User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 956 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 956

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    The game play is awesome.Like really awesome. Lara's characterization is amazing. Upgrade system is epic. Exploration is wonderful and challenging. And finally the story... its pretty good most of the time.
    I can assure u this will be one of the best of games of 2013!!!!
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    3
    I can't believe all these people stating that this game is amazing, funny, etc. I just think that these people never got a pad in their hands in their lives except for playing CoD. This game is one of those non-games, where everything is scripted and cinematic, where the story comes in front of the gameplay. The problem is, the story is nowhere near as good. It's a messy chaos of Lost quotes (the thinking island, airplanes falling, etc), teen movies (Lara is sometimes called L.C... WHAT??) and russian conspiracy. After several hours of playing I found more holes in the script than bugs in the game. We talk about an ancient japanese civlization from thousands of years ago. and yet, ALL THE WOODEN HOUSES ARE STILL INTACT AND THE BRACERS IN THE FORGOTTEN SECRET TOMBS ARE LIT.

    I can forgive it as a gameplay license, but the gameplay is just absent.
    I can let go of the "win button", a button that shows you exactly what to do, the annoying neverending tutorial that follows you throughout the whole game or the lame experience system.
    but I can't let go the complete absence of anything related to a "gameplay".
    During the shooting you never die. Enemies never shoot at you, they always miss.
    When jumping the only thing you have to do is pressing up and A. doesn't matter if you up the distances, the game fixes that for you.

    This is a game made to be won, and I can accept that if they would have presented a great story.
    But they didn't.
    And playing it is just plain boring.
    Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Great game with balanced mechanics and really careful visuals.
    Every scenario is beautifully detailed and presents dramatic and impressive set piece moments with an interesting level structure that manages to make the linear experience feel less oppressive than the norm. Shooting has the familiar trappings of a 3rd Person Game, but it adds some cinematographic twists here and there,
    ultimately being in equal parts rewarding and desperate. Parcour mechanics are also intuitive without being too on the nose.

    Main problem is the story arc being not too convincing, better than Far Cry 3 in this sense, yet the pacing early on seems a bit rushed. The game presents Lara as a fit, yet green, young girl that's not emotionally prepared for actual combat, yet it wants her holding a gun and shooting perfectly as soon as possible. Turns out she's a Rambo Level killing machine mowing down enemies with just a bow and a few old guns.
    By the end of the game she's been though so much it would make a bit more of sense... yet it's still unbelievable how a whole army of rough looking enemies now look and sound terribly afraid of this single unarmored person that has not seem combat until a while ago and now face them head on.
    Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! I have never played a tomb raider game in my many years of gaming, and what a great time it was to start! Being new to the series doesn't matter at all. You fall in love with the characters in story mode. There are endless things to do such as find certain collectibles. This game is very open and similar to far cry 3 but with better graphics, lovable characters, a great story, and amazing 3rd person. My only complaint is that there is no online horde/ survival mode to do with friends (even co-op would be great). The multiplayer is still entertaining and nothing is more rewarding than setting a trap and catching an enemy to execute him! It's awesome. Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider set out to be an origin story, to reboot the franchise and it has completed that goal above and beyond. As every origin story should it provides in amazing detail the changes of Lara Croft through her adventures. Tomb Raider appeals to everyone, fans of adventure games, fans of Lara Croft and fans of video games. This reboot is a must buy.
  6. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    So glad I bought this game, there's so much to explore and it really shows how the famous 'Lara Croft' came to be. There's total freedom in exploration (once you have the tools required, of course) and you can fast travel if need be back to previous locations. Different weapons that you can upgrade, tweak etc. Enemies seem 'smart', they'll duck for cover if you shoot at them, although sometimes they'll just go berserk and charge ya. The finishing moves are awesome, and there's surprisingly a lot of gore in the game too. Definite 10 from me. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    The game doesnt have that long lost magic of classic Tomb Raider, but it also does poor job following Uncharted standards, so i think there is nothing really special about it. Storyline is not very entertaining, its kinda like in far cry 3, which is not a beneficial resemblance. Survival is a joke, i expected something like Snake Eater, instead you shoot stuff fot xp.
    On the other hand we
    have nice graphics, pretty realistic gore, OK fighting mechanics, large space to explore freely, simple and engaging rpg stuff. Overall, game is good. But from Tomb Raider reboot i expected a LOT better. Expand
  8. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I have played every Tomb Raider since the beginning and this reboot is by far the best ever. Letting the player experience Lara's origin and that fact that she's not perfect, finds herself in serious trouble and gets pretty badly beat up is in amazing experience. I winced and felt for Lara every time she got hit by an enemy, fell off a cliff and got impaled. The game mechanics are so immersive that I forget I am playing a video game. It's more like watching a compelling movie.

    Bravo!
    Expand
  9. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    I finally made a Metacritic account just to review this game. I am a big fan of mature, story-driven games with deep character development. Thus, I hold games like Bioshock or Witcher in a very high regard. That being said, this game is a gem. I have never been a fan of the Tomb Raider series mainly because the story for many of the games seemed overly fantastical and borderline absurd. Furthermore, previous Tomb Raider games featured an overly sexualized Lara Croft who was not very relatable or likeable. This game, however, is a much needed breath of fresh air and a wonderful reboot of the franchise.

    First of all, the new Lara Croft is often vulnerable, but still strong and resilient. The way her personality and character developed throughout the story was just beautiful. As a player, one begins to care about the character as if she were a real person.

    Second of all, there is an incredible amount of detail in all of the different environments. The forests, shanty towns, ship wrecks, caves, and tombs are littered with so much visual eye-candy that it really brings the player into the game. As a history buff, I absolutely loved finding the different artifacts and also found the optional tombs and the ancient ruins to be breathtaking. This game does not skimp on the visuals.

    In summary, I definitely recommend this game to anyone who favors story, character development, and exploration over straight action. Although there are brief episodes of intense fighting, the focus of this game is really to tell a story that is filled with moments of mystery, awe, sadness, and grace.
    Collapse
  10. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    There has been a lot of doubt to me in the gaming industry lately for me. Time after time again I have been renting and buying new games only to get let down from my favorite franchises. Well folks my faith has been restored in my gaming with this gem of a title. I really cannot express the amount of amazing work Crystal Dynamics has pulled out here. From the graphics which in some scenes look next gen and i am not even joking to the smooth as butter controls everything is polished to perfection. Easy menu navigation and awesome upgrades only add to the game. Some of the AI gets confused for a bit but otherwise pretty challenging because they keep you on your toes. All I can say is go buy, rent or whatever you do to get games and play this now. This is a breath of fresh air and easily one of the best third person action games I have played in years. This score is purely based on the single player as i have yet to try the multiplayer because of how amazing the single player is. TOMB RAIDER IS BACK. Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    So I have only ever played one TR game in the past... I can't even remember what it was. This game is amazing and is extremely polished. People are rating it low because it is "An Uncharted knock off." LOL I remember when Uncharted came out and they said that it was a Tomb Raider knock-off. People... It's a video game. Quit with the politics and just enjoy it. It's been a long time since a game this polished and fun came out. Expand
  12. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    Okay, first off, either every reviewer has gone insane and has not played a game since 2008 or Square Enix (the publisher) made sure to pay a very very grand sum of cash straight to most of them to give this game unreasonably high scores just to artificially push sales, because gamers these days only care about scores.

    Now onto the game: it is decent. Very flawed, yet abnormally good at
    some few parts. The art direction is great most of the time sometimes it's very brown and grey and ugly. Other times the green trees and fog is delightful. The graphical quality is average not good not bad. The animations are a mixed bag, though, with Lara's animations (while exploring) being very smooth and fluid, while during combat and "cinematic" set pieces they look blocky and bad. The combat is quite boring, and there is a lot of it, detracting from the whole emotional "a survivor is born!" storyline. Yeah, more like a raging killer one woman army sodier is born in the first 15 minutes. This makes the entire story falter, not that the already annoying and stereotypical cast of characters and predictable enemies and plot twist at the end doesn't. I mean really, ANOTHER Drake's Fortune plot twist? Overall the game is just very strangely built. It feels like the story and gameplay department didn't work together and then combined their parts at the very end. It's like making a hamburger with a hot dog bun on one half. The combat is tedious with subpar shooting mechanics, the platforming is satisfying, the puzzles are good, the story tries but fails, and I'm not even getting started with the horrendous multiplayer they shoved into the franchise. This is not the game we expected: no openness, no survival whatsoever, and no mature dark theme. Expand
  13. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Extremely well done game, polished with superb visual side. This one is a mix of Far Cry 3 Uncharted with some RE4 feeling. Controlling Lara's movement while running through wilderness, caves, tombs, climbing and jumping is very natural and feels even more smoothly than in ACIII, where I have found some glitches/errors from time to time. Tomb Rider is a great action game with some survival feeling and exploration. The switch from lock on shooting type to the new TPS style system works really well, each encounter with your foes is very brutal and engaging. Absolutely love the graphics the landscapes are amazing, with stunning visuals mountains, watefalls, rivers, caves and villages. With each new location you want to stop and just look around and admire the views. This game will keep you all the time at the edge of your seat, pushing you to play for hrs and just looking forward to see what will happen next. my score is 10/10 Expand
  14. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best Tomb Raider i have ever played. The graphics are amazing, the puzzles are like side missions and feels very rewarding to discover the way to its end. The loot system is very well implemented with chances for you to upgrade weapons either from salvage or from finding new mods and new parts. You also have a talent system where you can improve your hunting or surviving or fighting skills. The island where you are being thrown has lots of stuff going on, it is enclouded with mistery and you can feel dark forces around. This is definately a must buy game for your Tomb Raider collection. Expand
  15. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I register to make a review of this epic game. save the best for last.. it is a great game for this dying days of console. the environment looks great character design is nice game play is awsome!!!. it feels like im playing on a next generation console.. its a bit short but the money you spend is worth it. the puzzle part of this game is a bit few. the story is so captivating and i cant even put down my controller. square enix and crystal dynamics did an excellent job in making this games! grab this game and you will never regret it. Expand
  16. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    All I have to say is it is a phenomenal game!! It truly is a beautifully written and dark origin story. The environments are really stunning to look at and I honestly just stand there looking around to take in the scenery. The gamp,ay is not only fun but addicting and Camilla Luddington did an amazing job with the voice acting as well. It is just such an awesome game, I can't even find the right words to describe it. Expand
  17. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Un juego excelente, el modelado de Lara es impresionante, los escenarios muy bien diseñados y en ciertos momentos genera mucha tensión, la pena es que está todo demasiado guiado y no deja nada de libertad.
  18. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This truly Is a Tomb Raider game, sure it has more combat than the classic Tomb Raider's but that's just based on the fact gaming trends have changed. The Graphics are amazing! The Story is a little bit predictable but still good enough and Lara is actually believable and more likable now! 100% game of the year! must play!
  19. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    A fantastic reboot for the Tomb Raider series. The game truly makes Lara Croft a relatable character in the modern video game audience. From start to finish this is an origin story you do not want to miss. A few minor criticisms but these never detract from the game and more so to do with there wasn't enough of them ...

    + Engaging and intriguing storyline
    + Fantastic Pacing and mix of
    gamely
    + Amazing graphics and atmospheric environments (literally the best looking game I have seen on my console)
    + Dynamic combat and XP system

    - Would have liked to see more puzzles harder puzzles Multiplayer is standard. Would have been nice to see something unique here maybe a cool co-op etc

    Still these never take away from the true masterpiece that is Tomb Raider. For action adventure fans this is a must buy. For anyone who plays games at all MUST BUY.
    Expand
  20. Mar 11, 2013
    5
    Tomb Raider has a great story and the environments are beautiful and well done. The combat is also entertaining and becomes more so as you unlock skills to upgrade Lara and her arsenal. However the game has some seriously clunky controls. I found myself having to repeat QTE's over and over because the game couldn't recognize the control stick being mashed. (I checked, it's not the controller) Also there is no crouch button so I found myself being shot to death constantly seeing as you cannot choose when to crouch, and the game decides for you. This is especially annoying when trying to take cover behind a waist high wall. The y-axis will also become inverted at random and changing this in the menu doesn't do anything, you will have to restart your game to fix this. There are also times when things don't make any sense at all. Like you pull something down and it goes through the floor. When you look down the heavy object is no where to be seen, it just vanishes somehow. The main thing that kept me playing this until the end though was the combat. It was always satisfying to execute enemies no matter which weapon you are using. This isn't really interesting though until you start unlocking the executions. So overall, I think it's fun. It's just the controls are so screwy and cause so many unnecessary deaths. So it can get frustrating very fast. Expand
  21. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    I have to update my review because I played the multiplayer portion of the game. It is bad, so bad. Garbage all the way. I know the only reason for adding a multiplayer is money. Online passes, map packs, outfits all equal profits. In this case it was a mistake to green light that crap. Once game makers start making great stand alone single player games and realize that multiplayer is not a cash cow necessity, then you will earn respect and maybe more profits. Expand
  22. Mar 10, 2013
    2
    All I ear about is people talking about how great the story, characters and graphics are. But the game itself is a boring mess. The game is saturated with scripted events and QTE and also glorified turret section. Cover shooting with the bow is the only thing your going to do outside of the above.

    Those types of games seems to be taking over right now and it makes the futur of gaming
    look very unappealing. Games should be more than just a cinematic experience. Glad I borrowed it instead of purchasing. Expand
  23. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I've been a BIG fan of the series since 1996, and let me just get this out of the way, I am a Core Design fanboy. Crystal Dynamics have finally nailed it. OK so they'll never meet the high standard set by Core, noone ever will, but this is a step in the right direction. Good for you guys, I'm very impressed. Get this game.
  24. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    One word can describe this game. EPIC. As we all know, fans and haters it's probably the game, which is always more "evolved" than the other games. Also the graphics are AMAZING. I thought i was watching the 3rd Tomb Raider movie!
  25. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is back and better than ever. What's awesome is that, despite being a reboot, the classic aspects of Tomb Raider that we all know and love is still very much present in this game. There is still a huge emphasis on puzzles, platforming, and exploration. Combat, this time around, is much more prevalent which isn't necessarily a bad thing; it works well, and is seamless. The cover system itself is innovative, eliminating the chunkiness of taking cover that plagues most third person shooters. Instead, Lara blends with environments with ease. The new Lara is a huge improvement over the past iterations. The story is also stronger than the past games which gives us incentive to care about the characters. All in all, an amazing game. It's no wonder that, after 9 games, Lara is considered an icon. She is a legend. Enough said. Expand
  26. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Got this game for free with my graphics card. Came in with no expectations, but was I ever wrong!

    Graphics are phenomenal; music and ambient sound is spooky and keeps you on edge; combat is straightforward and fun; storyline is awesome and entirely believable; character development is fantastic the list goes on and on.

    The only detrimental aspects of the game are the quick time
    events and the GUI. I understand the QTEs make you focus on imporant parts of the storyline or keep you on the edge of your seat, but they get tiresome and really require no skill other than waiting to press a certain button at a specific moment.

    The GUI in upgrading weapons/skills could have been designed better. After about 30 seconds of switching through it, I quickly got a headache from all the jostling around on the screen.

    Nevertheless, I was truly blown away by this game. Coming from a fan of the original Tomb Raiders from the 90's, this is a breath of fresh air into what was stagnated game franchise. While it is not perfect (but truly, what games are?) it is still one of the best games of 2013. If you are on the fence about getting this game, wait no longer. Go and purchase it immediately. It will not disappoint.
    Expand
  27. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    One of the best game I´ve played this year. It´s Awesome and you won´t regret buyng it. It´s not fair the comparison with Uncharted. Each game have it´s own issues. I`ve spent more than two days to reach only 50%. M
  28. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although I would love to be able to give Tomb Raider a 10, I never give those out unless I consider them ground breaking (like say Half Life 2 would be my standard for ground breaking) This is a good game, some may say a very good game, I'm still not sold on that idea. Tomb Raider is what really clinched the gamer in me back in 96' and so I was all ready to love this game. First the good, the combat is fun, there are some very exciting sequences (at least the first time through), the combat controls are very responsive, scenery great, sound great, acting fantastic, script good, maps well thought out and some are really fun battle playgrounds. It's fun at least the first time through. The second time not as much fun. Now the not so good. I really have a hard time with the amount of control that is taken away from the player, esp. in the first hour and a half of the game. This annoyance occurs at other moments through out and at key moments. That last part really gets me. The result of this is that you lose all sense of strategy." How do I survive that guy with the turret? what with me being all confined in this bottle neckish map? no worries, my dev gods are powerful, they will handle it for me. As a matter of fact they love me so much they hold my hand in the worst of times, no brain needed, just quick fingers!" Sigh. I love strategy, esp the old days of Lara looking at a room and saying to herself, "hmm, how am I going to get up there, and how many times will I break my neck?" I want to die five times trying to figure out how to get that guy in the turret dang it! Its my right as an avatar! oh well. key moments....it's Tomb Raider just not my tomb raider and yes I'm your mom, so it's not your mom's tomb raider. It's like Resident Evil, but it's not Resident Evil, it's a dev gods wet dream of Resident Evil. If you catch my drift. Fortunately, it's no where near as oppressive and QTE controlling as RE6, but it goes in the same direction. Another just slight annoyance was occasional aiming or camera problems but nothing too significant, it may cause you a bad injury or death in one or two maps if you don't change position quick, but no big deal. Finally, the "exploring" needs to be addressed. I put that in quotes because, well here is the definition 1.Travel in or through (an unfamiliar country or area) in order to learn about or familiarize oneself with it. 2. Search for resources such as mineral deposit. I think of the first, they think of the second. Tomato, tomato. The exploring is basically bs. in my mind because there are no new locations or interesting things to find. The tombs are so meaningless,The puzzles are more than elementary and the payoff is like opening a treasure chest, finding paper money and as soon as you touch it, it dissolves in your hand. Just nothing there. Come on guys! I would be happy with a samurai statute and say collect all of them and display them like Shepherd's ships or something! Instead you give us...uh, what do we get? blah. But okay, all in all it's great story for a great gal, with great action. A movie really with some gaming fun worked in. I like it, a lot, I might possibly buy it when they price goes down, but right now I have to return it to redbox so someone else can have some fun and so I can play the ME3 Citadel dlc, I think it's almost downloaded now...see you there boys! Expand
  29. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    The Game is awesome! next gen is here! the story is not very interesting but its Ok. the game-play are amazing. enemies are interesting, everything in this game are amazing! Must Buy
  30. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This is what tomb raider needed in my opinion to stay competitive with the like of uncharted, the graphics are amazing the story is epic, square Enix have made Lara back to her best.
  31. Mar 13, 2013
    0
    I finally made a Metacritic account just to review this game. I am a big fan of mature, story-driven games with deep character development. Thus, I hold games like Bioshock or Witcher in a very high regard. That being said, this game is a gem. I have never been a fan of the Tomb Raider series mainly because the story for many of the games seemed overly fantastical and borderline absurd. Furthermore, previous Tomb Raider games featured an overly sexualized Lara Croft who was not very relatable or likeable. This game, however, is a much needed breath of fresh air and a wonderful reboot of the franchise.

    First of all, the new Lara Croft is often vulnerable, but still strong and resilient. The way her personality and character developed throughout the story was just beautiful. As a player, one begins to care about the character as if she were a real person.

    Second of all, there is an incredible amount of detail in all of the different environments. The forests, shanty towns, ship wrecks, caves, and tombs are littered with so much visual eye-candy that it really brings the player into the game. As a history buff, I absolutely loved finding the different artifacts and also found the optional tombs and the ancient ruins to be breathtaking. This game does not skimp on the visuals.

    In summary, I definitely recommend this game to anyone who favors story, character development, and exploration over straight action. Although there are brief episodes of intense fighting, the focus of this game is really to tell a story that is filled with moments of mystery, awe, sadness, and grace.
    Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    85
    The new Tomb Raider is not as revolutionary as the original from 1996 but this reboot is the most mature, interesting and friendly entry to the series. For me it is Uncharted on steroids, a game that’s better in every aspect than Nathan Drake’s adventures. [CD-Action 04/2013, p.52]
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    65
    Tomb Raider is a fine game, but something essential feels like it has been left out. Lara seems to have found the map, but missed the treasure.
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    95
    Tomb Raider is the second best Uncharted game behind Uncharted 2. While it gives up a lot of its adventure identity fans have come to know and love, the end result is still a fantastic game that shouldn’t be missed by any action fan. If Crystal Dynamics can inject more adventure elements into a potential sequel, it would be a pretty interesting proposition indeed.