Too Human Xbox 360

Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 80
  2. Negative: 9 out of 80
Buy On
  1. A perfect example of awesome but unrealized potential.
  2. Too Human is another game that falls in the “could have been much more” category. Even though this game has been in development for many years, there are just too many design flaws that keep it from becoming a “must have” game.
  3. Too Human is about players sculpting their ideal killing machines. If you enjoy leveling and looting, it's worth a look. If you only have a moderate interest, Too Human's aggravating gameplay and irreparable plot won't deliver many thrills. [Sept 2008, p.104]
  4. A bit too repetitive for its own good, but the unique controls and the online co-op are quite nice indeed.
  5. While Too Human doesn't really seem to excel at any of the things it attempts to do, it still ends up being fun to play despite the flaws. Sure, it's annoying to see that damn Valkyrie death animation every time you die, and I'd love to be able to pick out my long range targets, but I still find myself coming back to play for an hour or two every night, at least until I hit 50 with my Defender.
  6. Too Human has been in production in various forms for 10 years, but somehow, it still feels like an unfinished game. The plot is half-baked, the gameplay is simplistic, the replay value is hurt by the lack of variety, and glitches are commonplace. While the very basic framework of a fun game is there, it's weakened by all the flaws.
  7. 50
    Deprived of a decent storyline, innovative mechanics, and limited variation in either enemies or environments, Too Human is barely worthy of a weekend rental.
  8. Perhaps biggest problem with the game: it's too short.
  9. Too Human is amazingly short for an RPG, especially one that invites you to spend so much time collecting items and managing inventory.
  10. Games Master UK
    68
    No doubt destined for cult status, but it's too annoying too often to reach true greatness. [Oct 2008, p.68]
  11. Too Human turns itself too quickly into an entertainment of fast, reiterative and excessively easy consumption, but it also counts with some elements that save it from forgetfulness. Good music, simple action, pleasant treatment and a good personalisation of weapons and objects are among its virtues. However, other components such as the argument or the role part, designed to give the game its own personal touch, fail resoundingly.
  12. games(TM)
    50
    The resource management and skill chasing on offer is sound, but everything else is repetitive, undemanding, and forgettable. [Oct 2008, p.110]
  13. Edge Magazine
    60
    The irony is that many of Too Human’s problems wouldn’t exist if another pair of human players were allowed to enter the fold (as was originally intended) – speeding up play considerably and making ‘just one more run’ into something a little more manageable. [Oct 2008, p.92]
  14. This is the most disappointing thing about Too Human. Not the repetitive combat, or the technical issues, or the frustrating, endless death, but the plot. While the issue may be explored further in the next game, we expected more from the first. It's a big let down.
  15. Obvious problems (the shaky camera, poor targeting system, and inconsistent frame rate) match up with sheer annoyances (the 25-second-long, unskippable death sequences) to degrade the expectedly repetitive experience, but that’s not all that stuck in our craw. Capping the enjoyable online co-op at just two players (with no local play) seems ludicrous in this day and age; even PSO was rocking four players on a 56K connection in 2001!
  16. Pelit (Finland)
    70
    An interesting combination of ancient mythology and modern scifi-stories, but ultimately it's chunky and tedious gameplay prevents it from becoming a significant represententative of the scifi-action-rpg-subgenre already dominated by Mass Effect. Which is a pity, for there was massive potential here. [Sept 2008]
  17. Honestly, when you want to tune out and just hack through hordes of rushing enemies for a half hour, Too Human fits the bill.
  18. 65
    Too Human is a very competent action-RPG let down by clunky controls and a pervasive air of sloppiness. It's definitely worth a look for the dungeon-crawling Diablo crowd, but most will regard it as nothing more than an ambitious curiosity which never quite comes together.
  19. It's the sort of game that, when things are going badly, leaves you spending a lot of time not being able to do anything about it. You've made a mistake, and now you have to sit back and twiddle your thumbs.
  20. It’s an incredibly repetitive game that has a lot of depth on the surface that becomes irrelevant once it’s put into practice. Fans of dungeon-crawling loot hunts should rent, but everyone else will tire of its shortcomings even before its brief campaign is complete.
  21. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    70
    Too complicated. Yet excellent narrative concerned with matters of human existence. Too Human is an attractive drama set in the rich world suffering from a way too complex game system. Sudden cut in one thirds of a story will not make you happy. [Sept 2008]
  22. I don’t need games that make me this mad for so little payoff.
  23. Too Human is by no means a bad videogame, it’s just very repetitive and highly disappointing. With ten years development time, you’d think it would be a bit more impressive than this.
  24. Its role-playing elements prove uninteresting, with an unbalanced upgrade system and no major differences between the five available classes. Its fighting is stale, with loose multi-directional melee combat and horribly broken long-range targeting. Finally, the presentation falls short, with unpolished visuals and bothersome glitches.
  25. While the game has some problems, the good often cancels out the bad and action fans will no doubt enjoy the immense amount of destruction the game will throw at you.
  26. For most casual players I would steer them towards their local video store, but for fans of this genre I would most likely tell them to pick up and buy this game.
  27. If you take into account the amount of time and effort Silicon Knights has put into this title it boggles the mind when looking at the final product. Too Human actually manages to utterly fail in almost everything it attempts to do and constantly manages to show off new caveats in the formula. Repetitive and stupid enemies, uninspiring combat and a plot line that leaves much to be desired. The online co-op mode does help a bit, but it can't save what must be the most hyped failure in gaming history.
  28. The classes and the huge amount of skills are mildly entertaining. You could rent the game and try it out, but that's as far as I'd go.
  29. Nothing more than a standard hack n’ slash adventure. Glitches, poor A.I., and generic gameplay all contribute to Too Human lackluster showing.
  30. 66
    Too Human is repetitive, unbalanced, and frustrating, made complete with an uninteresting story.
  31. Despite falling short, Too Human ends in a way that suggests there will be future games made, which will thus permit the developers to take what they got wrong and make it right.
  32. 65
    Even with all the game's problems, I still managed to enjoy Too Human somewhat, simply because it did an excellent job of tapping into the part of my brain that wishes I had spent more time playing with dolls growing up.
  33. If anything meaningful happens in this game aside from establishing a villain, it was lost on me. The only way I got anything interesting out of it was to start searching for web pages devoted to Baldur's place in Norse mythology to see how many liberties Silicon Knights is taking with its fiction and to see what sorts of things could lie ahead in the next games. As a game, the action is a little too straightforward for its own good.
  34. Too Human feels unfinished and broken. After 10 years in development, you'd think that maybe it would have a lot less bugs and problems that it actually does. Unfortunately that's not true.
  35. Too Human is an interesting game disguised as a terrible action game.
  36. Ultimately though, when you start to crave any given section of the game to end just because you're so utterly bored of it, when you're hacking your way through another swarm of metal enemies utterly identical to those you fought in the last twelve (almost) identical rooms, you're inevitably going to start to feel like there's something not quite right with Too Human. And you'd be right.
  37. 60
    With the proper attention to detail Too Human 2 could very well be the game that Denis Dyack promised, but for right now it's only a shadow of the god it could be.
  38. Like I have mentioned before, the title isn’t without its many flaws and problems, but the good aspects of the title heavily outweigh the bad, and the amount of hate for the game seems disingenuous. That said; it feels like the game could have benefited from another year of development time, which might sound crazy given the game’s delays.
  39. Ultimately, despite the game's disappointments with a short length and excessive battling, we’re intrigued to see what becomes of Baldur and the Aesir in the coming sequels.
  40. 70
    There is no doubt that Silicon Knights have failed to live up to their early promises regarding Too Human.
  41. In the end, the game really is just too human: flawed, ageing but with the potential to do great things.
  42. This game should have been so much better considering how long it’s been in production, but it’s not and it shows.
  43. Technical problems are abundant, the character development is mostly irrelevant and the adventure is linear.
  44. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    70
    Although it has some interesting ideas, both the combat and the game mechanics are very repetitive. The technical aspect could also have some improvements, as it shows a game that has been continuously patched trough its long development cycle. [Sept 2008]
  45. 65
    The automatic nature of the combat almost mirrors Too Human's approach to gameplay as a whole: this is autopilot gaming: routine revival, hand-held progression, a loot free-for-all and a microwave dinner storyline.
  46. 60
    In short, I was left wanting to know more. The fact that you can start a new campaign with your character and continue to level him up didn't really entice me back into Too Human -- I want more story. To that end, I'm looking forward to the promised release of "Too Human 2."
  47. If wading knee deep in the dead to get at a piece of armour that’s 5% better than what you’re currently wearing isn’t the kind of adventuring that excites you, then you’re in trouble, because Too Human is exactly this type of game. Kill, loot, compare, equip, repeat.
  48. Combining frenetic sword and gun gameplay against the backdrop of the gods sounds good, but ultimately Too Human shows how far the developers tried, and failed, to reach.
  49. Ultimately, if you're willing to learn the ropes, there's some good fun to be had in Too Human - and gamers that know what to expect are less likely to be disappointed.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 461 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 214
  1. Jan 27, 2012
    5
    Too Human is an mediocre game. It has a good story, but everything else is average. The controls are weird and clunky, the graphics leave aToo Human is an mediocre game. It has a good story, but everything else is average. The controls are weird and clunky, the graphics leave a lot to be desired and is quite simply not worth the cash. With some effort, the game could have been great. However, like I said before, the story is quite good, and is original, unlike other stories out there today. Full Review »
  2. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Had this game for a while and all I can say is I cant believe this has such a low review score. I mean sure the game is a tad short but it isHad this game for a while and all I can say is I cant believe this has such a low review score. I mean sure the game is a tad short but it is set to be a trilogy so i understand why it would have a cliffhanger. I mean look at all the lord of the ring movies... all ended with cliffhangers before the final one. There are minor problems with the game like controls that are hard to learn without a tutorial (there isnt one in the game) and the in game death sequence should be skipable. However the game makes up for most of these with fun addicting gameplay, much replayablity, and online. Since the game only has its fan base still playing online you might have trouble finding a game however when you do get online with someone its a great play team work is key and you have alot of fun. Rune quests make up for alot of replayablity and once you complete the quest and have the rune equipped it gives you stat boots. The game has much depth in it even though it doesnt appear to be much at all besides a dungeon crawler with loot. Which by the way the game combines loot-whoredom and dungeon crawling perfectly. Oh have i mentioned the story for this game is awesome! I mean cyberpunk on norse myth (VIKINGS!!!) i wont go to deep into it to not reveal spoilers xp. Also this game is like in the top 10 best selling 360 action rpg games soo it shouldnt have such alow review score. I seriously reccommend to give it a shot i mean 10-20 dollars new at gamestop and like 20 on live market place Full Review »
  3. JoeW.
    Aug 12, 2008
    0
    Rubbish. Complete rubbish. 10 years and 3 platforms and this game is only mediocre.