fast. Expand
  97. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    There is no reason why someone may call this game a "bad game". So let's start with how the story develops you are Lara Croft an archaeologist that wanted to explore a dangerous island in order to uncover an old legend that supposedly is true, after a while you will notice how meanwhile you advance the story and it starts becoming more complex and starts revealing more secrets without becoming confusing at any point you will start notice how the character (Lara) itself becomes more aggressive and learn how to fight in a much more advanced way. When you start the story Lara is just... well an archeologist all alone in what appears to be a deserted island as she starts getting used to the surroundings of the island itself. The fist kill that Lara has to do it is shocking, not only is extremely violent but you will start to see how she starts changing, the first guy that she has to kill is never presented like "ok so you just killed this dude move on and kill more in order to get to the next mission" is an emotional impact as much as it is to the character as to the player. Every objective has a meaning and a ton of variety within you will be switching weapons constantly and not because the game tells you to but because everyone of them has his pros and cons and they are useful for different situations, you can upgrade your weapons so they're more powerful and better looking this combined with a beautiful climbing/platforming mechanic that feels just awesome. Even after i finished the game i just wanted to play it for a second time just to get more collectibles or to manage to upgrade all of my weapons just to feel as the most badass and feared warrior that there is in the island.
    Something that needs to be said is that the characters in this game are extremely charming at least 90% of them and again there is going to be a couple of deaths to "minor" characters in the game that will end up giving a huge emotional impact both on Lara and the other characters. In conclusion Tomb Raider 2013 is just a beautiful fun experience that no one should miss excellent graphics, stellar gameplay, interesting story make Tomb Raider 2013 the best game in the franchise so far, i hope that square enix keeps up with this franchise just to take on Lara on another mind blowing adventure. Oh and the game is extremely violent in different ways so is not a kids game to be honest.
    Expand
  98. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    WOW....... Did I say WOW.... God of War meets Uncharted meets Prince of Persia. Controls are great, story is half decent, graphics are awesome, pacing is perfect..... Online is kinda of beat but other than that this game is one you should definitely play.
  99. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. great job from the boys of crystal dinamics once again, totally worth the money!! One hell of a reboot, not like other games such as devil may cry or Resident evil Expand
  100. Mar 16, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First, it's a good game. But veeeeery short. I ended it in 5,5 hours with 70% of the secrets completed. It's definitely not worth the 70eur that it costs, maybe 30. Graphics are good, the script has some inconsistencies (some guys punch Lara disfiguring her. 5 minutes later she's happy and totally ok. There are a lot of moments like this), and the QTE are very easy or very difficult, there is no middle. Some tombs are really uninspired, and too short all of them, although you'll have 5 minutes of medium fun in each one.
    There is only 1 boss, the final boss, that is ridiculously easy and simple in its killing mechanics. A game with too much hype that you will like, but not love
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    85
    The new Tomb Raider is not as revolutionary as the original from 1996 but this reboot is the most mature, interesting and friendly entry to the series. For me it is Uncharted on steroids, a game that’s better in every aspect than Nathan Drake’s adventures. [CD-Action 04/2013, p.52]
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    65
    Tomb Raider is a fine game, but something essential feels like it has been left out. Lara seems to have found the map, but missed the treasure.
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    95
    Tomb Raider is the second best Uncharted game behind Uncharted 2. While it gives up a lot of its adventure identity fans have come to know and love, the end result is still a fantastic game that shouldn’t be missed by any action fan. If Crystal Dynamics can inject more adventure elements into a potential sequel, it would be a pretty interesting proposition indeed.