Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Aug 23, 2012
    90
    Transformers: Fall of Cybertron won't likely garner many Game of the Year awards since it just slightly misses the mark on a few key points, but what it does bring is some serious passion for a great property. What's important this time around is that Activision allowed High Moon to see that through with a big budget and the time needed to polish things up.
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    87
    The core gameplay remains solid with flashes of excellence and the game not only creates interest in the whole escape from Cybertron story, but creates excitement and a foundation for the inevitable sequel.
  3. 87
    High Moon Studios has successfully rebounded with a Transformers game that delivers on so many levels. The varied and entertaining single player campaign coupled with the deep multiplayer experience makes Fall of Cybertron a must own for any Transformer fan or even someone who just wants to have some mindless Transformer fun.
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    98
    This is a great shooter, perhaps the best we have had this year, so far, and it is definitely a game that is looking to be on my top 5 list of games for 2012. We have been lucky to have some great titles come out this year and we still have some exciting titles on the release schedule too, but don't make an error and miss this gem. I really hope we get a third game in this series.
  5. Aug 21, 2012
    90
    The real strength of Transformers: Fall of Cybertron is how expertly High Moon leverages the characters and mythology to create a cinematic shooter that stands on the strength of its design and gameplay, rather than leaning on its license as a crutch.
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    90
    Even if it's not the deepest interactive experience, Fall of Cybertron is certainly one of the most enthusiastic and boisterous digital adventures you'll have this year.
  7. Aug 30, 2012
    89
    If Fall of Cybertron has one lesson that it's trying to convey, it's the same thing that players will quickly learn upon trying out the multiplayer mode: Keep moving, adapt, and be willing to change. Otherwise, you'll probably blow up.
  8. Aug 28, 2012
    91
    Fall of Cybertron feels like an actual love letter to the series, and puts the right amount of emphasis on individual characters and their traits and mixes that with levels that make use of those particular skills and abilities. It's just a real joy to play, and I'm glad to have in my hands an actual, fun Transformers experience in video game form.
  9. Aug 21, 2012
    94
    I'm stunned by just how much fun Fall of Cybertron is. This isn't a game that will redefine the genre or anything else hyperbolic in nature. What it is, however, is a tremendous amount of fun.
  10. Aug 29, 2012
    90
    Transformers Fall of Cybertron presents gamers with one of the best single-player campaigns to date with more Transformer lore and love than you can poke a stick at.
  11. Aug 21, 2012
    90
    The disappointment of flying - or driving - solo notwithstanding, Transformers: Fall of Cybertron's relentless iteration on its own design and its constantly expanding scope set it apart from other third-person shooters.
  12. Aug 28, 2012
    90
    Whether you know all five Combaticons that form Bruticus by name, or have never seen a robot change into a car outside of a Shia LaBeouf movie, it's hard not to love this fun action shooter from High Moon Studios.
  13. Sep 7, 2012
    92
    I found very little not to like about Transformers: Fall of Cybertron, which is superior to its predecessor in every way. It still felt a bit short, but it looks better, it plays better and it even feels better.
  14. Aug 24, 2012
    87
    Supreme fan service, an epic sense of scale and plenty of gameplay variety ensure that Transformers: Fall of Cybertron is not only an unreservedly brilliant sequel, but is inarguably the best Transformers game we've played.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    People giving negative scores already because they are charging for day 1 DLC? so what, it's not like it's important story missions like Mass Effect 3, it's $10 for 5 awesome multiplayer characters, you don't have to buy them, or you can only buy their heads or arms. Anyway, the game is epic, the final mission is nuts, one of the better endings in a game today. Must buy for everyone Full Review »
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This game was amazing!!! I got it yesterday and it was great being grimlock was **** amazing and the world looks great! Also first **** Also the fact I have to keep typing nonsense just to post this **** is quite tiresome!! Full Review »
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome. The world is fantastic. Really fun game. Definitely my favorite game of the year. Also, Grimlock makes an appearance in this game, which is awesome! Full Review »