User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TaylorA.
    Jul 3, 2007
    0
    You can definitely tell that this game is designed to make little kids even more excited about the movie. That camera is horrible. Game play is repetitive. It's a little too challenging. Cut scenes are horrible. Voice acting make me want to punch whoever did it in the throat. Sometimes, there is just too much going on in the screen(and not in a good way, just a lot of debris that You can definitely tell that this game is designed to make little kids even more excited about the movie. That camera is horrible. Game play is repetitive. It's a little too challenging. Cut scenes are horrible. Voice acting make me want to punch whoever did it in the throat. Sometimes, there is just too much going on in the screen(and not in a good way, just a lot of debris that gets in your way). The driving is horrible. The maps are too limited. Hell, the entirety of the game is limited. But, the worst part of all is the fact that the the Achievements are almost all secret. So, if you're like me and just looking for some easy gamer points, you just have to do random button presses until something happens. I truly think this is the worst game I have ever played. Expand
  2. B1ackMesa
    Apr 11, 2008
    4
    Another horrible movie to game translation. I love the hell out of Transformers, but this game blew. You can't transform in mid-air, you can't turn in mid-air, the cars steer like they are driving on ice... All of the elements a basic game need, were not up to par, or just missing. It seems as though the game was rushed to meet the release of the movie as close as possible, andAnother horrible movie to game translation. I love the hell out of Transformers, but this game blew. You can't transform in mid-air, you can't turn in mid-air, the cars steer like they are driving on ice... All of the elements a basic game need, were not up to par, or just missing. It seems as though the game was rushed to meet the release of the movie as close as possible, and the game paid for it in the end. I don't see how this game could even be possible for a young child to play. It was barely mediocre. Expand
  3. SamuelJ.
    Jun 30, 2007
    4
    Clean this peace of dookie off of my carpet and spray the ground where it sat, for it stunk badleeeeeyy....
  4. AngelR.
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    I grew up as a fan and was very excited to have this game finally come out. I played it this weekend for 10 hours with my room mates and this game kicks butt!. You can be a truck, jets and kinds of other bad ass vehicles and fight in tons of different levels. I read through the other press reviews and I don't get what's up w/ these people. The bar for this game isn't Gears I grew up as a fan and was very excited to have this game finally come out. I played it this weekend for 10 hours with my room mates and this game kicks butt!. You can be a truck, jets and kinds of other bad ass vehicles and fight in tons of different levels. I read through the other press reviews and I don't get what's up w/ these people. The bar for this game isn't Gears of War or Final Fantasy. If you want a fun game that can be played by both adults and kids (my cousin who is 15 ended up taking it from me)...then don't listen to these reviewers. Let them go play their Japanese RPG's! This game is awesome and the movie is going to be awesome! Expand
  5. Spaniard0069
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    If your a transformers fan, you will enjoy this game even with all its flaws. Who doesn't enjoy walking around a city as a huge robot that weights several tons, is a couple stories tall and can actually level the city. Travelers Tales did a great job, now if only the would correct some of its issues and add some sort of online component.
  6. TS.
    Jul 1, 2007
    6
    While the character models are spectacular and the dozen or so sets of animations are well done everything else seems half-finished. When flying you will randomly transform when near buildings and if you enjoy driving on ice then you should have fun with racing controls. The "bonus materials" hardly deserve any recognition. Pictures you could easily find on the internet and trailers for While the character models are spectacular and the dozen or so sets of animations are well done everything else seems half-finished. When flying you will randomly transform when near buildings and if you enjoy driving on ice then you should have fun with racing controls. The "bonus materials" hardly deserve any recognition. Pictures you could easily find on the internet and trailers for the movie are the bulk of what you receive for tracking down energon cubes and completing sub-missions (read as "pointless waste of time"). If the movies makes you feel euphoric then this game is for you, otherwise pass this half-finished thing by. Expand
  7. MiguelG.
    Aug 1, 2007
    7
    The game's fun, mindless fun. Its difficulty is well ballanced (Taylor A., come on... it's not hard at all m8!, about the Achievements, go look @ xbox360achievements.org, and easy gamerpoints suck!, the harder the cooler!). It also brings the possibility of soing the whole game as the bad guys and blow everything up.
  8. KDep
    Jun 28, 2007
    7
    This game is a must for Transformer die-hards, it's very well done visually. The graphics and sound are spectacular. The only thing holding this game back are the controls and cameras. They are not the best by far. I love the bouncing camera as you walk, it gives you a feel for how big these guys are. The driving controls are far too sensitive and the physics aren't right at This game is a must for Transformer die-hards, it's very well done visually. The graphics and sound are spectacular. The only thing holding this game back are the controls and cameras. They are not the best by far. I love the bouncing camera as you walk, it gives you a feel for how big these guys are. The driving controls are far too sensitive and the physics aren't right at all. You can hit a car head-on and send it flying like it was made of paper - but hit a brick or a sign and you almost stop. There's a lot of hidden content and extras in this game to keep you busy. The core missions are short and the story can be beaten very quickly. But if you take your time and find a lot of the hidden stuff you'll be playing this game for a long time. A definite purchase for Transformer fans who will spend the first 20 minutes just hitting the "transform" button 500 times. If you're not a huge fan rent it first. Expand
  9. RicardoG.
    Jun 30, 2007
    7
    It's pretty fun and it definetely fun transforming. Their are some things that need to be fixed, like maybe the collision and the driving physics. The way you slowly pick stuff up is a little broken, but it definetely is enjoyable if your a fan. Anyone who doesn't care for the transformers brand should skip it.
  10. BobbyB.
    Jul 10, 2007
    5
    While it has alright voice acting by Megatron and Optomis Prime, the rest of the cast sounds like they just got picked up off the street. Levels are big, but for the most part you are confined to small squares. There is no real challenge as decepticons as most enemies go down after a hit or two, the autobots racing levels feel like grease has been put on the road. In addition to this the While it has alright voice acting by Megatron and Optomis Prime, the rest of the cast sounds like they just got picked up off the street. Levels are big, but for the most part you are confined to small squares. There is no real challenge as decepticons as most enemies go down after a hit or two, the autobots racing levels feel like grease has been put on the road. In addition to this the game is over $50. Fifty dollars should buy something that lasts more then ten hours. You want a fun adult beat-em-up game? Get Soul Caliber 2. You want a fun kid game, try Kameo. This game is too poor of quality for adults and too hard to wield for children. Oh, and if you want a fun game that can be played by both adults and kids without chucking the game, system, and all your transformers toys out the window so that you never have to sully yourself with the memory of playing it, avoid this game. Expand
  11. AndyH.
    Nov 19, 2007
    3
    This game is really frustrating and the difficulty on some of the levels is too difficult. The game starts off ok, although the control of the cars in the driving sections is awful. I got to a point mid-way through the game when I had no idea how to continue, so I just gave up and couldn't be bothered to continue. Shame really, graphics were quite good. Definately a rental only game This game is really frustrating and the difficulty on some of the levels is too difficult. The game starts off ok, although the control of the cars in the driving sections is awful. I got to a point mid-way through the game when I had no idea how to continue, so I just gave up and couldn't be bothered to continue. Shame really, graphics were quite good. Definately a rental only game - don't waste your cash buying it. Expand
  12. GeoffD.
    Oct 26, 2007
    1
    This game is about as exciting as walking to the mall. While some of the graphics are slick, I felt like the big robots were separate from their environs. With the console hardware out there, this game didn't have good destructible environs. Instead there were the same effects you see in any other game from the original Xbox. C'mon, I know that this game was made to suck more This game is about as exciting as walking to the mall. While some of the graphics are slick, I felt like the big robots were separate from their environs. With the console hardware out there, this game didn't have good destructible environs. Instead there were the same effects you see in any other game from the original Xbox. C'mon, I know that this game was made to suck more money out of the franchise, but can't you update it so it looks okay? The enemies also got repetative. Four or five types of normal enemies, some of which can be killed in a single hit, is not only repetative, but lazy. Fans avoid this game, it will make you weep for the future of transformers games. Expand
  13. McBain17
    Jul 25, 2007
    7
    I have to say all these reviews offer something dead on about the game. But if you are fan you owe it to yourself to play this version of the game. Amazing robot graphics and beautiful transformations. Solid pick for fan boys (or girls) alike.
  14. Nov 13, 2011
    5
    I thought that the graphics were good and the gameplay was okay, but the camera is bad. Most of the game feels unfinished in certain parts. You'll enjoy it for the most part if you are a fan of Transformers.
  15. Feb 21, 2012
    1
    i found this game very disappointing, it screwed up the story big time, the controls were bad, and the voice acting was just plain awful, the only positive i have for this game was its graphics,besides that, the game was awful
  16. Aug 4, 2013
    0
    -10 This game is straight trash... really sucks. If you are thinking of buying or downloading this game, don't, it's just a huge disappointment You can tell the game was rushed just to make sales when the movie came out. I feel bad for anyone who actually paid money for this. The people who developed this game had to have known it was garbage... it takes like 100 people to make a game and-10 This game is straight trash... really sucks. If you are thinking of buying or downloading this game, don't, it's just a huge disappointment You can tell the game was rushed just to make sales when the movie came out. I feel bad for anyone who actually paid money for this. The people who developed this game had to have known it was garbage... it takes like 100 people to make a game and you cant tell me at least 1 out of those 100 ppl didn't realize this game sucked? They knew, they all knew, but they sold out for a paycheck. This world sucks. You sir have just robbed money out of peoples wallets by being greedy. I don't understand how people like this can sleep at night Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 50
  2. Negative: 14 out of 50
  1. To produce a technically sloppy title is one thing, but the game is horribly flawed from conception to execution in a way we haven't seen since, ulp, Driv3r. Marred by a remarkably vacuous combat system, the pathetic driving and undercooked flying elements merely underline what a thoroughly wasted opportunity this was.
  2. 60
    While Transformers: The Game may be something of a typical movie tie-in, there's just enough spark here to provide a bit of fun for anyone who likes the movie or is just looking for some dumb fun.
  3. Admittedly, the game is gorgeous. But because the narrative is as linear and rigid as a steel pipe, it's a shallow sort of beauty. [Sept 2007, p.83]