User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 464 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IR.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    Very fun game. Reminds me a bit of Champions of Norrath. The item collecting, fierce battles and different leveling trees are setup well. Seems a bit unpolished but once you get into it, you might find it hard to put down.
  2. AlexT.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    great game but not easy to undersand certain things with such weak surce material (booklet that comes with the game) what is a colour module? what does rupture do? do charms work when not in the questing slots. unfortunately too many questions and no answers. but if anyone says all the characters play the same obviously haven't played it or their just not skilled enough to play to great game but not easy to undersand certain things with such weak surce material (booklet that comes with the game) what is a colour module? what does rupture do? do charms work when not in the questing slots. unfortunately too many questions and no answers. but if anyone says all the characters play the same obviously haven't played it or their just not skilled enough to play to the strengths of a berserker, and think it's the same as a defender? Expand
  3. RobertoD.
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    This game is a NEED TO HAVE!!!... I do not understand all the reviewers who gave this game lower than a 7.5. I mean common. The fun I have with this game is certainly better than assassins creerd, halo3 (SP). And that is because of the music,story and gameplay. graphics are not good at all times, but are great at most of the times.the only lett down on this game is the introduction This game is a NEED TO HAVE!!!... I do not understand all the reviewers who gave this game lower than a 7.5. I mean common. The fun I have with this game is certainly better than assassins creerd, halo3 (SP). And that is because of the music,story and gameplay. graphics are not good at all times, but are great at most of the times.the only lett down on this game is the introduction concerning graphics and the ingame menu. The first hour playing this game gives you a 6 score fealing, the first 10 hours (just get to know the strategic fighting skills,story and weapons )gives you an 8 rating and after the 10 hours you play you get a 9.50 -10 rating fealing. The game is up there with the big guys!!. If HALO3 gets a 9.5..this game deserves at least a 8.5. I had more fun with this game than I had with halo3. If the fuss with the unreal engine was not there...THIS game would write history. 6.6 is TOOO LOWW..and gives me the fealing the reviewers weren't interested in the story and game at all. But I have to confess.. This game is not for generally lower educated people who do not like menus. The big difference between this game and the halo3 ,COD4,assassins creed,bioshock is that the big games give the best part in the first and last part of the single player. the best playing parts is when you are past half the single play mode and then it starts kicking in. A little late but it delivers Cannot wait for part two!!! Expand
  4. DylanB
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Reviews for this game have come off as very bias and in some cases are just flat out wrong. This is a great dungeon crawling game that may need a few tweaks that hopefully come in the sequel. While there as some small flaws overall its still addictive and incredibly fun. It seems to me most of the complainers just didn't take the time to learn the controls and aren't used to a Reviews for this game have come off as very bias and in some cases are just flat out wrong. This is a great dungeon crawling game that may need a few tweaks that hopefully come in the sequel. While there as some small flaws overall its still addictive and incredibly fun. It seems to me most of the complainers just didn't take the time to learn the controls and aren't used to a game that's a little more challenging to understand. Hacky run of the mill games seem to get better reviews everyday, whats the deal? Expand
  5. NicholasLong
    Sep 4, 2008
    8
    If you can get past the dying cheap deaths, wonky camera, and occasionally iffy controls, (and don't mind putting a lot into a game before getting much out of it) and like loot collecting this games for you. The cut scenes and story are skip-worthy, but this game is about the combat, and its usually pretty good.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    takes some getting used to, i like the story, not sure if everyone else will and you get a lot of play value with all the characters and styles.
  7. LoganD.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Truly amazing game, a must buy. It's already easily playable for 80+ hours, and then theres coop, DLC(New classes will be downloadable!), and bringing your character(s) across each game, each time leveling 50 times.
  8. AnonymousMC
    Aug 13, 2008
    9
    Don't let anyone fool you: this game has a few flaws. However, I have never played a game with as much upside. The gameplay is hands down amazing. I felt more like a god in this game than in both God of War and God of War II. Despite its frustrations, I think that is the best compliment I can give it.
  9. StevenB.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    Absolutely love this game - will recommend to all of my friends.
  10. BobS.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    This game fast, fun and best of all...unique. I really enjoyed playing the demo. I understand this game might not be for everyone. The controls definitely take some getting used to. Overall the graphics are on par with other games out at this time. Co-op is way too much fun. The story is a little weak, but you almost expect that these days.
  11. Lucas
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    This is a fantastic game. If you love RPGs and Action games, you will deff love this game. It does a lot of things right and minor things wrong.Great game.
  12. JP.
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    I've played the demo and loved every second of it. it just made me want more. if the game is half as good as that then it'll be great. I have mine reserved and will pick it up day one.
  13. PT
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    Enjoyable as a solid rental for those who aren't huge fans of RPG's and their loot and skill systems. For those who like that kind of thing, they may find this to be exactly what they were looking for. The story is solid and the audio is always excellent. The animation and camera could've used some more work, the problems are sometimes jarring. A few issues with targeting Enjoyable as a solid rental for those who aren't huge fans of RPG's and their loot and skill systems. For those who like that kind of thing, they may find this to be exactly what they were looking for. The story is solid and the audio is always excellent. The animation and camera could've used some more work, the problems are sometimes jarring. A few issues with targeting and balance between classes aside, the game is not terrible but not the A+ game a lot of people were hyped for. Still worth a solid rental and I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of people found themselves buying it afterward or at least renting it a couple more times. Expand
  14. JustinP.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    Awesome game
  15. bryang.
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    Somehow I think meta critic should take another look at their scale for converting Letter grades to numbers. If you get a C- in school you by no means are failing... In regards to Too Human so far a good game and story is interesting. I like how they worked different terminology into how gods speak compared to how the humans speak as well as the heavy norse influence throughout the game. Somehow I think meta critic should take another look at their scale for converting Letter grades to numbers. If you get a C- in school you by no means are failing... In regards to Too Human so far a good game and story is interesting. I like how they worked different terminology into how gods speak compared to how the humans speak as well as the heavy norse influence throughout the game. An easy action game that is great when you just want to pick up and go even in a multiplayer(Co-op) game. No more 5 minutes staring at a halo 3 list of players screaming "veto!!!" only to have to wait another 2 minutes for the map to change. Expand
  16. RanbirC.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    Ok, isn't perfection but it is still a decent, fun game. Why does everyone expect anything less than a 9 to be a failure of a game? Silly standards.
  17. JerryK.
    Aug 19, 2008
    8
    some people such as myself will love this game and it will be hard to walk away, while others will gripe and moan about the inconsistencies in the camera and the auto-targeting for the guns, but overall it is a game that is worth the cash
  18. PaulS.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Too Human is yet another Silicon Knights masterpiece. While the mainstream reviewer "doesn't get it" - it's a fantastic title that will be loved by anyone with an open mind, and open heart.
  19. Sados.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    This game is definitely made for a person that enjoy grinding and loots, which pretty exciting co-op options and lots of customization. IF you are into that kind of game, you will love it!
  20. revivedflash
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    this is just based no the demo. I loved it the first time through. I did not find the camera to be really bad and i had no problems with the controls. I agree that the whole death thing could be better. Dieing does not seem to really have that big of an impact as it could. Even with a few things like that i still enjoyed enough to buy this game.
  21. NathanielJ.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    What Too Human doesn't do: - Deliver EVERYTHING that was promised as expected - Offer another great 4-player multiplayer co-op experience - Run absolutely flawlessly (but then neither do a lot of the top scoring games these days either) - Do what everyone else has done before with new features or a new engine like so many other high scoring or "revolutionary" games What Too Human What Too Human doesn't do: - Deliver EVERYTHING that was promised as expected - Offer another great 4-player multiplayer co-op experience - Run absolutely flawlessly (but then neither do a lot of the top scoring games these days either) - Do what everyone else has done before with new features or a new engine like so many other high scoring or "revolutionary" games What Too Human does do: - Live up to ENOUGH of it's hype and promises to deliver not a work of art, but an excellent game that's familiar, but unique enough to feel new - Deliver a decent story with above average presentation (and beautiful music and good voice acting that almost nobody has mentioned) and an admirable fluidity to gameplay and story. - Give an excellent 2 player online co-op mode in a world where 2 player co-op is a dying breed of my childhood - Effectively blends Smash TV/Gaunlet, Devil May Cry, Diablo/Phantasy Star Online into an odd combination of gameplay that, despite a bit of a learning curve at first (and doesn't this always happen when you try something new?), is surprisingly smooth, unique despite it's familiar component parts and above all addictively fun. Too Human does not live up to all of it's promises and hype, but this fraction of it's supposed potential is still enough to make an above par game that combines old staples with some new ideas into a refreshing concoction. I think that this game is receiving a lot of bad press due to some of Dyack's more questionable crusading and because it's become the hip thing to rag on this game, but I think those of you who respect yourselves as critics, professional or not need to ask yourself have you been letting that bias you against what should be a review distilling simply the quality of this game and it's experience? Expand
  22. BenoitC.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Very good game that's getting judged just a bit to harshly by many different outlets. It's a bit rough around the edges in some parts, but overall it's a very well done (and fun!) game.
  23. YuriL.
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    Graphics check, solid story check, good combat check, incredibly detailed inventory system double check.very good, don't believe the bad hype you will level up in no time and is sooo addictive you wont want to stop for months.
  24. Faith
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    This epic mix of cybernetics and norse mythology will have you bashing through hordes of enemies with Baldur, the newest bad-ass in the relm of the Gods and loving every minute of it.
    Don't listen to the hater hype. The minor flaws that Too Human sports will soon be forgotten once you get lost in its wicked storyline, amazing environments, and endless kickass loot
  25. JabeP
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    What's with the low scores? I really enjoyed this game. Maybe I shouldn't get too angry about reviews because everyone has a different opinion. Believe what the players think instead.
  26. GaryG.
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    First off, Why all the hate for this game or Dennis Dyack? Now as for the game. Is it perfect? No. Is it a good game? IMO, Yes. I have have completed one complete playthrough and starting my second. It's an interesting mix of Diablo 2 and a FPS. A friend and I did a XBL co-op on the first day and it was a blast. Even when either of us died, we were enjoying the game(even the dead First off, Why all the hate for this game or Dennis Dyack? Now as for the game. Is it perfect? No. Is it a good game? IMO, Yes. I have have completed one complete playthrough and starting my second. It's an interesting mix of Diablo 2 and a FPS. A friend and I did a XBL co-op on the first day and it was a blast. Even when either of us died, we were enjoying the game(even the dead sequences, 'I'm dead. Time for a cup of coffee.' Yes, the controls are difficult to adapt to. Yes, the camera can be a bit wonky. I didn't notice any glitches wth enemies falling through the ground or anything like with my retail copy. As for the Story, I'm digging on the Norse-lite Mytholgy. The FIRST cutset, the one that plays before you hit start sets up the plotline for the game. Bottom line: Too Human is not a game for everyone. It's not a twitch FPS like Call of Duty 4. It's not a button masher like Devil May Cry 4. And It's not a RPG like Neverwinter Nights. It's something more and less than all of these. And for me, it worked. Expand
  27. mikes
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    Although some may find this game repetitive, i found it to be one of the most satisfying games I've played in a while. the campaigne is quite short, but the sheer amount of enemies that challenge you throughout the game are nearly infinite. if you enjoy being vastly out numbered, and running in like a madman swinging in all directions, seeing bodies fly everywhere. this is a game for Although some may find this game repetitive, i found it to be one of the most satisfying games I've played in a while. the campaigne is quite short, but the sheer amount of enemies that challenge you throughout the game are nearly infinite. if you enjoy being vastly out numbered, and running in like a madman swinging in all directions, seeing bodies fly everywhere. this is a game for you. hopefully the 2nd and 3rd will be a bit longer. but good none the less..... enjoy. Expand
  28. MikeA.
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    Give the game a chance it is really fun and it has a lot of customization.
  29. RyanD.
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    The controls take some getting used to but overall I've really enjoyed playing it.
  30. RobS.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    A masterpiece. Art, gameplay, story: all very original and excellent! The first game to keep my up hours on end, hooked, since oblivion or diablo. If you're tired of derivative crap like Halo 3, check this out.
  31. JonathanH
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    This Game Rocks! It's not perfect but if you like loot customizing your character and some intense battles you'll love it. This game really shines in Multiplayer , i would've liked to see at least 4 player co-op because it's just what this game needs. I look forward to the next 2 games. I'm sure this game will sale well, and people will seriously look at the This Game Rocks! It's not perfect but if you like loot customizing your character and some intense battles you'll love it. This game really shines in Multiplayer , i would've liked to see at least 4 player co-op because it's just what this game needs. I look forward to the next 2 games. I'm sure this game will sale well, and people will seriously look at the review system after it's all said and done. Expand
  32. JerryG
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    If your a fan of Champions of Norrath or Balder's Gate, you'll love this game. The combat is fun (once you get the hang of it) and the camera is fine (once you get the hang of it) The game does have its issues which is why l didn't give it a 9, but l'm completely hooked. Give it a shot and l think you'll enjoy the ride.
  33. Bob
    Aug 28, 2008
    9
    The apparent bandwagon of hate spawned by Too Human only worries me because I really want to see this Trilogy through. I've heard comparisons to Advent Rising because of that games doomed trilogy. I know I love this game even after briefly losing faith when I read a few post-release reviews. I even went so far as canceling my pre-order. But on release day, I came back and bought it. The apparent bandwagon of hate spawned by Too Human only worries me because I really want to see this Trilogy through. I've heard comparisons to Advent Rising because of that games doomed trilogy. I know I love this game even after briefly losing faith when I read a few post-release reviews. I even went so far as canceling my pre-order. But on release day, I came back and bought it. I haven't regretted it since. This game, through its developers, is standing strong by its unique and "Simple in concept, difficult to master" control scheme, storytelling, class balancing and for that I for one am thankful. While Dennis Dyack may be outspoken and forward thinking (and in some reviewers eyes, insane), it doesn't take away from the fact that he does have a love of this industry and it shows in the work of Silicon Knights. I for one have recommended this to every gaming friend I have. Expand
  34. Glynn
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    Great game, don't understand all the negative scores in the press.. their loss.
  35. AnonymousMC
    Sep 21, 2008
    8
    This game got a bad rap. Not a perfect game but a good game for those who like hack n slash dungeon crawler games. If your a fan of the console D&D games like BG Dark Alliance or Heroes you would probably enjoy this game. Good online co-op with the only draw back being it cuts out all the story elements and lets u just run around and level up and collect stuff. Fun game overall though justThis game got a bad rap. Not a perfect game but a good game for those who like hack n slash dungeon crawler games. If your a fan of the console D&D games like BG Dark Alliance or Heroes you would probably enjoy this game. Good online co-op with the only draw back being it cuts out all the story elements and lets u just run around and level up and collect stuff. Fun game overall though just not AAA. Expand
  36. MikeB
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    Bought it even considering some of the bad comments above. I really enjoyed a game with a different approach and noval game play. overall, fun to play.
  37. May 2, 2012
    9
    The only reason I won't give this game a ten: it's currently 2012. I just picked up my copy, and it was released in 2008. It obviously seems a bit outdated; altough, simultaneously, Too Human is an amazing game. Albeit it being released 4 years ago, I believe the camera could have been a bit less uncontrollable. I don't know much about Norse mythology, but after playing this, I'mThe only reason I won't give this game a ten: it's currently 2012. I just picked up my copy, and it was released in 2008. It obviously seems a bit outdated; altough, simultaneously, Too Human is an amazing game. Albeit it being released 4 years ago, I believe the camera could have been a bit less uncontrollable. I don't know much about Norse mythology, but after playing this, I'm interested. I recommend this game to anyone who enjoys this genre. It almost completely covers every base to be a part of this genre. I enjoy Fallout, Devil May Cry, God of War, and all kinds of puzzle games; therefore, I greatly enjoy playing this game. Thank you for reading my review. -- Jordan A. Expand
  38. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love this game! I remember playing the demo for it back in 2008 and thought it was really interesting, but never had the chance to pick it up, until recently when I found out that it is only 7$. Being of Scandinavian decent the Norse Mythology is very interesting to me, and the fact that this game takes that and basically mixes it with TRON, it's awesome... The only downsideI absolutely love this game! I remember playing the demo for it back in 2008 and thought it was really interesting, but never had the chance to pick it up, until recently when I found out that it is only 7$. Being of Scandinavian decent the Norse Mythology is very interesting to me, and the fact that this game takes that and basically mixes it with TRON, it's awesome... The only downside is the wonky camera, but its really easy to adjust to after a while. The weapon and armor system is great too. With the amount of customization you can do there are hundreds of possible weapon and armor combos, as well as adding Runes to the items, just giving you one more way to pack a punch. I stand by my score of 10 because this game is amazing in every way. Expand
  39. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    I had pre-ordered this, when I saw the review scores I cancelled and decided to give it a shot later. I saw it sitting on the shelf for a couple of months next to other used games and kept passing it over... That was a big mistake on my part, almost as big as cancelling my pre-order. The worst thing I can say about this game is that it is too short, the camera takes some getting used toI had pre-ordered this, when I saw the review scores I cancelled and decided to give it a shot later. I saw it sitting on the shelf for a couple of months next to other used games and kept passing it over... That was a big mistake on my part, almost as big as cancelling my pre-order. The worst thing I can say about this game is that it is too short, the camera takes some getting used to and the death animation is way too long and when you start out you will die pretty often. Other than that it is outstanding, graphics are really good and the gameplay is great, and different enough between melee and commando classes to make it worth playing through several times. The loot and upgrade system is easy to use and immediately gratifying, e.g. when you put a speed, damage or fire rate rune on you equipment it is very noticeable. With all the armor and weapons you can find you don't often run into someone in the same outfit as you in online co-op (which is also a blast). When you level up and get some of the higher end weapons and armor you will be laying waste to hordes of enemies with either your swords, hammers, rifles, pistols... etc. I picked her up used for a song and it is easily one of my most played games, if I had bought it new when it came out I would not have regretted it one iota. I would recommend this game to anyone who likes 3rd person action melee or shooters, and especially if you like finding loot and upgrading your equipment. For the price you can get it for now you can't loose. Expand
  40. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    Okay as you can see there are tonnes of good reviews and there is a reason for that. The game is good. I still play this game, and I pre-ordered it. Why should you get it? Firstly this game doesn't hold you hand in any way, you either have to work out what does what or look it up, kind of mad a refreshing change. The combat system is simple yet one of the most effective I have ever used,Okay as you can see there are tonnes of good reviews and there is a reason for that. The game is good. I still play this game, and I pre-ordered it. Why should you get it? Firstly this game doesn't hold you hand in any way, you either have to work out what does what or look it up, kind of mad a refreshing change. The combat system is simple yet one of the most effective I have ever used, and with practice you can cut you way through the multitude of enemies that gather on later levels. The story, should you play that mode, really sets the scene and you'll grow to like the chracters and enjoy their interactions. But this game stands out with the multiplayer, it's a shame that only 2 can play but that's enough and with the right classes side by side nothing will stand in your way. I worked in a game store at the release of the game, and most negative reviews came from those that couldn't play it and didn't understand the combat system.

    Don't listen to people, the menu's in game are easy to understand for anyone who plays RPGs or any other MMO style game, Crafting is easy but getting the right runes and such is where the fun lies. You'll be forever swapping to new weapons, trying out new armour and really crafting your character to your style of play. For a novice player you need to stay away from the beserker, they are a little squishy, but every other class is more than playable. Combat relies heavily on knowing who to kill first, going for the wrong target can cause death, take this from someone who has complete every level without dying. This game needs one play through of the demo to get it, and if you do you'll start to love it, if you don't get it then they'll be no enjoyment.

    Buy this game, it's dirt cheap and whilst very few people play it you can still get a coop game with a random on a regular basis.
    Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 80
  2. Negative: 9 out of 80
  1. 42
    Too Human is also not a good action game. While it deserves some applause for a reasonable translation of PC classic Diablo's mouse-driven controls, its reliance on the right analog stick as a means for attack only works at the most basic level.
  2. Too Human is about players sculpting their ideal killing machines. If you enjoy leveling and looting, it's worth a look. If you only have a moderate interest, Too Human's aggravating gameplay and irreparable plot won't deliver many thrills. [Sept 2008, p.104]
  3. If wading knee deep in the dead to get at a piece of armour that’s 5% better than what you’re currently wearing isn’t the kind of adventuring that excites you, then you’re in trouble, because Too Human is exactly this type of game. Kill, loot, compare, equip, repeat.