User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 262 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 262

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    6
    Fantastic single player game, even if it is basically the same game as Trials HD. But the multiplayer matchmaking is broken right now. It takes forever to connect. Beware if you buy this game for the new multiplayer!
  2. Jul 13, 2012
    5
    "Physics based" my foot! Excite Bike on the NES had better physics! It's pretty, responsive, and fun, with varied and engaging levels. But let's be honest: the core mechanic is very simple, and it is anything but realistic. I got bored of it pretty quickly, definitely before I felt like I'd had my $15 worth. If you judge it on the gameplay, I've seen better flash games with the same"Physics based" my foot! Excite Bike on the NES had better physics! It's pretty, responsive, and fun, with varied and engaging levels. But let's be honest: the core mechanic is very simple, and it is anything but realistic. I got bored of it pretty quickly, definitely before I felt like I'd had my $15 worth. If you judge it on the gameplay, I've seen better flash games with the same mechanic*. That said, it's not like it's terrible. It's just that this rating is way, way too high. *And I find the "level editor" in Line Rider to be a lot easier to use! Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2013
    7
    Talk about the most frustrating series of all time, but still fun. It's very well made and the gameplay is great but it doesn't keep me coming back for more, like the first one did. Maybe I just bored of it.
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    7
    This is clearly the best arcade-game available in my opinion. It can't compare with "real" games, but for the branch it is nearly perfect.
    It's astonishing what this game is capable of. It's not only another great Trials game with improved graphics and physics, but thanks to the map-editor and the communities' creativity you can expand the experience a lot. However, after all it's still a
    This is clearly the best arcade-game available in my opinion. It can't compare with "real" games, but for the branch it is nearly perfect.
    It's astonishing what this game is capable of. It's not only another great Trials game with improved graphics and physics, but thanks to the map-editor and the communities' creativity you can expand the experience a lot. However, after all it's still a Trials game which means that the gameplay of driving a motorcycle in 2D perspective can get quite dull after a while, no matter how much quality content there is.
    Expand
  5. May 8, 2012
    7
    Good:
    -The graphics are well done with a smooth frame rate (feels like 60fps, but not sure).
    -Some interesting track design. -Some people really like this style of punishing gameplay (example: Super Meat Boy, which I deemed "not fun" after 5 minutes). -The demo is a good sample of the full game. Try it first, but beware of the Bad points below: Bad: -I finished all the medium and
    Good:
    -The graphics are well done with a smooth frame rate (feels like 60fps, but not sure).
    -Some interesting track design.
    -Some people really like this style of punishing gameplay (example: Super Meat Boy, which I deemed "not fun" after 5 minutes).
    -The demo is a good sample of the full game. Try it first, but beware of the Bad points below:

    Bad:
    -I finished all the medium and below tracks in 2 to 3 hours. Not much replayability there. Professional reviews praise the abundant content but I disagree. On the other hand, it's only 15 dollars.
    -Tracks rated as Hard or Extreme are just exercises in tedious trial-and-error. When you finally pass an obstacle it feels like luck, not better skills. This is not fun.
    -User made tracks are mostly disappointing (lack of checkpoints) and/or rated for higher difficulty.
    -The music and voice effects are atrocious.
    -The track editor works but it requires so much time that average gamers might as well skip it entirely.
    Expand
  6. May 15, 2012
    7
    Redlynx tried to make a sequel to one of the best selling games on XBLA of all time and while they kind of succeeded in doing so they fell flat on their face with a few flaws the game has. One of the annoyances that I had with Trials Evolution was the new medal system they added in, they've taken the medals out of the original (Trials HD) and they've kept that same formula that made theRedlynx tried to make a sequel to one of the best selling games on XBLA of all time and while they kind of succeeded in doing so they fell flat on their face with a few flaws the game has. One of the annoyances that I had with Trials Evolution was the new medal system they added in, they've taken the medals out of the original (Trials HD) and they've kept that same formula that made the game feel like you've achieved something. In Trials Evolution that's still the case but with the new single player mode dragging that down having to have a certain amount of medals to progress onto new, harder tracks the game just get's time consuming and can end up being more of a chore than actual fun to play. Another annoyance is the soundtrack, it doesn't really fit that Trials feel, music can pop in at random points and it generally doesn't suit what kind of genre Trials is in. Although the game has received little graphical updates than the previous title it still holds out as being one of the best looking XBLA titles on the system. The gameplay, while frustrating it's still incredibly fun and addictive, unless you're going to play the same levels to get better medals to try and unlock more tracks. They've kept the mini games and they've also added a few other game types in the mini games, one being control a ball (created in the in game editor) to get as far as you can and get the best possible time and score. The editor itself is very hard to learn but once when you learn how to use it then you can make things like a first person shooter, a football table game that you can actually play. The verdict: Despite little graphical updates and barely changed gameplay, it's still fun with new environments, constant levels being made from the community. The weak single player could be overlooked because of the flood of content being created by users. I would recommend waiting until the price goes down a little bit, but it's defiantly a game worth looking at. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 77
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 77
  3. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Trials Evolution is basically the same core game as the previous one, but since I love that game I can look beyond that. Although, when it's time to develop a third game, I hope that RedLynx actually can evolve the game instead of just insert something meaningless in the title.
  2. Jun 4, 2012
    90
    Trials Evolution truly is the next step in the outstanding core experience from HD, polishing every aspect of an already-fantastic game to a near-blinding sheen, and then delivering something peerless in terms of technical precision and visceral addiction. They don't come better than this
  3. May 31, 2012
    80
    Much like a "new and improved" cereal at your grocer, Trials Evolution successfully makes small improvements to its predecessor to cater to its fans. In that area, RedLynx has succeeded. Anyone who enjoyed Trials HD will no doubt love Trials Evolution. Unfortunately, those looking for something more than "more of the same" aren't going to find it here. As the name implies, this is just an evolution of what came before; it's not a revolution.