Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After experiencing the game’s story campaign, players can take their skills online in competitive multiplayer. Fall of Cybertron promises the most in-depth, advanced customization ever seen in the franchise, allowing fans to choose their head, shoulders, arms, legs, wheels, wings, vehicles,After experiencing the game’s story campaign, players can take their skills online in competitive multiplayer. Fall of Cybertron promises the most in-depth, advanced customization ever seen in the franchise, allowing fans to choose their head, shoulders, arms, legs, wheels, wings, vehicles, weapons, colors and much more to create the TRANSFORMERS character they’ve always dreamt of. Players can then take their personalized characters straight into blistering AUTOBOT vs. DECEPTICON multiplayer matches in a variety of game modes to prove their dominance. Additionally, fans can assume the role of their favorite named TRANSFORMERS characters in the four-player co-op Escalation mode. Teamwork is vital as they defeat increasing waves of enemies and band their resources together to purchase weapons and explore new areas. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    98
    This is a great shooter, perhaps the best we have had this year, so far, and it is definitely a game that is looking to be on my top 5 list of games for 2012. We have been lucky to have some great titles come out this year and we still have some exciting titles on the release schedule too, but don't make an error and miss this gem. I really hope we get a third game in this series.
  2. Aug 23, 2012
    90
    Transformers: Fall of Cybertron won't likely garner many Game of the Year awards since it just slightly misses the mark on a few key points, but what it does bring is some serious passion for a great property. What's important this time around is that Activision allowed High Moon to see that through with a big budget and the time needed to polish things up.
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    87
    Supreme fan service, an epic sense of scale and plenty of gameplay variety ensure that Transformers: Fall of Cybertron is not only an unreservedly brilliant sequel, but is inarguably the best Transformers game we've played.
  4. 80
    Transformers have a great line in banter, and the dialogue is perfect - Saturday morning black and white cartoon morality.
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    High Moon has put its soul into this one, and it shows. [Issue#90, p.70]
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    Tight, solid fun. [Nov 2012, p.72]
  7. Oct 27, 2012
    50
    If you manage to look past the large amounts of fan service and really dig deep into the game you'll quickly find just another average shooter with some interesting visuals. This is a game by fans, for fans.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    People giving negative scores already because they are charging for day 1 DLC? so what, it's not like it's important story missions like MassPeople giving negative scores already because they are charging for day 1 DLC? so what, it's not like it's important story missions like Mass Effect 3, it's $10 for 5 awesome multiplayer characters, you don't have to buy them, or you can only buy their heads or arms. Anyway, the game is epic, the final mission is nuts, one of the better endings in a game today. Must buy for everyone Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    I LOVED the first Transformers by Highmoon Studios, and I will admit, i was hesitant to purchase the sequel because I thought the first oneI LOVED the first Transformers by Highmoon Studios, and I will admit, i was hesitant to purchase the sequel because I thought the first one was too good to improve on, but MAN this game is amazingggg. The campaign is so cinematic it feels like a Transformers movie! If you are on the fence about picking this one up, DO IT! Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Really enjoying this game, It's action packed and I definitely recommend it to any Transformers fans. The multiplayer is so much fun and IReally enjoying this game, It's action packed and I definitely recommend it to any Transformers fans. The multiplayer is so much fun and I think I'll be playing online until the shooters come out in Xmas. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    This game is great. For someone who is not sure about this game, it is well worth the $60. The campaign was one of the longest I've everThis game is great. For someone who is not sure about this game, it is well worth the $60. The campaign was one of the longest I've ever played, and there are loads of customization to do. The only really problem I had with the game was that during the campaign, most of the A.I animations were stiff. but it might just be my computer. Great game in the end and well worth the money. I hope to be playing this game for a long time. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    A game that is actually worth the $60 price tag! Fall of Cybertron lives up as a solid sequel to the first good Transformer game. Although IA game that is actually worth the $60 price tag! Fall of Cybertron lives up as a solid sequel to the first good Transformer game. Although I have not completed the entire campaign yet, from what I've experienced the single player campaign is full of action. My only complaint is Fall of Cybertron does not offer 3 player co-op like its predecessor, however the campaign is still action packed and tells a good story.

    Now a solid campaign is great, but we all know the re-playability depends on the multiplayer. Fall of Cybertron offers players a survival mode entitled "Escalation" and a player verse player multiplayer mode. Gamers who played through War for Cybertron will find both of these modes familiar and just as action packed. The multiplayer is set up for the player to chose their play style. Basically, you are given 4 classes to chose from and customize your own Autobot/Decepticon. Players can customize their weapons, weapon perks, abilities, and appearance. As you rank up more weapons and perks are unlocked to farther beef up your transformer. This is the first game (in a long time) where I felt the multiplayer maps were very well designed. They fit the gameplay perfectly, meaning some maps are huge and open; giving the advantage to the scientist and infiltrator classes. Other maps are very close corridor which give the edge to the destroyer and titans. Finally, Escalation mode returns with a few changes. First, players now take the role of a specific class with each class having its own unique ability. Second, High Moon has added traps and and a random "mystery box" to most rooms. These boxes basically generate a random gun that players can buy to use (very similar to CoD Zombie's mode). In all Transformers Fall of Cybertron officially goes down as the second good Transformers game. You do not need to be a fan of the cartoon, movies, or action figures to enjoy this game. Its a great third person shooter that really offers a lot of fun.
    Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    The game is great, the campaign mode is clean and switching from autobot to decepticon is a great way to keep the story moving and theThe game is great, the campaign mode is clean and switching from autobot to decepticon is a great way to keep the story moving and the gameplay fresh. The game really shines in multiplayer... The controls are very fluid and the game modes they have, though nothing ground breaking, are fast paced and you are never left waiting in the lobby for people to play. They have multiple classes you can play and as you level up you can create varied loadouts to accommadate changing gameplay strategies. I got it when it came out and I haven't stopped playing it. Collapse
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    4
    Meh. I really can't say much. Each guy handles like the last, just slightly speedier/slower, and each guy can only take so much punishment.Meh. I really can't say much. Each guy handles like the last, just slightly speedier/slower, and each guy can only take so much punishment. WTH. I thought I was rolling with huge Instruments of Destruction, not some lame retardocons. And the jumping/flying? Not good man, not good. The controls feel clunky, and the weapons generally are a let down. You'd think they would have hooked up Optimus and crew with their signature weapons, but nope. Screw you, dude who grew up with these characters, we're gonna water em all down to make em palatable to the idiot masses. Ok Developer, that's fine, wreck my dreams of an awesome TF game where I rule. The ONLY reason to pick this up is if you have major wood for the Cybertron series. Otherwise, I guess the fans of the show are left out in the cold, as am I Expand

See all 30 User Reviews