User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 72
  2. Negative: 26 out of 72

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 20, 2012
    8
    This game is a fantastic HD compilation and remake that is faithful to the originals. I have a feeling that the people that have given this release a poor review either did not play the originals or their memory has served them poorly. The only thing holding this back from a 10 is the lack of split screen local multi-player and create-a-skater / create-a-park.
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    Activation's Tony Hawk series finally ditches the plastic skate board peripherals and gives us the classic arcade style gameplay we loved from the nintendo 64 and playstation era. with tons of content and a fantastic HD facelift that is very impressive. a definite buy for fans of the originals!
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    A lot of people are playing this thinking of the Skate series of games I think and making unfavourable comparisons with it. The same addictive just one more go game play is still apparent to me at least. Realism in games is all well and good but that sometimes replaces some of the more fun elements. Hopefully more game modes will be added along with the new DLC levels from the third, lackA lot of people are playing this thinking of the Skate series of games I think and making unfavourable comparisons with it. The same addictive just one more go game play is still apparent to me at least. Realism in games is all well and good but that sometimes replaces some of the more fun elements. Hopefully more game modes will be added along with the new DLC levels from the third, lack of levels is currently my only complaint. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, I really don't understand how any true fan of the early Tony Hawk games would not enjoy this game, so surprised at some of the early reviews.

    The game feels identical to the original. I've been playing Tony Hawk 2X for the Xbox on my 360 using the 360 controller to get ready for this game and this game feels the same, but with improved visuals, additional game modes,
    Amazing game, I really don't understand how any true fan of the early Tony Hawk games would not enjoy this game, so surprised at some of the early reviews.

    The game feels identical to the original. I've been playing Tony Hawk 2X for the Xbox on my 360 using the 360 controller to get ready for this game and this game feels the same, but with improved visuals, additional game modes, single player objective, Xbox Live support, leaderboards, and fun achievements.

    I also really like what they did with the soundtrack, a good mix of old songs and the new songs are great and as catchy if not more so than the original songs Also another huge improvement is how the current song will continue to play while you keep restarting the level to go for that tough challenge or high score, much better flow.

    Overall this game captures the feel and fun of the origin of the Tony Hawk series, you can tell that Robomodo had much love and passion for the original games and this a real treat for true fans of the old school Tony Hawk games.
    Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    Did it live up to expectations? No. Does it do the original games justice? Not really. But it is fun and for only $15 it's a pretty damn good deal. I really enjoyed the game but it is buggy.
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Finally!Take the two best skateboard games ever created,add spot on physics,amazing graphics and online play to die for.For the true loyal Tony Hawk fans that just skipped the lame Skate games and have been waiting for a great game since Tony Hawk's proving ground,well here it is.Even if you were avid Skate players,give this a try. I don't know how you can improve on the two highest ratedFinally!Take the two best skateboard games ever created,add spot on physics,amazing graphics and online play to die for.For the true loyal Tony Hawk fans that just skipped the lame Skate games and have been waiting for a great game since Tony Hawk's proving ground,well here it is.Even if you were avid Skate players,give this a try. I don't know how you can improve on the two highest rated skateboard games ever,but they did.It's like a whole new experience,the levels will feel familiar,of course,but it really feels like a different game.Playing with your Xbox avatar and your custom music is just the icing on the cake!This game is only $15 well worth twice that.10 Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    I see a lot of people unhappy on here, but I like this game. It is a bit pricey, but I loved the old Tony Hawks games. It is a little glitchy, but it's not a huge problem. I hope they add some levels, and don't charge for them. If you never played the old Tony Hawk games you may not enjoy this. I was looking for some nostalgia, and I found it.
  8. Sep 7, 2012
    8
    Activision prova a rivitalizzare il Franchise di Neversoft legato al leggendario skater dopo le pessime prove di Tony Hawk Ride e Tony Hawk Shred. Saranno riusciti nel loro intento?
    Il remake in HD è stato affidato a Robomodo, che ha ripreso i migliori livelli dei primi 2 episodi del Franchise dandogli una bella rispolverata in HD per potersi adattare alle capacità delle
    Activision prova a rivitalizzare il Franchise di Neversoft legato al leggendario skater dopo le pessime prove di Tony Hawk Ride e Tony Hawk Shred. Saranno riusciti nel loro intento?
    Il remake in HD è stato affidato a Robomodo, che ha ripreso i migliori livelli dei primi 2 episodi del Franchise dandogli una bella rispolverata in HD per potersi adattare alle capacità delle nuove console, dato che il primo episodio è datato addirittura 1999 ed è stato originariamente rilasciato per la prima Playstation.
    Partiamo ad analizzare le modalità di gioco che sono principalmente due e prevedono innanzitutto la modalità carriera, nella quale dovremo scegliere il nostro atleta (gli skater disponibili sono stai modificati rispetto al titolo originario in favore di personaggi più giovani e conosciuti dal pubblico odierno, o addirittura scegliere il nostro avatar 360) e tuffarci in uno dei livelli disponibili. All'inizio sarà disponibile solo una location e cioè il magazzino, che ci aiuterà anche a prendere confidenza con i comandi. Ogni livello prevede diversi obiettivi da raggiungere, sia in termini di punteggio che in termini di raccolta oggetti, che di esecuzione di particolari azioni o trick in determinati punti dello scenario entro un tempo limite di 2 minuti.
    Ogni obiettivo raggiunto ci frutterà del denaro con cui potremo acquistare abbigliamento, tavole o nuovi trick per il nostro skater. Superato un certo numero di obiettivi verra sbloccato il livello successivo e così via. La progressione nel gioco è quindi molto semplicistica e, una volta completati tutti gli obiettivi, l'unico motivo che ci spingerà a rigiocare ogni livello sarà semplicemente il raggiungimento di un punteggio più alto tramite l'esecuzione di trick via via sempre più complessi, concatenando le mosse che nel frattempo avremo acquistato superando i diversi livelli.
    Il rischio che si corre è che con i soli sette livelli che ci sono stati messi a disposizione dagli sviluppatori, il divertimento possa scemare troppo presto. Per questo è stata introdotta anche la modalità online, che offre un paio di modalità che però non aggiungono molto all'esperienza: parliamo di una gara di tag, dove dovremo "segnare" alcuni elementi dello scenario tramite dei trick ed una gara in discesa che verrà vinta dal giocatore che realizzerà il trick che una volta chiuso regalerà il punteggio più alto.
    A livello tecnico, il remake in alta definizione dei vecchi titoli presenta degli alti e bassi, con i livelli che presentano elementi non presenti negli originali ed un maggior dettaglio grafico, mentre la fisica lascia abbastanza a desiderare, oltre al fatto che ogni tanto le cadute scatenano bug decisamente assurdi come il personaggio che sembra volare nel nulla dello scenario. Gli effetti audio sono rimasti invece assolutamente fantastici, così come la colonna sonora, che è assolutamente incredibile, con brani originali che caricano il giocatore alla grande e non annoia mai.
    Dove il titolo era ed è assolutamente sopra la media, anche di titoli usciti successivamente, è nel Gameplay, che non è invecchiato di un giorno: chi lo aveva già provato impiegherà solamente pochi minuti a mappare mentalmente i comandi sul pad e ad eseguire con estrema facilità anche i trick più complessi. Per chi invece giocherà per la prima volta, la curva di apprendimento sarà un po' più ripida, ma una volta apprese le meccaniche di gioco, questo non potrà che offrire immense soddisfazioni ai giocatori più tenaci. È probabilmente la struttura troppo semplicistica il vero punto debole di questo remake in HD: un titolo del genere poteva essere sufficiente nel 1999, ma dopo 13 anni e dopo titoli più complessi già all'interno dello stesso Franchise, un po' di amaro in bocca rimane decisamente, anche se c'è la possibilità che dei DLC possano sistemare le cose, ma il divertimento che si prova rigiocando i vecchi livelli è incommensurabile e ci fa propendere per consigliarvi caldamente l'acquisto quasi ad occhi chiusi.

    VOTO: 7,5/10(www.videogiocare.org)
    Expand
  9. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    The Special Tricks are not registering?What should i do? I currently play this game on PC! But when i always try it ! I first do nose manual but when i press down/left/? ! Bamm! Nothing Happens! No Muska Nose Manual?Dafuq??
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    65
    With just seven levels-three of which have serious problems working with the current control scheme-it's not like the game has a wealth of content, and its hostility to new players prevents me from recommending it to any but the hardcore.
  2. 80
    Great flashback from the late nineties proves that old games were worth playing and except for the visuals there is no need to change anything. [Sept 2012]
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    70
    All in all, Tony Hawk HD proves that while you can't always go back, it certainly can be a lot of run to reminisce. Definitely worth a short-term pickup or for a quick break from reality… long term though? Not really.