User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 464 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonathanH
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    This Game Rocks! It's not perfect but if you like loot customizing your character and some intense battles you'll love it. This game really shines in Multiplayer , i would've liked to see at least 4 player co-op because it's just what this game needs. I look forward to the next 2 games. I'm sure this game will sale well, and people will seriously look at the This Game Rocks! It's not perfect but if you like loot customizing your character and some intense battles you'll love it. This game really shines in Multiplayer , i would've liked to see at least 4 player co-op because it's just what this game needs. I look forward to the next 2 games. I'm sure this game will sale well, and people will seriously look at the review system after it's all said and done. Expand
  2. RobS.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    A masterpiece. Art, gameplay, story: all very original and excellent! The first game to keep my up hours on end, hooked, since oblivion or diablo. If you're tired of derivative crap like Halo 3, check this out.
  3. RyanD.
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    The controls take some getting used to but overall I've really enjoyed playing it.
  4. NickA.
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    This game really doesn't deserve all the hate it's getting. Most people are quick to write this game off as terrible without really giving a chance. This game is a really fun action RPG with tons of great loot. You can spend hours leveling up and collecting items even after you complete the story. Co-op is great too.
  5. JohnM.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    Reviewers SUCK - This game, while not perfect, is totally fun, and way better than many of the other AAA games that reviewers give 9-10 scores.
  6. JeebusJ.
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    I have never liked button mashers but this game is so much more than that. The game is very unique in the sense that the more I play it I learn more about how combat works... how it requires more strategy and execution that originally experienced. I truly hope the trilogy gets fully realized. The game rocks but it's one of those games whose depth isn't immediately recognizable I have never liked button mashers but this game is so much more than that. The game is very unique in the sense that the more I play it I learn more about how combat works... how it requires more strategy and execution that originally experienced. I truly hope the trilogy gets fully realized. The game rocks but it's one of those games whose depth isn't immediately recognizable and allows for its players to "dumb" down its gameplay to the lowest common denominator. The more thought and consideration you put into the game the more you see its subtly intricacies. Expand
  7. AaronC.
    Aug 25, 2008
    9
    This is a great game to sit down with and have some fun. The loot system is very inept and so much fun to be constantly upgrading all your gear and weapons. They have many different weapon types, so you can always be changing up your play style or staying with a play style you like. Too Human provides a great gaming experience that will last for a while as you level your character, play This is a great game to sit down with and have some fun. The loot system is very inept and so much fun to be constantly upgrading all your gear and weapons. They have many different weapon types, so you can always be changing up your play style or staying with a play style you like. Too Human provides a great gaming experience that will last for a while as you level your character, play through the game and get great gear. My only negative is that with the way the game is designed, death means nothing, which actually works during the normal game progression as you will die many times. However, the only change I would make is that death actually meant something during a boss fight. Currently, if you die during a boss fight, you just come back to life and the boss is at the same health leve as when you died so when you kill a boss, there is no real sense of accomplishment as you will always defeat the boss no matter what, it might just take a few deaths. I would like to see the bosses health get reset when you die and you have to restart the Boss fight, so that way once you do kill them, you feel like you have accomplished something. Expand
  8. HobbesC.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    This game rocks why does everyone hate this game? why don't you try playing through it and getting used to the controls first.
  9. TobiasZ.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Perfect mix of Hack'n'Slay and RPG. I don't understand the bad reviews, i think its very good in this genre.
  10. JorgeM.
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    This game does not deserve 6s or 7s. It has some flaws, but once you get a feel for the controls, is a blast! It's one of the most addicting games I have played.
  11. JoeC.
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    I'm having a blast playing this game. The camera seems to be pretty smart, I nearly never have to center the camera behind me. It's got some automatic targeting issues - in that it doesn't always like to target the enemy that's closest to me in the direction I'm facing. It also likes to keep targeting dead monsters like Crackdown liked to do. Pretty easy to get I'm having a blast playing this game. The camera seems to be pretty smart, I nearly never have to center the camera behind me. It's got some automatic targeting issues - in that it doesn't always like to target the enemy that's closest to me in the direction I'm facing. It also likes to keep targeting dead monsters like Crackdown liked to do. Pretty easy to get around, though - the right stick changes what you're targeting and quickly lifting your finger from the trigger lets it quickly auto target the next enemy. Could this game be better? Sure. But I'm still having tons of fun. I can easily see myself playing through more than once. Expand
  12. JohnTenerek
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    Only played for a few hours, but I really like this game. Gets better when u upgrade skills and gears. Lots of fun to be had in the fighting and the game looks great. Stable good fps so far. The game has a interesting mix of the old Norse myth and modern world, even future tech. Cannot understand why some official sites etc give this game a far worse score then games like spiderman, hulk etc
  13. DaveM
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    Not really sure what game people have been playing who've given this such terrible scores & reviews. I think it's a blast -- sure, it's not perfect, but I have fun playing it, and that's all I really care about in the end.
  14. MikeA.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    Give the game a chance it is really fun and it has a lot of customization.
  15. DanG.
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    imagine the combat of God of War mixed with the upgrade abilities on Bioshock x3 and you have a glimpse of what this game has to offer. You are in total control of the way Baldur deals out damage to enemies. The different classes and the amount of customization means that each playthrough will be totally unique. The only shortcoming to me was that when you die a cut scene keeps you from imagine the combat of God of War mixed with the upgrade abilities on Bioshock x3 and you have a glimpse of what this game has to offer. You are in total control of the way Baldur deals out damage to enemies. The different classes and the amount of customization means that each playthrough will be totally unique. The only shortcoming to me was that when you die a cut scene keeps you from getting right back into the action. Maybe a downloadable patch could fix this. I was very impressed by the quality and effort that was put into this game. Expand
  16. Brian
    Aug 23, 2008
    7
    2 types of people play this game. Those who get their ass kicked and grow stronger and those who get their ass kicked and cry. Which will you be?
  17. mikes
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    Although some may find this game repetitive, i found it to be one of the most satisfying games I've played in a while. the campaigne is quite short, but the sheer amount of enemies that challenge you throughout the game are nearly infinite. if you enjoy being vastly out numbered, and running in like a madman swinging in all directions, seeing bodies fly everywhere. this is a game for Although some may find this game repetitive, i found it to be one of the most satisfying games I've played in a while. the campaigne is quite short, but the sheer amount of enemies that challenge you throughout the game are nearly infinite. if you enjoy being vastly out numbered, and running in like a madman swinging in all directions, seeing bodies fly everywhere. this is a game for you. hopefully the 2nd and 3rd will be a bit longer. but good none the less..... enjoy. Expand
  18. GaryG.
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    First off, Why all the hate for this game or Dennis Dyack? Now as for the game. Is it perfect? No. Is it a good game? IMO, Yes. I have have completed one complete playthrough and starting my second. It's an interesting mix of Diablo 2 and a FPS. A friend and I did a XBL co-op on the first day and it was a blast. Even when either of us died, we were enjoying the game(even the dead First off, Why all the hate for this game or Dennis Dyack? Now as for the game. Is it perfect? No. Is it a good game? IMO, Yes. I have have completed one complete playthrough and starting my second. It's an interesting mix of Diablo 2 and a FPS. A friend and I did a XBL co-op on the first day and it was a blast. Even when either of us died, we were enjoying the game(even the dead sequences, 'I'm dead. Time for a cup of coffee.' Yes, the controls are difficult to adapt to. Yes, the camera can be a bit wonky. I didn't notice any glitches wth enemies falling through the ground or anything like with my retail copy. As for the Story, I'm digging on the Norse-lite Mytholgy. The FIRST cutset, the one that plays before you hit start sets up the plotline for the game. Bottom line: Too Human is not a game for everyone. It's not a twitch FPS like Call of Duty 4. It's not a button masher like Devil May Cry 4. And It's not a RPG like Neverwinter Nights. It's something more and less than all of these. And for me, it worked. Expand
  19. RickS
    Aug 23, 2008
    3
    Borrowed the game, and yes it sucks, not badly justs sucks. The game tries to be Devil May Cry with Lord of the rings,Star Wars and somewhat final fantasy thrown in. Now stand alone those games are really amazing, put them together and you get crap that is Too Human. The only reason i gave this a 3 is for the leveling up system(like it and kinda hate it), other than that it's a Borrowed the game, and yes it sucks, not badly justs sucks. The game tries to be Devil May Cry with Lord of the rings,Star Wars and somewhat final fantasy thrown in. Now stand alone those games are really amazing, put them together and you get crap that is Too Human. The only reason i gave this a 3 is for the leveling up system(like it and kinda hate it), other than that it's a confusing mess. The story is taken way too seriously(mythology) and its very cut up, the gameplay can at times be good then new enemies come to the mix and it gets dumbed down, just damn near BORING, i am NOT gonna be playing 2 more games with the this title, message to Silicon Knights, stick to something, please, either give me a good story line, or music, or controls, or a better hack n slash gameplay for part 2. Because it's obvious you can't pull off any of the above. Just seems to me too many people had a say in the game. Casual gamers might like it, but i'v played way better games in this genre. At times(very few) Too Human can be fast paced fun, but you get these long stops of stupid pieces of equipment(looting), the terrible story and weird combat, nothing in this game flows. Nothing. Expand
  20. RobbM.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    The game is great if you like collecting equipment and customizing your character, if not it probably won't do anything for you.
  21. ScottL.
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    Has some quirks but some very satisfying and fun gameplay.
  22. ChrisR.
    Aug 23, 2008
    1
    Terrible terrible game! practically unplayable. camera angles were bad. glitches and bugs everywhere. I want my money back!!!!!!
  23. ClaytonC
    Aug 22, 2008
    4
    After playing through this game, I feel extremely disappointed. The story was unique, but felt half-baked. The combat took some time to get used to, then was fun for a short time before becoming boring and repetitive. This game feels like short version of Diablo with robots. Although you could spend 80-100 hours collecting everything, it could easily be finished in around 10. It feels After playing through this game, I feel extremely disappointed. The story was unique, but felt half-baked. The combat took some time to get used to, then was fun for a short time before becoming boring and repetitive. This game feels like short version of Diablo with robots. Although you could spend 80-100 hours collecting everything, it could easily be finished in around 10. It feels like the developers spent all their time trying to get a lot of different things into this game instead of improving what was already there, such as the combat. Overall, if you love collecting loot, get this game. If not, I would probably pass it up. Expand
  24. JabeP
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    What's with the low scores? I really enjoyed this game. Maybe I shouldn't get too angry about reviews because everyone has a different opinion. Believe what the players think instead.
  25. HowardS.
    Aug 22, 2008
    8
    Excellent dungeon crawler with a few interface flaws. All made up for by one o the best control schemes for a game of this type. Make no mistake, the core game-play is definitely here, and will allow anyone that enjoys dungeon crawls to overlook any of the interface pitfalls.
  26. Faith
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    This epic mix of cybernetics and norse mythology will have you bashing through hordes of enemies with Baldur, the newest bad-ass in the relm of the Gods and loving every minute of it.
    Don't listen to the hater hype. The minor flaws that Too Human sports will soon be forgotten once you get lost in its wicked storyline, amazing environments, and endless kickass loot
  27. YuriL.
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    Graphics check, solid story check, good combat check, incredibly detailed inventory system double check.very good, don't believe the bad hype you will level up in no time and is sooo addictive you wont want to stop for months.
  28. Mike
    Aug 22, 2008
    8
    This is a great Hack n Slash Dungeon crawler with plenty of replay and loot to make it worth going back to again and again. I don't understand how metacritic equates a C- to a 42. I think they are being bias. I think fans of hack n slash should at least check this game out. I can't wait to go back and play it some more.
  29. MarkV.
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    Basically this is gaming crack for me. I will play though it for a while and then pull it back out from time to time to level my guys up even further. A great game to just pull out at any give time and just go on a rampage.
  30. JohnS.
    Aug 22, 2008
    2
    Just play through the demo four times and save your money.
  31. BartJ
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    No its not worth a nine but it also isn't worth the low score that others have put down. This game is simply a blast with a friend especially if you like Diablo 2. Huge amount of armour, weapons etc. Controls are innovative and great once you take the time to learn them. Repetitive? What game isn't? This game is truly a gem and needs to be given a chance.
  32. KenH
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    Having played the game to completion on 1 character, I decided to post a clear "in favor of" vote for "Too Human". This game has gotten extremely unfair and overly harsh reviews. I think some of it is industry/fan driven because of the lawsuit between SK and Epic. Judging THE GAME on it's MERITS, it clearly is a work of art and extremely replayable ala Diablo style. The game Having played the game to completion on 1 character, I decided to post a clear "in favor of" vote for "Too Human". This game has gotten extremely unfair and overly harsh reviews. I think some of it is industry/fan driven because of the lawsuit between SK and Epic. Judging THE GAME on it's MERITS, it clearly is a work of art and extremely replayable ala Diablo style. The game doesn't end until you decide to stop playing. The story content lasts about 15 hours with 2 planned expansions. 5 Character classes that in actuality DO play differently once you understand the game.. Too Human will swallow you up and spit you out if you do not bring your best game play. It is unforgiving and has a few targeting issues that can easily be patched out and improved on. Remember seeing Blade Runner for the first time? That's the feeling I got playing and experiencing Too Human. The meld of Norse Fantasy, with cyberpunk sci fi is well done. The game tells a story not only through animations, but through chance encounters, overheard conversations, and environment driven content that is there if you search for it. If you rush through the story mode, you will miss a lot. Explore cyberspace. The other great thing Too Human has accomplished is plotting out how console Diablo style games can be controlled with a joystick. It's about time this genre landed firmly on consoles, and Too Human does a great job for a stab at making it work. I look forward to their next expansion for the game and any downloadable content. Any game that makes you want to keep playing after the story ends is worthy of a try. Check it out! Expand
  33. WarrenB.
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    This game is under-rated by the journalistic elite. I usually don't question how web sites rate games, but honestly I don't understand most of the hate towards this game. i really really like it and can't recommend it enough.
  34. EdwinM
    Aug 22, 2008
    3
    68 is much Too High for this game. A repetitive borefest with possibly the worst penalty for death ever conceived in a videogame: a 15 second mundane death animation that is unskippable. Take ten years off Silicon Knights, because you haven't made a decent game in that much time.
  35. TheDank
    Aug 22, 2008
    8
    This game doesn't deserve the poor reviews it's been receiving. It's highly playable! Sure there are issues but none of which make the game unplayable. Most reviews claim it is repetitive. Well I've got news for you all! Every game out there in some way or form is repetitive in nature for instance; Doom 3, Halo 3, Gears of War, Resistance Fall of Man, Metal Gear Solid This game doesn't deserve the poor reviews it's been receiving. It's highly playable! Sure there are issues but none of which make the game unplayable. Most reviews claim it is repetitive. Well I've got news for you all! Every game out there in some way or form is repetitive in nature for instance; Doom 3, Halo 3, Gears of War, Resistance Fall of Man, Metal Gear Solid 4, etc. have some degree of repetitiveness. Here is an example Don't get me wrong these are all great games thou. In the end I agree Too Human is not perfect but I really did enjoy and have fun playing this game. It was fun watching Baldur's transformation with each upgrade made towards a cyber-god badass. Expand
  36. VicR.
    Aug 21, 2008
    6
    Too Human is really 'Barely Above Average'. While I see a lot of people here trying to appeal to the World of Warcraft set, they fail to take into account that gear in World of Warcraft meant you gained entry into harder, previously unseen dungeons. This isn't the case with Too Human. With Too Human, you earn loot so you can go back to the same exact dungeons. To make this Too Human is really 'Barely Above Average'. While I see a lot of people here trying to appeal to the World of Warcraft set, they fail to take into account that gear in World of Warcraft meant you gained entry into harder, previously unseen dungeons. This isn't the case with Too Human. With Too Human, you earn loot so you can go back to the same exact dungeons. To make this scheme equivalent to WoW, it would be like running Karazhan until you had all the loot, then going back and running Karazhan all over again with harder enemies for higher loot... but it's STILL Karazhan. Likewise, your enemies scale with you AND your gear so collecting this loot doesn't really make you any more of a bad ass because the enemies scale appropriately. A loot game with no real point to loot = mediocre game. Camera frustrations, half baked story, texture bugs, and multiplayer gutted from 4 to 2. A solid rental, but not worth a 59.99 price tag. Expand
  37. JamesJ.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    I enjoy the game! It is just a tad confusing at first figuring out how the runes work but once controlled you have some nice upgrades.
  38. CaraC.
    Aug 21, 2008
    0
    this game is completely worthless... almost everything about it sucks, except for the diablo like system it is shite... don't bother bying renting oir bargaining this game, absolute waste of my time
  39. YuniB.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    awesome game, it's very addictive. some of the so called 'pro' reviews are a joke, i don't think they even played it for more than 2 hours. the game is a blast!!!!
  40. ShaunT.
    Aug 21, 2008
    2
    I so badly wanted this game to be the kind of work that would vindicate all the hard work that Silicon Knights put into this. Instead what I found myself playing was little more than a button smash, hack and loot game. The thing that drives this game forward is the single minded pursuit of better and better loot. No matter what level your character is the cookie cutter bad guys scale to I so badly wanted this game to be the kind of work that would vindicate all the hard work that Silicon Knights put into this. Instead what I found myself playing was little more than a button smash, hack and loot game. The thing that drives this game forward is the single minded pursuit of better and better loot. No matter what level your character is the cookie cutter bad guys scale to match you. All too often you make the effort to "craft" an item only for it to be rendered obsolete by some random loot drop. The gameplay can be summed up rather nicely by the phrase, "Shower, rinse, repeat". There is little more variety than this. I have played many games with poor gameplay in order to participate in a good story. Too Human also falls terribly short in this area as well. The story is little more than an introduction to the cast of characters. Leaving only multiplayer, which I cannot comment on because a gold Xbox Live subscription for a year would nearly double the cost of this dreadfully disappointing game. Expand
  41. KerryG.
    Aug 21, 2008
    4
    the game look like a last gen title, and with all the time they had to work on the game that is really bad. the game play is boring and the sliding combat looks like a flaw passed off as innovation.
  42. BenoitC.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Very good game that's getting judged just a bit to harshly by many different outlets. It's a bit rough around the edges in some parts, but overall it's a very well done (and fun!) game.
  43. NathanielJ.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    What Too Human doesn't do: - Deliver EVERYTHING that was promised as expected - Offer another great 4-player multiplayer co-op experience - Run absolutely flawlessly (but then neither do a lot of the top scoring games these days either) - Do what everyone else has done before with new features or a new engine like so many other high scoring or "revolutionary" games What Too Human What Too Human doesn't do: - Deliver EVERYTHING that was promised as expected - Offer another great 4-player multiplayer co-op experience - Run absolutely flawlessly (but then neither do a lot of the top scoring games these days either) - Do what everyone else has done before with new features or a new engine like so many other high scoring or "revolutionary" games What Too Human does do: - Live up to ENOUGH of it's hype and promises to deliver not a work of art, but an excellent game that's familiar, but unique enough to feel new - Deliver a decent story with above average presentation (and beautiful music and good voice acting that almost nobody has mentioned) and an admirable fluidity to gameplay and story. - Give an excellent 2 player online co-op mode in a world where 2 player co-op is a dying breed of my childhood - Effectively blends Smash TV/Gaunlet, Devil May Cry, Diablo/Phantasy Star Online into an odd combination of gameplay that, despite a bit of a learning curve at first (and doesn't this always happen when you try something new?), is surprisingly smooth, unique despite it's familiar component parts and above all addictively fun. Too Human does not live up to all of it's promises and hype, but this fraction of it's supposed potential is still enough to make an above par game that combines old staples with some new ideas into a refreshing concoction. I think that this game is receiving a lot of bad press due to some of Dyack's more questionable crusading and because it's become the hip thing to rag on this game, but I think those of you who respect yourselves as critics, professional or not need to ask yourself have you been letting that bias you against what should be a review distilling simply the quality of this game and it's experience? Expand
  44. BuddyR.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    It's not great but it is still an enjoyable take on the hack and slash genre. The Devil May Cry like controls keep the action from getting too stale and if you're into building up your character and always searching for the next best armor or weapon, this game will be surprisingly addicting.
  45. Fred
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Slight balance issues with combat as the game tends to punish single players (you die a lot and the revive sequence is lenghty). Should probably be enjoyed in co-op. Otherwise it's a real treat for Diablo fans. Well executed.
  46. revivedflash
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    this is just based no the demo. I loved it the first time through. I did not find the camera to be really bad and i had no problems with the controls. I agree that the whole death thing could be better. Dieing does not seem to really have that big of an impact as it could. Even with a few things like that i still enjoyed enough to buy this game.
  47. Sados.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    This game is definitely made for a person that enjoy grinding and loots, which pretty exciting co-op options and lots of customization. IF you are into that kind of game, you will love it!
  48. dudedugan
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    To all the people who dont get it, your loss! this game is great, its basically a 3D Diablo II meets WOW for the action RPG gamer, great fun and I havent even finished the game yet, I dove headlong into Co-op with a pal and we played 4.5 hours and had a blast
  49. FrankA
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Innovative dungeon crawl with multiple play styles and plentiful loot. And best of all plenty of "who wants some" moments.
  50. BlayneW.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    Far better than I expected, the demo didn't do it justice. Having a lot of fun, it's a good sci-fi diablo-esque game.
  51. GarretJ.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    it has flaws but the fun factor is off the charts A loot me up worth playing as a SP but MP is where it shines Try the demo first, play it twice. Then decide (Berserker all the way).
  52. RafaelD.
    Aug 21, 2008
    4
    This games fails in many ways , trying to do so many stuff and never succeeds in executing any of them well. The result is a boring game that you will forget very soon. Dont spend your money on this one. better games are coming , unless you are desperate to plau something (bad).
  53. Scott
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    It seems to me that some of the ratings on here are from people who haven't really played the game. It's got some problems (learn to love your left bumper), but the gameplay is actually really good. The monsters do attack in similar basic ways which isn't necessarily repetitive- diablo did the same. Also, in most areas the melee mobs are mixed up w/ranged so you have to It seems to me that some of the ratings on here are from people who haven't really played the game. It's got some problems (learn to love your left bumper), but the gameplay is actually really good. The monsters do attack in similar basic ways which isn't necessarily repetitive- diablo did the same. Also, in most areas the melee mobs are mixed up w/ranged so you have to prioritize threats. The melee will swarm you if you aren't good at managing your space to get to the ranged. They did a nice job of forcing you to bounce between ranged and melee attacks too (at least if you are doing it right). Because you are constantly trying to move and open up space, the combat doesn't feel repetitive to me. It feels really awesome to chain slides and juggles together to do damage to several mobs then pop a ruiner. If you let them swarm you and you just swing the RS around, ya it's boring (and you'll see the Valkyrie animation alot. This game is all about controlling your space- and that's a cool and different dynamic. Ya, I guess you can call me a fan-boy. Because I like the game. Expand
  54. LawlL.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Through all the negativity, there is a very solid and intriguing game to be found here. If you are a fan of RPG's and Hack n' Slash, then this game is certainly for you. There are some issues that should have been fleshed out before release and the lack of enemies and other missing polish detracts from the experience.
  55. IsaacB.
    Aug 21, 2008
    0
    This game is the worst game I have ever played. I remember when Godzilla the movie first came out as my most expected movie that summer of 1998 and it was horrendous. Well, this is the Godzilla of videogames... lots of hype, but no substance; after 10 years of being announced and labeled as a "God of War killer" and "Diablo Killer", it fell too short of expectations, and miles away of This game is the worst game I have ever played. I remember when Godzilla the movie first came out as my most expected movie that summer of 1998 and it was horrendous. Well, this is the Godzilla of videogames... lots of hype, but no substance; after 10 years of being announced and labeled as a "God of War killer" and "Diablo Killer", it fell too short of expectations, and miles away of their actual target. Extremely repetitive gameplay, it tries to appear as if it actually gave you lots of choices but in the end those choices are meaningless. For all the fuzz dyack made against Epic, they did not deliver any technical wonder. The storyline attempts to be great but it is a huge yawner... it seems Dyack had good ideas for making a good game but they were very poorly implemented and executed, he should have given those ideas to a better or younger developer. Also, I don't even know if the fact that the game is too short is a good thing because of how bad and boring it is, or if it is a bad thing because of all the time they had to make this one. Please do not finish the trilogy, cancel it in favor of another Eternal Darkness. Expand
  56. Ovlov
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    No, it's not what we all hoped it could be, but does that mean it's horrible? Too Human is a deep game that requires time and despite outward appearances, skill, to master. The "simple" control scheme is anything but as you learn to string combos and time powerful moves. Sure, gameplay might be frustrating at times. It might have its buggy issues. The menus and models might be No, it's not what we all hoped it could be, but does that mean it's horrible? Too Human is a deep game that requires time and despite outward appearances, skill, to master. The "simple" control scheme is anything but as you learn to string combos and time powerful moves. Sure, gameplay might be frustrating at times. It might have its buggy issues. The menus and models might be very poorly designed and frustrating. The camera might get irritating just at the wrong moment. The story, previously presented as one of the best elements in the game, might be disjointed or ancillary to the gameplay. The fact remains; it isn't as bad as the bandwagon says. This game just couldn't live up to the hype and the hope of its onlookers. Play the demo without the backdrop of negativity and you just might find that what you read on the internet might just be wrong. Expand
  57. EasyLay.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    I thought this game was c**p until I spent the time learning the controls and looking into the rpg element a bit more. Tons of replay value and I haven't even gone online yet! Could this be another "Monster Hunter"? ie. so-so reviews but huge fanbase?
  58. DanM
    Aug 21, 2008
    3
    I played for about 8 hours over two days but couldn't keep going. The camera made gameplay difficult to follow and the story was just unbelievably corny. Graphics were great, I got to give it that, but the game just doesn't hold a candle to many great ones out there. I have already traded it in
  59. WaltG.
    Aug 20, 2008
    7
    It's an OK game. It's a rather standard hack and slash. Something along the lines of Diablo and Dungeon siege. It's worth a look if you've got that hack and slash itch. Plus it's got Cybernetic Norse Gods, give it as low a score as you want, you have to admit how cool that is.
  60. MethodS.
    Aug 20, 2008
    9
    This game is fun as hell, online or single player. Anyone who says this game sucked is a noob who can't learn new control schemes or complex menus and skill trees. I'm happy that a game that seems like it was built for the PC translates so well to a console. Too Human FTW!
  61. JoshuaT.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    This game is actually a lot more playable than most people want to give it credit for, and it's actually been quite addictive with the loot, the game has its faults, but even considering that, it's really fun!
  62. BobG.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    One of the best game I've played in awhile!!! I don't care about the morons or the bad reviews, the game is the most fun I've had in awhile. Sure it has flaws, but when it comes down to it, i can't stop playing! And that's saying a lot for me.
  63. JohnO.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    I have just beat the game with a Champion and this is by far one of if not the best game I've played this year.
  64. DaveL.
    Aug 20, 2008
    8
    Despite all the criticism and the lengthy development time, if you are into the Diablo style of game and dig a good story driven game(although online is where it really shines!) pick up Too Human!
  65. NoelH.
    Aug 20, 2008
    8
    If the Diablo series, Titan Quest, or World of Warcraft appeals to you, then there is much fun to be found with this title. The control scheme takes a bit of adjustment, but it makes sense in no time. I have no regrets about buying this game.
  66. ZaneB.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    Everyone needs to give this game a chance, it is pure genius! Trust the camera, and it will work well, spend half an hour playing and the combat is smooth and well controlled, the best part is the LOOT!!!!
  67. JenM.
    Aug 20, 2008
    2
    How is it that this game got such a high score. 68 for a game with repetitive game play, lousy graphics and poor QC. Don't bother with this one if you must then either rent it or wait for the bargains.
  68. JohnH.
    Aug 20, 2008
    9
    Don't believe the anti-hype this is a solid game. It breaks the mold of pigeon hole gaming and does it quite well. Take time to get acquainted with the controls and you'll have a blast.
  69. AlekX.
    Aug 20, 2008
    9
    A very solid action RPG with a difficult to learn, but fun combat system. Don't expect this game to dazzle you with its narrative though, because the story is pretty darn bad.
  70. PaulS.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Too Human is yet another Silicon Knights masterpiece. While the mainstream reviewer "doesn't get it" - it's a fantastic title that will be loved by anyone with an open mind, and open heart.
  71. JerryK.
    Aug 19, 2008
    8
    some people such as myself will love this game and it will be hard to walk away, while others will gripe and moan about the inconsistencies in the camera and the auto-targeting for the guns, but overall it is a game that is worth the cash
  72. TimothyC.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    People are to hard on this game. the 360 has nothing like it so far and is a very nice game. I found no problem with the targeting system , i think people who have a problem with it need to invest some time into LEARNING how to play this game. This game is about leveling up and collecting kick ass loot and building a toon. Story should be minimal anyways like in D2.
  73. SimonJ.
    Aug 19, 2008
    3
    Repetitive dull and scifi hack and slash its oblivion with robots
  74. StedmanH.
    Aug 19, 2008
    2
    Animations suck, camera sucks, overall game play just isn't there either.
  75. JamesM.
    Aug 19, 2008
    8
    Not a great game but still a very good one. Too bad it's getting a bad rep from all the stupid internet hate. A lot of people may miss out on this game because of it.
  76. DaseanH.
    Aug 19, 2008
    5
    When i played it it made me frustrated to no ended but it wasn't all bad.
  77. HanJ.
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    Horrible game with horrible graphics, lame story and stupid a fighting system. Unlimited lives and the fact that the game is only 10 hours makes this a complete failure. Don't buy this game.
  78. GeorgeC.
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    i hate this game so much
  79. RanbirC.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    Ok, isn't perfection but it is still a decent, fun game. Why does everyone expect anything less than a 9 to be a failure of a game? Silly standards.
  80. Faith
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    I've been playing this game for 4 days now and I love it. The story is interesting and the cybernetic world meets norse mythology mixes well. The combat system is great and unique. The loot drop system is addictive.
  81. RorkrorM.
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    This game is really bad, completely buggy. Worthless.
  82. ShizzleT.
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    Level Scaling? Seriously? Who thought that was a great idea in a loot game?
  83. MasJ.
    Aug 19, 2008
    4
    LOL. Makes you wonder what they were doing during those 10 years it was in production. Now that it is out and has been panned by all reviewers, at least we won't have to read anymore interviews from the developer anymore about their views on the gaming industry and life in general (hopefully).
  84. AnonymousMC
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    Thiis game proves that many people no longer have the attention spans to learn a new style of play, nor are they able to understand a storyline that doesn't neatly tie up right away. Does anyone look at the whole picture anymore? And when did keeping a game challenging become a bad thing?
  85. StevenO
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    This game is targeted to people who now norse myths making it hard to grasp the concept of the story. Its a very good game with minimal problems where the graphics could be a little bit better. Do not listen to critics sense none realize that this game is centered around a test( controls, difficult storys, rpg/hack n slash) to see the response from gamers. Too Human has excellent This game is targeted to people who now norse myths making it hard to grasp the concept of the story. Its a very good game with minimal problems where the graphics could be a little bit better. Do not listen to critics sense none realize that this game is centered around a test( controls, difficult storys, rpg/hack n slash) to see the response from gamers. Too Human has excellent replayability and kept me interested the whole way through and better yet that its not no 5 hour game more like a 80-100 hour game to do everything. If your a fan of rpgs or mythology definitely buy this game but everyone should at least rent it to see how they like it. Expand
  86. TomL.
    Aug 19, 2008
    3
    Game sucks,many bugs/glitches and boring.
  87. JohnT.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Too Human is a fantastic addition to Silicon Knights epic lineup, and an addictive must-have for an action-RPG fan.
  88. JohnDong
    Aug 18, 2008
    0
    Terrible game, bad controls, awful settings, bad plot, and boring enemies.
  89. bryang.
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    Somehow I think meta critic should take another look at their scale for converting Letter grades to numbers. If you get a C- in school you by no means are failing... In regards to Too Human so far a good game and story is interesting. I like how they worked different terminology into how gods speak compared to how the humans speak as well as the heavy norse influence throughout the game. Somehow I think meta critic should take another look at their scale for converting Letter grades to numbers. If you get a C- in school you by no means are failing... In regards to Too Human so far a good game and story is interesting. I like how they worked different terminology into how gods speak compared to how the humans speak as well as the heavy norse influence throughout the game. An easy action game that is great when you just want to pick up and go even in a multiplayer(Co-op) game. No more 5 minutes staring at a halo 3 list of players screaming "veto!!!" only to have to wait another 2 minutes for the map to change. Expand
  90. JustinP.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    Awesome game
  91. LesB.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    Man it is a good game but really has it's flaws hopefully SK fixes them on TH2 and that game blows this one out of the water, still enjoying it though.
  92. PT
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    Enjoyable as a solid rental for those who aren't huge fans of RPG's and their loot and skill systems. For those who like that kind of thing, they may find this to be exactly what they were looking for. The story is solid and the audio is always excellent. The animation and camera could've used some more work, the problems are sometimes jarring. A few issues with targeting Enjoyable as a solid rental for those who aren't huge fans of RPG's and their loot and skill systems. For those who like that kind of thing, they may find this to be exactly what they were looking for. The story is solid and the audio is always excellent. The animation and camera could've used some more work, the problems are sometimes jarring. A few issues with targeting and balance between classes aside, the game is not terrible but not the A+ game a lot of people were hyped for. Still worth a solid rental and I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of people found themselves buying it afterward or at least renting it a couple more times. Expand
  93. JP.
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    I've played the demo and loved every second of it. it just made me want more. if the game is half as good as that then it'll be great. I have mine reserved and will pick it up day one.
  94. JackO.
    Aug 18, 2008
    1
    Do not recommend. Definitely pass on this one unless you're desperate for an exclusive game and you're a fanboy who champions immature system wars. Terrible camera, weak story, and crappy gameplay don't make a good game.
  95. Lucas
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    This is a fantastic game. If you love RPGs and Action games, you will deff love this game. It does a lot of things right and minor things wrong.Great game.
  96. BobS.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    This game fast, fun and best of all...unique. I really enjoyed playing the demo. I understand this game might not be for everyone. The controls definitely take some getting used to. Overall the graphics are on par with other games out at this time. Co-op is way too much fun. The story is a little weak, but you almost expect that these days.
  97. StevenB.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    Absolutely love this game - will recommend to all of my friends.
  98. ChrisG.
    Aug 18, 2008
    0
    All i can say this game is crap they have made some good games for the gameqube but this was just crap
  99. MiguekS.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Its refreshing innovative gorgeous loot stroy everything a rpg should have and more!
  100. Devin
    Aug 14, 2008
    7
    I don't like it very much, although I can see how some people could enjoy during a summer game drought. The combat seemed repetitive and boring. They kept the controls simple which can be a good thing in games like God of War where skill and reflexes are rewarded but in Too Human's case it's just a simple and very shallow fighting mechanic. I think limiting everything to I don't like it very much, although I can see how some people could enjoy during a summer game drought. The combat seemed repetitive and boring. They kept the controls simple which can be a good thing in games like God of War where skill and reflexes are rewarded but in Too Human's case it's just a simple and very shallow fighting mechanic. I think limiting everything to the analog stick was a huge mistake - COMBAT IS BORNING. Sure there is a skill tree to get new weapons and stuff but I doubt that can make up for fundamentally sub-par gameplay. The graphics aren't bad but they don't make you say "wow" due to a lack of any distinct or appealing artistic style. The story seems descent enough to warrant a rent but I'm not buying this 15 hour Action/RPG unless it end up in the bargain bin at EB for less than $29.99. On a positive note given how mediocre this game is it probably won't take too long. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 80
  2. Negative: 9 out of 80
  1. 42
    Too Human is also not a good action game. While it deserves some applause for a reasonable translation of PC classic Diablo's mouse-driven controls, its reliance on the right analog stick as a means for attack only works at the most basic level.
  2. Too Human is about players sculpting their ideal killing machines. If you enjoy leveling and looting, it's worth a look. If you only have a moderate interest, Too Human's aggravating gameplay and irreparable plot won't deliver many thrills. [Sept 2008, p.104]
  3. If wading knee deep in the dead to get at a piece of armour that’s 5% better than what you’re currently wearing isn’t the kind of adventuring that excites you, then you’re in trouble, because Too Human is exactly this type of game. Kill, loot, compare, equip, repeat.