Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 440 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the Cybernetic God Baldur, you get thrust into the midst of an ongoing battle that threatens the existence of mankind. An ancient machine presence has forced the God’s hand. In the first of a three part trilogy, Baldur is charged with defending mankind from an onslaught of monstrous warAs the Cybernetic God Baldur, you get thrust into the midst of an ongoing battle that threatens the existence of mankind. An ancient machine presence has forced the God’s hand. In the first of a three part trilogy, Baldur is charged with defending mankind from an onslaught of monstrous war machines bent on eradication of human life. It takes more than brawn and raw strength to supplant the machine hordes. Utilize a sophisticated blend of seamless melee and firearms combat to vanquish foes close and far. Feel each punishing blow through advanced visual effects. Intuitive combat provides new level of accessibility: Perform Baldur’s elaborate and complex combat maneuvers through the press of a button and chain together rapid-fire combos with ease. Through the use of an intuitive combat system, Too Human provides gameplay that is easy to learn and rewarding to master and introduces combinations of weapons combat on a high level. The story chronicles the ongoing struggle between Cybernetic gods, machine giants and mortal men on a massive scale never before seen. Play the role of a cybernetic god charged with protecting the human race against a relentless onslaught of machines. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 80
  2. Negative: 9 out of 80
  1. The game is a triumph in everything it aims to do: an intriguing story, breathtaking cinematography and narrative, a unique and effective combat system, extensive customization options, and a meaningful concept.
  2. For every great idea, like low-penalty deaths that don’t force you to replay sections, there’s equally flawed ones, like the lush, alternate-reality cyberspace you occasionally visit for light puzzling, that would’ve best been left on the cutting room floor.
  3. People will either really love it or really hate it with the odd few sitting around the middle.
  4. In the end, the game really is just too human: flawed, ageing but with the potential to do great things.
  5. Nothing more than a standard hack n’ slash adventure. Glitches, poor A.I., and generic gameplay all contribute to Too Human lackluster showing.
  6. 60
    In short, I was left wanting to know more. The fact that you can start a new campaign with your character and continue to level him up didn't really entice me back into Too Human -- I want more story. To that end, I'm looking forward to the promised release of "Too Human 2."
  7. Maybe the idea was kind of clever, or you may have fun accidentally, but everything else is horrendous.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 208
  1. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Had this game for a while and all I can say is I cant believe this has such a low review score. I mean sure the game is a tad short but it isHad this game for a while and all I can say is I cant believe this has such a low review score. I mean sure the game is a tad short but it is set to be a trilogy so i understand why it would have a cliffhanger. I mean look at all the lord of the ring movies... all ended with cliffhangers before the final one. There are minor problems with the game like controls that are hard to learn without a tutorial (there isnt one in the game) and the in game death sequence should be skipable. However the game makes up for most of these with fun addicting gameplay, much replayablity, and online. Since the game only has its fan base still playing online you might have trouble finding a game however when you do get online with someone its a great play team work is key and you have alot of fun. Rune quests make up for alot of replayablity and once you complete the quest and have the rune equipped it gives you stat boots. The game has much depth in it even though it doesnt appear to be much at all besides a dungeon crawler with loot. Which by the way the game combines loot-whoredom and dungeon crawling perfectly. Oh have i mentioned the story for this game is awesome! I mean cyberpunk on norse myth (VIKINGS!!!) i wont go to deep into it to not reveal spoilers xp. Also this game is like in the top 10 best selling 360 action rpg games soo it shouldnt have such alow review score. I seriously reccommend to give it a shot i mean 10-20 dollars new at gamestop and like 20 on live market place Expand
  2. dudedugan
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    To all the people who dont get it, your loss! this game is great, its basically a 3D Diablo II meets WOW for the action RPG gamer, great fun To all the people who dont get it, your loss! this game is great, its basically a 3D Diablo II meets WOW for the action RPG gamer, great fun and I havent even finished the game yet, I dove headlong into Co-op with a pal and we played 4.5 hours and had a blast Collapse
  3. AB
    Sep 7, 2008
    9
    I am appalled by the lack of professionalism shown by so called 'professional' reviewers. I didn't realise what a pathetic I am appalled by the lack of professionalism shown by so called 'professional' reviewers. I didn't realise what a pathetic bunch of fanboys they really are. What a joke. Go get a real qualification and learn how to be objective - if you've ever even heard of the word. Too Human is a good game. Difficulty scaling might mean that there are no simple runs to be had, but what ever happened to rising to the challenge of games with some level of difficulty? The game is not broken. The combat is not broken. The story is good and will get better. The professional reviews are a joke and a travesty. Expand
  4. Ovlov
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    No, it's not what we all hoped it could be, but does that mean it's horrible? Too Human is a deep game that requires time and No, it's not what we all hoped it could be, but does that mean it's horrible? Too Human is a deep game that requires time and despite outward appearances, skill, to master. The "simple" control scheme is anything but as you learn to string combos and time powerful moves. Sure, gameplay might be frustrating at times. It might have its buggy issues. The menus and models might be very poorly designed and frustrating. The camera might get irritating just at the wrong moment. The story, previously presented as one of the best elements in the game, might be disjointed or ancillary to the gameplay. The fact remains; it isn't as bad as the bandwagon says. This game just couldn't live up to the hype and the hope of its onlookers. Play the demo without the backdrop of negativity and you just might find that what you read on the internet might just be wrong. Expand
  5. AlexT.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    great game but not easy to undersand certain things with such weak surce material (booklet that comes with the game) what is a colour module? great game but not easy to undersand certain things with such weak surce material (booklet that comes with the game) what is a colour module? what does rupture do? do charms work when not in the questing slots. unfortunately too many questions and no answers. but if anyone says all the characters play the same obviously haven't played it or their just not skilled enough to play to the strengths of a berserker, and think it's the same as a defender? Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2011
    5
    Too Human

    Norse mythology with a techno flair Xbox 360 Played to completion with Defender class Too Human is a game 9 years in the
    Too Human


    Norse mythology with a techno flair

    Xbox 360
    Played to completion with Defender class



    Too Human is a game 9 years in the making. First concepted as a Playstation game in 1999, It's come a long way for a release on Microsofts Xbox 360. Is this first entry in the Too Human trilogy worth the wait?

    Too Human starts with a rather stylish intro video that throws you into the tech flaired world of Too Human. You are Baldur, son of odin and resident of Asgard. As an Aesir it's your job to protect humanity from the machines that plague the modern world. Without much fanfare you are thrust into the first level of the game and meet your first machine.

    The world of Too Human is extremly well realized. The blend of Norse mythology and Cyber technology is surprisingly well utilized and lends itself to the best part of game, the story. As Baldur you must hunt down the robot GRNDL. Of course the story doesn't end at GRNDL and soon begins to lead you toward your ultimate enemy Loki. Unfortunatly the story is just set up for the now defunct Too Human trilogy and thus feels like the opening to a story that will never be finished. In the end it is a well told story accompanied by stylish cutscenes and solid voice acting.

    The meat of the game is of course the gameplay. You choose between 5 playable classes that each empasize a certain playstyle (i.e. rushing, tanking, healing, etc.) No matter what you choose you will end up using a combo of melee weapons and guns to dispatch your foes. Your melee weapon is assigned to the right stick which will be used to slide towards enemies for basic melee attacks or to pop them up for a quick air combo. The choice of the right stick as your melee simultainiously works well and frustrates. It seems somewhat randomly Baldur will not slide corrctly or will end up targeting an enemy you don't want it to. Guns will help you thin out the horde before they descend upon and do there job well, but once again you will encouter some fairly janky targeting that could leave you out in the cold. Also at your disposal are ruiners which are essentialy AoE power moves that are useful for getting out of a tight spot or taking out a large group of enemies. Too bad the level design and enemy types completly ruin the experience. Most of your battles consist of large waves of machines that can either be rushers or long range spammers. Enemies take a surprising amount of punishment and also frequently come with exploding, poison, and freezing death AoEs that can severly screw you up. It seems like the game sometimes sets you up for failure as when you die you just come back with all the enemies at the same health as they were before. The only punishment you get is an infuriating 20 second cutscene of a valkyrie descending from the heavens and carrying you up to valhalla. It's cool at first but after 2 or 3 deaths you'll switch from mild interest to anger. For a loot driven game its surprising that the developer would make the game so difficult. Loot driven games are known to be kind of mindless but in Too Human you die so frequently you start to lose interest. Not to mention you'll be wrestling the camera constantly. The only thing that make it bearable is the fact that left bumper will center the camera, expect to be hammering that alamost as much as your melee attacks.

    Graphically, Too Human is the definition of mediocre and would probably fit in as an Xbox 360 launch title. On top of that the framerate is prone to chopiness and glitches are frequent. Sometimes enemies will suddenly stop moving or even become invisible. I personally lost about 10 minutes to an unopenable door which was only solved by reloading the game. Artistically the game remains consistent with it's sci-fi vibe with solid charecter design and and consistent enviorments. Too Human is a flawed game that tried to create a new style loot grind and failed spectacularly. The only somewhat reedeming quality of the game is it's narrative and even that isn't specatcular, just well told. The game itself is a boring grind punctuated by an annoying death animation and absolutly absymal camera control. With only four levels and about 10 hours of gameplay in the main story the game will end fairly adbruptly and leave you hanging with only the grind of the same 4 levels for mostly useless loot to keep you going. When I finished this game I didn't feel any accomplishment, I only felt like I wasted 10 hours of my life.

    Presentation: 7
    Gameplay: 3
    Value: 6

    Overall: 5.1
    Expand
  7. ChrisG.
    Aug 18, 2008
    0
    All i can say this game is crap they have made some good games for the gameqube but this was just crap

See all 208 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.