User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 445 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2011
    7
    This is a game that does what few others game do, something new and it almost succeeds in being outstanding, the story about norse gods fighting a war against machines is truly unique and enjoyable, and the combat system is really addicting, there's a lot of loot to find, and it's long, it took me 12 hours to beat it which is great considering most games now days are 2 to 3 hours long, theThis is a game that does what few others game do, something new and it almost succeeds in being outstanding, the story about norse gods fighting a war against machines is truly unique and enjoyable, and the combat system is really addicting, there's a lot of loot to find, and it's long, it took me 12 hours to beat it which is great considering most games now days are 2 to 3 hours long, the problem is that it overstays it's welcome, it's far too repetitive for it's own good, it's just fight your way from point A to point B and battle the boss, but the story kept me going, I just couldn't wait to see what happened, and from what I read on the back of the box this is the first entry in a trilogy, and I'm dying to see where this series goes in future entries, a truly good, fun, and unique game. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    5
    I kind of have mixed feelings. Overall it is rather poor considering just how long it got stuck in development. It was originally planned for the PS1. You can see the potential the game has, but as you play it you feel like it's incomplete or underdone. Basically it was meant to be a good game, but it looks like they never managed to really finish it and released a half-assed glorifiedI kind of have mixed feelings. Overall it is rather poor considering just how long it got stuck in development. It was originally planned for the PS1. You can see the potential the game has, but as you play it you feel like it's incomplete or underdone. Basically it was meant to be a good game, but it looks like they never managed to really finish it and released a half-assed glorified demo. Cut-scenes look cool, the overall idea and story is good, combat is different and fun. But gameplay is bland and boring. It's a real shame as this is a game I really would have loved to like, yet, I can't. Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2015
    7
    Well where to begin......by checking the reviews here its very polarized some love this game and some don't. I'm still trying to figure out why because for me this game is a solid 7 rating. This could be a perfect 10 game its very fun, has tons of customization and replayability and a decent enough story with some areas of exploration and some pretty fantastic creatures/enemies andWell where to begin......by checking the reviews here its very polarized some love this game and some don't. I'm still trying to figure out why because for me this game is a solid 7 rating. This could be a perfect 10 game its very fun, has tons of customization and replayability and a decent enough story with some areas of exploration and some pretty fantastic creatures/enemies and generally a nice game world. This game has so much going for it. My beef is strictly and almost exclusively the camera. It is terrible. Not to the point the game is broken but to the point its obviously the games sorespot. At times you just cannot target what you want and thats a bad thing in any game. The rest is that good to forgive this game. Its an action RPG and it made me want to play it. The action is just that fun and the game is already tempting me to another playthrough with a different character and customization options. Honestly this game reminds me of Vanquish. There is another short game that players thought was too short but was extremely entertaining to play. The difference is Vanquish is a must buy as it has a camera that doesn't obstruct the gameplay. Anyway I highly recommend considering this game at todays bargain basement price. It takes some time realizing whats possible in this game because there is that much customization but those willing to forgive the bad camera design will find a very fun game hopefully. One should also consider whether this game will become collectible as it was involved in a court dispute and copies of the game were ordered to be destroyed. The gameplay, although somewhat broken and this court issue thing make this game a must keep for my collection but I do recognize that taking three review points off a review score is a serious flaw to be considered in a game. Still I view a 7 score as a fun game worth of a playthough or at least a good look. Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    It's repetitive yes, but it'd damn fun overall and great to play alone if you want a solid action-RPG game. The environments are really repetitive such as the enemies (except for the last level) but the loot drops and the great melee combat make a good game despite it's flaws.
  5. Sep 22, 2014
    6
    For starters I really enjoyed aspects of this game, the storyline was entertaining but ultimately left me feeling short changed, the melee mechanic was very fun and the graphics and environment were captivating. The thing I really can't get past is the rest of the controls are most of the time incredibly frustrating and the camera control is just down right atrocious. It is a game whichFor starters I really enjoyed aspects of this game, the storyline was entertaining but ultimately left me feeling short changed, the melee mechanic was very fun and the graphics and environment were captivating. The thing I really can't get past is the rest of the controls are most of the time incredibly frustrating and the camera control is just down right atrocious. It is a game which holds a lot of promise but doesn't completely execute. I would love to see the franchise re worked into a more finished product. Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2011
    5
    Immediately after finishing this game I felt my time would have been better used elsewhere. An interesting artistic approach to Norse mythology, plagued by horrific design choices (unskip-able resurrection cut-scenes and the right analog stick to control melee attacks rather than the camera to name a few). This game is not a COMPLETE disaster, but overall very hard to recommend.
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    5
    Too Human is an mediocre game. It has a good story, but everything else is average. The controls are weird and clunky, the graphics leave a lot to be desired and is quite simply not worth the cash. With some effort, the game could have been great. However, like I said before, the story is quite good, and is original, unlike other stories out there today.
  8. Dec 3, 2012
    6
    It brings tears to my eyes to write this, but this game is awful. An absolutely *incredible* premise was absolutely trashed in this truly, truly unfortunate failure of a game. Let me get more specific. Graphically, the game was pretty good, and at first, it was a blast. The controls, while... unique, were fun to use for melee combat, the enemies were interesting and fun to fight,It brings tears to my eyes to write this, but this game is awful. An absolutely *incredible* premise was absolutely trashed in this truly, truly unfortunate failure of a game. Let me get more specific. Graphically, the game was pretty good, and at first, it was a blast. The controls, while... unique, were fun to use for melee combat, the enemies were interesting and fun to fight, particularly the towering mechanical Troll. Unfortunately, a number of issues quickly emerged. First and most importantly, there is literally no camera control in this game. It will get you killed, again and again. Secondly, while the enemies were initially interesting and unique, the game seemed desperate to show them to the player again... and again... and again... It seemed the game's only way of keeping you playing was to lock you in a room with fifty more dudes. And while hacking your way through lots of squishy enemies can be fun (Dead Rising 2 comes to mind) there's the thing: the enemies *aren't* squishy. Even with endgame level equipment on a second playthrough, the game stops throwing the squishy baddies at you really quickly, in favor of similar, but much *less* squishy enemies. The fluid combat system stagnated as I stood for long seconds, trying to cut down an individual enemy. In the end, interesting boss fights couldn't save the game. It's short and badly paced - four levels that take multiple hours each to complete - but it wound up feeling very, very long. The only reason I gave this a 6 was for the premise - sci-fi norse mythology? It should've been *awesome*. Hell, the fight with a massive, biomechanical Fenrir WAS awesome, but it was one of the very few high points in a massive, massive **** of a game. Purchase as a form of digital tourism only - the first level was mostly fun, but don't expect to last long after that unless you're *very* persistent. Expand
  9. Jan 30, 2013
    7
    I recently got this game after all copies were ordered to be destroyed. I came in expecting a broken unplayable game, but I was wrong. Sure the camera, bland level design and certain combat/death aspects can be annoying but the music, voice acting and story is worth the now cheap price tag. It feels like a mix of dmc borderlands (the loot style) and mass effect. The conclusion of the gameI recently got this game after all copies were ordered to be destroyed. I came in expecting a broken unplayable game, but I was wrong. Sure the camera, bland level design and certain combat/death aspects can be annoying but the music, voice acting and story is worth the now cheap price tag. It feels like a mix of dmc borderlands (the loot style) and mass effect. The conclusion of the game really does set the tone of a trilogy with an epic conclusion which is satisfying yet provides questions unanswered. For the price it is now preowned it is worth the purchase. You never know you actually might like it. At the end I got the hang of combat and was pulling off melee attacks and mixing in gun combat. When played right the game can be extremely fun to play. I just wish the leveling system could have been better because you have the same challenge throughout since enemies level up with you and also a little too much time was spent in menus (which did take a bit too long to load despite being installed on the xbox hdd) The game might not be perfect, but there are worse games out there you can spend $14 or less on. I feel that if a sequel is made with the modern unreal engine, motion captured cinematics and a redone control scheme I feel that this series would take off. Expand
  10. Apr 30, 2011
    5
    Too Human

    Norse mythology with a techno flair Xbox 360 Played to completion with Defender class Too Human is a game 9 years in the making. First concepted as a Playstation game in 1999, It's come a long way for a release on Microsofts Xbox 360. Is this first entry in the Too Human trilogy worth the wait? Too Human starts with a rather stylish intro video that throws you into the
    Too Human


    Norse mythology with a techno flair

    Xbox 360
    Played to completion with Defender class



    Too Human is a game 9 years in the making. First concepted as a Playstation game in 1999, It's come a long way for a release on Microsofts Xbox 360. Is this first entry in the Too Human trilogy worth the wait?

    Too Human starts with a rather stylish intro video that throws you into the tech flaired world of Too Human. You are Baldur, son of odin and resident of Asgard. As an Aesir it's your job to protect humanity from the machines that plague the modern world. Without much fanfare you are thrust into the first level of the game and meet your first machine.

    The world of Too Human is extremly well realized. The blend of Norse mythology and Cyber technology is surprisingly well utilized and lends itself to the best part of game, the story. As Baldur you must hunt down the robot GRNDL. Of course the story doesn't end at GRNDL and soon begins to lead you toward your ultimate enemy Loki. Unfortunatly the story is just set up for the now defunct Too Human trilogy and thus feels like the opening to a story that will never be finished. In the end it is a well told story accompanied by stylish cutscenes and solid voice acting.

    The meat of the game is of course the gameplay. You choose between 5 playable classes that each empasize a certain playstyle (i.e. rushing, tanking, healing, etc.) No matter what you choose you will end up using a combo of melee weapons and guns to dispatch your foes. Your melee weapon is assigned to the right stick which will be used to slide towards enemies for basic melee attacks or to pop them up for a quick air combo. The choice of the right stick as your melee simultainiously works well and frustrates. It seems somewhat randomly Baldur will not slide corrctly or will end up targeting an enemy you don't want it to. Guns will help you thin out the horde before they descend upon and do there job well, but once again you will encouter some fairly janky targeting that could leave you out in the cold. Also at your disposal are ruiners which are essentialy AoE power moves that are useful for getting out of a tight spot or taking out a large group of enemies. Too bad the level design and enemy types completly ruin the experience. Most of your battles consist of large waves of machines that can either be rushers or long range spammers. Enemies take a surprising amount of punishment and also frequently come with exploding, poison, and freezing death AoEs that can severly screw you up. It seems like the game sometimes sets you up for failure as when you die you just come back with all the enemies at the same health as they were before. The only punishment you get is an infuriating 20 second cutscene of a valkyrie descending from the heavens and carrying you up to valhalla. It's cool at first but after 2 or 3 deaths you'll switch from mild interest to anger. For a loot driven game its surprising that the developer would make the game so difficult. Loot driven games are known to be kind of mindless but in Too Human you die so frequently you start to lose interest. Not to mention you'll be wrestling the camera constantly. The only thing that make it bearable is the fact that left bumper will center the camera, expect to be hammering that alamost as much as your melee attacks.

    Graphically, Too Human is the definition of mediocre and would probably fit in as an Xbox 360 launch title. On top of that the framerate is prone to chopiness and glitches are frequent. Sometimes enemies will suddenly stop moving or even become invisible. I personally lost about 10 minutes to an unopenable door which was only solved by reloading the game. Artistically the game remains consistent with it's sci-fi vibe with solid charecter design and and consistent enviorments. Too Human is a flawed game that tried to create a new style loot grind and failed spectacularly. The only somewhat reedeming quality of the game is it's narrative and even that isn't specatcular, just well told. The game itself is a boring grind punctuated by an annoying death animation and absolutly absymal camera control. With only four levels and about 10 hours of gameplay in the main story the game will end fairly adbruptly and leave you hanging with only the grind of the same 4 levels for mostly useless loot to keep you going. When I finished this game I didn't feel any accomplishment, I only felt like I wasted 10 hours of my life.

    Presentation: 7
    Gameplay: 3
    Value: 6

    Overall: 5.1
    Expand
  11. CollinL.
    Sep 19, 2008
    7
    Too human is a weird mixed bag of really fun action RPG gameplay and a lot of frustrating, tedious action RPG gameplay. The RPG mechanics are quit addicting and fun though.
  12. JustinC
    Aug 27, 2008
    5
    A forgettable, nonsensical story, gameplay as repetitive as it gets, graphics utterly unacceptable for this late in the console's life cycle, a flaccid facade of RPG elements, and the frustrating lack of a RUN button left this game as a massive pile of "meh."
  13. MichaelD
    Aug 30, 2008
    5
    An average game. It has an interesting control sceme at first. Soon though you will realize that theres not too much to it and its quite boring. Its a machine sci-fi... staring at the same bunch of machines with different colors just plain sucks. Then the maps are just as boring, creating a walk three feet fight, walk three feet fight scenario. Singleplayer and it's story are just An average game. It has an interesting control sceme at first. Soon though you will realize that theres not too much to it and its quite boring. Its a machine sci-fi... staring at the same bunch of machines with different colors just plain sucks. Then the maps are just as boring, creating a walk three feet fight, walk three feet fight scenario. Singleplayer and it's story are just bad. Multiplayer is this games only saving grace. It's actually kinda fun with a friend, sadly it's only one friend which limits so much. If they dont add a ton of depth to the other games in the trilogy, (if they even make them) this franchise started four feet down the other two feet will be quick. Expand
  14. CameronP.
    Sep 17, 2008
    5
    I really enjoyed the gameplay, that is, the controls and figuration were fun. However, I felt very bored and confused by the storyline and that ruined the game for me.
  15. JosephB.
    Sep 8, 2008
    6
    I played the demo and it is WAY OVERHYPED! Most definitely not buying the full game.
  16. EddieO.
    Oct 16, 2008
    6
    Excellent graphics and movie scenes however not intuitive to master. Camera difficult to use. Not the best game I have played.
  17. Devin
    Aug 14, 2008
    7
    I don't like it very much, although I can see how some people could enjoy during a summer game drought. The combat seemed repetitive and boring. They kept the controls simple which can be a good thing in games like God of War where skill and reflexes are rewarded but in Too Human's case it's just a simple and very shallow fighting mechanic. I think limiting everything to I don't like it very much, although I can see how some people could enjoy during a summer game drought. The combat seemed repetitive and boring. They kept the controls simple which can be a good thing in games like God of War where skill and reflexes are rewarded but in Too Human's case it's just a simple and very shallow fighting mechanic. I think limiting everything to the analog stick was a huge mistake - COMBAT IS BORNING. Sure there is a skill tree to get new weapons and stuff but I doubt that can make up for fundamentally sub-par gameplay. The graphics aren't bad but they don't make you say "wow" due to a lack of any distinct or appealing artistic style. The story seems descent enough to warrant a rent but I'm not buying this 15 hour Action/RPG unless it end up in the bargain bin at EB for less than $29.99. On a positive note given how mediocre this game is it probably won't take too long. Expand
  18. WaltG.
    Aug 20, 2008
    7
    It's an OK game. It's a rather standard hack and slash. Something along the lines of Diablo and Dungeon siege. It's worth a look if you've got that hack and slash itch. Plus it's got Cybernetic Norse Gods, give it as low a score as you want, you have to admit how cool that is.
  19. AdamT.
    Sep 24, 2008
    6
    I really wanted to like this game. But so much was so sloppy that it really felt like Out The Door software. The interface for your character customization is downright ugly to look at. Even on a 42" plasma the text looks scrunched. The cinematic were great, the world itself looked good. The story was fairly compelling. The largest and most detrimental aspect of the game though was the I really wanted to like this game. But so much was so sloppy that it really felt like Out The Door software. The interface for your character customization is downright ugly to look at. Even on a 42" plasma the text looks scrunched. The cinematic were great, the world itself looked good. The story was fairly compelling. The largest and most detrimental aspect of the game though was the shoddy control/targeting system. I found my self twitching trying to get the gun to focus on ANYTHING. The sword system uses a series of "combos" which are confusing to look at, at first. But then you realize there aren't any real combos, they're just parts of the control scheme to help the game look good. This probably came about as a way to accommodate the overly wide camera angles which attempted to grab as much as possible to be epic in scale. The mere fact that you can flip camera angles at the touch of a button seems to indicate the lack of a cohesive design for the game. The game simply couldn't decide what it wanted to be on the action front, and so failed in implementation. I really wanted to like this game. Especially with its intriguing setting and Norse storyline. But alas, it comes to naught. Expand
  20. JamesA
    Sep 28, 2008
    7
    Rented it and put in 6 hours. Good: story, combos, lots of items, melee fighting looks really cool. Bad: why have health bar if there is 0 penelty for dieing (as in you pop back in the same spot & enemies have the same amount of damage you gave them on your last life), enemies leveling up with you meens leveling up only give you new weapons, some spots in the game can only be overcome by Rented it and put in 6 hours. Good: story, combos, lots of items, melee fighting looks really cool. Bad: why have health bar if there is 0 penelty for dieing (as in you pop back in the same spot & enemies have the same amount of damage you gave them on your last life), enemies leveling up with you meens leveling up only give you new weapons, some spots in the game can only be overcome by dieing 2 to 4 times. Rent this first, if you have played Phantsy Star, you will like it, if not, you will hate this game with a passion. This is not the qualty that 12 years in production should have. Expand
  21. DaseanH.
    Aug 19, 2008
    5
    When i played it it made me frustrated to no ended but it wasn't all bad.
  22. VicR.
    Aug 21, 2008
    6
    Too Human is really 'Barely Above Average'. While I see a lot of people here trying to appeal to the World of Warcraft set, they fail to take into account that gear in World of Warcraft meant you gained entry into harder, previously unseen dungeons. This isn't the case with Too Human. With Too Human, you earn loot so you can go back to the same exact dungeons. To make this Too Human is really 'Barely Above Average'. While I see a lot of people here trying to appeal to the World of Warcraft set, they fail to take into account that gear in World of Warcraft meant you gained entry into harder, previously unseen dungeons. This isn't the case with Too Human. With Too Human, you earn loot so you can go back to the same exact dungeons. To make this scheme equivalent to WoW, it would be like running Karazhan until you had all the loot, then going back and running Karazhan all over again with harder enemies for higher loot... but it's STILL Karazhan. Likewise, your enemies scale with you AND your gear so collecting this loot doesn't really make you any more of a bad ass because the enemies scale appropriately. A loot game with no real point to loot = mediocre game. Camera frustrations, half baked story, texture bugs, and multiplayer gutted from 4 to 2. A solid rental, but not worth a 59.99 price tag. Expand
  23. Brian
    Aug 23, 2008
    7
    2 types of people play this game. Those who get their ass kicked and grow stronger and those who get their ass kicked and cry. Which will you be?
  24. JohnC
    Aug 25, 2008
    6
    An absolute mess. From the introduction of the demo I wasn't sold on this game, and as for the final product I have to say the same as well. The combat is in shambles and isn't fluid enough, it honestly felt at times like I was watching a slideshow. The looting is rather boring and tries to hard to be like Diablo or other games of the like. The gameplay isn't fun. There are An absolute mess. From the introduction of the demo I wasn't sold on this game, and as for the final product I have to say the same as well. The combat is in shambles and isn't fluid enough, it honestly felt at times like I was watching a slideshow. The looting is rather boring and tries to hard to be like Diablo or other games of the like. The gameplay isn't fun. There are no punishments for dying, and you will die a hell of a lot of times as well. The camera is an absolute piece of garbage and whoever thought it should be like that should be hung. And the story tries to hard and takes itself way to seriously, it's not bad but it isn't great either. With all that said there are still some positives though. Graphically it's alright, not amazing, but not bad. Voice acting at times is actually pretty good and some of the music is good as well. The skill system can be pretty good and adds some variety to what is a stale game, and despite what I said about the looting some of the armor is pretty nice and thankfully you can colour it to fit your taste which is a decent plus. Too Human isn't bad, it just isn't good either. It's a mediocre game in the sea of mediocrity that is gaming. Expand
  25. CarlosC
    Aug 28, 2008
    7
    This game is going to be either hit or miss for you. I played the demo, loved it, and pre-ordered the game. I personally liked it alot, even though i got frustrated several times throughout the first 10-15 hours of going through the storyline. The loot and level up system is pretty good, and the autoleveling isn't that bad until you have more enemies than you can handle. The story is This game is going to be either hit or miss for you. I played the demo, loved it, and pre-ordered the game. I personally liked it alot, even though i got frustrated several times throughout the first 10-15 hours of going through the storyline. The loot and level up system is pretty good, and the autoleveling isn't that bad until you have more enemies than you can handle. The story is not bad. It's got it's bad spots, but really its brilliant if you think about how they made it go with norse mythology. The controls were pretty easy, but because of the odd setup not always responsive, and the targeting really sucked big time. The camera is below-average, not bad, but not great. And really, this game is a bunch of streaks that will have you feeling like a god one minute and then extremely frustrated the next. Rent it, to see if your enjoyment will out-do your frustration. If it does, then you'll really like this game. Expand
  26. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    Too human concept offers an interesting and a fictional universe very well done. But is plagued by a limping gameplay and RPG system that, apart from the menu, provides no change to the gameplay. It would have been nice to see the conclusion of the trilogy, but given the recent work of Silicon Knight maybe it's better that the saga is dead.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 80
  2. Negative: 9 out of 80
  1. 42
    Too Human is also not a good action game. While it deserves some applause for a reasonable translation of PC classic Diablo's mouse-driven controls, its reliance on the right analog stick as a means for attack only works at the most basic level.
  2. Too Human is about players sculpting their ideal killing machines. If you enjoy leveling and looting, it's worth a look. If you only have a moderate interest, Too Human's aggravating gameplay and irreparable plot won't deliver many thrills. [Sept 2008, p.104]
  3. If wading knee deep in the dead to get at a piece of armour that’s 5% better than what you’re currently wearing isn’t the kind of adventuring that excites you, then you’re in trouble, because Too Human is exactly this type of game. Kill, loot, compare, equip, repeat.