User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 443 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ElliotI.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    You will either love/hate this game depending on what you like. I have played this game for 40+hours and continue to love it. This is a very involved game whose full potential is only realized after a few play-throughs. Good: The action is amazing. Character skill trees are well thought out. Loot system is very well thought out. Story and cut-scenes. Bad: No metal in a game about You will either love/hate this game depending on what you like. I have played this game for 40+hours and continue to love it. This is a very involved game whose full potential is only realized after a few play-throughs. Good: The action is amazing. Character skill trees are well thought out. Loot system is very well thought out. Story and cut-scenes. Bad: No metal in a game about futuristic vikings. UI design in the inventory management could have used some streamlining. Some minor camera and 3D quirk like enemies bugging and falling through the world. Charm quest inventory management slows down the game ALOT, as you can only have 2 active. Expand
  2. ThomasK.
    Jul 21, 2008
    9
    Just played the demo. The Controlls are very different and confusing first, but if you give this game a chance the seem to work pretty well after a few hours. Some litte FPS issues but the graphics and the overall style is nice.
  3. JesseV
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    best and only dungeon crawler on the 360 so far. Epic loot awaits!
  4. MiguekS.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Its refreshing innovative gorgeous loot stroy everything a rpg should have and more!
  5. Devin
    Aug 14, 2008
    7
    I don't like it very much, although I can see how some people could enjoy during a summer game drought. The combat seemed repetitive and boring. They kept the controls simple which can be a good thing in games like God of War where skill and reflexes are rewarded but in Too Human's case it's just a simple and very shallow fighting mechanic. I think limiting everything to I don't like it very much, although I can see how some people could enjoy during a summer game drought. The combat seemed repetitive and boring. They kept the controls simple which can be a good thing in games like God of War where skill and reflexes are rewarded but in Too Human's case it's just a simple and very shallow fighting mechanic. I think limiting everything to the analog stick was a huge mistake - COMBAT IS BORNING. Sure there is a skill tree to get new weapons and stuff but I doubt that can make up for fundamentally sub-par gameplay. The graphics aren't bad but they don't make you say "wow" due to a lack of any distinct or appealing artistic style. The story seems descent enough to warrant a rent but I'm not buying this 15 hour Action/RPG unless it end up in the bargain bin at EB for less than $29.99. On a positive note given how mediocre this game is it probably won't take too long. Expand
  6. Faith
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    I've been playing this game for 4 days now and I love it. The story is interesting and the cybernetic world meets norse mythology mixes well. The combat system is great and unique. The loot drop system is addictive.
  7. SimonJ.
    Aug 19, 2008
    3
    Repetitive dull and scifi hack and slash its oblivion with robots
  8. StevenO
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    This game is targeted to people who now norse myths making it hard to grasp the concept of the story. Its a very good game with minimal problems where the graphics could be a little bit better. Do not listen to critics sense none realize that this game is centered around a test( controls, difficult storys, rpg/hack n slash) to see the response from gamers. Too Human has excellent This game is targeted to people who now norse myths making it hard to grasp the concept of the story. Its a very good game with minimal problems where the graphics could be a little bit better. Do not listen to critics sense none realize that this game is centered around a test( controls, difficult storys, rpg/hack n slash) to see the response from gamers. Too Human has excellent replayability and kept me interested the whole way through and better yet that its not no 5 hour game more like a 80-100 hour game to do everything. If your a fan of rpgs or mythology definitely buy this game but everyone should at least rent it to see how they like it. Expand
  9. AnonymousMC
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    Thiis game proves that many people no longer have the attention spans to learn a new style of play, nor are they able to understand a storyline that doesn't neatly tie up right away. Does anyone look at the whole picture anymore? And when did keeping a game challenging become a bad thing?
  10. ShizzleT.
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    Level Scaling? Seriously? Who thought that was a great idea in a loot game?
  11. Fred
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Slight balance issues with combat as the game tends to punish single players (you die a lot and the revive sequence is lenghty). Should probably be enjoyed in co-op. Otherwise it's a real treat for Diablo fans. Well executed.
  12. BuddyR.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    It's not great but it is still an enjoyable take on the hack and slash genre. The Devil May Cry like controls keep the action from getting too stale and if you're into building up your character and always searching for the next best armor or weapon, this game will be surprisingly addicting.
  13. ShaunT.
    Aug 21, 2008
    2
    I so badly wanted this game to be the kind of work that would vindicate all the hard work that Silicon Knights put into this. Instead what I found myself playing was little more than a button smash, hack and loot game. The thing that drives this game forward is the single minded pursuit of better and better loot. No matter what level your character is the cookie cutter bad guys scale to I so badly wanted this game to be the kind of work that would vindicate all the hard work that Silicon Knights put into this. Instead what I found myself playing was little more than a button smash, hack and loot game. The thing that drives this game forward is the single minded pursuit of better and better loot. No matter what level your character is the cookie cutter bad guys scale to match you. All too often you make the effort to "craft" an item only for it to be rendered obsolete by some random loot drop. The gameplay can be summed up rather nicely by the phrase, "Shower, rinse, repeat". There is little more variety than this. I have played many games with poor gameplay in order to participate in a good story. Too Human also falls terribly short in this area as well. The story is little more than an introduction to the cast of characters. Leaving only multiplayer, which I cannot comment on because a gold Xbox Live subscription for a year would nearly double the cost of this dreadfully disappointing game. Expand
  14. JamesJ.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    I enjoy the game! It is just a tad confusing at first figuring out how the runes work but once controlled you have some nice upgrades.
  15. Ovlov
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    No, it's not what we all hoped it could be, but does that mean it's horrible? Too Human is a deep game that requires time and despite outward appearances, skill, to master. The "simple" control scheme is anything but as you learn to string combos and time powerful moves. Sure, gameplay might be frustrating at times. It might have its buggy issues. The menus and models might be No, it's not what we all hoped it could be, but does that mean it's horrible? Too Human is a deep game that requires time and despite outward appearances, skill, to master. The "simple" control scheme is anything but as you learn to string combos and time powerful moves. Sure, gameplay might be frustrating at times. It might have its buggy issues. The menus and models might be very poorly designed and frustrating. The camera might get irritating just at the wrong moment. The story, previously presented as one of the best elements in the game, might be disjointed or ancillary to the gameplay. The fact remains; it isn't as bad as the bandwagon says. This game just couldn't live up to the hype and the hope of its onlookers. Play the demo without the backdrop of negativity and you just might find that what you read on the internet might just be wrong. Expand
  16. IsaacB.
    Aug 21, 2008
    0
    This game is the worst game I have ever played. I remember when Godzilla the movie first came out as my most expected movie that summer of 1998 and it was horrendous. Well, this is the Godzilla of videogames... lots of hype, but no substance; after 10 years of being announced and labeled as a "God of War killer" and "Diablo Killer", it fell too short of expectations, and miles away of This game is the worst game I have ever played. I remember when Godzilla the movie first came out as my most expected movie that summer of 1998 and it was horrendous. Well, this is the Godzilla of videogames... lots of hype, but no substance; after 10 years of being announced and labeled as a "God of War killer" and "Diablo Killer", it fell too short of expectations, and miles away of their actual target. Extremely repetitive gameplay, it tries to appear as if it actually gave you lots of choices but in the end those choices are meaningless. For all the fuzz dyack made against Epic, they did not deliver any technical wonder. The storyline attempts to be great but it is a huge yawner... it seems Dyack had good ideas for making a good game but they were very poorly implemented and executed, he should have given those ideas to a better or younger developer. Also, I don't even know if the fact that the game is too short is a good thing because of how bad and boring it is, or if it is a bad thing because of all the time they had to make this one. Please do not finish the trilogy, cancel it in favor of another Eternal Darkness. Expand
  17. DaveL.
    Aug 20, 2008
    8
    Despite all the criticism and the lengthy development time, if you are into the Diablo style of game and dig a good story driven game(although online is where it really shines!) pick up Too Human!
  18. BobG.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    One of the best game I've played in awhile!!! I don't care about the morons or the bad reviews, the game is the most fun I've had in awhile. Sure it has flaws, but when it comes down to it, i can't stop playing! And that's saying a lot for me.
  19. JoshuaT.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    This game is actually a lot more playable than most people want to give it credit for, and it's actually been quite addictive with the loot, the game has its faults, but even considering that, it's really fun!
  20. RafaelD.
    Aug 21, 2008
    4
    This games fails in many ways , trying to do so many stuff and never succeeds in executing any of them well. The result is a boring game that you will forget very soon. Dont spend your money on this one. better games are coming , unless you are desperate to plau something (bad).
  21. BlayneW.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    Far better than I expected, the demo didn't do it justice. Having a lot of fun, it's a good sci-fi diablo-esque game.
  22. MethodS.
    Aug 20, 2008
    9
    This game is fun as hell, online or single player. Anyone who says this game sucked is a noob who can't learn new control schemes or complex menus and skill trees. I'm happy that a game that seems like it was built for the PC translates so well to a console. Too Human FTW!
  23. EdwinM
    Aug 22, 2008
    3
    68 is much Too High for this game. A repetitive borefest with possibly the worst penalty for death ever conceived in a videogame: a 15 second mundane death animation that is unskippable. Take ten years off Silicon Knights, because you haven't made a decent game in that much time.
  24. WarrenB.
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    This game is under-rated by the journalistic elite. I usually don't question how web sites rate games, but honestly I don't understand most of the hate towards this game. i really really like it and can't recommend it enough.
  25. Mike
    Aug 22, 2008
    8
    This is a great Hack n Slash Dungeon crawler with plenty of replay and loot to make it worth going back to again and again. I don't understand how metacritic equates a C- to a 42. I think they are being bias. I think fans of hack n slash should at least check this game out. I can't wait to go back and play it some more.
  26. WaltG.
    Aug 20, 2008
    7
    It's an OK game. It's a rather standard hack and slash. Something along the lines of Diablo and Dungeon siege. It's worth a look if you've got that hack and slash itch. Plus it's got Cybernetic Norse Gods, give it as low a score as you want, you have to admit how cool that is.
  27. HowardS.
    Aug 22, 2008
    8
    Excellent dungeon crawler with a few interface flaws. All made up for by one o the best control schemes for a game of this type. Make no mistake, the core game-play is definitely here, and will allow anyone that enjoys dungeon crawls to overlook any of the interface pitfalls.
  28. ClaytonC
    Aug 22, 2008
    4
    After playing through this game, I feel extremely disappointed. The story was unique, but felt half-baked. The combat took some time to get used to, then was fun for a short time before becoming boring and repetitive. This game feels like short version of Diablo with robots. Although you could spend 80-100 hours collecting everything, it could easily be finished in around 10. It feels After playing through this game, I feel extremely disappointed. The story was unique, but felt half-baked. The combat took some time to get used to, then was fun for a short time before becoming boring and repetitive. This game feels like short version of Diablo with robots. Although you could spend 80-100 hours collecting everything, it could easily be finished in around 10. It feels like the developers spent all their time trying to get a lot of different things into this game instead of improving what was already there, such as the combat. Overall, if you love collecting loot, get this game. If not, I would probably pass it up. Expand
  29. KenH
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    Having played the game to completion on 1 character, I decided to post a clear "in favor of" vote for "Too Human". This game has gotten extremely unfair and overly harsh reviews. I think some of it is industry/fan driven because of the lawsuit between SK and Epic. Judging THE GAME on it's MERITS, it clearly is a work of art and extremely replayable ala Diablo style. The game Having played the game to completion on 1 character, I decided to post a clear "in favor of" vote for "Too Human". This game has gotten extremely unfair and overly harsh reviews. I think some of it is industry/fan driven because of the lawsuit between SK and Epic. Judging THE GAME on it's MERITS, it clearly is a work of art and extremely replayable ala Diablo style. The game doesn't end until you decide to stop playing. The story content lasts about 15 hours with 2 planned expansions. 5 Character classes that in actuality DO play differently once you understand the game.. Too Human will swallow you up and spit you out if you do not bring your best game play. It is unforgiving and has a few targeting issues that can easily be patched out and improved on. Remember seeing Blade Runner for the first time? That's the feeling I got playing and experiencing Too Human. The meld of Norse Fantasy, with cyberpunk sci fi is well done. The game tells a story not only through animations, but through chance encounters, overheard conversations, and environment driven content that is there if you search for it. If you rush through the story mode, you will miss a lot. Explore cyberspace. The other great thing Too Human has accomplished is plotting out how console Diablo style games can be controlled with a joystick. It's about time this genre landed firmly on consoles, and Too Human does a great job for a stab at making it work. I look forward to their next expansion for the game and any downloadable content. Any game that makes you want to keep playing after the story ends is worthy of a try. Check it out! Expand
  30. ScottL.
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    Has some quirks but some very satisfying and fun gameplay.
  31. RobbM.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    The game is great if you like collecting equipment and customizing your character, if not it probably won't do anything for you.
  32. TobiasZ.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Perfect mix of Hack'n'Slay and RPG. I don't understand the bad reviews, i think its very good in this genre.
  33. HobbesC.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    This game rocks why does everyone hate this game? why don't you try playing through it and getting used to the controls first.
  34. JoeC.
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    I'm having a blast playing this game. The camera seems to be pretty smart, I nearly never have to center the camera behind me. It's got some automatic targeting issues - in that it doesn't always like to target the enemy that's closest to me in the direction I'm facing. It also likes to keep targeting dead monsters like Crackdown liked to do. Pretty easy to get I'm having a blast playing this game. The camera seems to be pretty smart, I nearly never have to center the camera behind me. It's got some automatic targeting issues - in that it doesn't always like to target the enemy that's closest to me in the direction I'm facing. It also likes to keep targeting dead monsters like Crackdown liked to do. Pretty easy to get around, though - the right stick changes what you're targeting and quickly lifting your finger from the trigger lets it quickly auto target the next enemy. Could this game be better? Sure. But I'm still having tons of fun. I can easily see myself playing through more than once. Expand
  35. JeebusJ.
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    I have never liked button mashers but this game is so much more than that. The game is very unique in the sense that the more I play it I learn more about how combat works... how it requires more strategy and execution that originally experienced. I truly hope the trilogy gets fully realized. The game rocks but it's one of those games whose depth isn't immediately recognizable I have never liked button mashers but this game is so much more than that. The game is very unique in the sense that the more I play it I learn more about how combat works... how it requires more strategy and execution that originally experienced. I truly hope the trilogy gets fully realized. The game rocks but it's one of those games whose depth isn't immediately recognizable and allows for its players to "dumb" down its gameplay to the lowest common denominator. The more thought and consideration you put into the game the more you see its subtly intricacies. Expand
  36. JohnM.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    Reviewers SUCK - This game, while not perfect, is totally fun, and way better than many of the other AAA games that reviewers give 9-10 scores.
  37. NickA.
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    This game really doesn't deserve all the hate it's getting. Most people are quick to write this game off as terrible without really giving a chance. This game is a really fun action RPG with tons of great loot. You can spend hours leveling up and collecting items even after you complete the story. Co-op is great too.
  38. AaronC.
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    This is a great game to sit down with and have some fun. The loot system is very inept and so much fun to be constantly upgrading all your gear and weapons. They have many different weapon types, so you can always be changing up your play style or staying with a play style you like. Too Human provides a great gaming experience that will last for a while as you level your character, play This is a great game to sit down with and have some fun. The loot system is very inept and so much fun to be constantly upgrading all your gear and weapons. They have many different weapon types, so you can always be changing up your play style or staying with a play style you like. Too Human provides a great gaming experience that will last for a while as you level your character, play through the game and get great gear. My only negative is that with the way the game is designed, death means nothing, which actually works during the normal game progression as you will die many times. However, the only change I would make is that death actually meant something during a boss fight. Currently, if you die during a boss fight, you just come back to life and the boss is at the same health leve as when you died so when you kill a boss, there is no real sense of accomplishment as you will always defeat the boss no matter what, it might just take a few deaths. I would like to see the bosses health get reset when you die and you have to restart the Boss fight, so that way once you do kill them, you feel like you have accomplished something. Collapse
  39. KallenP.
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    Misunderstood but tons of fun can be achieved if you stick with it.
  40. AndreC.
    Aug 26, 2008
    9
    This game is fun and that's what you want out of a video game.
  41. JeremyF.
    Aug 27, 2008
    8
    This is a very solid action/RPG. Camera issues can occasionally be frustrating, and it's definitely a game that rewards investment. That said, some of the major gripes from reviewers (death sequence and difficulty) were overstated. The death sequence takes about 20 seconds and actually replaces your load screen (you are instantly at the last save point after the death sequence), and This is a very solid action/RPG. Camera issues can occasionally be frustrating, and it's definitely a game that rewards investment. That said, some of the major gripes from reviewers (death sequence and difficulty) were overstated. The death sequence takes about 20 seconds and actually replaces your load screen (you are instantly at the last save point after the death sequence), and was actually LESS time consuming than the standard "Load game, select game, wait for load screen, etc." interface. The game is a little difficult at first, but not painfully so if you're smart enough to invest in some defensive capabilities. I died once every 16 minutes during my first run-through of the first act as a tank. After mastering the controls, I finished my 2nd run-through with an engineer and died once during the 1.5 hours of play time. I strongly suspect the reviewers that gave this game negative feedback played through as berserkers, didn't use the handy slide ability to avoid getting surrounded, and penalized the game for their own ineptitude. Expand
  42. NicholasL.
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    This game is an excellent game, not the most amazing game ever made, but it hits a bar of excellence that "critical" reviewers are completely oblivious to, and I don't understand it.
  43. ChrisB.
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    Great game. Takes a while to get used to but I feel that the controls are superior to the traditional button mashing twitch fest. The loot system and other aspects give the game great repeatability.
  44. BrianV.
    Aug 28, 2008
    9
    Excellent action game with rewarding controls and fun loot. I enjoyed the story and felt is was a good introduction to the trilogy.
  45. Darren
    Aug 29, 2008
    8
    This game is good the combat and equipment collecting is really good, the story is clever the downside is some poor voice acting. The only major gripes are the camera and graphics which are nice but not great. Don't go by all the poor reviews make sure you try it out you might be surprised.
  46. JondeM.
    Aug 31, 2008
    8
    This game you will either hate or love. The game is pretty good old hack 'n slash. The norsk mythology -theme feels nice, but that's why the dialog may seem pretty bad from time to time. Controls and camera are weird, but you get used to them in a while. Graphics go from amazing to poor; some of the human characters don't seem to fit in with the rest of the graphics. All in This game you will either hate or love. The game is pretty good old hack 'n slash. The norsk mythology -theme feels nice, but that's why the dialog may seem pretty bad from time to time. Controls and camera are weird, but you get used to them in a while. Graphics go from amazing to poor; some of the human characters don't seem to fit in with the rest of the graphics. All in all, the game is a pretty solid product in every aspect - it doesn't do anything perfect but it's still an enjoyable game. Expand
  47. JamesK.
    Aug 7, 2008
    2
    A terrible game. the demo sucked and whats with the 30 second video when u die
  48. JoshD.
    Sep 17, 2008
    9
    Addictive like no other game I have ever played. Coming from a complete PS3 fanboy.
  49. JamesB.
    Sep 19, 2008
    9
    I enjoy the multiplayer part of this game. I really wish they would have done a better job than just CUT done with the ending of the campaign. I like how the difficulty ramps up based upon your level. Lots of reply for me as I enjoy this mix RPG/Action type of game.
  50. IR.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    Very fun game. Reminds me a bit of Champions of Norrath. The item collecting, fierce battles and different leveling trees are setup well. Seems a bit unpolished but once you get into it, you might find it hard to put down.
  51. AlexT.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    great game but not easy to undersand certain things with such weak surce material (booklet that comes with the game) what is a colour module? what does rupture do? do charms work when not in the questing slots. unfortunately too many questions and no answers. but if anyone says all the characters play the same obviously haven't played it or their just not skilled enough to play to great game but not easy to undersand certain things with such weak surce material (booklet that comes with the game) what is a colour module? what does rupture do? do charms work when not in the questing slots. unfortunately too many questions and no answers. but if anyone says all the characters play the same obviously haven't played it or their just not skilled enough to play to the strengths of a berserker, and think it's the same as a defender? Expand
  52. AdamT.
    Sep 24, 2008
    6
    I really wanted to like this game. But so much was so sloppy that it really felt like Out The Door software. The interface for your character customization is downright ugly to look at. Even on a 42" plasma the text looks scrunched. The cinematic were great, the world itself looked good. The story was fairly compelling. The largest and most detrimental aspect of the game though was the I really wanted to like this game. But so much was so sloppy that it really felt like Out The Door software. The interface for your character customization is downright ugly to look at. Even on a 42" plasma the text looks scrunched. The cinematic were great, the world itself looked good. The story was fairly compelling. The largest and most detrimental aspect of the game though was the shoddy control/targeting system. I found my self twitching trying to get the gun to focus on ANYTHING. The sword system uses a series of "combos" which are confusing to look at, at first. But then you realize there aren't any real combos, they're just parts of the control scheme to help the game look good. This probably came about as a way to accommodate the overly wide camera angles which attempted to grab as much as possible to be epic in scale. The mere fact that you can flip camera angles at the touch of a button seems to indicate the lack of a cohesive design for the game. The game simply couldn't decide what it wanted to be on the action front, and so failed in implementation. I really wanted to like this game. Especially with its intriguing setting and Norse storyline. But alas, it comes to naught. Expand
  53. JamesA
    Sep 28, 2008
    7
    Rented it and put in 6 hours. Good: story, combos, lots of items, melee fighting looks really cool. Bad: why have health bar if there is 0 penelty for dieing (as in you pop back in the same spot & enemies have the same amount of damage you gave them on your last life), enemies leveling up with you meens leveling up only give you new weapons, some spots in the game can only be overcome by Rented it and put in 6 hours. Good: story, combos, lots of items, melee fighting looks really cool. Bad: why have health bar if there is 0 penelty for dieing (as in you pop back in the same spot & enemies have the same amount of damage you gave them on your last life), enemies leveling up with you meens leveling up only give you new weapons, some spots in the game can only be overcome by dieing 2 to 4 times. Rent this first, if you have played Phantsy Star, you will like it, if not, you will hate this game with a passion. This is not the qualty that 12 years in production should have. Expand
  54. NicholasLong
    Sep 4, 2008
    8
    If you can get past the dying cheap deaths, wonky camera, and occasionally iffy controls, (and don't mind putting a lot into a game before getting much out of it) and like loot collecting this games for you. The cut scenes and story are skip-worthy, but this game is about the combat, and its usually pretty good.
  55. aglio
    May 18, 2009
    3
    This is the wreckage of any diablo-like hack & slash games. Odd camera, collapsed game play, unadjusted class balances, no replayablity, cinematic frequently avoids gaming, etc. etc. It might be a great game if silicon knight's director and developers were claver to know how to make player enjoy, but it is not. It is not worth to buy. That's all.
  56. [Anonymous]
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    takes some getting used to, i like the story, not sure if everyone else will and you get a lot of play value with all the characters and styles.
  57. DarflerV.
    Jul 22, 2008
    3
    the graphics are fine, but there's a lot of frame rate issues. the camera would be ok, if i could fucking move it around. the combat would be great.... yes great!.. if it was mapped on the buttons instead of the right analog stick. yeah, that's what i said.. you attack with the right analog stick. they sacrifice camera movement for shitty combat commands on the analog stick. the graphics are fine, but there's a lot of frame rate issues. the camera would be ok, if i could fucking move it around. the combat would be great.... yes great!.. if it was mapped on the buttons instead of the right analog stick. yeah, that's what i said.. you attack with the right analog stick. they sacrifice camera movement for shitty combat commands on the analog stick. srsly, wtf were they thinking. as for targeting... there isn't any. you just widely fail around and try to hit stuff. when you fight a boss, you have to attack its different parts in order to destroy it. ok, that's fine, that's actually a nice idea, but since the targeting is the worst evar created, it renders any kind of combat completely broken! now.. microsoft i'm sure is gonna wanna try to turn a profit from this, so they're gonna hype the hell out of it w/ tv and magazine ads. i just hope consumers and journalists have an iq over 75 so they know better than to enjoy it, and instead, chuck it in a fire. Expand
  58. LoganD.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Truly amazing game, a must buy. It's already easily playable for 80+ hours, and then theres coop, DLC(New classes will be downloadable!), and bringing your character(s) across each game, each time leveling 50 times.
  59. StevenB.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    Absolutely love this game - will recommend to all of my friends.
  60. BobS.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    This game fast, fun and best of all...unique. I really enjoyed playing the demo. I understand this game might not be for everyone. The controls definitely take some getting used to. Overall the graphics are on par with other games out at this time. Co-op is way too much fun. The story is a little weak, but you almost expect that these days.
  61. Lucas
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    This is a fantastic game. If you love RPGs and Action games, you will deff love this game. It does a lot of things right and minor things wrong.Great game.
  62. JP.
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    I've played the demo and loved every second of it. it just made me want more. if the game is half as good as that then it'll be great. I have mine reserved and will pick it up day one.
  63. PT
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    Enjoyable as a solid rental for those who aren't huge fans of RPG's and their loot and skill systems. For those who like that kind of thing, they may find this to be exactly what they were looking for. The story is solid and the audio is always excellent. The animation and camera could've used some more work, the problems are sometimes jarring. A few issues with targeting Enjoyable as a solid rental for those who aren't huge fans of RPG's and their loot and skill systems. For those who like that kind of thing, they may find this to be exactly what they were looking for. The story is solid and the audio is always excellent. The animation and camera could've used some more work, the problems are sometimes jarring. A few issues with targeting and balance between classes aside, the game is not terrible but not the A+ game a lot of people were hyped for. Still worth a solid rental and I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of people found themselves buying it afterward or at least renting it a couple more times. Expand
  64. JustinP.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    Awesome game
  65. bryang.
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    Somehow I think meta critic should take another look at their scale for converting Letter grades to numbers. If you get a C- in school you by no means are failing... In regards to Too Human so far a good game and story is interesting. I like how they worked different terminology into how gods speak compared to how the humans speak as well as the heavy norse influence throughout the game. Somehow I think meta critic should take another look at their scale for converting Letter grades to numbers. If you get a C- in school you by no means are failing... In regards to Too Human so far a good game and story is interesting. I like how they worked different terminology into how gods speak compared to how the humans speak as well as the heavy norse influence throughout the game. An easy action game that is great when you just want to pick up and go even in a multiplayer(Co-op) game. No more 5 minutes staring at a halo 3 list of players screaming "veto!!!" only to have to wait another 2 minutes for the map to change. Expand
  66. JohnDong
    Aug 18, 2008
    0
    Terrible game, bad controls, awful settings, bad plot, and boring enemies.
  67. RanbirC.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    Ok, isn't perfection but it is still a decent, fun game. Why does everyone expect anything less than a 9 to be a failure of a game? Silly standards.
  68. GeorgeC.
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    i hate this game so much
  69. HanJ.
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    Horrible game with horrible graphics, lame story and stupid a fighting system. Unlimited lives and the fact that the game is only 10 hours makes this a complete failure. Don't buy this game.
  70. DaseanH.
    Aug 19, 2008
    5
    When i played it it made me frustrated to no ended but it wasn't all bad.
  71. StedmanH.
    Aug 19, 2008
    2
    Animations suck, camera sucks, overall game play just isn't there either.
  72. JerryK.
    Aug 19, 2008
    8
    some people such as myself will love this game and it will be hard to walk away, while others will gripe and moan about the inconsistencies in the camera and the auto-targeting for the guns, but overall it is a game that is worth the cash
  73. PaulS.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Too Human is yet another Silicon Knights masterpiece. While the mainstream reviewer "doesn't get it" - it's a fantastic title that will be loved by anyone with an open mind, and open heart.
  74. Sados.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    This game is definitely made for a person that enjoy grinding and loots, which pretty exciting co-op options and lots of customization. IF you are into that kind of game, you will love it!
  75. revivedflash
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    this is just based no the demo. I loved it the first time through. I did not find the camera to be really bad and i had no problems with the controls. I agree that the whole death thing could be better. Dieing does not seem to really have that big of an impact as it could. Even with a few things like that i still enjoyed enough to buy this game.
  76. NathanielJ.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    What Too Human doesn't do: - Deliver EVERYTHING that was promised as expected - Offer another great 4-player multiplayer co-op experience - Run absolutely flawlessly (but then neither do a lot of the top scoring games these days either) - Do what everyone else has done before with new features or a new engine like so many other high scoring or "revolutionary" games What Too Human What Too Human doesn't do: - Deliver EVERYTHING that was promised as expected - Offer another great 4-player multiplayer co-op experience - Run absolutely flawlessly (but then neither do a lot of the top scoring games these days either) - Do what everyone else has done before with new features or a new engine like so many other high scoring or "revolutionary" games What Too Human does do: - Live up to ENOUGH of it's hype and promises to deliver not a work of art, but an excellent game that's familiar, but unique enough to feel new - Deliver a decent story with above average presentation (and beautiful music and good voice acting that almost nobody has mentioned) and an admirable fluidity to gameplay and story. - Give an excellent 2 player online co-op mode in a world where 2 player co-op is a dying breed of my childhood - Effectively blends Smash TV/Gaunlet, Devil May Cry, Diablo/Phantasy Star Online into an odd combination of gameplay that, despite a bit of a learning curve at first (and doesn't this always happen when you try something new?), is surprisingly smooth, unique despite it's familiar component parts and above all addictively fun. Too Human does not live up to all of it's promises and hype, but this fraction of it's supposed potential is still enough to make an above par game that combines old staples with some new ideas into a refreshing concoction. I think that this game is receiving a lot of bad press due to some of Dyack's more questionable crusading and because it's become the hip thing to rag on this game, but I think those of you who respect yourselves as critics, professional or not need to ask yourself have you been letting that bias you against what should be a review distilling simply the quality of this game and it's experience? Expand
  77. BenoitC.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Very good game that's getting judged just a bit to harshly by many different outlets. It's a bit rough around the edges in some parts, but overall it's a very well done (and fun!) game.
  78. KerryG.
    Aug 21, 2008
    4
    the game look like a last gen title, and with all the time they had to work on the game that is really bad. the game play is boring and the sliding combat looks like a flaw passed off as innovation.
  79. VicR.
    Aug 21, 2008
    6
    Too Human is really 'Barely Above Average'. While I see a lot of people here trying to appeal to the World of Warcraft set, they fail to take into account that gear in World of Warcraft meant you gained entry into harder, previously unseen dungeons. This isn't the case with Too Human. With Too Human, you earn loot so you can go back to the same exact dungeons. To make this Too Human is really 'Barely Above Average'. While I see a lot of people here trying to appeal to the World of Warcraft set, they fail to take into account that gear in World of Warcraft meant you gained entry into harder, previously unseen dungeons. This isn't the case with Too Human. With Too Human, you earn loot so you can go back to the same exact dungeons. To make this scheme equivalent to WoW, it would be like running Karazhan until you had all the loot, then going back and running Karazhan all over again with harder enemies for higher loot... but it's STILL Karazhan. Likewise, your enemies scale with you AND your gear so collecting this loot doesn't really make you any more of a bad ass because the enemies scale appropriately. A loot game with no real point to loot = mediocre game. Camera frustrations, half baked story, texture bugs, and multiplayer gutted from 4 to 2. A solid rental, but not worth a 59.99 price tag. Expand
  80. YuriL.
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    Graphics check, solid story check, good combat check, incredibly detailed inventory system double check.very good, don't believe the bad hype you will level up in no time and is sooo addictive you wont want to stop for months.
  81. Faith
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    This epic mix of cybernetics and norse mythology will have you bashing through hordes of enemies with Baldur, the newest bad-ass in the relm of the Gods and loving every minute of it.
    Don't listen to the hater hype. The minor flaws that Too Human sports will soon be forgotten once you get lost in its wicked storyline, amazing environments, and endless kickass loot
  82. JabeP
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    What's with the low scores? I really enjoyed this game. Maybe I shouldn't get too angry about reviews because everyone has a different opinion. Believe what the players think instead.
  83. GaryG.
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    First off, Why all the hate for this game or Dennis Dyack? Now as for the game. Is it perfect? No. Is it a good game? IMO, Yes. I have have completed one complete playthrough and starting my second. It's an interesting mix of Diablo 2 and a FPS. A friend and I did a XBL co-op on the first day and it was a blast. Even when either of us died, we were enjoying the game(even the dead First off, Why all the hate for this game or Dennis Dyack? Now as for the game. Is it perfect? No. Is it a good game? IMO, Yes. I have have completed one complete playthrough and starting my second. It's an interesting mix of Diablo 2 and a FPS. A friend and I did a XBL co-op on the first day and it was a blast. Even when either of us died, we were enjoying the game(even the dead sequences, 'I'm dead. Time for a cup of coffee.' Yes, the controls are difficult to adapt to. Yes, the camera can be a bit wonky. I didn't notice any glitches wth enemies falling through the ground or anything like with my retail copy. As for the Story, I'm digging on the Norse-lite Mytholgy. The FIRST cutset, the one that plays before you hit start sets up the plotline for the game. Bottom line: Too Human is not a game for everyone. It's not a twitch FPS like Call of Duty 4. It's not a button masher like Devil May Cry 4. And It's not a RPG like Neverwinter Nights. It's something more and less than all of these. And for me, it worked. Expand
  84. mikes
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    Although some may find this game repetitive, i found it to be one of the most satisfying games I've played in a while. the campaigne is quite short, but the sheer amount of enemies that challenge you throughout the game are nearly infinite. if you enjoy being vastly out numbered, and running in like a madman swinging in all directions, seeing bodies fly everywhere. this is a game for Although some may find this game repetitive, i found it to be one of the most satisfying games I've played in a while. the campaigne is quite short, but the sheer amount of enemies that challenge you throughout the game are nearly infinite. if you enjoy being vastly out numbered, and running in like a madman swinging in all directions, seeing bodies fly everywhere. this is a game for you. hopefully the 2nd and 3rd will be a bit longer. but good none the less..... enjoy. Expand
  85. Brian
    Aug 23, 2008
    7
    2 types of people play this game. Those who get their ass kicked and grow stronger and those who get their ass kicked and cry. Which will you be?
  86. MikeA.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    Give the game a chance it is really fun and it has a lot of customization.
  87. RyanD.
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    The controls take some getting used to but overall I've really enjoyed playing it.
  88. RobS.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    A masterpiece. Art, gameplay, story: all very original and excellent! The first game to keep my up hours on end, hooked, since oblivion or diablo. If you're tired of derivative crap like Halo 3, check this out.
  89. JonathanH
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    This Game Rocks! It's not perfect but if you like loot customizing your character and some intense battles you'll love it. This game really shines in Multiplayer , i would've liked to see at least 4 player co-op because it's just what this game needs. I look forward to the next 2 games. I'm sure this game will sale well, and people will seriously look at the This Game Rocks! It's not perfect but if you like loot customizing your character and some intense battles you'll love it. This game really shines in Multiplayer , i would've liked to see at least 4 player co-op because it's just what this game needs. I look forward to the next 2 games. I'm sure this game will sale well, and people will seriously look at the review system after it's all said and done. Expand
  90. JohnC
    Aug 25, 2008
    6
    An absolute mess. From the introduction of the demo I wasn't sold on this game, and as for the final product I have to say the same as well. The combat is in shambles and isn't fluid enough, it honestly felt at times like I was watching a slideshow. The looting is rather boring and tries to hard to be like Diablo or other games of the like. The gameplay isn't fun. There are An absolute mess. From the introduction of the demo I wasn't sold on this game, and as for the final product I have to say the same as well. The combat is in shambles and isn't fluid enough, it honestly felt at times like I was watching a slideshow. The looting is rather boring and tries to hard to be like Diablo or other games of the like. The gameplay isn't fun. There are no punishments for dying, and you will die a hell of a lot of times as well. The camera is an absolute piece of garbage and whoever thought it should be like that should be hung. And the story tries to hard and takes itself way to seriously, it's not bad but it isn't great either. With all that said there are still some positives though. Graphically it's alright, not amazing, but not bad. Voice acting at times is actually pretty good and some of the music is good as well. The skill system can be pretty good and adds some variety to what is a stale game, and despite what I said about the looting some of the armor is pretty nice and thankfully you can colour it to fit your taste which is a decent plus. Too Human isn't bad, it just isn't good either. It's a mediocre game in the sea of mediocrity that is gaming. Expand
  91. JerryG
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    If your a fan of Champions of Norrath or Balder's Gate, you'll love this game. The combat is fun (once you get the hang of it) and the camera is fine (once you get the hang of it) The game does have its issues which is why l didn't give it a 9, but l'm completely hooked. Give it a shot and l think you'll enjoy the ride.
  92. Bob
    Aug 28, 2008
    9
    The apparent bandwagon of hate spawned by Too Human only worries me because I really want to see this Trilogy through. I've heard comparisons to Advent Rising because of that games doomed trilogy. I know I love this game even after briefly losing faith when I read a few post-release reviews. I even went so far as canceling my pre-order. But on release day, I came back and bought it. The apparent bandwagon of hate spawned by Too Human only worries me because I really want to see this Trilogy through. I've heard comparisons to Advent Rising because of that games doomed trilogy. I know I love this game even after briefly losing faith when I read a few post-release reviews. I even went so far as canceling my pre-order. But on release day, I came back and bought it. I haven't regretted it since. This game, through its developers, is standing strong by its unique and "Simple in concept, difficult to master" control scheme, storytelling, class balancing and for that I for one am thankful. While Dennis Dyack may be outspoken and forward thinking (and in some reviewers eyes, insane), it doesn't take away from the fact that he does have a love of this industry and it shows in the work of Silicon Knights. I for one have recommended this to every gaming friend I have. Expand
  93. CarlosC
    Aug 28, 2008
    7
    This game is going to be either hit or miss for you. I played the demo, loved it, and pre-ordered the game. I personally liked it alot, even though i got frustrated several times throughout the first 10-15 hours of going through the storyline. The loot and level up system is pretty good, and the autoleveling isn't that bad until you have more enemies than you can handle. The story is This game is going to be either hit or miss for you. I played the demo, loved it, and pre-ordered the game. I personally liked it alot, even though i got frustrated several times throughout the first 10-15 hours of going through the storyline. The loot and level up system is pretty good, and the autoleveling isn't that bad until you have more enemies than you can handle. The story is not bad. It's got it's bad spots, but really its brilliant if you think about how they made it go with norse mythology. The controls were pretty easy, but because of the odd setup not always responsive, and the targeting really sucked big time. The camera is below-average, not bad, but not great. And really, this game is a bunch of streaks that will have you feeling like a god one minute and then extremely frustrated the next. Rent it, to see if your enjoyment will out-do your frustration. If it does, then you'll really like this game. Expand
  94. Orin
    Aug 29, 2008
    1
    Slamming your testicles repeatedly in a door is more fun than this game. The death mechanic makes the game pointless - passing any point of the game isn't a matter of skill, it is just a matter of eroding whatever stands in your way by dying enough to kill it. And who knows WTF is going on with your backup squad who seem to turn up and dissapear randomly.
  95. Glynn
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    Great game, don't understand all the negative scores in the press.. their loss.
  96. AnonymousMC
    Sep 21, 2008
    8
    This game got a bad rap. Not a perfect game but a good game for those who like hack n slash dungeon crawler games. If your a fan of the console D&D games like BG Dark Alliance or Heroes you would probably enjoy this game. Good online co-op with the only draw back being it cuts out all the story elements and lets u just run around and level up and collect stuff. Fun game overall though justThis game got a bad rap. Not a perfect game but a good game for those who like hack n slash dungeon crawler games. If your a fan of the console D&D games like BG Dark Alliance or Heroes you would probably enjoy this game. Good online co-op with the only draw back being it cuts out all the story elements and lets u just run around and level up and collect stuff. Fun game overall though just not AAA. Expand
  97. Mar 4, 2015
    7
    Well where to begin......by checking the reviews here its very polarized some love this game and some don't. I'm still trying to figure out why because for me this game is a solid 7 rating. This could be a perfect 10 game its very fun, has tons of customization and replayability and a decent enough story with some areas of exploration and some pretty fantastic creatures/enemies andWell where to begin......by checking the reviews here its very polarized some love this game and some don't. I'm still trying to figure out why because for me this game is a solid 7 rating. This could be a perfect 10 game its very fun, has tons of customization and replayability and a decent enough story with some areas of exploration and some pretty fantastic creatures/enemies and generally a nice game world. This game has so much going for it. My beef is strictly and almost exclusively the camera. It is terrible. Not to the point the game is broken but to the point its obviously the games sorespot. At times you just cannot target what you want and thats a bad thing in any game. The rest is that good to forgive this game. Its an action RPG and it made me want to play it. The action is just that fun and the game is already tempting me to another playthrough with a different character and customization options. Honestly this game reminds me of Vanquish. There is another short game that players thought was too short but was extremely entertaining to play. The difference is Vanquish is a must buy as it has a camera that doesn't obstruct the gameplay. Anyway I highly recommend considering this game at todays bargain basement price. It takes some time realizing whats possible in this game because there is that much customization but those willing to forgive the bad camera design will find a very fun game hopefully. One should also consider whether this game will become collectible as it was involved in a court dispute and copies of the game were ordered to be destroyed. The gameplay, although somewhat broken and this court issue thing make this game a must keep for my collection but I do recognize that taking three review points off a review score is a serious flaw to be considered in a game. Still I view a 7 score as a fun game worth of a playthough or at least a good look. Expand
  98. Apr 17, 2011
    7
    This is a game that does what few others game do, something new and it almost succeeds in being outstanding, the story about norse gods fighting a war against machines is truly unique and enjoyable, and the combat system is really addicting, there's a lot of loot to find, and it's long, it took me 12 hours to beat it which is great considering most games now days are 2 to 3 hours long, theThis is a game that does what few others game do, something new and it almost succeeds in being outstanding, the story about norse gods fighting a war against machines is truly unique and enjoyable, and the combat system is really addicting, there's a lot of loot to find, and it's long, it took me 12 hours to beat it which is great considering most games now days are 2 to 3 hours long, the problem is that it overstays it's welcome, it's far too repetitive for it's own good, it's just fight your way from point A to point B and battle the boss, but the story kept me going, I just couldn't wait to see what happened, and from what I read on the back of the box this is the first entry in a trilogy, and I'm dying to see where this series goes in future entries, a truly good, fun, and unique game. Expand
  99. Apr 30, 2011
    5
    Too Human

    Norse mythology with a techno flair Xbox 360 Played to completion with Defender class Too Human is a game 9 years in the making. First concepted as a Playstation game in 1999, It's come a long way for a release on Microsofts Xbox 360. Is this first entry in the Too Human trilogy worth the wait? Too Human starts with a rather stylish intro video that throws you into the
    Too Human


    Norse mythology with a techno flair

    Xbox 360
    Played to completion with Defender class



    Too Human is a game 9 years in the making. First concepted as a Playstation game in 1999, It's come a long way for a release on Microsofts Xbox 360. Is this first entry in the Too Human trilogy worth the wait?

    Too Human starts with a rather stylish intro video that throws you into the tech flaired world of Too Human. You are Baldur, son of odin and resident of Asgard. As an Aesir it's your job to protect humanity from the machines that plague the modern world. Without much fanfare you are thrust into the first level of the game and meet your first machine.

    The world of Too Human is extremly well realized. The blend of Norse mythology and Cyber technology is surprisingly well utilized and lends itself to the best part of game, the story. As Baldur you must hunt down the robot GRNDL. Of course the story doesn't end at GRNDL and soon begins to lead you toward your ultimate enemy Loki. Unfortunatly the story is just set up for the now defunct Too Human trilogy and thus feels like the opening to a story that will never be finished. In the end it is a well told story accompanied by stylish cutscenes and solid voice acting.

    The meat of the game is of course the gameplay. You choose between 5 playable classes that each empasize a certain playstyle (i.e. rushing, tanking, healing, etc.) No matter what you choose you will end up using a combo of melee weapons and guns to dispatch your foes. Your melee weapon is assigned to the right stick which will be used to slide towards enemies for basic melee attacks or to pop them up for a quick air combo. The choice of the right stick as your melee simultainiously works well and frustrates. It seems somewhat randomly Baldur will not slide corrctly or will end up targeting an enemy you don't want it to. Guns will help you thin out the horde before they descend upon and do there job well, but once again you will encouter some fairly janky targeting that could leave you out in the cold. Also at your disposal are ruiners which are essentialy AoE power moves that are useful for getting out of a tight spot or taking out a large group of enemies. Too bad the level design and enemy types completly ruin the experience. Most of your battles consist of large waves of machines that can either be rushers or long range spammers. Enemies take a surprising amount of punishment and also frequently come with exploding, poison, and freezing death AoEs that can severly screw you up. It seems like the game sometimes sets you up for failure as when you die you just come back with all the enemies at the same health as they were before. The only punishment you get is an infuriating 20 second cutscene of a valkyrie descending from the heavens and carrying you up to valhalla. It's cool at first but after 2 or 3 deaths you'll switch from mild interest to anger. For a loot driven game its surprising that the developer would make the game so difficult. Loot driven games are known to be kind of mindless but in Too Human you die so frequently you start to lose interest. Not to mention you'll be wrestling the camera constantly. The only thing that make it bearable is the fact that left bumper will center the camera, expect to be hammering that alamost as much as your melee attacks.

    Graphically, Too Human is the definition of mediocre and would probably fit in as an Xbox 360 launch title. On top of that the framerate is prone to chopiness and glitches are frequent. Sometimes enemies will suddenly stop moving or even become invisible. I personally lost about 10 minutes to an unopenable door which was only solved by reloading the game. Artistically the game remains consistent with it's sci-fi vibe with solid charecter design and and consistent enviorments. Too Human is a flawed game that tried to create a new style loot grind and failed spectacularly. The only somewhat reedeming quality of the game is it's narrative and even that isn't specatcular, just well told. The game itself is a boring grind punctuated by an annoying death animation and absolutly absymal camera control. With only four levels and about 10 hours of gameplay in the main story the game will end fairly adbruptly and leave you hanging with only the grind of the same 4 levels for mostly useless loot to keep you going. When I finished this game I didn't feel any accomplishment, I only felt like I wasted 10 hours of my life.

    Presentation: 7
    Gameplay: 3
    Value: 6

    Overall: 5.1
    Expand
  100. Dec 3, 2012
    6
    It brings tears to my eyes to write this, but this game is awful. An absolutely *incredible* premise was absolutely trashed in this truly, truly unfortunate failure of a game. Let me get more specific. Graphically, the game was pretty good, and at first, it was a blast. The controls, while... unique, were fun to use for melee combat, the enemies were interesting and fun to fight,It brings tears to my eyes to write this, but this game is awful. An absolutely *incredible* premise was absolutely trashed in this truly, truly unfortunate failure of a game. Let me get more specific. Graphically, the game was pretty good, and at first, it was a blast. The controls, while... unique, were fun to use for melee combat, the enemies were interesting and fun to fight, particularly the towering mechanical Troll. Unfortunately, a number of issues quickly emerged. First and most importantly, there is literally no camera control in this game. It will get you killed, again and again. Secondly, while the enemies were initially interesting and unique, the game seemed desperate to show them to the player again... and again... and again... It seemed the game's only way of keeping you playing was to lock you in a room with fifty more dudes. And while hacking your way through lots of squishy enemies can be fun (Dead Rising 2 comes to mind) there's the thing: the enemies *aren't* squishy. Even with endgame level equipment on a second playthrough, the game stops throwing the squishy baddies at you really quickly, in favor of similar, but much *less* squishy enemies. The fluid combat system stagnated as I stood for long seconds, trying to cut down an individual enemy. In the end, interesting boss fights couldn't save the game. It's short and badly paced - four levels that take multiple hours each to complete - but it wound up feeling very, very long. The only reason I gave this a 6 was for the premise - sci-fi norse mythology? It should've been *awesome*. Hell, the fight with a massive, biomechanical Fenrir WAS awesome, but it was one of the very few high points in a massive, massive **** of a game. Purchase as a form of digital tourism only - the first level was mostly fun, but don't expect to last long after that unless you're *very* persistent. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 80
  2. Negative: 9 out of 80
  1. 42
    Too Human is also not a good action game. While it deserves some applause for a reasonable translation of PC classic Diablo's mouse-driven controls, its reliance on the right analog stick as a means for attack only works at the most basic level.
  2. Too Human is about players sculpting their ideal killing machines. If you enjoy leveling and looting, it's worth a look. If you only have a moderate interest, Too Human's aggravating gameplay and irreparable plot won't deliver many thrills. [Sept 2008, p.104]
  3. If wading knee deep in the dead to get at a piece of armour that’s 5% better than what you’re currently wearing isn’t the kind of adventuring that excites you, then you’re in trouble, because Too Human is exactly this type of game. Kill, loot, compare, equip, repeat.