Transformers: Dark of the Moon Xbox 360

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 16, 2016
    8
    While I was expecting this to be another cheap cash grab, it actually turns out to be a different game of its own. It has a good storyline which is a prequel to the transformers dark of the moon movie. The multiplayer is decent, but it isn't as good as the story.
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    5
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon thrusts players into an original storyline that takes place before the events of the film. However, the fact that this game came out AFTER War for Cybertron, I felt disappointed. DotM is basically War for Cybertron watered down. There is no longer co-op campaign, the campaign is shorter than WFC's, there is absolutely NO Escelation mode in multiplayer, andTransformers: Dark of the Moon thrusts players into an original storyline that takes place before the events of the film. However, the fact that this game came out AFTER War for Cybertron, I felt disappointed. DotM is basically War for Cybertron watered down. There is no longer co-op campaign, the campaign is shorter than WFC's, there is absolutely NO Escelation mode in multiplayer, and the character customization is less than WfC! I feel ripped off for paying $60+ for a game that is actually worse than WfC. Expand
  3. May 10, 2013
    7
    This game was made to understand that in a hurry, because its short almost erases its positives, which are the opotunidade to control various tranformers, and varied gameplay.
  4. Apr 23, 2012
    8
    The game is fun from start to finish, the only problem i have is that the game was very short a few more levels would of been grand. The same can be said for the multi player more levels and customization would of be great also another flaw levelling was way to fast i go to level 20 within 2 hours but like the single player its alot of fun. Worth a rent or buy it when its below 20 quidThe game is fun from start to finish, the only problem i have is that the game was very short a few more levels would of been grand. The same can be said for the multi player more levels and customization would of be great also another flaw levelling was way to fast i go to level 20 within 2 hours but like the single player its alot of fun. Worth a rent or buy it when its below 20 quid which is should be now. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon is a disappointing follow-up release from High Moon Studios. While the developers attempted to take their winning formula and make it appealing to casual gamers, they only succeeded in watering the entire experience down â
  6. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    This game can be considered the movie's opposite. The action is constant, the humans get little screen time here, the plot is intriguing, the decepticons have a bigger role, and it's shorter than the usual game. But it's a good game for WfC fans, so try it out!
  7. Jul 23, 2011
    5
    Transformers: Dare of the Moon was an alright game. It definitely had good fight scenes and the online can be enjoyable. The problems with the game is the campaign is only 4 hours and it isnt the best video game ive ever played. I would give this game a high rental.
  8. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Clearly, you need to be a major Trans Fan who loves all forms of TF media (Loved the classic cartoon, animes, comics, and even the movies) to appreciate this. And as one of 'em, I truly enjoyed the game as much as War for Cybertron even as the latter is the best of 'em.
  9. Jun 20, 2011
    4
    After the excellent War for Cybertron(by the same makers of this game),i was looking forward to this game.But all i'm hearing is that this game was rushed to co-incide with the movie,has too much wrong with it,& worst of all,they didnt include what was by far,the best feature of WFC,which was the campaign Co-Op!.. This is Unforgivable! Saying the levels are designed for one specificAfter the excellent War for Cybertron(by the same makers of this game),i was looking forward to this game.But all i'm hearing is that this game was rushed to co-incide with the movie,has too much wrong with it,& worst of all,they didnt include what was by far,the best feature of WFC,which was the campaign Co-Op!.. This is Unforgivable! Saying the levels are designed for one specific Transformer,is a lame excuse,why? because they made the game that way,& with the game set before the movie,they're not tied to certain scenes.With these movie tie-ins,they REALLY need to get the developer working on the game as soon as the script is finalised on the movie,to give maximum development time(This movie took two years to bring out,planty of time to make a good game),or simply release the game when its ready.These game companys need to give gamers a little more credit.we dont go out & buy a game,just because the movie happens to be out at the same time.In fact,we know that a game that comes out in the same week as the movie,was most likely rushed,& rubbish or sub-standard as a result.(we're smart like that see).So we wont buy it(or certainly less of us WILL).You need to have faith in us.we will surely wait for a good game,& buy it when 'its ready' & is good as it possibly can be. But as it is,even if it was a better polished game,i wouldnt be buying,or renting this,as they didnt bother,or didnt have time to make this the excellent Co-Op game that War for Cybertron was.Simple as. Even so,i wont mark this down too much,as i believe only truely terrible games should get very low marks,& lack of Co-Op & polish aside,its not THAT bad a game. Expand
  10. Jun 17, 2011
    0
    Horrible game that should not have been made, effort should have been put into the War for Cybertron 2. The campaign had horrible load times every time it would save on a level and the stealth mode ruins the need for robot mode during the campaign. The controls are slow & plodding, lagging behind the action with inaccurate melee and vanishing grenades. Map glitches abound where yourHorrible game that should not have been made, effort should have been put into the War for Cybertron 2. The campaign had horrible load times every time it would save on a level and the stealth mode ruins the need for robot mode during the campaign. The controls are slow & plodding, lagging behind the action with inaccurate melee and vanishing grenades. Map glitches abound where your character will be caught in invisible parts of the maps. Mulitplayer is plagued with lag in game and even when changing screens on the menu. Collapse
  11. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    I wouldn't call it innovative by any means...but what game is? even one with a larger budget and marketing...Gameplay is decent and graphics are good...I do enjoy the mulitplayer maps and playing as a different transformer is fun...I find myself anticipating the next level to see how the next robot plays...
  12. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Considering that it was developed by High Moon, which also developed War for Cybertron, I had high expectations of this game. It has not proved me wrong, everything I enjoyed in WfC I found just as compelling in DotM. The control scheme and game mechanics were all familiar to me. I can understand how some people dislike how this game is almost identical to WfC and expected extra content.Considering that it was developed by High Moon, which also developed War for Cybertron, I had high expectations of this game. It has not proved me wrong, everything I enjoyed in WfC I found just as compelling in DotM. The control scheme and game mechanics were all familiar to me. I can understand how some people dislike how this game is almost identical to WfC and expected extra content. However, judging from the reviews of previously disastrous Transformers games, I'm not surprised why High Moon decided to keep everything the way it was. Expand
  13. Jun 15, 2011
    5
    This game is good and bad at the same time. If you've played War for Cybertron, DotM will play nearly identical. So, playing and beating the campaign in less than 4 hours on normal difficulty was entertaining for the most part. However, the fact that this game came out AFTER War for Cybertron, I felt disappointed. DotM is basically War for Cybertron watered down. There is no longerThis game is good and bad at the same time. If you've played War for Cybertron, DotM will play nearly identical. So, playing and beating the campaign in less than 4 hours on normal difficulty was entertaining for the most part. However, the fact that this game came out AFTER War for Cybertron, I felt disappointed. DotM is basically War for Cybertron watered down. There is no longer co-op campaign, the campaign is shorter than WFC's, there is absolutely NO Escelation mode in multiplayer, and the character customization is less than WfC! I feel ripped off for paying $60+ for a game that is actually worse than WfC. It seems that High Moon and Activision thought "hey, we can put out a game in mere months without much work. We can just borrow the framework from WfC, put in a short campaign, and let the hype from the upcoming movie do all the advertising for us!" Expand
  14. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    A great movie tie-in game because it sets up what happens in the movie. The game play is smooth like War For Cybertron. And the visuals... the game is gorgeous! The best Transformers movie game ever made, period.
  15. Jun 17, 2011
    0
    Horrible game that should not have been made, effort should have been put into the War for Cybertron 2. The campaign had horrible load times every time it would save on a level and the stealth mode ruins the need for robot mode during the campaign. The controls are slow & plodding, lagging behind the action with inaccurate melee and vanishing grenades. Map glitches abound where yourHorrible game that should not have been made, effort should have been put into the War for Cybertron 2. The campaign had horrible load times every time it would save on a level and the stealth mode ruins the need for robot mode during the campaign. The controls are slow & plodding, lagging behind the action with inaccurate melee and vanishing grenades. Map glitches abound where your character will be caught in invisible parts of the maps. Mulitplayer is plagued with lag in game and even when changing screens on the menu. Collapse
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 53
  2. Negative: 11 out of 53
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    78
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon may suffer from some derivative level design, and its introduction of the cool Stealth Force form does have some repetitive gameplay consequences. But kudos to the developers for injecting something new into the formula.
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    40
    It seems like the developer ran out of the time before they could iterate upon last year's Transformers: War for Cybertron. This game winds up being a product of significantly lesser quality than it predecessor.
  3. Sep 14, 2011
    76
    While I know that this is a movie tie-in, I had high hopes for Dark of the Moon because of War for Cybertron. At the end of the day, Dark of the Moon feels unpolished with room to grow.