Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 990 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tomb Raider is a re-imagining of the infamous action-adventure franchise and explores the visceral origin story of this character. In the game, Lara Croft ascends from a frightened young lady on her first adventure and emerges as a hardened survivor. With only her sharp instincts and her innate ability to push the limits of human endurance, Lara must fight, explore, and use her intelligence to unravel the dark history of a forgotten island and escape its tight grip. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    Early quick-time events aside, this twelve hour adventure suffers so few missteps that it’s a genuine delight to play, even as the lead gets trampled into the seasoned pro we’ve come to know. Everyone take a bow… the first lady of gaming has returned.
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    94
    Tomb Raider is an extraordinary video-game. Its gameplay is amusing, Lara's animations are stunning, and the game is one hell of a ride.
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    90
    A near flawless example of how to reboot a franchise. Gripping, satisfying and strangely dark, we struggle to see how this origin story could have been told much better. [May 2013, p.77]
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    87
    Tomb Raider's reboot is definitely a success delivering a deep, adrenalinic and spectacular game with a new and charismatic Lara Croft. Our main complaint is with the lack of greater scale puzzles and more challenging ones, something the game should have retained from its predecessors.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    85
    Lara's return is a triumphant one, providing gamers with a visually breathtaking adventure around a well-realised island setting that harbours some dark secrets. Some more challenging puzzles and platforming would have been welcome, but as it stands, Tomb Raider is a thrilling reboot of a legendary franchise.
  6. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    It’s a fine return to form for the heroine whose comically conical boobs once fuelled a thousand adolescent quests for mythical nude codes. Lara Croft’s a real girl now, with real motivations, fears and feelings. And this is one reboot we hope will stick.
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    60
    It’s really hard to be excited about the future of Tomb Raider after this game. It fails where more successful films and games of its kind succeed: in its characters. The way in which Lara goes from inexperienced to full-on action movie hero survivalist is so jarring that it’s near impossible as a player to remain on the same emotional wavelength as the story. Because of this the rest of the game falters.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 281
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    The game play is awesome.Like really awesome. Lara's characterization is amazing. Upgrade system is epic. Exploration is wonderful and challenging. And finally the story... its pretty good most of the time.
    I can assure u this will be one of the best of games of 2013!!!!
    Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    Tomb Raider is outstanding. One of the greatest games I have played. It was a very memorable experience and I am looking forward to future Tomb Raider releases after this reboot. Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    Simply put: LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT....ALL OVER AGAIN!!! Like many who have reviewed here on MC, I have been a fan of Lara since the original Tomb Raider on the Playstation. Fast forward to Lara's last two romps (not including the DLC) on the Xbox 360 didn't really do much for me. I was nice to have Lara doing what Lara does best, shoot, run, jump, and solve puzzles, but it was lacking a soul, if that makes any sense...
    Enter the NEW Tomb Raider!! Right from the get-go, this game takes a gamble on a whole new "reboot" and isn't scared to put the emotion or SOUL as you will, back into Lara Croft we knew and loved. Seeing her younger is already refreshing. She naieve yet determined, scared, yet trying to survive every second of the game...Literally!! If you don't think Lara is a pure BADASS after playing this game, you need to get your head examined; I have never seen ANY character go through so much punishment in a game before and STILL, run, shoot, jump, and simply SURVIVE every situation she's in. I'm sorry Nathan Drake, you've just got pwned...by a girl!! BRAVO to you EIDOS!! Thank you for creating such a memorable, wonderful, heart pounding, emotional, and rewarding game that I have been waiting for such a long time out of Lara!! Long live Eidos! And long live Lara Croft!!!
    P.S. to Eidos: STOP TRYING TO BE LIKE UNCHARTED AND DITCH THE MULTIPLAYER!! ITS HORRIBLE!
    -Peace Out!
    Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    A survivor is born, that's the phrase of the game, and that's what you say when you finish the game. The Saga of Tomb Raider is back and stronger than ever. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    Overall is an amazing game and maybe my second favorite Tomb Raider game, what I didn't like a lot about this game it's the stage changes, some feel the same and Tomb Raider games usually have many stage changes, because usually they take you to different parts of the world, even when this is in one island, it's pretty good.

    The controls are great and fun, I enjoyed the gameplay a lot. The story is good enough but maybe the final part feels rushed, there's no face to face fight with Himiko and Mathias' button fight is dumb and too easy, it needed something better with those two.

    Visually is good, I like what they did to Lara's design and her character's emotions, she feels more vulnerable at first and you can feel how the character grows up while you continue playing. I recommend it a lot.
    Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    A good reboot of the Tomb Raider series, everything was good apart from the ending which was very anti-climatic. Still the new cinematic style and personality that they have given the game makes it into a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    As much as I love Tomb Raider, I'm afraid I won't be purchasing the newest release. For some reason, the makers have gone far, far away from what the game started out to be and have made it an 18, adding excessive violence and bad language. What's the point of that? This used to be a game I could play with my kids, with the suspense factor being paramount, particularly in the first game. Now they've turned it into a completely different format and just used the Tomb Raider name to create a survival game that has nothing to do with the original Tomb Raider.

    I'm very upset! :(
    Expand

See all 281 User Reviews