Too Human Xbox 360

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 463 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. gk
    Sep 2, 2008
    8
    The story could use some work. And the camera is is a bit wonky. But the depth of this game...from its controls to combos to leveling to customization is pretty unbelievable. I got 10 hours into the game before I realized the potential of how cool and fun this game actually is. Because I didn't take the time to read & understand how to do everything. But once I did, wow! I am The story could use some work. And the camera is is a bit wonky. But the depth of this game...from its controls to combos to leveling to customization is pretty unbelievable. I got 10 hours into the game before I realized the potential of how cool and fun this game actually is. Because I didn't take the time to read & understand how to do everything. But once I did, wow! I am enjoying the hell out of it. I feel as though some of the press didn't take the time to truly get it either. It's a shame really. Expand
  2. JamesM.
    Aug 19, 2008
    8
    Not a great game but still a very good one. Too bad it's getting a bad rep from all the stupid internet hate. A lot of people may miss out on this game because of it.
  3. FrankA
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Innovative dungeon crawl with multiple play styles and plentiful loot. And best of all plenty of "who wants some" moments.
  4. Scott
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    It seems to me that some of the ratings on here are from people who haven't really played the game. It's got some problems (learn to love your left bumper), but the gameplay is actually really good. The monsters do attack in similar basic ways which isn't necessarily repetitive- diablo did the same. Also, in most areas the melee mobs are mixed up w/ranged so you have to It seems to me that some of the ratings on here are from people who haven't really played the game. It's got some problems (learn to love your left bumper), but the gameplay is actually really good. The monsters do attack in similar basic ways which isn't necessarily repetitive- diablo did the same. Also, in most areas the melee mobs are mixed up w/ranged so you have to prioritize threats. The melee will swarm you if you aren't good at managing your space to get to the ranged. They did a nice job of forcing you to bounce between ranged and melee attacks too (at least if you are doing it right). Because you are constantly trying to move and open up space, the combat doesn't feel repetitive to me. It feels really awesome to chain slides and juggles together to do damage to several mobs then pop a ruiner. If you let them swarm you and you just swing the RS around, ya it's boring (and you'll see the Valkyrie animation alot. This game is all about controlling your space- and that's a cool and different dynamic. Ya, I guess you can call me a fan-boy. Because I like the game. Expand
  5. DanG.
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    imagine the combat of God of War mixed with the upgrade abilities on Bioshock x3 and you have a glimpse of what this game has to offer. You are in total control of the way Baldur deals out damage to enemies. The different classes and the amount of customization means that each playthrough will be totally unique. The only shortcoming to me was that when you die a cut scene keeps you from imagine the combat of God of War mixed with the upgrade abilities on Bioshock x3 and you have a glimpse of what this game has to offer. You are in total control of the way Baldur deals out damage to enemies. The different classes and the amount of customization means that each playthrough will be totally unique. The only shortcoming to me was that when you die a cut scene keeps you from getting right back into the action. Maybe a downloadable patch could fix this. I was very impressed by the quality and effort that was put into this game. Expand
  6. RikC
    Sep 26, 2008
    8
    The controls seem irritating and unnatural at first but after a short play you realise they are quite simple. I think this game was unnecessarily slammed by critics, who have some good points but didn't seem to want to like the game. It's much more action and not so much RPG and VERY fast paced, it's held my attention longer then GTA IV.
  7. LyleB.
    Sep 6, 2008
    8
    I really am struggling to understand how jaded many of my former favorite critics have become. This is a great game. Yep it has flaws like stiff acting and it's balancing can be frustrating at times but sheesh - It's a blast to play. If you like RPG's you really should check it out. Building the ultimate Baldur is very entertaining.
  8. Allanl.
    Sep 9, 2008
    8
    This is an amazing Action-RPG game with a very addictive and fun gameplay ...This is a must have game for all fans of the genre...Don't miss it!
  9. DanB
    May 2, 2009
    8
    The learning curve is steep, as death is an all too frequent occurance. Made worse by the unskippable Valkyrie cinematic upon every demise. But the combat is addicting and customization and looting is a lot of fun. Muscling through is what I did in the beginning until my skills increased, and I developed a style of my own. The story and merging of Norse mythology with Technology is very The learning curve is steep, as death is an all too frequent occurance. Made worse by the unskippable Valkyrie cinematic upon every demise. But the combat is addicting and customization and looting is a lot of fun. Muscling through is what I did in the beginning until my skills increased, and I developed a style of my own. The story and merging of Norse mythology with Technology is very interesting. A second playthrough yields more fun as having the grip of the game is a plus. One suggestion SK, let me be able to outrun some of my enemies. Sometimes retreat is an option, but not really if I'm the slowest thing in the game! Expand
  10. AlastairM
    Sep 6, 2009
    8
    Takes a few minutes to get used to the controls and the camera, after that is out of the way it is a substantial and immersive game, and you rack up combo attacks intuitively so don't have any lasting issues. I think this game has had an excessively harsh ride from some people due to hype pre release and different controls.
  11. Fred
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Slight balance issues with combat as the game tends to punish single players (you die a lot and the revive sequence is lenghty). Should probably be enjoyed in co-op. Otherwise it's a real treat for Diablo fans. Well executed.
  12. BuddyR.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    It's not great but it is still an enjoyable take on the hack and slash genre. The Devil May Cry like controls keep the action from getting too stale and if you're into building up your character and always searching for the next best armor or weapon, this game will be surprisingly addicting.
  13. Ovlov
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    No, it's not what we all hoped it could be, but does that mean it's horrible? Too Human is a deep game that requires time and despite outward appearances, skill, to master. The "simple" control scheme is anything but as you learn to string combos and time powerful moves. Sure, gameplay might be frustrating at times. It might have its buggy issues. The menus and models might be No, it's not what we all hoped it could be, but does that mean it's horrible? Too Human is a deep game that requires time and despite outward appearances, skill, to master. The "simple" control scheme is anything but as you learn to string combos and time powerful moves. Sure, gameplay might be frustrating at times. It might have its buggy issues. The menus and models might be very poorly designed and frustrating. The camera might get irritating just at the wrong moment. The story, previously presented as one of the best elements in the game, might be disjointed or ancillary to the gameplay. The fact remains; it isn't as bad as the bandwagon says. This game just couldn't live up to the hype and the hope of its onlookers. Play the demo without the backdrop of negativity and you just might find that what you read on the internet might just be wrong. Expand
  14. DaveL.
    Aug 20, 2008
    8
    Despite all the criticism and the lengthy development time, if you are into the Diablo style of game and dig a good story driven game(although online is where it really shines!) pick up Too Human!
  15. LawlL.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Through all the negativity, there is a very solid and intriguing game to be found here. If you are a fan of RPG's and Hack n' Slash, then this game is certainly for you. There are some issues that should have been fleshed out before release and the lack of enemies and other missing polish detracts from the experience.
  16. Mike
    Aug 22, 2008
    8
    This is a great Hack n Slash Dungeon crawler with plenty of replay and loot to make it worth going back to again and again. I don't understand how metacritic equates a C- to a 42. I think they are being bias. I think fans of hack n slash should at least check this game out. I can't wait to go back and play it some more.
  17. HowardS.
    Aug 22, 2008
    8
    Excellent dungeon crawler with a few interface flaws. All made up for by one o the best control schemes for a game of this type. Make no mistake, the core game-play is definitely here, and will allow anyone that enjoys dungeon crawls to overlook any of the interface pitfalls.
  18. ScottL.
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    Has some quirks but some very satisfying and fun gameplay.
  19. JeremyF.
    Aug 27, 2008
    8
    This is a very solid action/RPG. Camera issues can occasionally be frustrating, and it's definitely a game that rewards investment. That said, some of the major gripes from reviewers (death sequence and difficulty) were overstated. The death sequence takes about 20 seconds and actually replaces your load screen (you are instantly at the last save point after the death sequence), and This is a very solid action/RPG. Camera issues can occasionally be frustrating, and it's definitely a game that rewards investment. That said, some of the major gripes from reviewers (death sequence and difficulty) were overstated. The death sequence takes about 20 seconds and actually replaces your load screen (you are instantly at the last save point after the death sequence), and was actually LESS time consuming than the standard "Load game, select game, wait for load screen, etc." interface. The game is a little difficult at first, but not painfully so if you're smart enough to invest in some defensive capabilities. I died once every 16 minutes during my first run-through of the first act as a tank. After mastering the controls, I finished my 2nd run-through with an engineer and died once during the 1.5 hours of play time. I strongly suspect the reviewers that gave this game negative feedback played through as berserkers, didn't use the handy slide ability to avoid getting surrounded, and penalized the game for their own ineptitude. Expand
  20. Darren
    Aug 29, 2008
    8
    This game is good the combat and equipment collecting is really good, the story is clever the downside is some poor voice acting. The only major gripes are the camera and graphics which are nice but not great. Don't go by all the poor reviews make sure you try it out you might be surprised.
  21. JondeM.
    Aug 31, 2008
    8
    This game you will either hate or love. The game is pretty good old hack 'n slash. The norsk mythology -theme feels nice, but that's why the dialog may seem pretty bad from time to time. Controls and camera are weird, but you get used to them in a while. Graphics go from amazing to poor; some of the human characters don't seem to fit in with the rest of the graphics. All in This game you will either hate or love. The game is pretty good old hack 'n slash. The norsk mythology -theme feels nice, but that's why the dialog may seem pretty bad from time to time. Controls and camera are weird, but you get used to them in a while. Graphics go from amazing to poor; some of the human characters don't seem to fit in with the rest of the graphics. All in all, the game is a pretty solid product in every aspect - it doesn't do anything perfect but it's still an enjoyable game. Expand
  22. IR.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    Very fun game. Reminds me a bit of Champions of Norrath. The item collecting, fierce battles and different leveling trees are setup well. Seems a bit unpolished but once you get into it, you might find it hard to put down.
  23. AlexT.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    great game but not easy to undersand certain things with such weak surce material (booklet that comes with the game) what is a colour module? what does rupture do? do charms work when not in the questing slots. unfortunately too many questions and no answers. but if anyone says all the characters play the same obviously haven't played it or their just not skilled enough to play to great game but not easy to undersand certain things with such weak surce material (booklet that comes with the game) what is a colour module? what does rupture do? do charms work when not in the questing slots. unfortunately too many questions and no answers. but if anyone says all the characters play the same obviously haven't played it or their just not skilled enough to play to the strengths of a berserker, and think it's the same as a defender? Expand
  24. NicholasLong
    Sep 4, 2008
    8
    If you can get past the dying cheap deaths, wonky camera, and occasionally iffy controls, (and don't mind putting a lot into a game before getting much out of it) and like loot collecting this games for you. The cut scenes and story are skip-worthy, but this game is about the combat, and its usually pretty good.
  25. JP.
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    I've played the demo and loved every second of it. it just made me want more. if the game is half as good as that then it'll be great. I have mine reserved and will pick it up day one.
  26. PT
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    Enjoyable as a solid rental for those who aren't huge fans of RPG's and their loot and skill systems. For those who like that kind of thing, they may find this to be exactly what they were looking for. The story is solid and the audio is always excellent. The animation and camera could've used some more work, the problems are sometimes jarring. A few issues with targeting Enjoyable as a solid rental for those who aren't huge fans of RPG's and their loot and skill systems. For those who like that kind of thing, they may find this to be exactly what they were looking for. The story is solid and the audio is always excellent. The animation and camera could've used some more work, the problems are sometimes jarring. A few issues with targeting and balance between classes aside, the game is not terrible but not the A+ game a lot of people were hyped for. Still worth a solid rental and I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of people found themselves buying it afterward or at least renting it a couple more times. Expand
  27. bryang.
    Aug 18, 2008
    8
    Somehow I think meta critic should take another look at their scale for converting Letter grades to numbers. If you get a C- in school you by no means are failing... In regards to Too Human so far a good game and story is interesting. I like how they worked different terminology into how gods speak compared to how the humans speak as well as the heavy norse influence throughout the game. Somehow I think meta critic should take another look at their scale for converting Letter grades to numbers. If you get a C- in school you by no means are failing... In regards to Too Human so far a good game and story is interesting. I like how they worked different terminology into how gods speak compared to how the humans speak as well as the heavy norse influence throughout the game. An easy action game that is great when you just want to pick up and go even in a multiplayer(Co-op) game. No more 5 minutes staring at a halo 3 list of players screaming "veto!!!" only to have to wait another 2 minutes for the map to change. Expand
  28. JerryK.
    Aug 19, 2008
    8
    some people such as myself will love this game and it will be hard to walk away, while others will gripe and moan about the inconsistencies in the camera and the auto-targeting for the guns, but overall it is a game that is worth the cash
  29. revivedflash
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    this is just based no the demo. I loved it the first time through. I did not find the camera to be really bad and i had no problems with the controls. I agree that the whole death thing could be better. Dieing does not seem to really have that big of an impact as it could. Even with a few things like that i still enjoyed enough to buy this game.
  30. NathanielJ.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    What Too Human doesn't do: - Deliver EVERYTHING that was promised as expected - Offer another great 4-player multiplayer co-op experience - Run absolutely flawlessly (but then neither do a lot of the top scoring games these days either) - Do what everyone else has done before with new features or a new engine like so many other high scoring or "revolutionary" games What Too Human What Too Human doesn't do: - Deliver EVERYTHING that was promised as expected - Offer another great 4-player multiplayer co-op experience - Run absolutely flawlessly (but then neither do a lot of the top scoring games these days either) - Do what everyone else has done before with new features or a new engine like so many other high scoring or "revolutionary" games What Too Human does do: - Live up to ENOUGH of it's hype and promises to deliver not a work of art, but an excellent game that's familiar, but unique enough to feel new - Deliver a decent story with above average presentation (and beautiful music and good voice acting that almost nobody has mentioned) and an admirable fluidity to gameplay and story. - Give an excellent 2 player online co-op mode in a world where 2 player co-op is a dying breed of my childhood - Effectively blends Smash TV/Gaunlet, Devil May Cry, Diablo/Phantasy Star Online into an odd combination of gameplay that, despite a bit of a learning curve at first (and doesn't this always happen when you try something new?), is surprisingly smooth, unique despite it's familiar component parts and above all addictively fun. Too Human does not live up to all of it's promises and hype, but this fraction of it's supposed potential is still enough to make an above par game that combines old staples with some new ideas into a refreshing concoction. I think that this game is receiving a lot of bad press due to some of Dyack's more questionable crusading and because it's become the hip thing to rag on this game, but I think those of you who respect yourselves as critics, professional or not need to ask yourself have you been letting that bias you against what should be a review distilling simply the quality of this game and it's experience? Expand
  31. BenoitC.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    Very good game that's getting judged just a bit to harshly by many different outlets. It's a bit rough around the edges in some parts, but overall it's a very well done (and fun!) game.
  32. GaryG.
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    First off, Why all the hate for this game or Dennis Dyack? Now as for the game. Is it perfect? No. Is it a good game? IMO, Yes. I have have completed one complete playthrough and starting my second. It's an interesting mix of Diablo 2 and a FPS. A friend and I did a XBL co-op on the first day and it was a blast. Even when either of us died, we were enjoying the game(even the dead First off, Why all the hate for this game or Dennis Dyack? Now as for the game. Is it perfect? No. Is it a good game? IMO, Yes. I have have completed one complete playthrough and starting my second. It's an interesting mix of Diablo 2 and a FPS. A friend and I did a XBL co-op on the first day and it was a blast. Even when either of us died, we were enjoying the game(even the dead sequences, 'I'm dead. Time for a cup of coffee.' Yes, the controls are difficult to adapt to. Yes, the camera can be a bit wonky. I didn't notice any glitches wth enemies falling through the ground or anything like with my retail copy. As for the Story, I'm digging on the Norse-lite Mytholgy. The FIRST cutset, the one that plays before you hit start sets up the plotline for the game. Bottom line: Too Human is not a game for everyone. It's not a twitch FPS like Call of Duty 4. It's not a button masher like Devil May Cry 4. And It's not a RPG like Neverwinter Nights. It's something more and less than all of these. And for me, it worked. Expand
  33. mikes
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    Although some may find this game repetitive, i found it to be one of the most satisfying games I've played in a while. the campaigne is quite short, but the sheer amount of enemies that challenge you throughout the game are nearly infinite. if you enjoy being vastly out numbered, and running in like a madman swinging in all directions, seeing bodies fly everywhere. this is a game for Although some may find this game repetitive, i found it to be one of the most satisfying games I've played in a while. the campaigne is quite short, but the sheer amount of enemies that challenge you throughout the game are nearly infinite. if you enjoy being vastly out numbered, and running in like a madman swinging in all directions, seeing bodies fly everywhere. this is a game for you. hopefully the 2nd and 3rd will be a bit longer. but good none the less..... enjoy. Expand
  34. RyanD.
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    The controls take some getting used to but overall I've really enjoyed playing it.
  35. JonathanH
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    This Game Rocks! It's not perfect but if you like loot customizing your character and some intense battles you'll love it. This game really shines in Multiplayer , i would've liked to see at least 4 player co-op because it's just what this game needs. I look forward to the next 2 games. I'm sure this game will sale well, and people will seriously look at the This Game Rocks! It's not perfect but if you like loot customizing your character and some intense battles you'll love it. This game really shines in Multiplayer , i would've liked to see at least 4 player co-op because it's just what this game needs. I look forward to the next 2 games. I'm sure this game will sale well, and people will seriously look at the review system after it's all said and done. Expand
  36. JerryG
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    If your a fan of Champions of Norrath or Balder's Gate, you'll love this game. The combat is fun (once you get the hang of it) and the camera is fine (once you get the hang of it) The game does have its issues which is why l didn't give it a 9, but l'm completely hooked. Give it a shot and l think you'll enjoy the ride.
  37. AnonymousMC
    Sep 21, 2008
    8
    This game got a bad rap. Not a perfect game but a good game for those who like hack n slash dungeon crawler games. If your a fan of the console D&D games like BG Dark Alliance or Heroes you would probably enjoy this game. Good online co-op with the only draw back being it cuts out all the story elements and lets u just run around and level up and collect stuff. Fun game overall though justThis game got a bad rap. Not a perfect game but a good game for those who like hack n slash dungeon crawler games. If your a fan of the console D&D games like BG Dark Alliance or Heroes you would probably enjoy this game. Good online co-op with the only draw back being it cuts out all the story elements and lets u just run around and level up and collect stuff. Fun game overall though just not AAA. Expand
  38. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    Okay as you can see there are tonnes of good reviews and there is a reason for that. The game is good. I still play this game, and I pre-ordered it. Why should you get it? Firstly this game doesn't hold you hand in any way, you either have to work out what does what or look it up, kind of mad a refreshing change. The combat system is simple yet one of the most effective I have ever used,Okay as you can see there are tonnes of good reviews and there is a reason for that. The game is good. I still play this game, and I pre-ordered it. Why should you get it? Firstly this game doesn't hold you hand in any way, you either have to work out what does what or look it up, kind of mad a refreshing change. The combat system is simple yet one of the most effective I have ever used, and with practice you can cut you way through the multitude of enemies that gather on later levels. The story, should you play that mode, really sets the scene and you'll grow to like the chracters and enjoy their interactions. But this game stands out with the multiplayer, it's a shame that only 2 can play but that's enough and with the right classes side by side nothing will stand in your way. I worked in a game store at the release of the game, and most negative reviews came from those that couldn't play it and didn't understand the combat system.

    Don't listen to people, the menu's in game are easy to understand for anyone who plays RPGs or any other MMO style game, Crafting is easy but getting the right runes and such is where the fun lies. You'll be forever swapping to new weapons, trying out new armour and really crafting your character to your style of play. For a novice player you need to stay away from the beserker, they are a little squishy, but every other class is more than playable. Combat relies heavily on knowing who to kill first, going for the wrong target can cause death, take this from someone who has complete every level without dying. This game needs one play through of the demo to get it, and if you do you'll start to love it, if you don't get it then they'll be no enjoyment.

    Buy this game, it's dirt cheap and whilst very few people play it you can still get a coop game with a random on a regular basis.
    Expand
  39. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    It's a really fun game once you get a handle on the controls. It takes skill to figure them out and master them. The graphics are fine if you actually play games for the gameplay not pretty scenery. There are a few bugs, and team member AI leaves you alone in battle occasionally. It ends abruptly. All of that aside it's still a very enjoyable game. Sci-Fi dungeon crawler with aIt's a really fun game once you get a handle on the controls. It takes skill to figure them out and master them. The graphics are fine if you actually play games for the gameplay not pretty scenery. There are a few bugs, and team member AI leaves you alone in battle occasionally. It ends abruptly. All of that aside it's still a very enjoyable game. Sci-Fi dungeon crawler with a Nordic mythology twist pretty awesome concept. I would have rated it higher had it been longer I finished it in a day and a half. It felt much too short.

    Anyone who played anything along the lines of the original Resident Evil games will not have difficulty figuring out the controls and camera angles. It's actually quite easy.
    Expand
  40. May 30, 2013
    8
    If you don't like this game, that's fine. Just please give me a more compelling case than the controls were bad. Too Human is a nice refreshing game experience and very enjoyable. As I've said, people hate it because of the analog stick controls, but I think they're necessary because of how many combat type there are. Not to mention, it saves us from pulling up a menu to select our skillsIf you don't like this game, that's fine. Just please give me a more compelling case than the controls were bad. Too Human is a nice refreshing game experience and very enjoyable. As I've said, people hate it because of the analog stick controls, but I think they're necessary because of how many combat type there are. Not to mention, it saves us from pulling up a menu to select our skills from (Mass Effect). My only gripe with this game is it's really short for an RPG. But, it still has co-op so playing with a buddy is all the more entertaining. Bottom line, it's a great game and you should go and buy it. R.I.P Silicon Knights Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 80
  2. Negative: 9 out of 80
  1. 42
    Too Human is also not a good action game. While it deserves some applause for a reasonable translation of PC classic Diablo's mouse-driven controls, its reliance on the right analog stick as a means for attack only works at the most basic level.
  2. Too Human is about players sculpting their ideal killing machines. If you enjoy leveling and looting, it's worth a look. If you only have a moderate interest, Too Human's aggravating gameplay and irreparable plot won't deliver many thrills. [Sept 2008, p.104]
  3. If wading knee deep in the dead to get at a piece of armour that’s 5% better than what you’re currently wearing isn’t the kind of adventuring that excites you, then you’re in trouble, because Too Human is exactly this type of game. Kill, loot, compare, equip, repeat.