Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After experiencing the game’s story campaign, players can take their skills online in competitive multiplayer. Fall of Cybertron promises the most in-depth, advanced customization ever seen in the franchise, allowing fans to choose their head, shoulders, arms, legs, wheels, wings, vehicles, weapons, colors and much more to create the TRANSFORMERS character they’ve always dreamt of. Players can then take their personalized characters straight into blistering AUTOBOT vs. DECEPTICON multiplayer matches in a variety of game modes to prove their dominance. Additionally, fans can assume the role of their favorite named TRANSFORMERS characters in the four-player co-op Escalation mode. Teamwork is vital as they defeat increasing waves of enemies and band their resources together to purchase weapons and explore new areas. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    98
    This is a great shooter, perhaps the best we have had this year, so far, and it is definitely a game that is looking to be on my top 5 list of games for 2012. We have been lucky to have some great titles come out this year and we still have some exciting titles on the release schedule too, but don't make an error and miss this gem. I really hope we get a third game in this series.
  2. Aug 23, 2012
    90
    Transformers: Fall of Cybertron won't likely garner many Game of the Year awards since it just slightly misses the mark on a few key points, but what it does bring is some serious passion for a great property. What's important this time around is that Activision allowed High Moon to see that through with a big budget and the time needed to polish things up.
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    87
    Supreme fan service, an epic sense of scale and plenty of gameplay variety ensure that Transformers: Fall of Cybertron is not only an unreservedly brilliant sequel, but is inarguably the best Transformers game we've played.
  4. 80
    Transformers have a great line in banter, and the dialogue is perfect - Saturday morning black and white cartoon morality.
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    High Moon has put its soul into this one, and it shows. [Issue#90, p.70]
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    Tight, solid fun. [Nov 2012, p.72]
  7. Oct 27, 2012
    50
    If you manage to look past the large amounts of fan service and really dig deep into the game you'll quickly find just another average shooter with some interesting visuals. This is a game by fans, for fans.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    People giving negative scores already because they are charging for day 1 DLC? so what, it's not like it's important story missions like Mass Effect 3, it's $10 for 5 awesome multiplayer characters, you don't have to buy them, or you can only buy their heads or arms. Anyway, the game is epic, the final mission is nuts, one of the better endings in a game today. Must buy for everyone Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    I LOVED the first Transformers by Highmoon Studios, and I will admit, i was hesitant to purchase the sequel because I thought the first one was too good to improve on, but MAN this game is amazingggg. The campaign is so cinematic it feels like a Transformers movie! If you are on the fence about picking this one up, DO IT! Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Really enjoying this game, It's action packed and I definitely recommend it to any Transformers fans. The multiplayer is so much fun and I think I'll be playing online until the shooters come out in Xmas. Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    A very good game, especially for transformer fans
    1- a lot of better improvements than the previous one.
    2- long game, deserve every cent.

    3- good integrated story.
    4- a must have for every transformer fan. 5- pretty game ending .
    Collapse
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    When I got the game, I was all over the campaign and it was amazing. For a game that fantasizes over giant robots, it has the greatest gameplay experience. The graphics are just amazing and the storyline follows a little after WFC. The campaign itself kept me in it's graph. It had these certain endings to the sort of levels that made you want to continue. Campaign 10/10. The multiplayer didn't fail to impress me. With hundreds of ways to customize your characters and many ways to level up, the experience will make you want to play a lot. Of course, there are the tryhards you're going to want to watch out for, but other than that, have fun. One let down about the multiplayer was the amount of game modes. In WFC, there were maybe 7 or 8 game modes full of fun, but in FoC, there are 4. Although they gave me what I wanted, I can't help but feel a little empty with the multiplayer. But that isn't much of a big deal, as long as High Moon Studios makes a 3rd installment of this wonderful series. Multiplayer 8/10 Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    This is a must for anyone who is a Transformers G1 fan. No, they didn't recreate the first part of the first G1 episode into the game. And for some reason Bumblebee is shot, hinting at a future where he is mute; and both the Aerialbots, Combaticons and Dinobots exist. But despite all this, its just awesome seeing and indeed being a faithful modernised version of the G1 characters. The shooting is tight, although enemies are pretty tough eveb around Normal difficulty and the lack of a cover system or a crouch button means that you'll be going less gung-ho than you'll want to. However, this is everything a sequel should be it fixes on the original's many mistakes and puts in some new content like the grappel hook to jazz up the game (see what I did there?). And just when it starts to get repetetive, you get Grimlock, an unstoppable robotic T-Rex. And then the hectic final mission, which is just awesome. Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    4
    Meh. I really can't say much. Each guy handles like the last, just slightly speedier/slower, and each guy can only take so much punishment. WTH. I thought I was rolling with huge Instruments of Destruction, not some lame retardocons. And the jumping/flying? Not good man, not good. The controls feel clunky, and the weapons generally are a let down. You'd think they would have hooked up Optimus and crew with their signature weapons, but nope. Screw you, dude who grew up with these characters, we're gonna water em all down to make em palatable to the idiot masses. Ok Developer, that's fine, wreck my dreams of an awesome TF game where I rule. The ONLY reason to pick this up is if you have major wood for the Cybertron series. Otherwise, I guess the fans of the show are left out in the cold, as am I Expand

See all 29 User Reviews