User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 443 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2011
    7
    This is a game that does what few others game do, something new and it almost succeeds in being outstanding, the story about norse gods fighting a war against machines is truly unique and enjoyable, and the combat system is really addicting, there's a lot of loot to find, and it's long, it took me 12 hours to beat it which is great considering most games now days are 2 to 3 hours long, theThis is a game that does what few others game do, something new and it almost succeeds in being outstanding, the story about norse gods fighting a war against machines is truly unique and enjoyable, and the combat system is really addicting, there's a lot of loot to find, and it's long, it took me 12 hours to beat it which is great considering most games now days are 2 to 3 hours long, the problem is that it overstays it's welcome, it's far too repetitive for it's own good, it's just fight your way from point A to point B and battle the boss, but the story kept me going, I just couldn't wait to see what happened, and from what I read on the back of the box this is the first entry in a trilogy, and I'm dying to see where this series goes in future entries, a truly good, fun, and unique game. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    5
    I kind of have mixed feelings. Overall it is rather poor considering just how long it got stuck in development. It was originally planned for the PS1. You can see the potential the game has, but as you play it you feel like it's incomplete or underdone. Basically it was meant to be a good game, but it looks like they never managed to really finish it and released a half-assed glorifiedI kind of have mixed feelings. Overall it is rather poor considering just how long it got stuck in development. It was originally planned for the PS1. You can see the potential the game has, but as you play it you feel like it's incomplete or underdone. Basically it was meant to be a good game, but it looks like they never managed to really finish it and released a half-assed glorified demo. Cut-scenes look cool, the overall idea and story is good, combat is different and fun. But gameplay is bland and boring. It's a real shame as this is a game I really would have loved to like, yet, I can't. Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    3
    Great concept, terrible execution. If another developer latched onto this universe, it could go far. As it is, this game is horrible. Avoid unless for some reason you find yourself with an excessive amount of time and a high tolerance to bad design.
  4. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    A much better game than it was given credit for. Got this when it first came out and I still play it now. Combo meter mechanic is interesting, great story, good community. Downside is lack of variety in enemies and game is too short. Would love to see a sequel but I doubt it will ever happen.
  5. May 30, 2013
    8
    If you don't like this game, that's fine. Just please give me a more compelling case than the controls were bad. Too Human is a nice refreshing game experience and very enjoyable. As I've said, people hate it because of the analog stick controls, but I think they're necessary because of how many combat type there are. Not to mention, it saves us from pulling up a menu to select our skillsIf you don't like this game, that's fine. Just please give me a more compelling case than the controls were bad. Too Human is a nice refreshing game experience and very enjoyable. As I've said, people hate it because of the analog stick controls, but I think they're necessary because of how many combat type there are. Not to mention, it saves us from pulling up a menu to select our skills from (Mass Effect). My only gripe with this game is it's really short for an RPG. But, it still has co-op so playing with a buddy is all the more entertaining. Bottom line, it's a great game and you should go and buy it. R.I.P Silicon Knights Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2015
    7
    Well where to begin......by checking the reviews here its very polarized some love this game and some don't. I'm still trying to figure out why because for me this game is a solid 7 rating. This could be a perfect 10 game its very fun, has tons of customization and replayability and a decent enough story with some areas of exploration and some pretty fantastic creatures/enemies andWell where to begin......by checking the reviews here its very polarized some love this game and some don't. I'm still trying to figure out why because for me this game is a solid 7 rating. This could be a perfect 10 game its very fun, has tons of customization and replayability and a decent enough story with some areas of exploration and some pretty fantastic creatures/enemies and generally a nice game world. This game has so much going for it. My beef is strictly and almost exclusively the camera. It is terrible. Not to the point the game is broken but to the point its obviously the games sorespot. At times you just cannot target what you want and thats a bad thing in any game. The rest is that good to forgive this game. Its an action RPG and it made me want to play it. The action is just that fun and the game is already tempting me to another playthrough with a different character and customization options. Honestly this game reminds me of Vanquish. There is another short game that players thought was too short but was extremely entertaining to play. The difference is Vanquish is a must buy as it has a camera that doesn't obstruct the gameplay. Anyway I highly recommend considering this game at todays bargain basement price. It takes some time realizing whats possible in this game because there is that much customization but those willing to forgive the bad camera design will find a very fun game hopefully. One should also consider whether this game will become collectible as it was involved in a court dispute and copies of the game were ordered to be destroyed. The gameplay, although somewhat broken and this court issue thing make this game a must keep for my collection but I do recognize that taking three review points off a review score is a serious flaw to be considered in a game. Still I view a 7 score as a fun game worth of a playthough or at least a good look. Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    It's repetitive yes, but it'd damn fun overall and great to play alone if you want a solid action-RPG game. The environments are really repetitive such as the enemies (except for the last level) but the loot drops and the great melee combat make a good game despite it's flaws.
  8. Sep 22, 2014
    6
    For starters I really enjoyed aspects of this game, the storyline was entertaining but ultimately left me feeling short changed, the melee mechanic was very fun and the graphics and environment were captivating. The thing I really can't get past is the rest of the controls are most of the time incredibly frustrating and the camera control is just down right atrocious. It is a game whichFor starters I really enjoyed aspects of this game, the storyline was entertaining but ultimately left me feeling short changed, the melee mechanic was very fun and the graphics and environment were captivating. The thing I really can't get past is the rest of the controls are most of the time incredibly frustrating and the camera control is just down right atrocious. It is a game which holds a lot of promise but doesn't completely execute. I would love to see the franchise re worked into a more finished product. Expand
  9. Feb 25, 2011
    5
    Immediately after finishing this game I felt my time would have been better used elsewhere. An interesting artistic approach to Norse mythology, plagued by horrific design choices (unskip-able resurrection cut-scenes and the right analog stick to control melee attacks rather than the camera to name a few). This game is not a COMPLETE disaster, but overall very hard to recommend.
  10. Mar 3, 2011
    3
    The combat is sticky
    They got Baldur's character WAAAY Wrong, Baldur was the god of sympophy and being a total **** and Space-armour, seriously?
  11. Jan 27, 2012
    5
    Too Human is an mediocre game. It has a good story, but everything else is average. The controls are weird and clunky, the graphics leave a lot to be desired and is quite simply not worth the cash. With some effort, the game could have been great. However, like I said before, the story is quite good, and is original, unlike other stories out there today.
  12. Dec 21, 2010
    4
    An ambitious action RPG mixing cyberpunk and Norse mythology (of all things!) that suffers from a very short campaign ending in a cliffhanger, simple and monotonous combat, and enough cyberbabble and testosterone to cause a headache. Not entirely hopeless, as grinding and looting over multiple playthroughs might get fun but on whole, mostly a below average big budget disappointment.
  13. Jun 30, 2013
    3
    Oh boy.....Too Human I had such high hopes for with the interesting mythology combined with the futuristic cyber tech style and a company in Silicon Knights that I respect. I like the idea of the Diablo like loot system and the customization options sounded good, but after actually playing it you immediately realize that this game is virtually unplayable and quite honestly has the worstOh boy.....Too Human I had such high hopes for with the interesting mythology combined with the futuristic cyber tech style and a company in Silicon Knights that I respect. I like the idea of the Diablo like loot system and the customization options sounded good, but after actually playing it you immediately realize that this game is virtually unplayable and quite honestly has the worst controls i have ever seen in a 3rd person action game. I was able to get passed the fact that the graphics were very sub par (graphics are an overrated aspect of games, I place gameplay and story first) but i couldn't get past the "broken" controls and the "broken" camera these two aspects were just unforgiving and i'm amazed that SN did not realize this at least halfway through with play testing and focus groups and revamp the system. I know they were struggling to integrate the unreal 2 engine and this was in part the reason for the bad graphics and the delays but that has nothing to do with controls and camera and could have been forgiven. The game might of had a cool story and may of had a great loot system but i'll never know because I couldn't get past 40min of the game and i usually give a game at least an hour to give it a chance but honestly you know in the first 5min that to play this game you either have to be a completely clueless or new gamer and not know any better. Such a shame that SN wasted such a promising idea and a great name (Too Human) on what i would describe as frankly a mess. I as much as anyone was pumping this game up in '07 and early '08 before it came out, it is funny i bought Too Human, Fallout3, and Fable2 at the same time thinking I just bought three all time great games and it turns out that fable2 was one of the best games and Fallout3 WAS the best game i ever played and Too Human was epic in comparison, it was an epic disaster and the utter antithesis of the other two. Sadder yet the game was anticipated so highly that it was pegged to be a trilogy even before it came out (how arrogant is that) but needless to say the series ends at one. I don't normally rip games because i realize what most don't, that every major console game that comes out was a labor of love and took blood sweat and tears to make even the bad games have many talented people and many good ideas in them but for whatever reason it doesn't come together. It isn't easy and MANY things have to come together and work to green light a game and release on major publication so it is sad that a couple bad major aspects of a game can trump many good ideas and taint certain talented people. I know Silicon Knights has some talented people and let's hope they can shine in the future. Expand
  14. Dec 3, 2012
    6
    It brings tears to my eyes to write this, but this game is awful. An absolutely *incredible* premise was absolutely trashed in this truly, truly unfortunate failure of a game. Let me get more specific. Graphically, the game was pretty good, and at first, it was a blast. The controls, while... unique, were fun to use for melee combat, the enemies were interesting and fun to fight,It brings tears to my eyes to write this, but this game is awful. An absolutely *incredible* premise was absolutely trashed in this truly, truly unfortunate failure of a game. Let me get more specific. Graphically, the game was pretty good, and at first, it was a blast. The controls, while... unique, were fun to use for melee combat, the enemies were interesting and fun to fight, particularly the towering mechanical Troll. Unfortunately, a number of issues quickly emerged. First and most importantly, there is literally no camera control in this game. It will get you killed, again and again. Secondly, while the enemies were initially interesting and unique, the game seemed desperate to show them to the player again... and again... and again... It seemed the game's only way of keeping you playing was to lock you in a room with fifty more dudes. And while hacking your way through lots of squishy enemies can be fun (Dead Rising 2 comes to mind) there's the thing: the enemies *aren't* squishy. Even with endgame level equipment on a second playthrough, the game stops throwing the squishy baddies at you really quickly, in favor of similar, but much *less* squishy enemies. The fluid combat system stagnated as I stood for long seconds, trying to cut down an individual enemy. In the end, interesting boss fights couldn't save the game. It's short and badly paced - four levels that take multiple hours each to complete - but it wound up feeling very, very long. The only reason I gave this a 6 was for the premise - sci-fi norse mythology? It should've been *awesome*. Hell, the fight with a massive, biomechanical Fenrir WAS awesome, but it was one of the very few high points in a massive, massive **** of a game. Purchase as a form of digital tourism only - the first level was mostly fun, but don't expect to last long after that unless you're *very* persistent. Expand
  15. May 12, 2011
    2
    I really, really, really wanted to like Too Human. It had a lot of elements that interested me, mixing Viking mythology with science fiction seemed interesting and new. Then I actually played the game and found it to be the worst game I had ever played. Mapping the attack button to the right thumb stick was just idiotic. It would have been better if say... you moved the thumbstickI really, really, really wanted to like Too Human. It had a lot of elements that interested me, mixing Viking mythology with science fiction seemed interesting and new. Then I actually played the game and found it to be the worst game I had ever played. Mapping the attack button to the right thumb stick was just idiotic. It would have been better if say... you moved the thumbstick towards an enemy and you attacked that enemy instead of leaping somewhere to attack something off screen. I would have felt better paying someone else to play this game so I could watch because the story is quite good. It just gets ruined by every aspect of game play. Expand
  16. Apr 14, 2013
    2
    Too Human was the first game I ever bought for Xbox 360 and damn, was I scarred for life. This game was incredibly bad and was probably the worst games I have ever played. Although, this game did have some neat mechanics that didn't really expand. For example, the different types of guns were randomly generated but I didn't actually get a variety throughout the game. The story would be theToo Human was the first game I ever bought for Xbox 360 and damn, was I scarred for life. This game was incredibly bad and was probably the worst games I have ever played. Although, this game did have some neat mechanics that didn't really expand. For example, the different types of guns were randomly generated but I didn't actually get a variety throughout the game. The story would be the biggest let down, it only took me 5 hours to complete! I took it back to the game store after 2 weeks of buying it because I was so disappointed, what a way to start with the Xbox 360.

    Melson97
    Expand
  17. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    Too Human is a game like not other. With gameplay that sets it apart from everything else, the soundtrack to set the mood, and a beautiful atheistic look; Too Human is a game that is necessary to play. The loot to find makes this game really addicting too. The story of course is a high point for this game. Over all Too Human is a game that took a chance and it deserves the right to atToo Human is a game like not other. With gameplay that sets it apart from everything else, the soundtrack to set the mood, and a beautiful atheistic look; Too Human is a game that is necessary to play. The loot to find makes this game really addicting too. The story of course is a high point for this game. Over all Too Human is a game that took a chance and it deserves the right to at least be rented. Expand
  18. Jan 30, 2013
    7
    I recently got this game after all copies were ordered to be destroyed. I came in expecting a broken unplayable game, but I was wrong. Sure the camera, bland level design and certain combat/death aspects can be annoying but the music, voice acting and story is worth the now cheap price tag. It feels like a mix of dmc borderlands (the loot style) and mass effect. The conclusion of the gameI recently got this game after all copies were ordered to be destroyed. I came in expecting a broken unplayable game, but I was wrong. Sure the camera, bland level design and certain combat/death aspects can be annoying but the music, voice acting and story is worth the now cheap price tag. It feels like a mix of dmc borderlands (the loot style) and mass effect. The conclusion of the game really does set the tone of a trilogy with an epic conclusion which is satisfying yet provides questions unanswered. For the price it is now preowned it is worth the purchase. You never know you actually might like it. At the end I got the hang of combat and was pulling off melee attacks and mixing in gun combat. When played right the game can be extremely fun to play. I just wish the leveling system could have been better because you have the same challenge throughout since enemies level up with you and also a little too much time was spent in menus (which did take a bit too long to load despite being installed on the xbox hdd) The game might not be perfect, but there are worse games out there you can spend $14 or less on. I feel that if a sequel is made with the modern unreal engine, motion captured cinematics and a redone control scheme I feel that this series would take off. Expand
  19. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    It's a really fun game once you get a handle on the controls. It takes skill to figure them out and master them. The graphics are fine if you actually play games for the gameplay not pretty scenery. There are a few bugs, and team member AI leaves you alone in battle occasionally. It ends abruptly. All of that aside it's still a very enjoyable game. Sci-Fi dungeon crawler with aIt's a really fun game once you get a handle on the controls. It takes skill to figure them out and master them. The graphics are fine if you actually play games for the gameplay not pretty scenery. There are a few bugs, and team member AI leaves you alone in battle occasionally. It ends abruptly. All of that aside it's still a very enjoyable game. Sci-Fi dungeon crawler with a Nordic mythology twist pretty awesome concept. I would have rated it higher had it been longer I finished it in a day and a half. It felt much too short.

    Anyone who played anything along the lines of the original Resident Evil games will not have difficulty figuring out the controls and camera angles. It's actually quite easy.
    Expand
  20. Oct 13, 2013
    4
    A bad game. A bunch of various kinds placed together in one videogame video game videogame form a soup taste bad. A gameplay bored after the first hour of play and a plot drab help to sink into oblivion this title. The original setting is the only thing that saves this play from the full failure. 10 years of development and 60 million dollars wasted.
  21. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    A big sleeper hit!! If you can find this cheap in a discount bin you will be very, very happy as the game has a lot of replayability. I have 3 level 50 characters and still enjoy the game. I think all the all the negative reviews are coming from a couple people as they all sound the same.
  22. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Had this game for a while and all I can say is I cant believe this has such a low review score. I mean sure the game is a tad short but it is set to be a trilogy so i understand why it would have a cliffhanger. I mean look at all the lord of the ring movies... all ended with cliffhangers before the final one. There are minor problems with the game like controls that are hard to learnHad this game for a while and all I can say is I cant believe this has such a low review score. I mean sure the game is a tad short but it is set to be a trilogy so i understand why it would have a cliffhanger. I mean look at all the lord of the ring movies... all ended with cliffhangers before the final one. There are minor problems with the game like controls that are hard to learn without a tutorial (there isnt one in the game) and the in game death sequence should be skipable. However the game makes up for most of these with fun addicting gameplay, much replayablity, and online. Since the game only has its fan base still playing online you might have trouble finding a game however when you do get online with someone its a great play team work is key and you have alot of fun. Rune quests make up for alot of replayablity and once you complete the quest and have the rune equipped it gives you stat boots.

    The game has much depth in it even though it doesnt appear to be much at all besides a dungeon crawler with loot. Which by the way the game combines loot-whoredom and dungeon crawling perfectly. Oh have i mentioned the story for this game is awesome! I mean cyberpunk on norse myth (VIKINGS!!!) i wont go to deep into it to not reveal spoilers xp.

    Also this game is like in the top 10 best selling 360 action rpg games soo it shouldnt have such alow review score. I seriously reccommend to give it a shot i mean 10-20 dollars new at gamestop and like 20 on live market place.
    Expand
  23. Apr 30, 2011
    5
    Too Human

    Norse mythology with a techno flair Xbox 360 Played to completion with Defender class Too Human is a game 9 years in the making. First concepted as a Playstation game in 1999, It's come a long way for a release on Microsofts Xbox 360. Is this first entry in the Too Human trilogy worth the wait? Too Human starts with a rather stylish intro video that throws you into the
    Too Human


    Norse mythology with a techno flair

    Xbox 360
    Played to completion with Defender class



    Too Human is a game 9 years in the making. First concepted as a Playstation game in 1999, It's come a long way for a release on Microsofts Xbox 360. Is this first entry in the Too Human trilogy worth the wait?

    Too Human starts with a rather stylish intro video that throws you into the tech flaired world of Too Human. You are Baldur, son of odin and resident of Asgard. As an Aesir it's your job to protect humanity from the machines that plague the modern world. Without much fanfare you are thrust into the first level of the game and meet your first machine.

    The world of Too Human is extremly well realized. The blend of Norse mythology and Cyber technology is surprisingly well utilized and lends itself to the best part of game, the story. As Baldur you must hunt down the robot GRNDL. Of course the story doesn't end at GRNDL and soon begins to lead you toward your ultimate enemy Loki. Unfortunatly the story is just set up for the now defunct Too Human trilogy and thus feels like the opening to a story that will never be finished. In the end it is a well told story accompanied by stylish cutscenes and solid voice acting.

    The meat of the game is of course the gameplay. You choose between 5 playable classes that each empasize a certain playstyle (i.e. rushing, tanking, healing, etc.) No matter what you choose you will end up using a combo of melee weapons and guns to dispatch your foes. Your melee weapon is assigned to the right stick which will be used to slide towards enemies for basic melee attacks or to pop them up for a quick air combo. The choice of the right stick as your melee simultainiously works well and frustrates. It seems somewhat randomly Baldur will not slide corrctly or will end up targeting an enemy you don't want it to. Guns will help you thin out the horde before they descend upon and do there job well, but once again you will encouter some fairly janky targeting that could leave you out in the cold. Also at your disposal are ruiners which are essentialy AoE power moves that are useful for getting out of a tight spot or taking out a large group of enemies. Too bad the level design and enemy types completly ruin the experience. Most of your battles consist of large waves of machines that can either be rushers or long range spammers. Enemies take a surprising amount of punishment and also frequently come with exploding, poison, and freezing death AoEs that can severly screw you up. It seems like the game sometimes sets you up for failure as when you die you just come back with all the enemies at the same health as they were before. The only punishment you get is an infuriating 20 second cutscene of a valkyrie descending from the heavens and carrying you up to valhalla. It's cool at first but after 2 or 3 deaths you'll switch from mild interest to anger. For a loot driven game its surprising that the developer would make the game so difficult. Loot driven games are known to be kind of mindless but in Too Human you die so frequently you start to lose interest. Not to mention you'll be wrestling the camera constantly. The only thing that make it bearable is the fact that left bumper will center the camera, expect to be hammering that alamost as much as your melee attacks.

    Graphically, Too Human is the definition of mediocre and would probably fit in as an Xbox 360 launch title. On top of that the framerate is prone to chopiness and glitches are frequent. Sometimes enemies will suddenly stop moving or even become invisible. I personally lost about 10 minutes to an unopenable door which was only solved by reloading the game. Artistically the game remains consistent with it's sci-fi vibe with solid charecter design and and consistent enviorments. Too Human is a flawed game that tried to create a new style loot grind and failed spectacularly. The only somewhat reedeming quality of the game is it's narrative and even that isn't specatcular, just well told. The game itself is a boring grind punctuated by an annoying death animation and absolutly absymal camera control. With only four levels and about 10 hours of gameplay in the main story the game will end fairly adbruptly and leave you hanging with only the grind of the same 4 levels for mostly useless loot to keep you going. When I finished this game I didn't feel any accomplishment, I only felt like I wasted 10 hours of my life.

    Presentation: 7
    Gameplay: 3
    Value: 6

    Overall: 5.1
    Expand
  24. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Hands-down, one of the greatest RPG games ever published. This the community got so psyched for a second game, only to be let down. (Please make that second game)
  25. CollinL.
    Sep 19, 2008
    7
    Too human is a weird mixed bag of really fun action RPG gameplay and a lot of frustrating, tedious action RPG gameplay. The RPG mechanics are quit addicting and fun though.
  26. NickF
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    It seems as if most ratings for this game were done with little actual play. I haven't spent over 50 hours playing this game and I have only enjoyed it the more I played it. Yes the controls are not in a standard layout. Having said that, once the gamer actually puts the time in to actually learn the control scheme, it becomes a dream to handle. Leveling up is not overly complicated It seems as if most ratings for this game were done with little actual play. I haven't spent over 50 hours playing this game and I have only enjoyed it the more I played it. Yes the controls are not in a standard layout. Having said that, once the gamer actually puts the time in to actually learn the control scheme, it becomes a dream to handle. Leveling up is not overly complicated yet still provides some tough choices for the player as to what direction they wish to take their character. Admittedly, knowing some Old Norse mythology will really help people to understand the direction the game is taking. Also, if the player sits through the initial developer screens they will be greeted with an excellent cinematic depicting a very important piece of the story puzzle. I myself missed it until I left the room on start up and came back to find this gorgeous scene occurring. My only complaint was the camera system. While the camera can be controlled via the D-pad, certain areas cause the camera to be stolen away from the players control in an attempt to create a more cinematic effect during certain battle scenes. Often, this camera angle is not conducive to properly controlling the character. All in all, the game is excellent, especially after the first play through, using your well leveled character through the next run. Expand
  27. AnthonyR
    Jan 3, 2010
    1
    Well for one I didnt need to actually start playing the game to see the actual dullness of the game. The cinematics were really choppy and it lacked any realism like the scene where the main character is closing in on the mechanical beast with his sword in the bar...the graphics looked first grade. It was really dissapointing how your A.I. were completely and uterly useless..only thing Well for one I didnt need to actually start playing the game to see the actual dullness of the game. The cinematics were really choppy and it lacked any realism like the scene where the main character is closing in on the mechanical beast with his sword in the bar...the graphics looked first grade. It was really dissapointing how your A.I. were completely and uterly useless..only thing they were good for were the couple of funny comments they made but thats it. the combat system is way too complicated for being so simple. also all the inventory system was just way to complicated to actually deal with..it seems to me thats where they focused all their energy making the game. The controls are slow and the storyline seems to go in to many different places...not to mention its not very captivating. I only give it a 1 because a friend of mine competes with me for achievement points and this game helped me catch up finally. Like I said..I wouldnt even rent this game..borrow it from a friend and you will thank me later. Expand
  28. JoeW.
    Aug 12, 2008
    0
    Rubbish. Complete rubbish. 10 years and 3 platforms and this game is only mediocre.
  29. JackO.
    Aug 18, 2008
    1
    Do not recommend. Definitely pass on this one unless you're desperate for an exclusive game and you're a fanboy who champions immature system wars. Terrible camera, weak story, and crappy gameplay don't make a good game.
  30. JohnT.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Too Human is a fantastic addition to Silicon Knights epic lineup, and an addictive must-have for an action-RPG fan.
  31. MasJ.
    Aug 19, 2008
    4
    LOL. Makes you wonder what they were doing during those 10 years it was in production. Now that it is out and has been panned by all reviewers, at least we won't have to read anymore interviews from the developer anymore about their views on the gaming industry and life in general (hopefully).
  32. RorkrorM.
    Aug 19, 2008
    0
    This game is really bad, completely buggy. Worthless.
  33. CaraC.
    Aug 21, 2008
    0
    this game is completely worthless... almost everything about it sucks, except for the diablo like system it is shite... don't bother bying renting oir bargaining this game, absolute waste of my time
  34. NoelH.
    Aug 20, 2008
    8
    If the Diablo series, Titan Quest, or World of Warcraft appeals to you, then there is much fun to be found with this title. The control scheme takes a bit of adjustment, but it makes sense in no time. I have no regrets about buying this game.
  35. TheDank
    Aug 22, 2008
    8
    This game doesn't deserve the poor reviews it's been receiving. It's highly playable! Sure there are issues but none of which make the game unplayable. Most reviews claim it is repetitive. Well I've got news for you all! Every game out there in some way or form is repetitive in nature for instance; Doom 3, Halo 3, Gears of War, Resistance Fall of Man, Metal Gear Solid This game doesn't deserve the poor reviews it's been receiving. It's highly playable! Sure there are issues but none of which make the game unplayable. Most reviews claim it is repetitive. Well I've got news for you all! Every game out there in some way or form is repetitive in nature for instance; Doom 3, Halo 3, Gears of War, Resistance Fall of Man, Metal Gear Solid 4, etc. have some degree of repetitiveness. Here is an example Don't get me wrong these are all great games thou. In the end I agree Too Human is not perfect but I really did enjoy and have fun playing this game. It was fun watching Baldur's transformation with each upgrade made towards a cyber-god badass. Expand
  36. JohnH.
    Aug 20, 2008
    9
    Don't believe the anti-hype this is a solid game. It breaks the mold of pigeon hole gaming and does it quite well. Take time to get acquainted with the controls and you'll have a blast.
  37. KevinA.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    Simply, amazing. This game is getting unfairly reviewed by the press who are all afraid to give it high marks...try comparing it to Mass Effect. That game had a billion technical flaws...and still got huge review scores. This game was clearly treated differently and was punished for no good reason.
  38. JonB
    Aug 28, 2008
    8
    If you enjoyed Diablo and it's clones and you like a bit of Norse mythology I'd recommend checking this out despite the reviews. I have a feeling the complaints levelled at the game may have come from reviewers that failed to master the funky controls. This game is clearly intended for the more hard core gamers that will take the time to master it's controls and learn the If you enjoyed Diablo and it's clones and you like a bit of Norse mythology I'd recommend checking this out despite the reviews. I have a feeling the complaints levelled at the game may have come from reviewers that failed to master the funky controls. This game is clearly intended for the more hard core gamers that will take the time to master it's controls and learn the strategies needed to deal with the various enemies without taking a Valkyrie ride to Valhalla. So far (I'm in to the 2nd chapter) I haven't had any major issues with the camera. Most of the time I'm sliding around a battlefield and don't really need to "see" my target on screen if I know they are there I move the controller in their direction and slide right to them. My only complaint would be that I HAVE to use ranged attacks at various points. Of course if I ever master the ranged melee attack that may not be such an issue and I understand they need to balance the game for those that actually want to play a ranged character. All in all I'll be playing it through at least once and can see some replay with different classes and some online co-op in my future. Expand
  39. DaveR.
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    Excellent game, albeit a bit short - I don't know where the bad reviews are coming from.
  40. ChrisT
    Sep 15, 2008
    3
    This game is quite a disappointment and not really worth your money. There's no 4 player co-op, the actual game is only about 7-8 hours long in terms of storyline and the game's camera system is obnoxious. There's only about 8-10 hours of gameplay here and the game has quite a few bugs and other blemishes like the unintuitive menu system. Give it a pass or rent it instead, This game is quite a disappointment and not really worth your money. There's no 4 player co-op, the actual game is only about 7-8 hours long in terms of storyline and the game's camera system is obnoxious. There's only about 8-10 hours of gameplay here and the game has quite a few bugs and other blemishes like the unintuitive menu system. Give it a pass or rent it instead, maybe the developers will put some actual effort into the sequel. It's hard to believe they spent 5+ years making this game, it feels like a game that was meant for the developers to play instead of their customers. There's so many little annoyances that just pile up and the ridiculous lack of variety in the environment is almost offensive. When people talk about dumbed down console titles, they're really referring to Too Human. Expand
  41. gk
    Sep 2, 2008
    8
    The story could use some work. And the camera is is a bit wonky. But the depth of this game...from its controls to combos to leveling to customization is pretty unbelievable. I got 10 hours into the game before I realized the potential of how cool and fun this game actually is. Because I didn't take the time to read & understand how to do everything. But once I did, wow! I am The story could use some work. And the camera is is a bit wonky. But the depth of this game...from its controls to combos to leveling to customization is pretty unbelievable. I got 10 hours into the game before I realized the potential of how cool and fun this game actually is. Because I didn't take the time to read & understand how to do everything. But once I did, wow! I am enjoying the hell out of it. I feel as though some of the press didn't take the time to truly get it either. It's a shame really. Expand
  42. AnonymousMC
    Sep 5, 2008
    4
    I was one of the few people not bashing this game before it came out. I was actually looking forward to this for a long time. Unfortunately, the bashers, while they spoke for all the wrong reasons, were right. As much as I wanted to like it, this game simply isn't much fun to play. The premise seems intriguing, but nothing really delivers. The much-lauded story is cheesy and handledI was one of the few people not bashing this game before it came out. I was actually looking forward to this for a long time. Unfortunately, the bashers, while they spoke for all the wrong reasons, were right. As much as I wanted to like it, this game simply isn't much fun to play. The premise seems intriguing, but nothing really delivers. The much-lauded story is cheesy and handled very clumsily, despite the interesting cyber-Norse mythology setting. The character animations lack polish and the models look horrible up close. In fact, except for the presence of the required shiny next-gen textures and the large environments, this game looks like it could have come out on the first Xbox without losing much. The meat of the game, the combat, just feels and looks stupid and unsatisfying. You just move the right analog stick and float from enemy to enemy, flailing clumsily. You can literally play it with your feet and succeed! You could argue that hack-and-slash games never have deep combat, but this one tries hard to be an action game and it fails miserably. What's more, the cybernet-hopping environmental "puzzles" are uninteractive and poorly implemented, not amounting to anything more than a tedious walk and a button-press. Basically everything that was supposed to be a draw for this game is lame, with the sole exception of the art style and the loot. The only way I can see someone really enjoying this is if they're unexperienced gamers and simply don't know any better, or are just plain deluded. Any level-headed gamer wouldn't waste their time with this. You've got bigger and better fish to fry, guys. Expand
  43. MarcusW.
    Sep 8, 2008
    9
    Best co op on 360, wish it was 4 players though. And why the hell does metacritic include garbage reviewers like destructoid on their list? This game should average 7/0 at least.
  44. ColinM
    Aug 22, 2009
    0
    Terrible terrible game which may, as many say, may start being fun after several play throughs. I for one hope I never find out as it would mean playing this terrible game again. The story is dull, the controls sloppy, the auto-aim points totally in the wrong direction, the camera works against you, you get powerups from juggling enermies not just killing them - stupid, and the unbalanced Terrible terrible game which may, as many say, may start being fun after several play throughs. I for one hope I never find out as it would mean playing this terrible game again. The story is dull, the controls sloppy, the auto-aim points totally in the wrong direction, the camera works against you, you get powerups from juggling enermies not just killing them - stupid, and the unbalanced game play of 1000's of enermies vs you with inferior weapons (when you die, you lose armor/weapon power - it makes it harder) just makes for a miserable experience. A bit of play testing (maybe an 11th year?) could have made it a great game, I find it hard to believe that they didn't even make an average game (hack and slash isn't that hard to do), it has to take some misunderstood genius to make a game this bad. I found it to be 16 hours of frustration and shouting at the TV. I used my real life to be escapism for this game and I award this the worst game I have played on the 360. Expand
  45. nathang
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    I have loved everything silicon knights has put out and this is no exception. The go out on a limb to create something with good stories and personality and all people can do is say its no Diablo. I, frankly am very thankful its not. Diablo was boring. The only fault is having to wait every time you die.
  46. WaitingforSomethinggrand
    Jul 25, 2008
    9
    Solid demo and first in a trilogy. How long has it taken for any company to even approach a game such as Too Human on any console. SK knights took a chance and I hope it pays off in platinum. Loot, frentic combat, skills, upgrades, Co-Op and an interesting story. Try it.. you might like it.
  47. JustinP.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Awesome game
  48. JoshJ.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    Great and new experience on the 360. Graphics are good, the colors are vibrant, and the game has so much depth and gameplay it will last you at least 50 hours.
  49. lullikasp.
    Aug 13, 2008
    1
    This game is quite poo. From the demo perspective at least.
  50. LesB.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    Man it is a good game but really has it's flaws hopefully SK fixes them on TH2 and that game blows this one out of the water, still enjoying it though.
  51. JamesM.
    Aug 19, 2008
    8
    Not a great game but still a very good one. Too bad it's getting a bad rep from all the stupid internet hate. A lot of people may miss out on this game because of it.
  52. TimothyC.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    People are to hard on this game. the 360 has nothing like it so far and is a very nice game. I found no problem with the targeting system , i think people who have a problem with it need to invest some time into LEARNING how to play this game. This game is about leveling up and collecting kick ass loot and building a toon. Story should be minimal anyways like in D2.
  53. TomL.
    Aug 19, 2008
    3
    Game sucks,many bugs/glitches and boring.
  54. FrankA
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Innovative dungeon crawl with multiple play styles and plentiful loot. And best of all plenty of "who wants some" moments.
  55. DanM
    Aug 21, 2008
    3
    I played for about 8 hours over two days but couldn't keep going. The camera made gameplay difficult to follow and the story was just unbelievably corny. Graphics were great, I got to give it that, but the game just doesn't hold a candle to many great ones out there. I have already traded it in
  56. dudedugan
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    To all the people who dont get it, your loss! this game is great, its basically a 3D Diablo II meets WOW for the action RPG gamer, great fun and I havent even finished the game yet, I dove headlong into Co-op with a pal and we played 4.5 hours and had a blast
  57. YuniB.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    awesome game, it's very addictive. some of the so called 'pro' reviews are a joke, i don't think they even played it for more than 2 hours. the game is a blast!!!!
  58. ZaneB.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    Everyone needs to give this game a chance, it is pure genius! Trust the camera, and it will work well, spend half an hour playing and the combat is smooth and well controlled, the best part is the LOOT!!!!
  59. AlekX.
    Aug 20, 2008
    9
    A very solid action RPG with a difficult to learn, but fun combat system. Don't expect this game to dazzle you with its narrative though, because the story is pretty darn bad.
  60. JohnO.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    I have just beat the game with a Champion and this is by far one of if not the best game I've played this year.
  61. Scott
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    It seems to me that some of the ratings on here are from people who haven't really played the game. It's got some problems (learn to love your left bumper), but the gameplay is actually really good. The monsters do attack in similar basic ways which isn't necessarily repetitive- diablo did the same. Also, in most areas the melee mobs are mixed up w/ranged so you have to It seems to me that some of the ratings on here are from people who haven't really played the game. It's got some problems (learn to love your left bumper), but the gameplay is actually really good. The monsters do attack in similar basic ways which isn't necessarily repetitive- diablo did the same. Also, in most areas the melee mobs are mixed up w/ranged so you have to prioritize threats. The melee will swarm you if you aren't good at managing your space to get to the ranged. They did a nice job of forcing you to bounce between ranged and melee attacks too (at least if you are doing it right). Because you are constantly trying to move and open up space, the combat doesn't feel repetitive to me. It feels really awesome to chain slides and juggles together to do damage to several mobs then pop a ruiner. If you let them swarm you and you just swing the RS around, ya it's boring (and you'll see the Valkyrie animation alot. This game is all about controlling your space- and that's a cool and different dynamic. Ya, I guess you can call me a fan-boy. Because I like the game. Expand
  62. GarretJ.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    it has flaws but the fun factor is off the charts A loot me up worth playing as a SP but MP is where it shines Try the demo first, play it twice. Then decide (Berserker all the way).
  63. BartJ
    Aug 22, 2008
    9
    No its not worth a nine but it also isn't worth the low score that others have put down. This game is simply a blast with a friend especially if you like Diablo 2. Huge amount of armour, weapons etc. Controls are innovative and great once you take the time to learn them. Repetitive? What game isn't? This game is truly a gem and needs to be given a chance.
  64. JohnS.
    Aug 22, 2008
    2
    Just play through the demo four times and save your money.
  65. MarkV.
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    Basically this is gaming crack for me. I will play though it for a while and then pull it back out from time to time to level my guys up even further. A great game to just pull out at any give time and just go on a rampage.
  66. DanG.
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    imagine the combat of God of War mixed with the upgrade abilities on Bioshock x3 and you have a glimpse of what this game has to offer. You are in total control of the way Baldur deals out damage to enemies. The different classes and the amount of customization means that each playthrough will be totally unique. The only shortcoming to me was that when you die a cut scene keeps you from imagine the combat of God of War mixed with the upgrade abilities on Bioshock x3 and you have a glimpse of what this game has to offer. You are in total control of the way Baldur deals out damage to enemies. The different classes and the amount of customization means that each playthrough will be totally unique. The only shortcoming to me was that when you die a cut scene keeps you from getting right back into the action. Maybe a downloadable patch could fix this. I was very impressed by the quality and effort that was put into this game. Expand
  67. DaveM
    Aug 23, 2008
    9
    Not really sure what game people have been playing who've given this such terrible scores & reviews. I think it's a blast -- sure, it's not perfect, but I have fun playing it, and that's all I really care about in the end.
  68. ChrisR.
    Aug 23, 2008
    1
    Terrible terrible game! practically unplayable. camera angles were bad. glitches and bugs everywhere. I want my money back!!!!!!
  69. RickS
    Aug 23, 2008
    3
    Borrowed the game, and yes it sucks, not badly justs sucks. The game tries to be Devil May Cry with Lord of the rings,Star Wars and somewhat final fantasy thrown in. Now stand alone those games are really amazing, put them together and you get crap that is Too Human. The only reason i gave this a 3 is for the leveling up system(like it and kinda hate it), other than that it's a Borrowed the game, and yes it sucks, not badly justs sucks. The game tries to be Devil May Cry with Lord of the rings,Star Wars and somewhat final fantasy thrown in. Now stand alone those games are really amazing, put them together and you get crap that is Too Human. The only reason i gave this a 3 is for the leveling up system(like it and kinda hate it), other than that it's a confusing mess. The story is taken way too seriously(mythology) and its very cut up, the gameplay can at times be good then new enemies come to the mix and it gets dumbed down, just damn near BORING, i am NOT gonna be playing 2 more games with the this title, message to Silicon Knights, stick to something, please, either give me a good story line, or music, or controls, or a better hack n slash gameplay for part 2. Because it's obvious you can't pull off any of the above. Just seems to me too many people had a say in the game. Casual gamers might like it, but i'v played way better games in this genre. At times(very few) Too Human can be fast paced fun, but you get these long stops of stupid pieces of equipment(looting), the terrible story and weird combat, nothing in this game flows. Nothing. Expand
  70. JorgeM.
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    This game does not deserve 6s or 7s. It has some flaws, but once you get a feel for the controls, is a blast! It's one of the most addicting games I have played.
  71. JohnTenerek
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    Only played for a few hours, but I really like this game. Gets better when u upgrade skills and gears. Lots of fun to be had in the fighting and the game looks great. Stable good fps so far. The game has a interesting mix of the old Norse myth and modern world, even future tech. Cannot understand why some official sites etc give this game a far worse score then games like spiderman, hulk etc
  72. DEMODEMO
    Aug 26, 2008
    3
    Only played the Demo and found the demo so bad that i have avoided the rest of the game. Controls , Camera and gameplay are all terrible, and i guess that this has been carried into the full product.
  73. JenM.
    Aug 20, 2008
    2
    How is it that this game got such a high score. 68 for a game with repetitive game play, lousy graphics and poor QC. Don't bother with this one if you must then either rent it or wait for the bargains.
  74. AndrewP.
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    A few issues and out of date production values keep this title from being a bold new take on the Action/RPG dungeon crawler. The story is an inventive re-imagining of Norse Myth and the Right Stick combat keeps simple button mashing combat akin to the well received Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance series from approaching the normal tedium. Deep item customization options, skill trees and A few issues and out of date production values keep this title from being a bold new take on the Action/RPG dungeon crawler. The story is an inventive re-imagining of Norse Myth and the Right Stick combat keeps simple button mashing combat akin to the well received Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance series from approaching the normal tedium. Deep item customization options, skill trees and 5 classes allow various approaches to slaughtering mass enemies in the quest for better loot. Expand
  75. JustinC
    Aug 27, 2008
    5
    A forgettable, nonsensical story, gameplay as repetitive as it gets, graphics utterly unacceptable for this late in the console's life cycle, a flaccid facade of RPG elements, and the frustrating lack of a RUN button left this game as a massive pile of "meh."
  76. KevF
    Aug 28, 2008
    9
    great game no way does it deserve a 1! people hype games up too much expecting greatness and are disappointed because it isn't one of the best if u don't expect greatness this game excels.
  77. PaulW.
    Aug 29, 2008
    10
    it may not be the most original game, but the story really drag you into the action, and so far having spent a whole day playing the game, I haven't got bored with it at all, in fact i cant wait to finish work and get back to the action.
  78. NigelT.
    Aug 30, 2008
    4
    For the first time ever the press reviews are actually more accurate than the user reviews, thats weird. Why? Maybe they are trying to justify the fact that they pre-ordered and paid 60$ for a game that is garbage. Controls are dismal, Ape Escape on PSX had a better approach than this. Storyline iscliche to say the least. Someone compaired this to Mass Effect saying it got rated unfairly, For the first time ever the press reviews are actually more accurate than the user reviews, thats weird. Why? Maybe they are trying to justify the fact that they pre-ordered and paid 60$ for a game that is garbage. Controls are dismal, Ape Escape on PSX had a better approach than this. Storyline iscliche to say the least. Someone compaired this to Mass Effect saying it got rated unfairly, and Mass Effect got praised. Sure, Mass Effect also had glitches. BUT Mass Effect also had an amazing storyline, interactive dialoge, deep RPG elements, and not to mention 100+ hours of play time. Thank God I have the Blockbuster game pass and didn't pay for this media hyped, I think I might go trade this back in for Mass Effect. Expand
  79. MichaelD
    Aug 30, 2008
    5
    An average game. It has an interesting control sceme at first. Soon though you will realize that theres not too much to it and its quite boring. Its a machine sci-fi... staring at the same bunch of machines with different colors just plain sucks. Then the maps are just as boring, creating a walk three feet fight, walk three feet fight scenario. Singleplayer and it's story are just An average game. It has an interesting control sceme at first. Soon though you will realize that theres not too much to it and its quite boring. Its a machine sci-fi... staring at the same bunch of machines with different colors just plain sucks. Then the maps are just as boring, creating a walk three feet fight, walk three feet fight scenario. Singleplayer and it's story are just bad. Multiplayer is this games only saving grace. It's actually kinda fun with a friend, sadly it's only one friend which limits so much. If they dont add a ton of depth to the other games in the trilogy, (if they even make them) this franchise started four feet down the other two feet will be quick. Expand
  80. BenoitR.
    Aug 9, 2008
    9
    After Ten Years of Dev Too Human finally became an instant classic. In a Way only PSO on dreamcast and Diablo II on PC made it, that's the perfect choice for hack and slash / rpg fan, with a lot of packed action, deep gameplay, deep customization and strong story. The minus goes for the camera which need time to get used too, and the coop which is for now on with only two players. After Ten Years of Dev Too Human finally became an instant classic. In a Way only PSO on dreamcast and Diablo II on PC made it, that's the perfect choice for hack and slash / rpg fan, with a lot of packed action, deep gameplay, deep customization and strong story. The minus goes for the camera which need time to get used too, and the coop which is for now on with only two players. Must buy anyway. Expand
  81. CameronP.
    Sep 17, 2008
    5
    I really enjoyed the gameplay, that is, the controls and figuration were fun. However, I felt very bored and confused by the storyline and that ruined the game for me.
  82. PaulG.
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    Its not perfect obviously but you have to look at it for what it is most people don't like it because its to short but its not about the stories length its essentially trying to be a diablo 2 type game and if you play diablo 2 currently you can beat the game with someone helping you in 5 to 10 minutes yet it is still one of the most popular games around. So please do not look at this Its not perfect obviously but you have to look at it for what it is most people don't like it because its to short but its not about the stories length its essentially trying to be a diablo 2 type game and if you play diablo 2 currently you can beat the game with someone helping you in 5 to 10 minutes yet it is still one of the most popular games around. So please do not look at this to be similar to wow or mass effect its not and its not trying to be. Expand
  83. RikC
    Sep 26, 2008
    8
    The controls seem irritating and unnatural at first but after a short play you realise they are quite simple. I think this game was unnecessarily slammed by critics, who have some good points but didn't seem to want to like the game. It's much more action and not so much RPG and VERY fast paced, it's held my attention longer then GTA IV.
  84. BeckyC
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    To whoever said those that like it are only saying that to justify the price they paid: behave. I love the game and think it is a 'Marmite' game which is either loved or hated. I love the upgrading element and the controls are fine; in fact they add to the experience. Big battles are satisfying because you can move the stick around to go between the baddies. This is more fun To whoever said those that like it are only saying that to justify the price they paid: behave. I love the game and think it is a 'Marmite' game which is either loved or hated. I love the upgrading element and the controls are fine; in fact they add to the experience. Big battles are satisfying because you can move the stick around to go between the baddies. This is more fun than if it had been a button bashing control scheme. The camera can be frustrating on the more difficult levels so I hope this gets rectified for the sequels. Expand
  85. LyleB.
    Sep 6, 2008
    8
    I really am struggling to understand how jaded many of my former favorite critics have become. This is a great game. Yep it has flaws like stiff acting and it's balancing can be frustrating at times but sheesh - It's a blast to play. If you like RPG's you really should check it out. Building the ultimate Baldur is very entertaining.
  86. AB
    Sep 7, 2008
    9
    I am appalled by the lack of professionalism shown by so called 'professional' reviewers. I didn't realise what a pathetic bunch of fanboys they really are. What a joke. Go get a real qualification and learn how to be objective - if you've ever even heard of the word. Too Human is a good game. Difficulty scaling might mean that there are no simple runs to be had, but I am appalled by the lack of professionalism shown by so called 'professional' reviewers. I didn't realise what a pathetic bunch of fanboys they really are. What a joke. Go get a real qualification and learn how to be objective - if you've ever even heard of the word. Too Human is a good game. Difficulty scaling might mean that there are no simple runs to be had, but what ever happened to rising to the challenge of games with some level of difficulty? The game is not broken. The combat is not broken. The story is good and will get better. The professional reviews are a joke and a travesty. Expand
  87. MarkF.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, just trying to collect the weapons and armour will keep me going for ages and the combat never gets boring.
  88. VicVicious
    Sep 7, 2008
    9
    I wanted to add my 2 cents just because I've been looking forward to Too Human for so long. I'm a bad news good news type of guy so let's get the bad news out of the way first..The camera is not always your friend. I understand that the camera is supposed to be an afterthought to the player but it isn't, I found myself frequently pressing the LB during combat to I wanted to add my 2 cents just because I've been looking forward to Too Human for so long. I'm a bad news good news type of guy so let's get the bad news out of the way first..The camera is not always your friend. I understand that the camera is supposed to be an afterthought to the player but it isn't, I found myself frequently pressing the LB during combat to orientate myself with enemies that were offscreen attacking me from long range, so while for a good 85% of the time the camera does a good job of keeping melee enemies in sight the other 15% was filled with offscreen missiles/arrows depleting my heath and causing great tirades of pissedness when I died. Next, being tactical does not always equal success. In Too Human there are sections where just brute offense will flat out get you killed in seconds... so it usually helps to survey the battlefield and find out what enemies need to be exterminated first to ensure success, but even when you do all that you can to wade through the waves of enemies in a certain fashion you can still die from one wrong roll or juggle which I think is pretty harsh seeing as how many enemies can be thrown at you at a time...which leads me to the next bad news. This game is easy to pick up but yet difficult to fully understand(initially) what type of power you have at your disposal, most players for the first 5-10 hours are sloshing through Too Human without really knowing what everything in their arsenal/armory does. To this day I have no idea how Strength or Dexterity help my character... could I go on the internet and find out, sure I could.. should I have to do that..no I shouldn't. Silicon Knights developed Too Human knowing that there is an audience that is already familiar with these type of terms and statuses but forgot to include some sort of explanation for the average Joe that explains these details, I figure they could have added an index in game or to the instruction manual to at least give players a reference point. So with the bad news out of the way, onto the good news... Once you have an understanding of what Too Human is and how you go about playing it, it's a blast. Most people that found the combat mundane or died frequently probably are still going through the initially learning curve that comes with Too Human (dual stick combat, battling the camera, waves of "smart" enemies), for them I say THINK, if you do not think of what you need to do in the game you will not find it fun at all because you'll be watching the Valkyrie pick your dead carcass up all too frequently. The game is a challenge, and it takes a bit to figure out enemy strengths and weaknesses. I found the game challenging and cheap at times(freezing Troll snipers!!!) , but I always realized what I did wrong after I died. There is satisfaction in mowing down wave after wave of enemies switching from melee combat to fully automatic carnage and coming out with barely a scratch that does make you feel like Baldur is a demigod. I'm going on 60 hours of playing the game so far on my second character and find that now that I know what I'm doing the game isn't as daunting as it was initially. If you're skeptical about the game at least give it a try and rent it, it's action, RPG, and strategy all rolled into one game. Expand
  89. JosephB.
    Sep 8, 2008
    6
    I played the demo and it is WAY OVERHYPED! Most definitely not buying the full game.
  90. Allanl.
    Sep 9, 2008
    8
    This is an amazing Action-RPG game with a very addictive and fun gameplay ...This is a must have game for all fans of the genre...Don't miss it!
  91. WilliamC.
    Sep 9, 2008
    10
    It baffles me how a great game like Too Human, recieving an aggregate score of 65 on MC, can get a worse score than absolute tripe like Lost Planet gets a 79. Reviewers cited repetitive combat and glitchy aiming systems for Too Human, but Lost Planets featured 15 hours of ridiculous boredom while facing the same badly-rendered enemies over and over again, while desperately trying to aim It baffles me how a great game like Too Human, recieving an aggregate score of 65 on MC, can get a worse score than absolute tripe like Lost Planet gets a 79. Reviewers cited repetitive combat and glitchy aiming systems for Too Human, but Lost Planets featured 15 hours of ridiculous boredom while facing the same badly-rendered enemies over and over again, while desperately trying to aim with its horrible travesty of a better games targeting system. Sniping using the d-pad? Come on! Also, while Too Human has a fairly good storyline featuring a cybernetic counterpart to mythology, with great characters and voice acting to boot, Lost Planet is a jumbled mess of a game, with see-through, forgettable characters and a predictable, done-before story that makes games like Act Zero seem like jewel-studded masterpieces. Great job, critics, you've earned a rightful place in my mind as some of the most biased, unfair reviewers I've ever read from. Expand
  92. DavidB
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Great game! i have no idea what is with all these other reviewers, they are all biased. This game offers alot. Great combat, character customization, seemingly unlimited amounts of weapons, armor and runes to use. The game has great graphics, with well done movies, and a good story. I bought this game because it looked interesting, despite all these negative reviews i saw, i tried it and Great game! i have no idea what is with all these other reviewers, they are all biased. This game offers alot. Great combat, character customization, seemingly unlimited amounts of weapons, armor and runes to use. The game has great graphics, with well done movies, and a good story. I bought this game because it looked interesting, despite all these negative reviews i saw, i tried it and they were all wrong. Awsome game! My only complaint was in the first 30mins. The camera is new and funny and it made me go whoa! but after a while you get used to it and it seems 100% natural. So give this game a go! Expand
  93. DanB
    May 2, 2009
    8
    The learning curve is steep, as death is an all too frequent occurance. Made worse by the unskippable Valkyrie cinematic upon every demise. But the combat is addicting and customization and looting is a lot of fun. Muscling through is what I did in the beginning until my skills increased, and I developed a style of my own. The story and merging of Norse mythology with Technology is very The learning curve is steep, as death is an all too frequent occurance. Made worse by the unskippable Valkyrie cinematic upon every demise. But the combat is addicting and customization and looting is a lot of fun. Muscling through is what I did in the beginning until my skills increased, and I developed a style of my own. The story and merging of Norse mythology with Technology is very interesting. A second playthrough yields more fun as having the grip of the game is a plus. One suggestion SK, let me be able to outrun some of my enemies. Sometimes retreat is an option, but not really if I'm the slowest thing in the game! Expand
  94. ShaneP
    Jun 1, 2009
    0
    The entire game just seems poorly done. The finisher for me was the discovery that you could defeat the early enemies with your eyes closed by just rotating the analog stick in a circle (i'm serious, this works).
  95. AlastairM
    Sep 6, 2009
    8
    Takes a few minutes to get used to the controls and the camera, after that is out of the way it is a substantial and immersive game, and you rack up combo attacks intuitively so don't have any lasting issues. I think this game has had an excessively harsh ride from some people due to hype pre release and different controls.
  96. callums
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    i thought this was a great game from the the start to the finish. everything about it wanted you to carry on playing: the clips, the combat style, the enemies to deafeat!
  97. EddieO.
    Oct 16, 2008
    6
    Excellent graphics and movie scenes however not intuitive to master. Camera difficult to use. Not the best game I have played.
  98. ElliotI.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    You will either love/hate this game depending on what you like. I have played this game for 40+hours and continue to love it. This is a very involved game whose full potential is only realized after a few play-throughs. Good: The action is amazing. Character skill trees are well thought out. Loot system is very well thought out. Story and cut-scenes. Bad: No metal in a game about You will either love/hate this game depending on what you like. I have played this game for 40+hours and continue to love it. This is a very involved game whose full potential is only realized after a few play-throughs. Good: The action is amazing. Character skill trees are well thought out. Loot system is very well thought out. Story and cut-scenes. Bad: No metal in a game about futuristic vikings. UI design in the inventory management could have used some streamlining. Some minor camera and 3D quirk like enemies bugging and falling through the world. Charm quest inventory management slows down the game ALOT, as you can only have 2 active. Expand
  99. ThomasK.
    Jul 21, 2008
    9
    Just played the demo. The Controlls are very different and confusing first, but if you give this game a chance the seem to work pretty well after a few hours. Some litte FPS issues but the graphics and the overall style is nice.
  100. StuartM.
    Aug 13, 2008
    0
    I am giving this game WHICH HAS NOT BEEN RELEASED yet a zero to counter-balance all the fanboys giving it a 10. Metacritic, how can you allow people to rate games that are not even out yet? It seems very misleading.
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 80
  2. Negative: 9 out of 80
  1. 42
    Too Human is also not a good action game. While it deserves some applause for a reasonable translation of PC classic Diablo's mouse-driven controls, its reliance on the right analog stick as a means for attack only works at the most basic level.
  2. Too Human is about players sculpting their ideal killing machines. If you enjoy leveling and looting, it's worth a look. If you only have a moderate interest, Too Human's aggravating gameplay and irreparable plot won't deliver many thrills. [Sept 2008, p.104]
  3. If wading knee deep in the dead to get at a piece of armour that’s 5% better than what you’re currently wearing isn’t the kind of adventuring that excites you, then you’re in trouble, because Too Human is exactly this type of game. Kill, loot, compare, equip, repeat.