User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 121

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! Don't believe the low user score. I didn't play the first toy soldiers, as It was only 1 player locally, so when U heard the next game was going to be splitscreen I was excited. I waited for this game to be released from when it was first announced, and having played it doesn't dissapoint. I think any one who likes strategy games should purchase this game, especiallyThis game is amazing! Don't believe the low user score. I didn't play the first toy soldiers, as It was only 1 player locally, so when U heard the next game was going to be splitscreen I was excited. I waited for this game to be released from when it was first announced, and having played it doesn't dissapoint. I think any one who likes strategy games should purchase this game, especially if you want to play cooperatively online or off. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    Why is it only the $15 Arcade titles who are properly tackling the
    long-neglected action/RTS hybrid? First there was the original Toy
    Soldiers, then there was the excellent Trenched, and now we have probably the best modern attempt yet in Toy Soldiers: Cold War -- while all the while, the big end of town continues to churn out uber-conservative RTSes and mindless shooters without seeing
    Why is it only the $15 Arcade titles who are properly tackling the
    long-neglected action/RTS hybrid? First there was the original Toy
    Soldiers, then there was the excellent Trenched, and now we have
    probably the best modern attempt yet in Toy Soldiers: Cold War --
    while all the while, the big end of town continues to churn out
    uber-conservative RTSes and mindless shooters without seeing how one
    genre might make up for the limitations of the other. Toy Soldiers: Cold War improves on its predecessor in almost every
    way, despite being a little thinner on campaign content. Improved
    graphics, an excellent selection of game modes (including a very
    robust VS. mode), and a wide variety of units with pretty finely
    balanced strengths and weaknesses are just a few of the things that
    this sequel brings to the table. It doesn't quite rise to the level of
    complexity of the great late 90s PC game, Battlezone, but then no game
    has.

    On that note, I hope that Signal Studios do well enough out of this
    game to perhaps follow it up with a retail release sequel. With a
    bigger budget, and higher profit expectations, I think that these
    developers could equal or surpass the lofty heights reached by the
    aforementioned Battlezone. Until then, they have treated fans of the
    RTS/action and tower defence genres to a truly great game.
    Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2014
    5
    Toy Soldiers: Cold War is a hybrid tower-defence game using, as you may have guessed, toy soldiers as units. On each level players can place units, ranging from machine guns to anti-aircraft guns, in specified locations each of which can be changed or upgraded at any point to best defeat the wave after wave of enemies attempting to reach your toy box. If enough enemies reach the toy boxToy Soldiers: Cold War is a hybrid tower-defence game using, as you may have guessed, toy soldiers as units. On each level players can place units, ranging from machine guns to anti-aircraft guns, in specified locations each of which can be changed or upgraded at any point to best defeat the wave after wave of enemies attempting to reach your toy box. If enough enemies reach the toy box the mission is failed. The hybrid element comes in as at any point the player can take direct control over any unit and fire the turret manually. At certain points an overkill mode is unlocked allowing for an extremely powerful commando or helicopter to be dispatched and controlled to deal huge damage to the enemy.

    For a while Toy Soldiers: Cold War does provide a bit of fast paced arcade fun with a little depth provided by the choice of units that can be deployed. Mowing down wave after wave of enemies from a turret does become dull pretty quickly however and, other than a slight change in background, each level plays virtually identically for the most part. As a result it doesn't really offer long term appeal despite the inclusion of online leaderboards and a few multiplayer modes.

    Perhaps worth picking up on the cheap but unless you are a real fan of the tower defence genre this is not a game that many people will play for all that long.
    Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    The best word to describe Toy Soldiers: Cold War is Fun. The sequel to the popular XBLA Toy Soldiers, this tower defense/shooter hybrid has you controlling the US Military against the Soviets in a Cold War era toy showdown. Your goal is to place and then optionally control turrets to prevent the army of plastic Russian soldiers, tanks, and planes from entering your toy box. A variety ofThe best word to describe Toy Soldiers: Cold War is Fun. The sequel to the popular XBLA Toy Soldiers, this tower defense/shooter hybrid has you controlling the US Military against the Soviets in a Cold War era toy showdown. Your goal is to place and then optionally control turrets to prevent the army of plastic Russian soldiers, tanks, and planes from entering your toy box. A variety of towers including Machine Gun, Anti-Tank, Anti-Aircraft, Mortar and more â Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    My favorite arcade game now, theres everything u could hope for,split screen coop,versus mode,score challenges,minigames, survival mode and of course the campaign,and the fact that u can take direct control over your turrets,i really liked the first toy soldiers game as well but this one is a lot better., with the barrages and everything. Buy it if ur looking for an awesome arcade gameMy favorite arcade game now, theres everything u could hope for,split screen coop,versus mode,score challenges,minigames, survival mode and of course the campaign,and the fact that u can take direct control over your turrets,i really liked the first toy soldiers game as well but this one is a lot better., with the barrages and everything. Buy it if ur looking for an awesome arcade game that has it all. the only thing i could have hoped for would have been zombies,cus zombies make everything better ;) Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    I was a huge fan of the first Toy Soldier game so I was thrilled when I heard they were making a new one. Could it live up to the greatness of the first TS game though? Why of course it can. If fact, this game is better then the original in nearly every way. I especially loved the Rambo wannabe soldier which you can take control of. If you like tower defense games and cheesy 80s culture,I was a huge fan of the first Toy Soldier game so I was thrilled when I heard they were making a new one. Could it live up to the greatness of the first TS game though? Why of course it can. If fact, this game is better then the original in nearly every way. I especially loved the Rambo wannabe soldier which you can take control of. If you like tower defense games and cheesy 80s culture, then I strongly urge you to give this game a try. My one gripe was that the game seemed a little short. Still its a minor complaint considering how much fun the rest of the game is. Expand
  7. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    A very entertaining arcade game. I wasn't a big fan of the first toy soldiers but I love this one. The co-op element is one of the bigger draws for me. Being able to control the turrets is pretty awesome as well. Just an all around entertaining game.
  8. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    I love this game man! online versus is good but the couch co-op is even better! It is Even a better choice for someone who likes a fun score system to best their self & others on. Lots of units to control & almost just as many game modes & difficulties that change how to play the game.
  9. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    I have always been a fan of tower defense for a longtime. Both Toy Soldiers give you their own unique gaming experience. Both are well finished and the attention to detail is fantastic. A must have in your Xbox Live Arcade Library. Two thumbs up.
  10. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    This is a great tower defense title that really shines in co-op. It also packs in the 90's nostalgia with loads of references to classics like Top Gun and Iron Eagles. Unlike most tower defense games though, your towers will get destroyed and a lot of the skill of the game is done by controlling specific units in first or third person. It's a nice refreshing take on tower defense and atThis is a great tower defense title that really shines in co-op. It also packs in the 90's nostalgia with loads of references to classics like Top Gun and Iron Eagles. Unlike most tower defense games though, your towers will get destroyed and a lot of the skill of the game is done by controlling specific units in first or third person. It's a nice refreshing take on tower defense and at the price that they're asking, it's a steal. Expand
  11. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    Toy Soldiers is an excellent game from start to finish. An brilliant spin on the tower defence genre bundled with buckets of action. One of the finest looking and enjoyable downloadable titles I've ever played. Oh, and you can play as Rambo.
  12. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    Toy Soldiers: Cold War is hands down one of the best XBLA games to come out since it's conception. A lot of heart into recreating that 80's feel with it's backdrops of each battle and a certain commando who resembles one of the most defining 80's action characters. The game's biggest draw is the fact that you can go in without knowing anything and can easily get into the flow of things andToy Soldiers: Cold War is hands down one of the best XBLA games to come out since it's conception. A lot of heart into recreating that 80's feel with it's backdrops of each battle and a certain commando who resembles one of the most defining 80's action characters. The game's biggest draw is the fact that you can go in without knowing anything and can easily get into the flow of things and destroy your enemies with an iron fist. Expand
  13. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    Toy Soldiers: Cold War has to be the best arcade game that has been released in 2011. I bought the game due to my expierences with the first Toy Soldiers. This game may not be for everyone, it is a Tower Defense game with a twist. This game brings in fans that do not preferably like Tower Defense Games. You have a Toybox that you must defend from enemies hordes. You will only allow aToy Soldiers: Cold War has to be the best arcade game that has been released in 2011. I bought the game due to my expierences with the first Toy Soldiers. This game may not be for everyone, it is a Tower Defense game with a twist. This game brings in fans that do not preferably like Tower Defense Games. You have a Toybox that you must defend from enemies hordes. You will only allow a certain amount of troops that can go through, however once it reaches zero you lose. Though, you will get different turrets that you can purchase and place in places to defend the horde of enemies. These turrets varied from mortars,MG turret, AA guns, and more. You even control and help take out enemies with your emplaced turrets, and even use special place vehicles in maps that include different Tanks, Planes, and helicopters. You earn money by your turrets taking out the enemy, which you can use to buy and upgrade turrets, but I suggest you control the turrets your self to earn more money. Plus AI controlling the turrets are really stupid at times, but this makes the game more challenging to you. Though the AI controlled turrets are not stupid at all times, this does make the game really fun if you like a challenge. I would suggest the hardest difficulty if you want a challenge, or maybe try to get a Platinum Medal for more of a challenge. After killing certain enemies or having lots of combos you'll be awarded barrages which will give you relief and are fun to use. One of my favorite barrage is called "Commando" which you'll be controlling a rambo like character that carries a Heavy MG, and a rocket launcher destroying everything in his way. Other Barrages include different Air Strikes, Nukes, and even another fun one where you pilot a AC130. There are also many minigames that you'll have fun playing in this game. Try to get highscores with your friend on one minigame where you guide rockets at targets, and certain targets gain you different points. Or the Fly Swatting one where you shoot down as much flies that are in the sky before your timer runs out. This game offers so many fun points, though some people may not fall into this game because of its Real Time Strategy. I suggest you to try it out as this is not a ordinary Strategy game, but it offers more.

    My Review: 9/10
    Just because in my point of view a 10 resembles it being perfect, and there is no such thing as a perfect game.
    Expand
  14. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Tower Defense, toy nostalgia, spray-can flame thrower. Whats not to love?
  15. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Well, what can I say about Toy Soldiers 2? If you are familiar with the first one, then you can understand how good it was. Taking your childhood favorite toy and being able to not only have them fight, but the option to set up your battlefield & upgrade as the battle went on. Well they have taken what was so good and brought it to the next level. If you never played the first one, yourWell, what can I say about Toy Soldiers 2? If you are familiar with the first one, then you can understand how good it was. Taking your childhood favorite toy and being able to not only have them fight, but the option to set up your battlefield & upgrade as the battle went on. Well they have taken what was so good and brought it to the next level. If you never played the first one, your missing out but you really need to jump into the second installment and see how well done and fun this game is. Download the demo & give it a try, I guarantee you will be back to thank me and the rest of us who sent you out into the battlefield... Now move out soldier!!! Expand
  16. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    One of my new favorite titles on XBLA! The only thing I can recommend you do is to try out the demo and you will see the effort Signal Studios put into this game.
  17. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This is such an insanely diverse and fun game. There is so much variety in this game you could almost never get bored of trying to best your friends scores. There is just so much to do, I can't think of another XBLA title with as much replayability. Please don't listen to all the haters that popped up read any review from gamer sites and you would be hard pressed to find one that didn'tThis is such an insanely diverse and fun game. There is so much variety in this game you could almost never get bored of trying to best your friends scores. There is just so much to do, I can't think of another XBLA title with as much replayability. Please don't listen to all the haters that popped up read any review from gamer sites and you would be hard pressed to find one that didn't rate this lower then an 8/10. I have even just watched alot of people playing this game in streams it is hilarious and pure fun. Even the music reminds you and takes you back to the 80s Top Gun, Rambo, Iron Eagle this is love letter to 80's youth. So if you weren't luck enough to have been around in the 80's strap in you just got let into the club. I won't go into the details as too many people that are better writers then I have told you all you need to know, buy this game! Expand
  18. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This an extremely enjoyable game. An amazing mix of Tower Defense and First Person Shooting, this game is full of nostalgia for anyone living in the 80s. With multiple difficulty levels and lots of new challenges, the depth in this game is extremely impressive for an XBLA game. The barrages really make the game...nothing feels better than mowing down enemy tanks as a Rambo-like character.This an extremely enjoyable game. An amazing mix of Tower Defense and First Person Shooting, this game is full of nostalgia for anyone living in the 80s. With multiple difficulty levels and lots of new challenges, the depth in this game is extremely impressive for an XBLA game. The barrages really make the game...nothing feels better than mowing down enemy tanks as a Rambo-like character. Well worth a purchase for anyone looking for a deep, fun, easy-to-pick-up game. Expand
  19. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Best Tower D, Action, Shooter game ever! It has all those elements and so many different ways to play via Campaign, CoOp, Multiplayer, Survival, Head2Head action and minigames! I just want a ton of DLC so I see more of what this game can do :)
  20. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    Signal Studios does it again with a great follow up to their first hit Toy Soldiers. Cold War brings a new campaign, with more action, bigger set pieces and ramped up bosses. The Survival mode as been flushed out and Versus is back and much better than before. Minigames are new, and a great little way to spend time and hunt down that leaderboard position that each person so badly desires.Signal Studios does it again with a great follow up to their first hit Toy Soldiers. Cold War brings a new campaign, with more action, bigger set pieces and ramped up bosses. The Survival mode as been flushed out and Versus is back and much better than before. Minigames are new, and a great little way to spend time and hunt down that leaderboard position that each person so badly desires. The only thing holding it back from 10 for me is the lack of a Russian Campaign. Expand
  21. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    Signal Studios follow up their seminal hit Toy Soldiers with a brand new set of challenges from the 1980's. Enjoy the strategy of a Tower Defense game but throw in First Person Shooter skills too. In a crowded market place this game stands out as an awesome adventure. Try it now!!!
  22. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This game is a 10/10 all day long - amazing graphics and amazing gameplay - gets you hooked from the first time you play. The first one was the best game I downloaded on the Marketplace so I'm really looking forward to getting my hands on this one
  23. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    My favorite arcade game now, there is everything u could hope for,split screen coop,versus mode,score challenges,minigames, survival mode and of course the campaign,and the fact that u can take direct control over your turrets,i really liked the first toy soldiers game as well but this one is a lot better., with the barrages and everything.
  24. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    Toy Soldiers a fresh take on tower defense games and its squeal brings in bigger boss, different set pieces and with Versus back and a tad bit better, you'll have hours and hours of play time over and over again.
  25. Sep 14, 2011
    9
    If you like Tower Defense games and are hankering for one on Xbox 360 then this is the perfect choice. Cold War is a solid game, it has plenty of modes to mess around in and hands down one of the most enjoyable co-op modes to ever exist. It's easy for a person who is completely new to Tower Defense games like me to pick it up and get straight into the action. You owe it to yourself to atIf you like Tower Defense games and are hankering for one on Xbox 360 then this is the perfect choice. Cold War is a solid game, it has plenty of modes to mess around in and hands down one of the most enjoyable co-op modes to ever exist. It's easy for a person who is completely new to Tower Defense games like me to pick it up and get straight into the action. You owe it to yourself to at least check the demo out and see if it's for you, Signal Studios did an amazing job with the game overall and deserve at recognition for making an improved sequel with a pop culture filled era, refined game mechanics, and tons of vehicular mayhem. Expand
  26. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Very good game :) I love game like this, can't stop playing. Cold War is one of best tower defense games and I think the best latest arcade game. I can write about it for long time but I must go play it again and again :) Cheers to all Toy Soldiers
  27. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Do you own a 360? Do you play games? Do you have 1200 MS points? Do you have a pulse? Then this game is a no brainier! I enjoy play it daily since it came out and the community is only growing for multiplayer matches. The devs made big improvements from Toy Soldiers 1 and I can't wait to play whatever they drop next!
  28. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Now, Toy Soldiers Cold War is truly what you call a great game. It is absolutely jam packed with fun tower defense, shooting, and amazing content all at one great price. The game has tons of replay value, always making you want to get the highest possible score, there's really fun competitive and cooperative modes that anybody will absolutely love, and Signal Studios has added tons ofNow, Toy Soldiers Cold War is truly what you call a great game. It is absolutely jam packed with fun tower defense, shooting, and amazing content all at one great price. The game has tons of replay value, always making you want to get the highest possible score, there's really fun competitive and cooperative modes that anybody will absolutely love, and Signal Studios has added tons of great features and improvements from the original TS that make the game a lot better. All those low user review were all from spammers, this game is great and is a must have for any tower defense fan! Expand
  29. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    This game is an incredible value for $15. Playing as the Commando and Ivan are worth the price of admission alone. It's excellent that it supports split-screen for multiplayer as well! It's currently my favorite XBLA game.
  30. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    So far I've only played the free trial, but from what I've played, Toy Soldiers: Cold War is a vast improvement over the original. The graphics are better, the colors are brighter, and the contrast between environmental objects is higher. Gone are the drab, foggy, dismal WWI aesthetics. All of this helps the gameplay tremendously. It is much easier to distinguish where groups of enemiesSo far I've only played the free trial, but from what I've played, Toy Soldiers: Cold War is a vast improvement over the original. The graphics are better, the colors are brighter, and the contrast between environmental objects is higher. Gone are the drab, foggy, dismal WWI aesthetics. All of this helps the gameplay tremendously. It is much easier to distinguish where groups of enemies are and target individual enemies when directly controlling towers. Combine this with the new gameplay mechanics such as kill combos, attack barrages, wavelist rewind, and more, and the over-all experience feels much more rewarding, less frustrating, and simply a lot more fun. Signal Studios clearly put some thought into making both gameplay styles (classic tower-defense and action-defense) more compelling and work together better. With the addition of mini-games and 2-player co-op there is a lot more in the toy box to play with than the last time Signal Studios brought out the toys. Expand
  31. Sep 14, 2011
    7
    Cold War is a fun game that has it's fair of minute flaws, but is well done enough that you'll get past some of the snags and uncover an entertaining, albeit short lived, experience.
  32. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    i like this game and werry like toys and war games. This is it. This game is funny. I remember when i have a lot of toys . Bla bla bla lets play this amazing game
  33. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Not enough games make you smile. That wry smile that comes when doing something great in a game, beating a level and just having fun. The little details that a developer put in a game that you might not notice but they exist just for fun. Toy Soldiers: Cold War has them in every level and every detail, from it's menus to it's mini games. Yes, it's a tower defense game. Yes, the originalNot enough games make you smile. That wry smile that comes when doing something great in a game, beating a level and just having fun. The little details that a developer put in a game that you might not notice but they exist just for fun. Toy Soldiers: Cold War has them in every level and every detail, from it's menus to it's mini games. Yes, it's a tower defense game. Yes, the original Toy Soldiers did many of these things too. But the great thing about games is how iteration can lead to innovation and greatness. That's what was done here. A great game. Expand
  34. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    This a fantastic game that takes uses unique game mechanics and adds a light-hearted theme, ultimately making more than the sum of its parts. Highly recommended!
  35. Sep 19, 2011
    8
    Fun twist on the tower defense genre which lets you take control of units yourself; including tanks, helicopters, jets and special units like a "Rambo" inspired unit. The action movie vibe is amusing and production values are top notch. Don't let the Playstation fanboys spamming this game with negative scores throw you off. People who have actually played this game know this title isFun twist on the tower defense genre which lets you take control of units yourself; including tanks, helicopters, jets and special units like a "Rambo" inspired unit. The action movie vibe is amusing and production values are top notch. Don't let the Playstation fanboys spamming this game with negative scores throw you off. People who have actually played this game know this title is worth every penny. Expand
  36. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, love this series! Fantastic sound track! A great spin on tower defense, great idea bringing this series into the crazy cold war days of the 1980's. I highly reccomend giving the trial a go.
  37. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Toy Soldiers is a fantastic game. It gives you exactly what you want out of an arcade game, something you can pick up and play for a little while and put back down. It is insanely creative with all of the weapons available and the "characters" and "bosses". My only complaint is that it was a little easy. I never had any troubles until the last level. I have seen a lot of people sayToy Soldiers is a fantastic game. It gives you exactly what you want out of an arcade game, something you can pick up and play for a little while and put back down. It is insanely creative with all of the weapons available and the "characters" and "bosses". My only complaint is that it was a little easy. I never had any troubles until the last level. I have seen a lot of people say the last level was insanely hard, but it just meant I had to concentrate a little more than usual. There are a lot more and varied vehicles available to the player in this version of the game, which mixes it up in a great way. Overall fantastic game. Expand
  38. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Great tower defense game. It's a shame that it is getting so many negative user reviews, most of which make no sense. Hopefully they get sorted out.
  39. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    If you are looking for a fun Strategy/Tower Defense game than this is the game for you!
    With the addition of controllable Rambo style characters and a versus mode this game exceeded my expectations, Toy Soldiers and Toy Soldiers: Cold war are 2 of my top 10 XBLA games on the marketplace. The bosses are insane and the Tower Defense style is entertaining.
  40. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    This is absolutely the best tower defense game ever made, barely beating out the original and Trenched. The comedy is great, the visuals are great, and the challenge is awesome. Being able to "Go Rambo" is one of the best ideas ever.
  41. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Toy Soldiers: Cold War was a fantastic sequel to an already great game. The amount of features for the price and depth of play is outstanding for the package. A must-play title on XBLA.
  42. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    If you loved the last Toy Soldiers as much as I did, you can not miss Cold War. With the co-op, mini games and a much needed rewind feature for when the game gets to hard. This is Signal Studios showing fans they can grow while listening to requests.
  43. Oct 13, 2011
    5
    A good game all round but needs a tiny bit of patching up.A few of the graphics don't look that neat. An all round medium game.
  44. Feb 19, 2014
    7
    See the full review @ http://idiotbox.co.uk/toy-soldiers-cold-war-review/

    I’m just going to put this out there right now, this is 100% not what I was expecting it to be. I have a terrible habit of not researching the Games with Gold Games before they’re released, it’s my passive aggressive way of living on the edge I suppose… It’s called Toy Soldiers so naturally I immediately assumed
    See the full review @ http://idiotbox.co.uk/toy-soldiers-cold-war-review/

    I’m just going to put this out there right now, this is 100% not what I was expecting it to be. I have a terrible habit of not researching the Games with Gold Games before they’re released, it’s my passive aggressive way of living on the edge I suppose… It’s called Toy Soldiers so naturally I immediately assumed it was going to be like the old school Army Men games with the green plastic soldiers running around shooting the tan coloured soldiers for no other reason than they are a different colour so they must be destroyed.

    Good ol’ fashioned family racism at it’s finest…
    Getting back to the point, I have never been so happy that my preconceptions were wrong. Toy Soldiers kicks off with the most 80′s motivational guitar **** you could ever possible how to hear. A little while ago I complained that the recent World of Tanks didn’t have enough motivational music but at the time I didn’t really know what I wanted to hear. THIS, this is it! I kid you not I actually sat there just listening to it on loop while I wrote this review. If I could I would make it my ringtone. The point I’m trying to make is that it is balls-out awesome! Toy Soldiers is definitely off to a mighty fine start!

    The gameplay itself seems to follow suit with the music and forgoes all the messing around. I kid you not that the tutorial consists of “Press this button to shoot. Good. Now kill as many things as you can!” I can’t really imagine anything more straight forward and immediately satisfying as this! The next lesson is just as in-depth, you are shown how to use the guided missiles and then are simply left to it to blow **** up for a while. The next lesson is actually pretty clever, it starts as another little life lesson about protecting your base and using different turrets but soon becomes a fully fledged warzone as you find yourself balls deep in troops, tanks and all other manner of assorted things trying to ruin your day. The main purpose of the earlier waves are to introduce you to some of the bonuses you can get by maintaining your kill streak. Let me be straight with you. Some of the bonuses are amazing!! Some of these are as simple as airstrikes or artillery bombardments but my personal favourite is the Ramboesque Commando, complete with mullet, massive firepower and shouting habits. A whole lot of fun!!

    Pretty much all you need to know about that!
    Considering that the first level disguises itself as a part of the tutorial it is without a shadow of a doubt one of the most intense pieces of gameplay I have experienced in a while! At this point I’m not sure if this is a good thing or not, there’s throwing you in at the deep end and then there’s just sheer insanity. As crazy as things got in the first level there is definitely something to be said for on-the-job training because by the time the next mission rolls round everything seems to fall nicely in to place; you have all of the tools and the knowledge you need to start making this game your ****

    Sadly there isn’t really much more to be done with the campaign mode and it starts to feel like the same thing over again with slightly different details. With this in mind I figured it was time to explore the other options that Toy Soldiers had to offer. Firstly it only seemed right to take the fight online. Imagine my disappointment when I was greeted with an error message telling me that in order to play online I need to pay for and download the separate DLC packs to compatible. I swiftly called bull**** on that and moved on. Next on the list is survival mode. This is exactly as it sounds, you set yourself up and you hold out for as long as you can against multiple and endless waves of enemies. There is also 3 different difficulties for this mode for those of you that happen to be feeling adventurous/insane. Last but not least you have my personal favourite part of the game; the Minigames. These are a nice little selection of distractions and these range from re-doing some of the tutorial madness to get a better score, to shooting down an army of house flies, to flying a guided missile down a disco hallway.
    Expand
  45. May 28, 2014
    9
    Great strategy, challenging levels, and a style that never gets old. Still cannot help but laugh when the soldiers start trotting near the toy box or when the commando starts spewing random one liners and laughing manically.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 80
    Swooping through a virtual boy's room in a miniature jet while fighting a huge submarine is where this game topped for us. Rock solid and inexpensive entertainment for your Xbox 360.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    The game we always knew it wanted to be. [Issue#77, p.103]
  3. Oct 23, 2011
    81
    A decent action/strategy game. [Dec 2011, p.87]