Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1039 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tomb Raider is a re-imagining of the infamous action-adventure franchise and explores the visceral origin story of this character. In the game, Lara Croft ascends from a frightened young lady on her first adventure and emerges as a hardened survivor. With only her sharp instincts and herTomb Raider is a re-imagining of the infamous action-adventure franchise and explores the visceral origin story of this character. In the game, Lara Croft ascends from a frightened young lady on her first adventure and emerges as a hardened survivor. With only her sharp instincts and her innate ability to push the limits of human endurance, Lara must fight, explore, and use her intelligence to unravel the dark history of a forgotten island and escape its tight grip. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    100
    Early quick-time events aside, this twelve hour adventure suffers so few missteps that it’s a genuine delight to play, even as the lead gets trampled into the seasoned pro we’ve come to know. Everyone take a bow… the first lady of gaming has returned.
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    94
    Tomb Raider is an extraordinary video-game. Its gameplay is amusing, Lara's animations are stunning, and the game is one hell of a ride.
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    90
    A near flawless example of how to reboot a franchise. Gripping, satisfying and strangely dark, we struggle to see how this origin story could have been told much better. [May 2013, p.77]
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    87
    Tomb Raider's reboot is definitely a success delivering a deep, adrenalinic and spectacular game with a new and charismatic Lara Croft. Our main complaint is with the lack of greater scale puzzles and more challenging ones, something the game should have retained from its predecessors.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    85
    Lara's return is a triumphant one, providing gamers with a visually breathtaking adventure around a well-realised island setting that harbours some dark secrets. Some more challenging puzzles and platforming would have been welcome, but as it stands, Tomb Raider is a thrilling reboot of a legendary franchise.
  6. Mar 6, 2013
    80
    It’s a fine return to form for the heroine whose comically conical boobs once fuelled a thousand adolescent quests for mythical nude codes. Lara Croft’s a real girl now, with real motivations, fears and feelings. And this is one reboot we hope will stick.
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    60
    It’s really hard to be excited about the future of Tomb Raider after this game. It fails where more successful films and games of its kind succeed: in its characters. The way in which Lara goes from inexperienced to full-on action movie hero survivalist is so jarring that it’s near impossible as a player to remain on the same emotional wavelength as the story. Because of this the rest of the game falters.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 293
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    The game play is awesome.Like really awesome. Lara's characterization is amazing. Upgrade system is epic. Exploration is wonderful andThe game play is awesome.Like really awesome. Lara's characterization is amazing. Upgrade system is epic. Exploration is wonderful and challenging. And finally the story... its pretty good most of the time.
    I can assure u this will be one of the best of games of 2013!!!!
    Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    10/10: Excellent and fun game. No spoiler review: practically every element of this game is fun: exploring, the physics puzzles (and I usually10/10: Excellent and fun game. No spoiler review: practically every element of this game is fun: exploring, the physics puzzles (and I usually dislike game puzzles), shooting, climbing, etc. If you like Uncharted but find it clunky you will love Tomb Raider because the gameplay is fun. The visuals and sound design are also excellent. There are many memorable moments of gameplay--the kind that make we want to replay a game every few years, like I do with the Mass Effect series. The only downsides: the story could have been better and some of the voice acting is flat (but they have few lines). Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. great job from the boys of crystal dinamics once again, totally worth the money!! One hell of a reboot, not like other games such as devil may cry or Resident evil Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    A survivor is born, that's the phrase of the game, and that's what you say when you finish the game. The Saga of Tomb Raider is back andA survivor is born, that's the phrase of the game, and that's what you say when you finish the game. The Saga of Tomb Raider is back and stronger than ever. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2014
    9
    This is the Tomb Raider game they always needed to make. Amazing story, amazing characters (especially Lara), and amazing gameplay.

    My
    This is the Tomb Raider game they always needed to make. Amazing story, amazing characters (especially Lara), and amazing gameplay.

    My only main criticism of the game is the tombs themselves. Tombs should have been incredibly expansive puzzle-fests. Instead, they're very short, single-puzzle distractions. Very disappointing.

    Some of the scripted events are lacking, but otherwise the gameplay is phenomenal. Although, I do think it focuses too much on action and too little on puzzle solving. Hopefully they'll fix that in the sequel.

    It was honestly a toss-up between an "8" and a "9", but ultimately I choose "9" because I didn't feel it's action-oriented gameplay should detract from the score, even though I think Tomb Raider should have more puzzle elements than action.
    Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    A good reboot of the Tomb Raider series, everything was good apart from the ending which was very anti-climatic. Still the new cinematic styleA good reboot of the Tomb Raider series, everything was good apart from the ending which was very anti-climatic. Still the new cinematic style and personality that they have given the game makes it into a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    Too easy, waaaaay to easy... This hole game (almost!) just felt like a level 1 or the tutorial level from any of the old TR games...6 hoursToo easy, waaaaay to easy... This hole game (almost!) just felt like a level 1 or the tutorial level from any of the old TR games...6 hours total with hand holding all the way through is a JOKE. And whats up with the camera angles and wardrobe? Where it set and made by religigious fanatics? I really dont want to see Lara with a 1930s adventurer, bomber jacket, case closed!!!!!!!!!!!! And yeah, the graphics kinda sucks too...it tries to fool you and make you think that it's good, but suddenly all the caves looks the same, and as in Far Blurr 3 this suffer from the same poor writing distance. I bet this can run well on an ipad in relativly short time, and thats not an overstatementt! Sad to see that Lara is gone cause this simply isnt a TR game!! Collapse

See all 293 User Reviews