Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 53
  2. Negative: 11 out of 53
  1. 48
    A disappointing offering and one that is especially perplexing after War for Cybertron offered so much potential. Every aspect of this game is lacking in some way and the only boon is the fact it is mercifully short. Childhood memories – consider yourself crushed.
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    42
    Overall this just feels like they took one step forward and then two steps back.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    42
    After War for Cybertron released there was a brief moment of hope that licensed games would no longer be sub-par experiences. High Moon has dashed those hopes against Transformers: Dark of the Moon and erased their earned good will in the process. If the promise of a quality movie tie-in still exists, it'll take a lot more than this incomplete, graceless game to keep that promise alive.
  4. Sep 16, 2011
    40
    It seems like the developer ran out of the time before they could iterate upon last year's Transformers: War for Cybertron. This game winds up being a product of significantly lesser quality than it predecessor.
  5. Aug 19, 2011
    40
    Simply too boring to even consider a rental. [Issue#75, p.84]
  6. Jul 24, 2011
    40
    A frustrating and unremarkable video game experience. The game never really goes above and beyond the call of duty, offering only mildly attractive locations, bog-standard third-person gameplay and a relatively insignificant plot.
  7. Jun 30, 2011
    40
    Incoming movie? Quick, get me a game out there! That's how one could summarize Transformers: Dark of the Moon. With super linear TPS phases and a failed racing gameplay, this episode only has its Mecha license and steam-venting ability for itself. AI's a mess, most of the original sequences aren't really convincing, and its production values are clearly not on par with the rest of the game products of today.
  8. Jun 25, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Jun 24, 2011
    40
    There's nothing wrong with a short game that feels complete, but Dark of the Moon feels half-finished.
  10. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    Sorry, High Moon Studios. You need time to make a good game. Transformers: Dark of the Moon is rushed out, and it shows.
  11. Jun 17, 2011
    33
    The game's mash-up of a story never amounts to anything meaningful or groundbreaking, and the single player campaign is pretty short -- clocking in around five hours or less.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Considering that it was developed by High Moon, which also developed War for Cybertron, I had high expectations of this game. It has not proved me wrong, everything I enjoyed in WfC I found just as compelling in DotM. The control scheme and game mechanics were all familiar to me. I can understand how some people dislike how this game is almost identical to WfC and expected extra content. However, judging from the reviews of previously disastrous Transformers games, I'm not surprised why High Moon decided to keep everything the way it was. Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2011
    0
    Horrible game that should not have been made, effort should have been put into the War for Cybertron 2. The campaign had horrible load times every time it would save on a level and the stealth mode ruins the need for robot mode during the campaign. The controls are slow & plodding, lagging behind the action with inaccurate melee and vanishing grenades. Map glitches abound where your character will be caught in invisible parts of the maps. Mulitplayer is plagued with lag in game and even when changing screens on the menu. Full Review »
  3. Jun 15, 2011
    5
    This game is good and bad at the same time. If you've played War for Cybertron, DotM will play nearly identical. So, playing and beating the campaign in less than 4 hours on normal difficulty was entertaining for the most part. However, the fact that this game came out AFTER War for Cybertron, I felt disappointed. DotM is basically War for Cybertron watered down. There is no longer co-op campaign, the campaign is shorter than WFC's, there is absolutely NO Escelation mode in multiplayer, and the character customization is less than WfC! I feel ripped off for paying $60+ for a game that is actually worse than WfC. It seems that High Moon and Activision thought "hey, we can put out a game in mere months without much work. We can just borrow the framework from WfC, put in a short campaign, and let the hype from the upcoming movie do all the advertising for us!" Full Review »