User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 990 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 990

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    Just an absolute amazing game! I was so fearful that this was going to be mediocre, but wow, I was wrong. This game was a joy to play! The story was awesome! The characters and the acting was just as good. Seeing Lara change as the game went along was brilliant. The graphics was great also. The adventure/puzzling was also very fun. The movement and combat was smooth and just so much fun to pull off. I actually really felt every kill. Add to it that you could do some great stealth and finishing moves, and it made killing baddies even that much sweeter! I am not really a multi player guy so I am just judging this game on the single player. I did play multi player a bit and it is fun but nothing too special. You could just tell the developers put a lot of time and love into a game that was not easy to make. They had to keep the Tomb Raider feel but change it enough to show everyone that the series is back. Well done guys. You guys deserve every penny of what you make! A salute to you guys!! Keep up the great work. Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. great job from the boys of crystal dinamics once again, totally worth the money!! One hell of a reboot, not like other games such as devil may cry or Resident evil Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best games Ive ever played. In 2D it looks good. In 3D its an incredible experience. I never was a fan of Tomb Raider series. Played few of them, never was impressed. But this game is just on another level and can be easily compared to Uncharted 2 in quality. Yes, it is that good
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider set out to be an origin story, to reboot the franchise and it has completed that goal above and beyond. As every origin story should it provides in amazing detail the changes of Lara Croft through her adventures. Tomb Raider appeals to everyone, fans of adventure games, fans of Lara Croft and fans of video games. This reboot is a must buy.
  5. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Redefining what's possible on XBOX360, this game shows off next-gen graphics with absolutely flawless gameplay. The story is gripping, told with excellent voice acting, supported by a moving score and in a fully immersive manner I've never seen transitions between gameplay and in-engine "cinematic" done quite this well. The level design is cohesive yet varied it's remarkable how none of the levels feel like your usual copy/paste or cliched video game tropes. The story and action flow with a nice, natural pace. Puzzle mechanics are tightly integrated into the game world, they don't feel pasted on in terms of physics. Fighting is brutal, realistic and satisfying. I am very impressed with the results of being able to die easily and how it increases identification with the character. Weapons are varied, with resulting gameplay differences and individual upgrade paths that actually make physical sense! Incredible consistency, again contributing to immersion. There are moments in the game where the graphics will take your breath away, and there are some deeply satisfying moments in storytelling. I'll add that even the UX is fantastically well integrated with easy to navigate but fully integrated panels all the way through, none of your typical "let's rip you out of immersion and into some old-fashioned flash UX". All in all, the perfect game. I'll add that if this game had been called "The adventures of young Mary Jane" with no reference to the TR franchise, it'd still have been perfect. Tying it into the Croft Universe promises many great sequels and enriches what is already a game without peer. Thank you to the team who made this you achieved perfection :D Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Looks great, feels great, overall a wonderful game. Because, the secret to an exceptional yard is a capable lawn mower that lasts decades without any visible deterioration in performance or durability, and Crystal Dynamics have nailed it.
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Lara is back and she is back better then ever before. Wait more so! This game has style, not just graphics, but in its environments, quests, movements and game play. I never been too much of a fan of quick time events, but this game shows how they can be done to perfection. Each one unique and placed in interesting a pivotal places. It really makes you feel move involved in Lara's actions and her struggle. I never yelled encouragement at my TV before but Lara has done that. Great voice acting and believable movements and actions make for a fantastic narrative and setting. The weapon upgrading system is clever and add more visual flare as you upgrade your bow, pistol, shotgun a rifle. The use of only four weapons should be a hindrance, but they are designed in a way that make you interact with the environment. A superb game which I cannot fault, I really cant think of anything I disliked or noticed as out of place. A must buy for gamer, not just a fan of the series, this game is something else! Expand
  8. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    So glad I bought this game, there's so much to explore and it really shows how the famous 'Lara Croft' came to be. There's total freedom in exploration (once you have the tools required, of course) and you can fast travel if need be back to previous locations. Different weapons that you can upgrade, tweak etc. Enemies seem 'smart', they'll duck for cover if you shoot at them, although sometimes they'll just go berserk and charge ya. The finishing moves are awesome, and there's surprisingly a lot of gore in the game too. Definite 10 from me. Expand
  9. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is an origin story, that tries to reboot the franchise. And does it very well. The graphics are gorgeous, and Lara's characterization is wonderful. The game play still is the best of the package. The platforming and the fights are very well done, and the story is ok, with maybe some confusion. There are lots of things to do after beating the game, from the standard items that don't serve any purpose to documents that have information about Lara, her companions and the enemies. Other things that you can encounter are the Tombs, that are a lot of fun, and some items, that tell you information about this island. It's very welcomed that you can go to every part of the island whenever you want by going to a camp fire, in order to not forget anything secret. Probably the best game of 2013 to come recently. Expand
  10. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    It's not very often that I would even consider giving a game a 10, but Tomb Raider earns it. Not only did Tomb Raider live up to my expectations, it exceeded them dramatically. This game has it all! Amazing graphics, great story, and fantastic gameplay. I often couldn't tell if I was watching a cut scene or playing the game! This is also one of the best Third Person Shooters I have ever played!
  11. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    This is huge. The graphics are stunning and the story just as great. Surviving, defeating enemies and collecting documents and improving weapons have never been more interesting! This is Lara's greatest adventure and the best Tomb Raider to date.
  12. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    So I have only ever played one TR game in the past... I can't even remember what it was. This game is amazing and is extremely polished. People are rating it low because it is "An Uncharted knock off." LOL I remember when Uncharted came out and they said that it was a Tomb Raider knock-off. People... It's a video game. Quit with the politics and just enjoy it. It's been a long time since a game this polished and fun came out. Expand
  13. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Gaming doesn't get much better than this. Awesome graphics, nice and interesting story and superb gameplay. The only thing I can complain about would be the lenght, but that's always the case with exceptional games they always tend to be too short.
  14. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is a standalone classic within itself. Fans of the series may find themselves feeling strange with the more action adventure oriented game play, which is done in a more conventional style similar to Farcry 3 (©2013, Ubisoft)- in fact, parallels can be made with the game play regarding the environment interactivity, such as hunting and the RPG system of gaining experience for kills, relevant storyline actions, hidden loot and relics, however; with a system of beneficial crates and extra missions that are enjoyable and worthwhile stashed throughout the island, players are given a heightened incentive to explore. In fact, an additional similarity with Farcry 3 can be drawn to the overall premise. Where the game shines is within its production values, overall fluidity of controls, as well as a solid plot and stellar voice actors. One more distinct aspect of game play that can also be said to have been done prior is from Hitman: Absolution (2013, Square Enix), in which a heightened awareness can be activated, however unlike in the aforementioned title and for the benefit of Tomb Raider, this device is implemented to effectively encourage exploration and attention to detail to the environment, as objects such as plants, animals and crates appear highlighted on the screen. There is an interesting amount of realism to the game and this is in concerns to the direct characterization of the protagonist and the potential enmeshment for the gamer, made all the more great by a strong hook and a very gritty unveiling of the creation of what is, for all intents and purposes, a strong-willed woman who is malleable and apt to adapt to survive. It is refreshing to find a game in a male dominated market that offers such, as most women in games are portrayed as timid or in need of protection. On this note it should be mentioned that some gamers may be turned off by the role, perhaps because of the novelty and difference, although if preconception and doubts can be set aside, the treasure is plentiful.

    The adventure itself is fresh, given a presentation that is surprisingly macabre- with the graphics having a very desaturated tone to them, highlighting shadows and using an all around dark pallet, these constituents create a dim mood, almost somber or melancholy. It is this, over and above all the ingredients above that make for a classic within the genre, in note as the most stellar entry in the series. Issues with the game that some players may find could be that of its linearity, although the game is neither dull nor repetitive, with the tasks at hand providing an interaction that makes the player not only want to focus but be drawn into the smooth surroundings by tight controls and realistic physics. In addition, reply value is somewhat questionable, although many games similar that are heavily focused on narrative and eventual development fit with tutorials may leave the gamer with little desire to replay the title immediately. Regardless, this game is a definitive must have, with everything so ideally polished and honed that Tomb Raider is hard to put down for any gamer who enjoys adventure, exploration, a firm plot, and action. Even if not to necessarily a game to be played within the years to come, without doubt it will stand the test of time and is a must have for fans to put on the shelf.

    Score 10/10
    Expand
  15. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    This game blew my mind. The visuals are amazing with a beyond solid frame rate. The motion capture is some of the best that I have ever seen. Lara moves very realistic and fluid.

    With a solid story and a very moving cut scenes, this is a very hard game to put down.
  16. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Its the best tombraider ever and i played all of them. The scale and the graphics the momentum its comparable or sometimes better than uncharted 3. This easily fit in game of the year 2013 nominees. Play it on pc and you will be blowen away by the hair physics(TressFx) by amd and some dx11 top notch graphics although the game look exceptionally fantastic on ps3 and xbox 360.

    Its an epic
    10/10 game Expand
  17. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is outstanding. One of the greatest games I have played. It was a very memorable experience and I am looking forward to future Tomb Raider releases after this reboot.
  18. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    Simply put: LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT....ALL OVER AGAIN!!! Like many who have reviewed here on MC, I have been a fan of Lara since the original Tomb Raider on the Playstation. Fast forward to Lara's last two romps (not including the DLC) on the Xbox 360 didn't really do much for me. I was nice to have Lara doing what Lara does best, shoot, run, jump, and solve puzzles, but it was lacking a soul, if that makes any sense...
    Enter the NEW Tomb Raider!! Right from the get-go, this game takes a gamble on a whole new "reboot" and isn't scared to put the emotion or SOUL as you will, back into Lara Croft we knew and loved. Seeing her younger is already refreshing. She naieve yet determined, scared, yet trying to survive every second of the game...Literally!! If you don't think Lara is a pure BADASS after playing this game, you need to get your head examined; I have never seen ANY character go through so much punishment in a game before and STILL, run, shoot, jump, and simply SURVIVE every situation she's in. I'm sorry Nathan Drake, you've just got pwned...by a girl!! BRAVO to you EIDOS!! Thank you for creating such a memorable, wonderful, heart pounding, emotional, and rewarding game that I have been waiting for such a long time out of Lara!! Long live Eidos! And long live Lara Croft!!!
    P.S. to Eidos: STOP TRYING TO BE LIKE UNCHARTED AND DITCH THE MULTIPLAYER!! ITS HORRIBLE!
    -Peace Out!
    Expand
  19. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Thrilling story from start to finish, very fluid controls, beautiful graphics, character models and environments are near flawless. Very convincing voice overs. Dark and gritty, some very graphic violence may turn some people off. Campaign is a little short. Otherwise, near perfect game.
  20. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    10/10: Excellent and fun game. No spoiler review: practically every element of this game is fun: exploring, the physics puzzles (and I usually dislike game puzzles), shooting, climbing, etc. If you like Uncharted but find it clunky you will love Tomb Raider because the gameplay is fun. The visuals and sound design are also excellent. There are many memorable moments of gameplay--the kind that make we want to replay a game every few years, like I do with the Mass Effect series. The only downsides: the story could have been better and some of the voice acting is flat (but they have few lines). Expand
  21. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    This game it's so epic, already had long time if I not played a game like this. One of the best games of this generation! And why not all times? Congratulations!
  22. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    If I were to expect anything better from this remake of an already good franchise, (from last-gen consoles anyway,) I'd be one greedy I kept in mind all my time I had put into the old games, how the controls would always seem to be clunky, but I mean, it was back in the day, when you couldn't really complain much, the only thing you could possibly complain about is the fact that you couldn't travel into the future to see where Lara Croft was going to end up! And so starting again with this game, it's absolutely phenomenal! I had one of the best gaming experiences with this campaign, the only other time I had this much fun was..well, my experience with playing Bioshock and Far Cry 3 combined. The story revolves around the dreaded Dragon's Triangle, a mysterious island with a legendary myth, they travel there by ship, and boom, not far after that, starts going down with just this giant storm coming out of nowhere. You start the game and already you can tell you feel like the damsel in distress, no joke, you could be one of the biggest security guards for a biker bar and you'd still feel like the damsel in distress, that's how hard it hits you in this game. The gameplay is awesome, the graphics are beautiful, almost would've loved to see how they would've looked on next-gen material, but wouldn't surprise me if they go somewhere else with this fresh start to a series. The sounds and FX all fit together and you actually grow with the characters and want to help them. You just see this helpless archeologist turn into an all out badass chick that takes situations into her own hands and saves the day..you know..not until she's taking a beating, of course. Deds to Crystal Dynamics and Square Enix, they deserve all the good ratings they receive and look forward to future endeavors with Lara. 10/10 Expand
  23. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This game contains a lot more action than the previous installments of the series. But at the same time it also contains a fantastic story with a very believable main character. It is not a story about another super hero fighting his way through countless enemies. Lara has feelings and opinions and they are portrayed in a believable way that even surpasses many movies. That surprising amount of depth makes this one of the rare games these days that take their adult players seriously. This game will certainly have to be a contestant for the game of the year awards. Expand
  24. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed this game immensely. From the story, to combat, to the environment and visuals, everything is excellent. There could have been a few more and tougher puzzles, but overall it's amazing. I thought Uncharted was really good, until I played this. Polished, fun, and I couldn't put it down.
  25. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    There's nothing else to say about this game. If you have a console go out and buy this.Uhmmm what else??? Well the weather is good...Playing videogames for hours makes me dizzy. Gonna go out and get some fresh air.
  26. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Everything you want in a gaming experience and more. The story, the character growth of Laura Croft, the exciting/gorgeous cinematic visuals that perfectly meld into the gameplay--it is fun, fun, and more fun-- don't miss this one!!
  27. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    I loved every second of this game. Its so refreshing to have a sequel that does not suck for a change. So many games so much hype. This one lives up to it
  28. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Lara Croft's third reinvention (Legend was her second) tells once again a tale of Lara's past (The Last Revelation and Legend did so too), but this time Lara goes down a different route, and like James Bond in Casino Royale, we have something that's gritty, and ironically expected in today's modern trends, yet manages to pack a punch, and overcome her rivals. Of the presentation in the game, the biggest shock is the graphics engine that drives it; a true tell of how stunning this game is, is how most of the cutscenes in the game use the same engine, and the transition is often seamless (there are cutscenes away from the engine, but its for good reason) the game just looks gorgeous, and even if there are moments of slight framerate loss, they're few. The sound is predominantly located to effects (with arrangements occurring during key moments), but the effect is somewhat otherworldly, and it adds tremendously to the action and tension present. The gameplay is mainly third-person platform action with elements of combat infused heavily, and a lot of action moments where you're forced to use your reflexes or die rather fast. However, the stats-heavy implementation towards Lara, combined with the almost MetroidVania aspect of developing skills and finding new areas, is a genius touch Tomb Raider may not appear to be the biggest game ever (I'll come back to that!!), but the sheer amount of involvement in the various tasks adds considerably. Back to the length of the game (its very short), I consider this game along the lines of another favourite of mine, namely Vanquish by Sega and Platinum, in that it may have a short campaign, but the campaign is so packed with great moments, you will come back again, and the quality will just keep you coming!! Square Enix have taken a great deal of care with Hitman in Absolution late last year, and now they give us nothing less than brilliance with this. Tomb Raider is the best movie you'll see and play all year, and although it may not last long, it more than deserves to outstay its welcome. Nathan Drake no longer has the advantage, in my view Lara has regained the crown. Expand
  29. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    I have to update my review because I played the multiplayer portion of the game. It is bad, so bad. Garbage all the way. I know the only reason for adding a multiplayer is money. Online passes, map packs, outfits all equal profits. In this case it was a mistake to green light that crap. Once game makers start making great stand alone single player games and realize that multiplayer is not a cash cow necessity, then you will earn respect and maybe more profits. Expand
  30. May 3, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is one of the best games I've ever played. I loved it. I'm going to be very sad once I've completed this game. I can't see me finding another game I'll enjoy as much for a long time.

    9.5 10

    5 Stars

    Excellent
  31. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    This is the first tomb raider game I have played and I made a great choice to play this one first. Firstly I usually play the first games in the series then work my way up to the most recent ones but as this is a prequel and a re-boot to the franchise I thought I wouldn't miss anything. The game is the most mature of the series as it is rated 18 and it has a serious and dark story which is equally engaging as it is great. The plot is Lara and the crew of the Endurance get shipwrecked on the island, know they want to escape but, as Lara soon finds out, there is something on the island that keeps them from leaving. Know this game has some fantasy elements which is a throwback to the old tomb raider games which fans of the series would love. The characters are good and have good voice actors/actresses, especially Lara, and the platforming is one of the best I have played. There are a lot of unlucky moments which happen to Lara and are very exciting to the player, which is fun to play. The graphics are good and up to date too if you are a visual gamer. Bottom line the gameplay is amazing, the voice acting and sound is great and the story is engaging and fun, I would recommend this to the fans and even anyone who hasn't played another tomb raider game, like me. I will be buying future tomb raider games and maybe go on amazon and buy some of the old ones too. 10/10 (btw Lara doesn't have gigantic boobs in this game so don't be disappointed by that) Expand
  32. JEK
    Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This game is great. Good graphics, nice story and gameplay. Lara Croft is vulnerable on this game (unlike from its predecessors). Great narrative. Buy IT!
  33. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Probably one of the best value games for 2013. Crystal Dynamics have put a lot of time into this game and used the map beautifully. Great graphics and motion, the mechanics really work. Likely one of the games you will need to spend a lot of time completing but don't let that put you off. The puzzles in the game can make you have some weird dreams if played for 12+ hours as I found out. Your mind just won't shut down. It's just class though! Expand
  34. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Everything I wanted and expected from this game !PERFECT
    Story and characters are a bit out of place to the gameplay,but which game story isn't?Either way it's well written one.Great visuals,soundtrack and gameplay.Go BUY!
  35. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    A great reboot of the game making Lara grounded and more of a person than a symbol. Gear and skills are good but I wish they add more. The cinematics here are super high quality like from an action move
  36. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Extremely well done game, polished with superb visual side. This one is a mix of Far Cry 3 Uncharted with some RE4 feeling. Controlling Lara's movement while running through wilderness, caves, tombs, climbing and jumping is very natural and feels even more smoothly than in ACIII, where I have found some glitches/errors from time to time. Tomb Rider is a great action game with some survival feeling and exploration. The switch from lock on shooting type to the new TPS style system works really well, each encounter with your foes is very brutal and engaging. Absolutely love the graphics the landscapes are amazing, with stunning visuals mountains, watefalls, rivers, caves and villages. With each new location you want to stop and just look around and admire the views. This game will keep you all the time at the edge of your seat, pushing you to play for hrs and just looking forward to see what will happen next. my score is 10/10 Expand
  37. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    The best game of the series in years. The game is beautiful, and has excellent gameplay really memorable moments. Without doubt the franchise should follow that style in the next games.
  38. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is a brilliantly crafted action/adventure game. Offering a directed experience, Tomb Raider is very cinematic, but it also features large environments within that allow you to explore, collect things, unlock pathways to new areas, etc. in the vein of the Metroidvania games. This is a very polished and beautiful game that deserves your attention. My one complaint are some annoying quick-time events. Expand
  39. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    A popular trend in the media right now is taking old franchises and either give them a reboot or remake. Now some of these are well done, but others fall flat. I can say with certainty that not only does Tomb Raider fall into the former category, but it is one of the best games I have played so far in 2013. When I first played the original Tomb Raider at my cousin’s house in 1996, I was introduced to Lara Croft and really enjoyed it in more ways than one. Then she was a buxom superstar who was an expert in her field, basically a female Indiana Jones. However over time, she became less and less popular and her games were just not the same. So like all things that were once popular, she called for a reboot and not just any kind of reboot, a gritty reboot. People now more than ever don’t want superstar heroes, they want a hero who has to face an overwhelming amount of odds. Gritty Reboots are the most popular form of reboots, just look at how many movies and games have been receiving the gritty reboot recently, examples include DmC, The Amazing Spider-Man, and even the upcoming Man of Steel. The new Tomb Raider does go full on gritty, but it does so in an amazing fashion.

    The Tomb Raider stars a young Lara Croft who is part of an expedition to search for the lost civilization of Yamatai. However things go wrong as a storm causes their boat to sink and strand Lara and her group on a mysterious island that holds many secrets. Lara is quickly captured by a mysterious man as she approached her fellow survivors. She then wakes up in some sort of ritual chamber, suspended upside down next to a few skeletons. She is able to escape and soon she is forced to make her way through the island both discovering its secrets and also trying to find a way save her fellow expedition mates and get off the island. Oh boy does Lara suffer, in this game. Throughout the game she receives her fair share of scrapes and bruises. The player roots for Lara, as she is just an ordinary woman thrust into extraordinary circumstances. As she learns to adapt an survive, she grows from this naive reluctant woman, into this badass heroine who kicks all kinds of ass. Not only is the story of this Lara amazing, the character development in this game is amazing as well.

    While the story and character development are well done, so is the gameplay. The controls for this game are simple and intuitive. One of the flaws of the original games was that the controls were quite clunky and multiple times I would find myself fighting the camera angles. Not once in this rendition of Tomb Raider did I find myself fighting with the camera, as it oriented itself quite well as I ran through the various platform sections. Oh boy did I love the platforming in this game. Most of the sections are well done and surprisingly on the more cinematic sections, I wouldn’t even realize I should be moving as I thought it was all part of a cutscene. I liked the good mix of omg I’m running for my life and ok where do I go next. Another well done aspect of this game is the combat system. Being an archer myself it is cool to see Lara trade in her former trademark pistols for a bow and arrow. Lara in this game fights her various enemies, be they man, wild, or other, with a bow, pistol, shotgun, machine gun or ice axe. The different environments and amazingly well done cover system lend to many dynamic fights.

    Let me tell you about the amazing visuals! Man oh man, were they breathtaking. I was playing on the 360, but I could only imagine them being absolutely stunning on the PC. The environments this game presents are simply jaw dropping. The grand shots establish a sense of grandeur about the island and the small up close shots convey a sense of claustrophobia as Lara struggles to get through the nooks and crannies of a dark dank cavern. As stated earlier the tombs were some of the best parts of this game. Not only was i excited to solve the mysterious of each one, but I was also excited by the prospects of what they would look like. Not once in this game was I disappointed in the visuals and was always excited to see the new environments.

    Overall I recommend this game for any fan of a good adventure game. After this massive success, I look forward to this new Lara and her upcoming adventures.
    Expand
  40. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    One of the most beautiful games i' ve ever seen. Beautiful graphics pc quality even on consoles, incredible animation and camera. My god this games is crazy and awesome. You have to play it in order to truly understand it's majesty. Must buy no matter what version. Incredible game!!!!
  41. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Chapeau! This is a truly amazing game..i'm stunned about the graphics, didnt expect anything like it on my old 360. i would also like to mention that the fighting mechanics which were always weak in the other tr games are pretty good now and certainly better than uncharted which is mentioned often in comparison. so thank you crystal dynamics for this ride and for the effort. the attention to detail in every location is really appreciated. Expand
  42. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    One of my favorite games of this year so far. It is amazing the work Crystal Dynamics has put into this titles. A perfect example that installed franchises can still offer creativity when developed properly. The game is smooth and responsive, impressive and innovative. Action packed during the full campaign and the plot is reasonably well driven. Nathan Drake now has a serious competitor in the action/adventure playground; I mean this is like a dream made true for all of us hardcore fans of the series. Recommended with no doubts, totally worth the money. Expand
  43. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Reboots are generally a scary thing. We wonder whether our memories of the first games will be wiped out by a less than par successor. I was wrong. This game goes above and beyond the first games, to the point where this and Bioshock are my games of the year so far. Lara has been captured perfectly, the scenery in and visuals in the game are stunning. Whilst we do get QTEs, this does not effect the flow of the game. I really hope to see a sequel as this was one hell of a memorable ride. Square Enix, you've done me proud Expand
  44. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    LARA IS THE QUEEN
    THE KING INDIANA JONES

    SORRY DRAKE FANBOYS
  45. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This is the best Tomb Raider ever! Great graphic, great Lara with good acting, Good Story, good immersion. Its an uncharted game but with the survivor aspect and the beautiful and young Lara. The multi is not that good but Hey! Who buy this game for the multi? Hope more Tomb Raider will comes out.
  46. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I've been a BIG fan of the series since 1996, and let me just get this out of the way, I am a Core Design fanboy. Crystal Dynamics have finally nailed it. OK so they'll never meet the high standard set by Core, noone ever will, but this is a step in the right direction. Good for you guys, I'm very impressed. Get this game.
  47. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is the best Tomb Raider yet, and is one of the best games of its generation. It has a a great storyline, narrative, charismatic characters, wonderful graphics and, best of all, it has Lara Croft, the female icon of video games. This time, Lara is more human and she looks very real, and is a breath of fresh air in a world that is predominantly full of male characters. All in all, I want to say: bravo Crystal Dynamics and bravo for the new Tomb Raider! Definitely Lara IS back. Expand
  48. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    It seems like every year they try to reboot an old franchise into a new game, and most years we are left with a game that's barely half decent but wrapped in a familiar package,games that didn't need making and shouldn't have been made.

    And then you have the few successes, like Tomb Raider. This game clearly takes a lot of design cues from Uncharted on PS3 and is much the better for it,
    the handling, the combat, the level design, all are representative of a masterclass in games design.

    Perhaps the best part, where a lot of games give you a short slapped together campaign as an excuse to charge full retail for a multiplayer game, here you actually have a damn good campaign, with a great story, and amazing gameplay, and it has a pretty decent multiplayer component too.
    Expand
  49. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    There has been a lot of doubt to me in the gaming industry lately for me. Time after time again I have been renting and buying new games only to get let down from my favorite franchises. Well folks my faith has been restored in my gaming with this gem of a title. I really cannot express the amount of amazing work Crystal Dynamics has pulled out here. From the graphics which in some scenes look next gen and i am not even joking to the smooth as butter controls everything is polished to perfection. Easy menu navigation and awesome upgrades only add to the game. Some of the AI gets confused for a bit but otherwise pretty challenging because they keep you on your toes. All I can say is go buy, rent or whatever you do to get games and play this now. This is a breath of fresh air and easily one of the best third person action games I have played in years. This score is purely based on the single player as i have yet to try the multiplayer because of how amazing the single player is. TOMB RAIDER IS BACK. Expand
  50. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    It is a very good game with likable characters in game like sam or new tomb. I have console version and pc if you have nvidia card mine is 550 ti) you can get high settings and good frame rate when turning of tessellation,high precise, normal for ssao and depth of field. Overal you should buy Tomb raider on both platform
  51. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! I have never played a tomb raider game in my many years of gaming, and what a great time it was to start! Being new to the series doesn't matter at all. You fall in love with the characters in story mode. There are endless things to do such as find certain collectibles. This game is very open and similar to far cry 3 but with better graphics, lovable characters, a great story, and amazing 3rd person. My only complaint is that there is no online horde/ survival mode to do with friends (even co-op would be great). The multiplayer is still entertaining and nothing is more rewarding than setting a trap and catching an enemy to execute him! It's awesome. Expand
  52. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    One word can describe this game. EPIC. As we all know, fans and haters it's probably the game, which is always more "evolved" than the other games. Also the graphics are AMAZING. I thought i was watching the 3rd Tomb Raider movie!
  53. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    The game play is awesome.Like really awesome. Lara's characterization is amazing. Upgrade system is epic. Exploration is wonderful and challenging. And finally the story... its pretty good most of the time.
    I can assure u this will be one of the best of games of 2013!!!!
  54. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best Tomb Raider i have ever played. The graphics are amazing, the puzzles are like side missions and feels very rewarding to discover the way to its end. The loot system is very well implemented with chances for you to upgrade weapons either from salvage or from finding new mods and new parts. You also have a talent system where you can improve your hunting or surviving or fighting skills. The island where you are being thrown has lots of stuff going on, it is enclouded with mistery and you can feel dark forces around. This is definately a must buy game for your Tomb Raider collection. Expand
  55. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I register to make a review of this epic game. save the best for last.. it is a great game for this dying days of console. the environment looks great character design is nice game play is awsome!!!. it feels like im playing on a next generation console.. its a bit short but the money you spend is worth it. the puzzle part of this game is a bit few. the story is so captivating and i cant even put down my controller. square enix and crystal dynamics did an excellent job in making this games! grab this game and you will never regret it. Expand
  56. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    All I have to say is it is a phenomenal game!! It truly is a beautifully written and dark origin story. The environments are really stunning to look at and I honestly just stand there looking around to take in the scenery. The gamp,ay is not only fun but addicting and Camilla Luddington did an amazing job with the voice acting as well. It is just such an awesome game, I can't even find the right words to describe it. Expand
  57. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Tomb raider is one of the best game had ever play.The graphics are amazing, the puzzles are like side missions and feels very rewarding to discover the way to its end. I wish a sequel and DLC
  58. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    More than just the reboot. It is should be the original. I know that there are a lot of people complain about this new TR reboot. But myself, this is one of the best TR so far. This is how a reboot should be. TR reboot has: open world include puzzles, secret tombs, action with diversity upgrade and skills, a lot of documents and relics, achievements to make the game more funnier and longer than any TR has been made before. Trust me, this is worth your time for the new gamers and very attractive game for the old hardcore gamers, too. Expand
  59. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is back and better than ever. What's awesome is that, despite being a reboot, the classic aspects of Tomb Raider that we all know and love is still very much present in this game. There is still a huge emphasis on puzzles, platforming, and exploration. Combat, this time around, is much more prevalent which isn't necessarily a bad thing; it works well, and is seamless. The cover system itself is innovative, eliminating the chunkiness of taking cover that plagues most third person shooters. Instead, Lara blends with environments with ease. The new Lara is a huge improvement over the past iterations. The story is also stronger than the past games which gives us incentive to care about the characters. All in all, an amazing game. It's no wonder that, after 9 games, Lara is considered an icon. She is a legend. Enough said. Expand
  60. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I have played this game for 2 days straight and I'm still at 50 completion and its been wonders playing it. This game re borned the tomb raider series for the better and I'm glad I purchased this. Now the single player is amazing and easily worth 60 by itself but the developers also added multiplayer and I got to say coming from COD this is so much fun for me because it mixes pakour and claiming and all sorts of thing that make it fun but it does have some connectivities issues but its pretty rare. Bottom line is you won't regret this purchase. Expand
  61. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    One of the best game I´ve played this year. It´s Awesome and you won´t regret buyng it. It´s not fair the comparison with Uncharted. Each game have it´s own issues. I`ve spent more than two days to reach only 50%. M
  62. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    The Game is awesome! next gen is here! the story is not very interesting but its Ok. the game-play are amazing. enemies are interesting, everything in this game are amazing! Must Buy
  63. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This truly Is a Tomb Raider game, sure it has more combat than the classic Tomb Raider's but that's just based on the fact gaming trends have changed. The Graphics are amazing! The Story is a little bit predictable but still good enough and Lara is actually believable and more likable now! 100% game of the year! must play!
  64. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    A fantastic reboot for the Tomb Raider series. The game truly makes Lara Croft a relatable character in the modern video game audience. From start to finish this is an origin story you do not want to miss. A few minor criticisms but these never detract from the game and more so to do with there wasn't enough of them ...

    + Engaging and intriguing storyline
    + Fantastic Pacing and mix of
    gamely
    + Amazing graphics and atmospheric environments (literally the best looking game I have seen on my console)
    + Dynamic combat and XP system

    - Would have liked to see more puzzles harder puzzles Multiplayer is standard. Would have been nice to see something unique here maybe a cool co-op etc

    Still these never take away from the true masterpiece that is Tomb Raider. For action adventure fans this is a must buy. For anyone who plays games at all MUST BUY.
    Expand
  65. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! I have over 80 games for my xbox and this is one of the best. The game has beautiful graphics along with outstanding physics. Many of the environments are so good that I found them to rival crysis at points. The skill system is a nice feature that allows you to customize Lara to your play style. For example you could go through the entire game only using a bow or an axe. The combat is fluid and the guns sound powerful like they should. The enemy AI is good but better on harder difficulties. Also for those who complain about it being to easy all you have to do is increase the difficulty. Story wise this game nails it again. The story is action packed and exciting. The story is structured very similar to the TV show Lost. Another point I'd like to make is that this is my first Tomb Raider game so I am not bias. Although this reboot has made me a fan and I hope Square Enix has more planned. FYI, if you are looking for a multiplayer game this is not it. The campaign is amazing but the multiplayer is lackluster. Also if you dont want to get this game because the protagonist is a woman... then good luck getting a girlfriend. Expand
  66. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    The team who made this game was clearly inspired by the Uncharted series, but they took the all the action of that series and added a soul. This is a beautiful game, and I hope there's a lot more to come from this team.
  67. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Very much enjoying tomb raider. It fits nicely into the adventure action game niche; assassins creed type, but has its own unique identity, making it feel very fresh and new.

    A very good reboot to a franchise I never much cared about, it's very cinematic but doesn't remove player control to make it work. Well worth the buy, I highly suggest it.
  68. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    First let me start by saying I have been a huge tomb raider fan all the way back to its beginnings in 96 So I may be a little biased in my rating But never has a game had me on the edge of my seat for the entire campaign like this game has. I was very nervious that with this reboot tomb raider would lose its way and alienate it's core fans like myself After Playing this game I can truely say this game has not only stayed true to its roots but expanded upon them and for a die hard fan like me I could not be more happy I really hope this is the begging of many more games like this from this series. Go do yourself a favor and give this title a try I promise you will be amazed by the grafix story and gameplay Expand
  69. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Best game i've played in a long time. Looks great and really fun the set pieces are better than any cod has to offer, imo. Definitely recommend this to anyone and everyone...
  70. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    There are very few games that I would consider worthy of a '10', but Tomb Raider is one of them.
    The main reason is that it fully accomplishes what it sets out to do in just about every respect. The gameplay, while not necessarily groundbreaking, innovates in all the right places-- from the flawless movement mechanics that encourage fluid exploration, to the solid 3rd-person combat
    mechanics that does away with traditional 'press a button to lock onto cover' system, to the almost invisible camera that seamlessly transitions from close up claustrophobic spaces to expansive vistas. The innovation here is subtle but the developers seem to have made all the right decisions.
    Along with the exploration that players have come to expect from traditional platformers, they've added RPG elements in the form of skill and weapon upgrades that not only add depth and meaning to exploration, but serve to support the narrative by making Lara Croft gradually become closer to the tough character she will ultimately grow into.
    The combat mechanics are tight and easy to pick up quickly, aided by careful level design that challenges the player while never being frustrating-- something that many games seem to forget to do properly.
    The auto-cover system makes the combat feel refreshingly different from games like Uncharted or Gears of War since the player is always able to fluidly move between cover without ever feeling stuck. The combat spaces tend to encourage vertical movement as well, rewarding players for well-timed jumps and dodges and making Lara seem that much cooler for developing her climbing skills. Also, the enemy AI was surprisingly smart-- playing the same combat scenario by 'restarting from last checkpoint' made me realize that there are so many ways to approach combat. Enemies do such a great job of adapting and reacting to your combat style that you can tell the designers spent a lot of effort to make each setup play many different ways.
    The environments are harsh and unforgiving yet hauntingly beautiful-- whether you're underground or atop a mountain cliff side, there just so much to look at that it never gets stale. This also really made me want to keep playing just to see what was next.
    While I didn't love all the characters (particularly some of the voice work on some lesser supporting characters), nothing stood out as jarringly bad and the story actually kept me interested to play to the end. It's helpful to note that finding journal entries and other artifacts really helps fill in the holes of the story. In other words, don't just skip everything and rush to the finish line-- it'll be worth the time to listen to backstory.
    Lastly, the audio is amazing. Not just the score, which is beautiful, but every little thing in the world makes just the right sound and it really immersed me in the experience.
    Lastly, give multiplayer a chance! I've only played a small amount but there's actually enough innovation there to make it feel unique and fun. Interesting game modes, unique weaponry, setting traps, and fun team-based gameplay are just a few things that will make me play some more for sure.
    10/10
    Expand
  71. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    I'm going to keep this short and sweet. This is the most enjoyable campaign experience I've had in a LONG time. And I've played all the top rated titles. I used to play the old games, and while they were good for their time they had their flaws. This is my favorite Tomb Raider by FAR. Great smooth game mechanics and handling. Very good graphics and story. Nice balance of fighting, exploring and puzzles. Honestly this is the first single player campaign in years I couldn't stop playing because it was so engrossing. Definitely go buy this game if you like to be immersed in a journey. It deserves a metacritic rating in the 90s for sure, Walking Dead got a 92 and it doesn't hold a candle to Tomb Raider. 10 out of 10! Expand
  72. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    Best of the tomb raiders for me, first game in a long time to really get me rearing to come home from work and continue playing. The gameplay was top notch and the puzzles were good. The games length was perfect and has a continue mode for players that would like to go back to the tombs/areas they missed.
  73. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    I just got 4000 Microsoft points from this site for free! :D freemspointsforever com This game really sucks dude. If you buy it you're a retardedededed.
  74. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    One of the best video games of last years... everything is great except a few of parts for upgrade. Therefore in the end the only variant is to kill deer’s and hares. Somehow it not humanly
  75. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This is my first review on here but I've played a large number over the years and always refer here for real user reviews. Tomb raider is a fantastic game. The cut scenes are often so well done that sometimes you are not sure if you are controlling the character or if it is a short cut scene. The environments although dark at times are very fun and interesting to work your way through. I would compare the gameplay so much to my favorite franchise with the batman arkham series. The use of different weapons and tools opens the world up throughout the game so that you have many opportunities to continue to explore. The mechanics are great once you get used to them. The only problem I had was with the timing of when you are supposed to hit the counter buttons. Other than that it has the great first person qualities of the best games, some decent although pointless customizing of skills (you have to upgrade almost everything before you open up the final tier of skills), and exploring of a simple open work although it is not fully open.

    The only real complaint that I have is that the intensity goes from very high to very low. The moving over ledges and cliffs is nice but did not seem to feel like I had to be very skilled to manage it. There is little by way of timing with different buttons. You have to try this game. From the start, you are thrown into a fun story!
    Expand
  76. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Without question, this is the best entry in the series. It controls smoothly and the action is exciting and intense. Camille Luddington gives the most emotional performance as Lara Croft so far. I've ignored the Tomb Raider series since Chronicles but this brought me back into it and now I can't wait for Square Enix's continuation of the series. I hope it remains in their hands for a long time.

    There are flaws, like the plot and especially the antagonists being fairly weak. However, I overlooked these issues in gratitude for finally getting a Tomb Raider game that didn't collapse due to horrible controls and muddy graphics that made solving puzzles nearly impossible.
    Expand
  77. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. It certainly beats my expectation over my extremely high expectation on games reboot. It is easily the best game of the year 2013. can't wait to have a second game from Crystal Dynamics.
  78. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    I finally made a Metacritic account just to review this game. I am a big fan of mature, story-driven games with deep character development. Thus, I hold games like Bioshock or Witcher in a very high regard. That being said, this game is a gem. I have never been a fan of the Tomb Raider series mainly because the story for many of the games seemed overly fantastical and borderline absurd. Furthermore, previous Tomb Raider games featured an overly sexualized Lara Croft who was not very relatable or likeable. This game, however, is a much needed breath of fresh air and a wonderful reboot of the franchise.

    First of all, the new Lara Croft is often vulnerable, but still strong and resilient. The way her personality and character developed throughout the story was just beautiful. As a player, one begins to care about the character as if she were a real person.

    Second of all, there is an incredible amount of detail in all of the different environments. The forests, shanty towns, ship wrecks, caves, and tombs are littered with so much visual eye-candy that it really brings the player into the game. As a history buff, I absolutely loved finding the different artifacts and also found the optional tombs and the ancient ruins to be breathtaking. This game does not skimp on the visuals.

    In summary, I definitely recommend this game to anyone who favors story, character development, and exploration over straight action. Although there are brief episodes of intense fighting, the focus of this game is really to tell a story that is filled with moments of mystery, awe, sadness, and grace.
    Expand
  79. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I have to say honestly best game I have played in a long time. This game is a must try you would not be disappointed. Very similar to uncharted in mostly every way however i think tomb raider is much darker. Its that good that im after all the collectibles in game and going for the 1000g i honestly cannot put it down. Go on give it a try you know you want to....;)
  80. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Most beautiful Lara ever created...thanks to camilla luddington for lending voice & character .Engaging Music...Camera view is apt..very good story line.. Story of How young lara with no skills and weapons becomes skilled survivor Tomb Raider is clearly depicted all together make game engaging involving interesting Fantastic Job and great effort by Square Enix Its worth the wait of 2 years since first awesome lively trailer

    Best of Tomb Raider game ever till date..

    10hr of engaging gameplay

    Prince Of persia and TOmb Raider go hand in hand..if u miss the former,later can also be an alternative
    Expand
  81. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I have played every Tomb Raider since the beginning and this reboot is by far the best ever. Letting the player experience Lara's origin and that fact that she's not perfect, finds herself in serious trouble and gets pretty badly beat up is in amazing experience. I winced and felt for Lara every time she got hit by an enemy, fell off a cliff and got impaled. The game mechanics are so immersive that I forget I am playing a video game. It's more like watching a compelling movie.

    Bravo!
    Expand
  82. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    All I have to say is wow. Overall with the 11 hour Campaign, it was pretty awesome. Both Multiplayer and Campaign have very good Graphics, Interfaces, and Animations. I have to say, that this game is good how it does Free-Roam and Story Mode put together, Love it.
  83. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    I enjoyed every minute with this game. The story was great and the action was top notch. My only complaint is that the pace of the story wasn't consistent throughout. The last half of the game slowed down and there were very few big set pieces. Must buy!
  84. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This is what tomb raider needed in my opinion to stay competitive with the like of uncharted, the graphics are amazing the story is epic, square Enix have made Lara back to her best.
  85. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    Fan boys can say what they will that this is a horrible game that doesn't represent the old Tomb Raiders. Thing is, this is next gen. Game developers are moving on and working with the hardware they are given. Many developers are not doing a good job with bringing their old games forward.

    This Tomb Raider was amazing. It's rare for me to actually play a game nowadays that I am
    completely satisfied with. I had no complaints. This was a good story/plot and was exciting all the way through. It was like watching a movie that I get to interact with.

    Seeing Lara Croft more down to earth and real was enjoyable. For those saying this game is linear, you are incorrect. This was far from it. Every game with a story has to have certain paths you take and certain scripted events. If Tomb Raider is "Linear" then so is Skyrim. When you take on quests in Skyrim you have to follow certain paths just like Tomb Raider. When you are following paths you come across various dungeons and special activities. This applies to both Tomb Raider and Skyrim. Besides...what is wrong with a linear game? Ask yourself why are you playing a game? If you are looking for mindless wandering around with no goals then you are playing the wrong game. If you are looking for a game with a good story and exciting moving gameplay then here you go. "Sandbox" games with storylines usually have junk story lines. It's to hard to plug in a detailed quality story when you have no clue where the player is going to go next. I give this game a 10/10. There are no flaws. It beats out almost every game that I have played recently. For anyone that has not played this game, I encourage you to get it whether you played the old Tomb Raiders or not. It was truly an amazing journey.
    Expand
  86. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    This is how you reboot a game! It's an adventure game but it has action, stealth one very insteresting story and excellent gameplay mechanics. I highly recommend this one to everyone!
  87. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Game is awesome, but too expensive. I preffer to download game from web like from: http://xbox360-complex.com/tomb-raider-ntsc-upal-xbox360-complex-1-gb-links-no-limit/
  88. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of this generation of console. Top graphics, animation, artificial inteligence, story and production in general. It´s a perfect reboot for this franchise.
  89. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing Graphics, Great Story, Great game play.....Except for the level with all the smoke/fog that was pain..I cant see them but apparently they can see me...haha
    Defiantly worth the money
    Expand
  90. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Este es si duda uno de los mejores juegos que he jugado. Me ha enganchado desde el principio. Nada más terminarlo he vuelto a empezar a jugarlo, y eso que tengo un montón de juegos pendientes. Es de los pocos juegos que puedo recomendar con los ojos cerrados a cualquiera. No se si será el GOTY del año 2013 porque todavía es pronto, pero de momento, para mí lo es, por encima del Bioshock Infinite. Para mi tiene mucho más mérito porque tradicionalmente los juegos con protagonista femenina son menos valorados, cosa que a mi me da mucha rabia. Hay juegos como este, donde la protagonista no tiene por que tirar de fuerza bruta, sino de habilidad y destreza. ¿Por que no una mujer entonces? Expand
  91. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    Wow, this game owned my life for about 2 weeks. It would have been more if I hadn't 100%'d it. Some of my all time favorite games are Resident Evil 4, Batman AA, and Uncharted 2 (though the top spots go to Fallout 3 and Half-Life 2). Tomb Raider is basically a mash up of those 3 games. You have the dark mysteries environment with crazy people (RE4), the metroidvania exploration of Batman, and a very healthy dose of Uncharted storytelling and high impact, but controllable moments. I actually LOVED the combat in this game, it is a little loose, but hits that sweet spot of controlled chaos. Constantly upgrading weapons and equipment and lots of collectibles only fueled my addiction. Easily one of my favorite games of this generation, a culminations of a lot of the best game design that has evolved in the last 5 years. Play it! Expand
  92. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    is an awesome shooter with frenetic action, story worthy of indiana jones, charismatic characters, beautiful graphics and lots of fun, no doubt, and a q cocorrente strong for best game of the year.
  93. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games I have played in years! Graphics are excellent. Many times I found myself stopping and just looking at the landscape. Game play is a blast. Aiming and shooting is very easy. Enemy AI is just right. My only complaint is that I wish the dlc was something other than mulitplayer.
  94. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This game is so totally underrated that its almost a sin. I cant help but think that all the fuss about Bioshock Infinity stole attention from a lot of great games but mostly from Tomb Raider. Bioshock Infinity is a great game, no doubt. But its still just a shooter at its core and not that different from previous Bioshocks. Ok, Tomb Raider is not perfect either, but I think it deserves a lot more credit than it has been given. Sure, it has some same things going on as Uncharted did, but why is that so bad? Bioshock is doing basically the same thing in its own genre. Tomb Rider does thing the right way although it might not be so revolutionary.

    I really enjoyed Tomb Raider and it has a lot of great stuff going on. The characters are great, the visuals are stunning and the level design is incredibly detailed. The game is more mature and not just boobs with guns. Finding stuff ingame felt really good and rewarding for some reason. I never give a rats butt about finding collectibles or achievements in games and I didnt collect everything, but I had to make sure at least all the optional tombs ware raided and most relics found. The gameplay and controls are fluid and the action is awesome. Some annoying QTE-parts could have been dropped but it doesnt spoil it. Man I just hope Tomb Raider sells well. Just want the developers to get the credit they deserve for making this great game. I´m really looking forward whats coming next from them. Tomb Raider is not the greatest game ever, but its really good. Make sure to try TR if it interests you even just a little bit.
    Expand
  95. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Na minha opinião, um dos melhores jogos de 2013 jogabilidade, enredo e otimos graficos uma das melhores experiencias que tive no meu xbox 360.
    O jogo um belo rebot da serie.
  96. May 2, 2013
    10
    This game is GREAT! For you of those saying pick up CoD and then saying TR is "unrealistic," i would say that is fairly hypocritical. For one, CoD (with the commando pro perk) allows you to jump off buildings, no matter how HIGH AND LIVE! Still seem realistic,not to mention that your guy gets Swiss cheesed with bullets and DOESN'T DIE! And if this game still seems unrealistic, keep in mind you're playing a VIDEO GAME! Would you like to have CoD more realistic? Take away zombies, all perks (with the exception of the ones having to do with ammo and 'nades) take away health regain and there you have it, realistic CoD! Not to mention that your guy can sprint and jump over things like he is carrying nothing!
    I'm not hating on CoD, trust me! I love CoD! I just hate it when people underrate a great game because of it being "unrealistic" and then saying "go pick up CoD" or some other unrealistic game.

    Also, i do agree with whoever said they like "Far Cry 3," that game is also a great game with AI that actually can challenge you!
    Expand
  97. May 11, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely awesome. The earlier titles of Tomb Raider were hard for me since I suck at jump puzzles. This game absolutely put those away. There were some inconsistencies with Lara being constantly hesitant of taking the shot at the big baddy and saving her friend. The truth is, in order to make the game longer the directors deliberately made this whole weird situation even worse. However as a whole, this is definetly the best game I've played this year. Expand
  98. May 12, 2013
    10
    To put it simply, this game is amazing. In the latest instalment of the tomb raider franchise, you play as a younger Lara Croft. Without revealing too much of the storyline, the crew of the Endurance become stranded on a Japanese island. From the minute you land on the island, you realise the sheer beauty that the developers of this game have pulled off. The Island is covered in lush forest and mountains tower over you. In the first five minutes you experience some of the great quick-time event sequences that are scattered throughout the game.

    The combat in the game is genuinely fun. The gunplay isn’t anywhere as good as say, Call of Duty but it is still enjoyable and it works. The greatest enjoyment you will get in the way of combat is the bow. It is insanely rewarding to use and there is nothing more satisfying than nailing a headshot on an enemy. You also have the option to go hunting. The bow, again, is the best choice for hunting, which is also a great addition to the game. You can hunt wolf, deer, boar, rabbit and many more animals, all giving you an XP reward once looted.

    There is also the option to go exploring around each of the locations. Collecting salvage, relics, documents and GPS caches is a great addition. If you ever want a break from the constant, fast paced action you can use your survival instincts to hunt down these items. As well as the extra relics, documents etc. there are optional tombs. Optional tombs are hidden tombs that involve puzzle solving to get through and reach the treasure. The treasure highlights all the relics, GPS caches and documents in the specific area on your map and gives you a large XP reward.

    XP plays a big part in the game. Once you level up, a skill point is unlocked, which can be spent at a base camp. The skills are all useful and I never found one was wasted on something I didn’t need. Collecting salvage can be used to upgrade weapons. Anything with fire seemed to be extra useful, for example this could be used to shoot explosive barrels, taking out a group of enemies in a matter of seconds. At the base camps, you have the option to travel to previous areas, which is helpful when you are trying to collect everything.

    Tomb Raider also has a multiplayer but it is nowhere near as good as the single player. There are four game modes, team death match, free for all, Cry for Help which is a domination like mode and rescue which involves you stealing health packs from dead enemies. Cry for help is fun to start with but, like the rest, gets boring after playing a few hours. In the few hours of multiplayer I played, I encountered lag, bugs and lots of overpowered bows. It was fun but it felt like an unnecessary addition to an almost flawless game.

    Overall this game is excellent. I had to search hard for things that had gone wrong with this game. If only the developers had removed the multiplayer and instead, spent the time extending and perfecting the single player this game would have been exceptional.
    Expand
  99. May 31, 2013
    10
    I have been a fan since the original Tomb Raider on the Playstation One. This new installment really hit the mark. The story is great, the characters are very well developed. Lara Croft is back and better than ever. Tomb Raider needed a fresh new look and Square Enix and Crystal Dynamics really outdid themselves this time.
  100. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    Game was just plain excellent, Firstly to talk about the little things, your free running skills have been polished wonderfully and respond pretty much exactly as you intended the majority of the time, salvaging and upgrading weapons and skills is easy and fun but engaging enough for you to want to do it. Collectibles are manageable and don't just feel like a time waste to be completed after the game is over and the enemies attack with real intent and different strategies. The shooter and combat are well honed and the finishers and deaths are brutal but engaging all the while driven by an intense and riveting storyline made immersive through heart pumping quicktime events. I loved every moment of this game. (did not touch the multiplayer cannot comment) Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    85
    The new Tomb Raider is not as revolutionary as the original from 1996 but this reboot is the most mature, interesting and friendly entry to the series. For me it is Uncharted on steroids, a game that’s better in every aspect than Nathan Drake’s adventures. [CD-Action 04/2013, p.52]
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    65
    Tomb Raider is a fine game, but something essential feels like it has been left out. Lara seems to have found the map, but missed the treasure.
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    95
    Tomb Raider is the second best Uncharted game behind Uncharted 2. While it gives up a lot of its adventure identity fans have come to know and love, the end result is still a fantastic game that shouldn’t be missed by any action fan. If Crystal Dynamics can inject more adventure elements into a potential sequel, it would be a pretty interesting proposition indeed.