Turok Xbox 360

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 121
  2. Negative: 23 out of 121
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2013
    7
    Turok is a great game. But every game has its ups and its downs. Turok succeeds in the enemy's. Compared to Call of Duty's enemy's these guys are smart. They rock at killing you. Which brings me to a low point for the game. Difficulty. The final boss is greatly overpowered, most raptors will knock you off your feet which will allow other dinosaurs to kill you easy. That's another lowTurok is a great game. But every game has its ups and its downs. Turok succeeds in the enemy's. Compared to Call of Duty's enemy's these guys are smart. They rock at killing you. Which brings me to a low point for the game. Difficulty. The final boss is greatly overpowered, most raptors will knock you off your feet which will allow other dinosaurs to kill you easy. That's another low point. Most of the game is spent getting thrown down on to the floor. In the case of most of the dinosaurs (minus the T-Rex) getting up is no worry. But when your fighting the Human opposition, and they knock you down, its very hard not to just die. AI for the enemy's is brilliant! AI for the allies is wretched. Enemy's can easily outsmart and kill you. Allies attempt to kill the enemy but fail. One of the instances that I'm talking about is when one soldier who was with me was shooting a group of humans. He had a mini-gun and I was observing him shoot the soldiers. It felt like that mini-gun was shooting BB Pellets. Another problem is the Missions. Most of them say "Follow but if you watch that soldier he will simply stand there and look at you. Following doesn't really work for this game. Overall it was okay game but not amazing at the same time. Expand
  2. MikeJ.
    Feb 1, 2008
    9
    Very good game. Solid mechanics and loads of fun killing dinos.
  3. MaxB.
    Feb 1, 2008
    8
    Yeah, the game's got it's fault. If you could remove their helmets, the army of cookie-cutter bad guys would be thrilled that after not making the cut in Killzone, they got a second chance with Turok. And the lack of a radar sets you up for attacks from all sides, sending you spinning to figure out what's going on. But the visuals are good, the animations are great, and for Yeah, the game's got it's fault. If you could remove their helmets, the army of cookie-cutter bad guys would be thrilled that after not making the cut in Killzone, they got a second chance with Turok. And the lack of a radar sets you up for attacks from all sides, sending you spinning to figure out what's going on. But the visuals are good, the animations are great, and for a pretty straight-forward story, the characters and the voice work are top notch. It's not going to be a Halo 3 or a Call of Duty 4 by any means, but it's still an entertaining and well made game. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    I will admit that I was disappointed that this wasn't like the good old days of Turok on the N64 but at the same time this game still managed to be fun and enjoyable (even if it's difficulty was located somewhere between merciless and 'go f**k yourself').

    The story for the most part is...forgettable. Completely and utterly forgettable. All you need to know is that you crash landed on a
    I will admit that I was disappointed that this wasn't like the good old days of Turok on the N64 but at the same time this game still managed to be fun and enjoyable (even if it's difficulty was located somewhere between merciless and 'go f**k yourself').

    The story for the most part is...forgettable. Completely and utterly forgettable. All you need to know is that you crash landed on a planet, there are dinosaurs everywhere and you're badass enough to grapple them and stab their asses into extinction (a second time). Yes, there is the whole business with Kane training dudes for some personal army and how the planet is some weird prehistoric petri dish but you'll honestly find yourself more concerned by the fact that you just stabbed a Dilophosaur to death (and that it was AWESOME).

    The weapons are pretty bland considering the rich history of sheer insanity that's come from other Turok games. There's nothing like the Cerebral Bore or the Nuke, the closest they get is with the sticky bomb gun (which in itself isn't all that impressive), overall the weapons just feel boring and half-arsed and there's little variety (you've played any shooter recently, you've seen the entire arsenal at your disposal already).

    The dinosaurs that inhabit the game world can vary between being a useful tool and distraction to being colossal pains in the backside, luring them over to enemies with the flare gun almost never seems to work but on the up side it's almost laughably easy to stab most dinosaurs to death with the knife (even on Inhuman difficulty, entire packs of raptors can become as threatening as newborn kittens if you remember to use the knife executions to the exclusion of all else).

    The stealth segments in the game just suck majorly, success at sneaking just feels completely arbitrary and your stealth weapons either draw lots of attention to you ('oh bullsh*t did yo just hear an arrow kill the guy down the corridor from you!') or are just plain awful (try aiming with the bow, it will take a while to get the hang of it). This isn't quite so bad though seeing as the 'guns blazing' option is always available (even if it comes at the price of your support characters being snarky towards you) so you're not punished too badly for screwing it up.

    Overall, Turok is a good game if you can handle the testicle-crushingly cruel difficulty and occasional rage inducing stealth segments, it's not quite Seeds of Evil but it's still pretty damn good.
    Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    5
    For a FPS is mediocre, very mediocre that you will left the game by the big frustration it has. Turok gameplay starts with nice moments to broken basically, bad sensitivity, high recoil in enemies, boring . Meanwhile the levels is what kept me in saying what it contains , mediocrity , first the checkpoints are ( sorry by my language) a pain in the ass , after a big moment of a lot ofFor a FPS is mediocre, very mediocre that you will left the game by the big frustration it has. Turok gameplay starts with nice moments to broken basically, bad sensitivity, high recoil in enemies, boring . Meanwhile the levels is what kept me in saying what it contains , mediocrity , first the checkpoints are ( sorry by my language) a pain in the ass , after a big moment of a lot of killing and reaching the objective suddenly you get killed and you re-spawn where you got the challenge making you to do it again. The graphics feels not new but not old , the opening is at least very good. The mixed weapons , do not give you the reason to stay sticked to an specific weapon every weapon is designated for a level so you need to change. Anyway, Turok is a negative mediocre game, to boring and frustrating. Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2012
    6
    I don't hate Turok for current generation consoles, but its very boring and frustrating. I miss the older turok games on the n64. Those are amazing.
  7. May 21, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's no doubt that Turok can be fun, but ultimately, the feeling of satisfaction that comes with slitting a raptor's throat or pulling off a headshot with your bow is lost in the shuffle of swarming enemies, less than stellar visuals and a story that disappears. Expand
  8. Jan 3, 2013
    5
    This potential resurrection of the Turok franchise has ultimately turned out to be a dud. Bogged down by a potent **** of linear gameplay, unengaging narrative, and repetitive combat sequences, this new Turok proves to be a forgettable dud.
  9. May 26, 2013
    4
    I really wanted to like this game. I really, REALLY wanted to like it. to play another game where your enemies are dinosaurs sounded awesome to me, but this game manages to fail at what it does. first off, the story, while interesting, is pretty bland. the Turok series has more of a sci-fi approach this time, which would be cool if this concept wasn't constantly milked in most FPS games.I really wanted to like this game. I really, REALLY wanted to like it. to play another game where your enemies are dinosaurs sounded awesome to me, but this game manages to fail at what it does. first off, the story, while interesting, is pretty bland. the Turok series has more of a sci-fi approach this time, which would be cool if this concept wasn't constantly milked in most FPS games. the gameplay isn't that good either. the control for the game makes playing the game a bit confusing, and this game has tons and tons of difficulty spikes. this is mainly because one of your enemies in Turok is military soldiers. MILITARY SOLDIERS in a TUROK game. these enemies appear more often than dinosaurs, and it really drains the fun of killing dinosaurs that Turok games should have. The music for the game isn't that good. nothing in the soundtrack stands out, and I find myself always forgetting these tunes. the graphics are passable. all environments are pretty, and the character models look nice. my only complaint is that the dinosaurs look a bit too glaring, especially raptors, which look like plastic at times. As mentioned before, this game has numerous difficulty spikes, even on the easiest difficulty. this game will kick you in the butt if you're not prepared, as numerous parts of the game involve fighting too many enemies at once, or getting shot at from all angles. If one thing is good about the game, it's the voice acting. the voice acting, while not suberb, does a decent job at this game. the voices fit for each character, especially Turok. In the end, Turok is not that great of a game. its story is bland, the gameplay is a shut off thanks to there being military factions, and its difficulty spikes make Turok not an enjoyable game. Expand
  10. SweetP.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    bioshock and call of duty 4. call of duty 4 and bioshock. that's i ever read anymore in reviews for new shooters. who else is sick of comparing everything to bioshock and call of duty 4? i love those games, don't get me wrong. but, turok is just as much fun, and just as pretty to me. it's not other games. it's turok. it's wonderful. play it. don't not play bioshock and call of duty 4. call of duty 4 and bioshock. that's i ever read anymore in reviews for new shooters. who else is sick of comparing everything to bioshock and call of duty 4? i love those games, don't get me wrong. but, turok is just as much fun, and just as pretty to me. it's not other games. it's turok. it's wonderful. play it. don't not play it, because you played bioshock and call of duty 4, and they were so awesome that you don't have to play anything else ever again. Expand
  11. Sergenteen
    Feb 17, 2008
    7
    I can see why people like it. I found myself loving it. But between the crappy game play and the lack of story, the blood everywhere just doesn't make up for it. Could have been better.
  12. TheJ.
    Feb 14, 2008
    1
    Boring story badly told and not that nice to look at. Steer clear.
  13. march
    Mar 25, 2008
    1
    God this game is awful, the developers should be stoned or maybe hanged from the neck until dead this game should have stayed in the stone age nothing about it is redeeming it looks like a high end xbox original maybe worse stay away from it I think we finally have a contended for worse game ever its neck and neck between turock and vampire rain.
  14. MangoPork
    May 15, 2008
    2
    This game killed my inner child. Why? Because This is not Turok. It's Call Of Halo. Yet Another great franchise ruined by pseudo-tactical gameplay and no new (or old) ideas. Turok lost his soul, weaponry, and his indian heritage. The only good feature in this game are the top quality dinosaurs. The developers of this game should have just re-released the original "Dinosaur Hunter" This game killed my inner child. Why? Because This is not Turok. It's Call Of Halo. Yet Another great franchise ruined by pseudo-tactical gameplay and no new (or old) ideas. Turok lost his soul, weaponry, and his indian heritage. The only good feature in this game are the top quality dinosaurs. The developers of this game should have just re-released the original "Dinosaur Hunter" with updated graphics and online multiplayer. What a travesty. The trend of Militarizing shooters needs to die. Expand
  15. OliverM.
    Feb 2, 2008
    9
    The best Turok yet, and a great multiplayer to boot.
  16. MattW
    Mar 30, 2008
    8
    Great Graphics, voice acting and loads of Turok fun...a very fun title to play but not as good as it should have been. Needed some better and more consistant weapons, better enemy AI and I really hated the constant enemy respawning...that's an old school technique games used. Despite the negative that do accompany the graets, this game definitely warrants a purchase and is a great Great Graphics, voice acting and loads of Turok fun...a very fun title to play but not as good as it should have been. Needed some better and more consistant weapons, better enemy AI and I really hated the constant enemy respawning...that's an old school technique games used. Despite the negative that do accompany the graets, this game definitely warrants a purchase and is a great addition to the 360 library of games. Expand
  17. JonathanO.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    This game is great. People don't like it because of the difficulty; when did a hard game all of a sudden become a bad game? This game has so many things going for it: a strong storyline, characters you can care about, awesome and visceral combat, and the best ending of any game, ever. Ignore the flaws; love the fun.
  18. SeanM.
    Feb 1, 2008
    9
    On the plus side the dinosaurs are fantastic - really scary and brutally fun. The knife kills and the bow are two of the best weapons ever, and the rest of the weapons are a lot of fun, especially with their alt modes. On the minus side the game has some areas which don't look as good as others - it's inconsistent - fantastic jungles at one point then fairly typical concrete On the plus side the dinosaurs are fantastic - really scary and brutally fun. The knife kills and the bow are two of the best weapons ever, and the rest of the weapons are a lot of fun, especially with their alt modes. On the minus side the game has some areas which don't look as good as others - it's inconsistent - fantastic jungles at one point then fairly typical concrete bases at another. The story started out strong but by the end it had lost steam. Overall - really fun and a nice change from all the "clone"-ish shooters that are coming out recently. Expand
  19. Cuah123
    Feb 14, 2008
    6
    After spending some money on stock on the last version of this game, I see the brand has only advanced in the Art realm, the design specifically the tuning still remains retarded and backwards. Again the same problem that has plagued EA's Medal of Honor Airborne plagues Turok, its dam too difficult to shoot and down your targets. If its either too many hitpoints or a lack of a "stick After spending some money on stock on the last version of this game, I see the brand has only advanced in the Art realm, the design specifically the tuning still remains retarded and backwards. Again the same problem that has plagued EA's Medal of Honor Airborne plagues Turok, its dam too difficult to shoot and down your targets. If its either too many hitpoints or a lack of a "stick aim" mechanic employed by games like Halo, this game suffers greatly in the tuning of the gameplay. Or the obvious feeling that npcs will move away from a reticule when being pointed at, even if they are not aware of the player. I'm guessing again, did someone with little experience tune the game? This should always be delegated to the most experienced of Game Designers and not someone who is technical.. With very simple tuning, like making all enemies have less hitpoints, this game could be a complete and incredible gameplay experience. If there is anything redeemable about this game it would the top notch AAA art use of the Unreal Engine. Expand
  20. BryanL.
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    Strong single player (not impossible on normal setting, hard spots...yes... but not impossible) Whats all this talk about the game being to linear? I mean it's not an open world game like GTA what do you expect in a FPS.... MP is fun, the aiming takes some getting used too but once you get it then you can tear it up!
  21. Jesseblah
    Dec 8, 2008
    9
    This game gets a lot of flak for being a sequel. Turok 2 was a great game but, take the bias away and take the game for what it is, and you'll see it's a solid game. Along with beautiful graphics the engine is smooth and so are the mechanics. The gameplay is fun with a decent story to boot. You feel like you're playing in a movie. The dialog is raw, well written and with This game gets a lot of flak for being a sequel. Turok 2 was a great game but, take the bias away and take the game for what it is, and you'll see it's a solid game. Along with beautiful graphics the engine is smooth and so are the mechanics. The gameplay is fun with a decent story to boot. You feel like you're playing in a movie. The dialog is raw, well written and with great delivery. It should remind you a little of Gears of War. Touchstone did spear head the project as far as script and directing, after all. One of the down sides are that the game does not have multilayer for those who like to invite friends to play on one console. For PS3 owners this is more of a disappointment. For XBOX360 owners, it's not quite as much as a blow, due to XBOX360 gearing it's consumers to play online. Still. Another down side is that the story isn't terribly long. Granted the game has good replay value, it can get repetitive at points. (No vehicles. A larger variety of dinos would've been nice.) Cons aside the game is a solid choice. Lower your expectations if you have to but, give it a chance before you get caught up in the biased wave of Turok fanatics. And of course, if you love gore, guns and/or dinosaurs, this is your game. Expand
  22. JKrullnar
    Feb 27, 2008
    8
    A lot of the reviews were too harsh on this title. If you're into great-playing FPS games and would be into watching a dumb testosterone-charged action movie with dinos (the dinos are very well done in this game), you should check it out. There's a nice fluid action to Turok, and everything works and 'feels' like it should. Visuals are passable, impressive at times. A lot of the reviews were too harsh on this title. If you're into great-playing FPS games and would be into watching a dumb testosterone-charged action movie with dinos (the dinos are very well done in this game), you should check it out. There's a nice fluid action to Turok, and everything works and 'feels' like it should. Visuals are passable, impressive at times. Sound if fantastic- tons of deep bass, very good voice acting (especially from Ron Perlman). The weaponry is decent, the knife action works great as long as you wait for the 'knife raised' pose before you use it. Compared to the demo on XBL, the full game runs better- I've only noticed a few small moments of choppiness. IMO it's buy worthy. Expand
  23. McDermitTheTruth
    Feb 2, 2008
    8
    The game is easily a high 70, GameSpy gave it a 50? Seriously? That's just insulting, They are saying its on the level of Viva Pinate party Animals or Beowulf? Don't listen to that fool that dragged the score down, obviously mental.
  24. JasonL.
    Feb 6, 2008
    8
    Fantastic sense of immersion with satisfying old-school charm. It has to be said that this game is certainly no cake-walk though, with extremely tough boss battles and a fair amount of trial and error gameplay.
  25. AnonymousMC
    Jan 24, 2008
    4
    First thing you will notice is how horrible small the field of view is. It feels as if your zoomed in and can't tell what's going on around. This coupled with the lack of decent lighting make it a confusing and awkward experience. Have not seen UE3 look worse than in this cookie cutter cash-in. BTW Turok is now some neo-military mercenary instead of a native american, so whyFirst thing you will notice is how horrible small the field of view is. It feels as if your zoomed in and can't tell what's going on around. This coupled with the lack of decent lighting make it a confusing and awkward experience. Have not seen UE3 look worse than in this cookie cutter cash-in. BTW Turok is now some neo-military mercenary instead of a native american, so why even use the license? Expand
  26. ShaunQ.
    Feb 12, 2008
    9
    What a return to a great franchise. The games graphics are outstanding and the a.i is brilliant. The only thing thatv lets this game down is the missing split screen multiplayer.
  27. TedB.
    Feb 13, 2008
    3
    Stupid AI, extremely week weapons, just a game that wished to be great and ended up to be almost terrible.
  28. BobG.
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    Great game, good kill moves, NEEDS MORE CO OP MAPS!
  29. Paul
    Feb 3, 2008
    5
    Take gears of war, make it 3rd person, make the graphics worse, the voice overs terrible, make the gameplay lame, and you have Turok. I was pretty disappointed with this game, its just SOO average... it hurts.
  30. [Anonymous]
    Feb 5, 2008
    2
    Turok should have stayed extinct. This game is unoriginal, short, and just all around boring.
  31. NickM.
    Feb 6, 2008
    8
    If i could I'd give this an 8.5. Its a little bit too difficult, takes to long to load textures and fighting humans is an OK experience. It truly shines in the fights against Dinosaurs. They are just so fun to fun and their is a large variety of them. The weapons are cool, but there aren't a lot of them. The animations for mostly things are great. A great moment is when a If i could I'd give this an 8.5. Its a little bit too difficult, takes to long to load textures and fighting humans is an OK experience. It truly shines in the fights against Dinosaurs. They are just so fun to fun and their is a large variety of them. The weapons are cool, but there aren't a lot of them. The animations for mostly things are great. A great moment is when a Dinosaur is running at you, and you notice it just in time to shoot it. It falls down, but your not quick enough to kill it before it scurries away to come back later, angrier. Expand
  32. AndyS.
    Feb 7, 2008
    9
    Not as perfect game but better than what the official critics review, In fact I give it a 8.5 but .. you know .... At the beginning the graphic seems soso... to much grey and green.. but when you begin to kill the bad and the badder with your knife and your bow.. The game begin to shine.. its a very good game.. dont read the official critic.. go buy it
  33. StormyC.
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    A great! game for the xbox 360, if you into late nights wondering if your going to survive or not...the hand to hand combat style at the end is classic!..but the T-Rex's are a bit to ridiculous.
  34. NickB.
    Mar 4, 2008
    9
    Fun. That is all I can say. It might not be as high quality as Call of Duty4 or any of the AAA blockbusters out there but it is definitely just as fun, if not more. Provides some great thrills and pure entertainment as you take down humans and dinosaurs alike. AI does have some problems though. Online is not bad but is nothing revolutionary.
  35. BobP
    May 17, 2008
    4
    Exceptional production values and immersion completely cripped by horrible AI and story and direction. The atmosphere is great, then your 'friendly' AI runs right in your line of fire and stands and stares at you as you try and aim around him to kill a guy *shooting at you*. You find yourself in a tense showdown with a giant dino only to have 'get over here' played Exceptional production values and immersion completely cripped by horrible AI and story and direction. The atmosphere is great, then your 'friendly' AI runs right in your line of fire and stands and stares at you as you try and aim around him to kill a guy *shooting at you*. You find yourself in a tense showdown with a giant dino only to have 'get over here' played over the radio every 5-10 seconds. The situations you are in and the gameplay are really good, and if the game only focused on that instead of trying to inject a worthless story, it would be worth getting. Expand
  36. Jun 18, 2014
    7
    Every now and again one of those games emerge into the market. Those games which have an average hype into the market, but then is forgotten after some time. Turok has taken this very path, it has been almost forgotten, and sometimes while playing the game, i can see why.

    You play as a rough and tough guy named Turok. He has just been recruited into a squad with other people that look
    Every now and again one of those games emerge into the market. Those games which have an average hype into the market, but then is forgotten after some time. Turok has taken this very path, it has been almost forgotten, and sometimes while playing the game, i can see why.

    You play as a rough and tough guy named Turok. He has just been recruited into a squad with other people that look as tough as him, though nobody likes him very much at a glance. They don't like him because Turok used to be on another squad and he betrayed them, so nobody trusts him yet. But before anything else happens the space ship that you are in reaches its destination. However, before even entering the planet's atmosphere, you are hit by a missile or something. You then wake up still in the wreckage of the ship, you have one man by your side. The first mission teaches you all the controls of the game while you find a way out of this wreckage, the other man leads the way; though he soon dies and you are left alone...for a bit.

    As soon as you are playing as Turok in the first person perspective, you should notice the average effort put into this game while making the graphics. The wreckage is displayed really nicely with all the crumpled metal parts and the sparks of electricity emerging every few seconds. It can also get scary because the graphics allow you to see a small movement of a large piece of metal before it falls a few millimeters away from you. Then as the game wears on, the graphics are mostly presented with the dinosaurs. There are many species of dinosaurs in the game and all of them look very real, you can even notice a small amount of reflection of the sun on the dinosaur's body; or even on the knife that you are just about to use to murder the dinosaur. My favorite part of the game is stabbing the dinosaur; whether the dinosaur is the size of your leg or ten times bigger than you. Stabbing the dinosaur is done differently for each kind of dinosaur, and they are all done ruthlessly and very swiftly. Though they are all done in a different manner, all of them have the same result - a fountain of blood before instant death. Even though the fountain of blood looks a bit unrealistic, the satisfaction you get from doing that is amazing. Also, many times there are quite a few dinosaurs together so stabbing them one after the other can be really fun, though it can also get a little repetitive because the dinosaurs that attack in packs are all the same dinosaurs and so the way Turok stabs them is always the same. Another disappointment with this is that in some parts of the game, the dinosaurs come in too large packs and it is very easy for them to kill you before you get a chance to kill them.

    Throughout the game, the background music is always exciting and heart pumping. The sounds of the gun shots are very realistic. But the thing I loved best about the sound effects were the roars of the dinosaurs. I have no idea where the makers got the sounds from, but all I know is that they got it right. The sound of the T-Rex's roar is the most frightening of all because when it roars, you can hear it clearly over the sounds of the gunfire everywhere. Another sound effect that I loved is when you stab the dinosaurs, you can hear the blade ripping through the flesh of the dinosaur and then the sound of the dinosaur screaming in pain. Both these sound together sent a shiver up my spine, it was that realistic.

    One of the real letdowns in the game is the amount of checkpoints in a level. There aren't many. This can get really annoying because you might have just finished a very tough battle against the bad guys and then suddenly a dinosaur pops out and kills you. Even if you survive the attack from the dinosaur, another battle with the bad guys in bound to kill you, and then you will have to do the first battle all over again...happens a lot during the campaign. And it is at these frustrating points in the game that you feel like quitting and destroying the game.

    Finally, I just want to express how much I enjoyed the game at the start, because the first few levels were set to the right difficulty. But then, as I went further into the game, some levels are really impossible and frustrating because they were extremely difficult. Otherwise, a fun game to play to stab your way through.
    Expand
  37. Jul 31, 2014
    6
    This was my first FPS, and it was incredible when I first played it. However, as I got more games, and I played more and more, my tastes changed. I then reunited my self with the game. Long story short: IT IS MEH. It is not amazing, nor is it terrible. It is ok. It was too dependent on multiplayer, but featured an entertaining campaign. It is worth a playthrough, but not much more.
  38. Aug 18, 2016
    2
    Turok is an awful first-person shooter.

    The gamelay is generic and boring,the AI is unbalanced,and the guns have no difference,except some have more bullets than others. The graphics are downright ugly to look at,with drab colours,terrible character models and an awful framerate. Sound design and soundtrack are awful. Overall,Turok is one of the worst games I have ever
    Turok is an awful first-person shooter.

    The gamelay is generic and boring,the AI is unbalanced,and the guns have no difference,except some have more bullets than others.

    The graphics are downright ugly to look at,with drab colours,terrible character models and an awful framerate.

    Sound design and soundtrack are awful.

    Overall,Turok is one of the worst games I have ever played,and I wouldn't recommend it at all.
    Expand
  39. Oct 18, 2016
    3
    Freezes too much on PS3. After an hour and five freezes later, I had to hang it up. Looked interesting from what I did get to play. I'd recommend passing this one up on the PS3.
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Even with a weak script, Turok's flexible play mechanics, strong level designs, and high production values make the story mode alone worth the price of admission. [Jan 2008, p.49]
  2. A hardcore, old-school shooter. In many ways, it feels like the "Ninja Gaiden" of shooters, so if that sounds appealing to you, you'll probably love it more than we did. But if you're looking for a more modern experience, something from the current crop of shooter stars like "BioShock" and "Call of Duty 4," the frustrating bosses and save system will seem positively prehistoric. [Feb 2008, p.46]
  3. 75
    Turok is a solid enough shooter that won't wow you the way triple-A titles like "Call of Duty 4" or "Bioshock" will. [Mar 2008, p.85]