Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 50
  2. Negative: 6 out of 50
  1. Dec 17, 2010
    90
    Featuring a huge open world environment and loads of choices fro individualists, Two Worlds II can easily appeal to any adventurer. Some minor graphical issues are apparent, but do never decrease the motivation to play significantly.
  2. Dec 16, 2010
    88
    Way better than its predecessor, you can still argue over its artistical direction and lack of polish. But 2 Worlds 2 is one of the best Fantasy Action Rpg you may experience on any platform.
  3. Dec 17, 2010
    87
    A genuine RPG with a lot of freedom, customization and a good multiplayer experience. The console version still suffers from some issues with the complex controls, but Two Worlds II is still largly enjoyable even with a pad.
  4. Jan 25, 2011
    85
    The developers succesfully took advantage of the time passed since the first game, improving it in every aspect. A good story, an effective and intuitive control system and solid graphics together with an enjoyable multiplayer make it a sure bet for every RPG lover.
  5. Jan 25, 2011
    85
    Two Worlds II is so big, you almost need 'two worlds' to hold all its contents. And for RPG fans, that is what matters most.
  6. Dec 16, 2010
    83
    Two Worlds II is a very complete RPG which substantially improves the original game, engaging us in a fantasy world. Its huge and atractive environments, simple and direct gameplay, and the variety of things available to be done in the Antaloor universe are some of the great virtues of and adventures oriented both to genre veterans and newcomers.
  7. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    Don't let the reputation of the previous game, nor the niggling bugs that permeate the title scare you away. Once those are scratched away a pleasant open action RPG awaits.
  8. Mar 23, 2011
    80
    Is the game perfect? No, not by a long shot, but after a few hours of learning how to do everything like creating my own spells and chaining my combat moves together, I really started to have fun with it.
  9. Mar 1, 2011
    80
    With plenty to see and do, not to mention some great multiplayer offerings, this is a sequel worth checking out.
  10. Feb 17, 2011
    80
    People only be satisfied with "AAA" levels of production will likely gripe, but to be perfectly frank, none of the rough edges diminished my overall experience-the focus and design of Reality Pump's efforts just can't be denied.
  11. Feb 3, 2011
    80
    There is plenty of game to warrant your $60 and the flavor of the franchise is written all over it.
  12. Jan 31, 2011
    80
    I hated my first hour or so of Two Worlds II. I believed I was in for a boring, dreary, aggravating eighty hours of wasted life that I'd never be able to get back. I was wrong. Two Worlds II is the perfect gaming equivalent to a diamond in the rough. It's ugly, it's coarse, and it's got one foot in the past, but it's just too damn lovable to be thrown into the trash.
  13. Jan 30, 2011
    80
    Still, this is a damn fun title if you're interested in a deep action-RPG, especially if you expected very little after the wildly strange, often severely disappointing first game. And if you can get past the rough parts, it's exciting and addictive in all the ways you probably expect out of a good European RPG.
  14. 80
    Two Worlds II is a solid role playing game that improves on its predecessor in every way. It's filled to the brim with entertainment and atypical situations that will keep you glued to your seat. While it's certainly not without flaws, the many good parts more than make up for it.
  15. Jan 4, 2011
    80
    Developer Reality Pump has delivered another great RPG that forms a great successor to the original Two Worlds. Certain aspects could have used a little bit of tuning, but that won't bother the average gamer.
  16. Dec 17, 2010
    80
    Two Worlds II has many faults, but it's a much better game than the original. Its visuals are not that great, the gameplay is extremely basic and it has nothing new or to be really excited about, but it's a fun game that will delight hardcore RPG fans.
  17. Jan 29, 2011
    78
    Reality Pump has gone a long way since Two Worlds 1, and they've got a long way to go still. But Two Worlds 2 is a definite step in the right direction.
  18. Jan 25, 2011
    78
    Like other games that could fit under the B-game label, not everyone will embrace the elements I enjoyed in Two Worlds II. If you're looking for a lengthy and humorous (if somewhat unpolished) hack-and-slash RPG to tide you over while you wait for Dragon Age II or The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, it's worth giving Reality Pump a second chance.
  19. Dec 17, 2010
    78
    The world is vivid and wide, but the gameplay has a lot of issues, and the plot is quite silly.
  20. Feb 11, 2011
    75
    Two Worlds II is a pretty amazing turnaround from the first game so please don't let the reputation of the original title keep you from this game. Be sure to try it out for yourself. You might be pleasantly surprised.
  21. Feb 7, 2011
    75
    But flawed fundamentals and lackluster presentation are buoyed up by surprisingly PC-like depth and endless questing opportunities.
  22. Feb 4, 2011
    75
    Basically, there's a whole lot of trial and error involved at the outset, which will definitely be off-putting to some players that have grown used to in-depth tutorials right at the outset of their games.
  23. Feb 15, 2011
    70
    Our complaints might well fall on deaf ears though, because whilst Two Worlds II is no technical masterpiece (with clipping issues, horrific drops in frame rate, draw distance, screen tearing), the role-playing it contains is certainly entertaining and thoroughly engaging.
  24. Feb 9, 2011
    70
    So while Two Worlds II might be lacking in polish, it is pure and simple fun without the headache of over complication.
  25. Feb 8, 2011
    70
    Just keep in mind that truly enjoying this adventure often requires you to overcome challenges that don't involve puzzling quests or formidable monsters. Yet even with its faults, there's a lot here to indulge your urge to explore and conquer.
  26. Feb 7, 2011
    70
    Tuck away the painful memories of the first game and try out this one. You'll feel some validation…even if it takes a little while to get there.
  27. Feb 3, 2011
    70
    It's not a perfect sequel, but for those who remember the original Two Worlds, it's an adventure that is finally worth most of its weight in loot.
  28. Feb 2, 2011
    70
    Two Worlds II suffers from a handful of the same problems as the original, but the improved graphics engine and deeper gameplay are positive steps forward for the series.
  29. Feb 1, 2011
    70
    This role-playing sequel's big world and seemingly countless quests make it easy to overlook its wrinkles.
  30. 70
    Massive, rubbish but strangely compelling. [Feb 2011, p.94]
  31. Jan 25, 2011
    70
    The gameplay lends itself to be enjoyed with a controller, but falls flat due to its button layout. It still suffers from some setbacks and odd design choices, but unlike the first game, it is actually playable and, most importantly, enjoyable.
  32. Dec 16, 2010
    70
    Two Worlds is atmospheric and exiting, vast and addictive. It has some pretty big flaws though that can't be ignored.
  33. Jun 17, 2011
    65
    As a whole Two Worlds II is a definite step up from Two Worlds in almost every regard, and it especially shines through with its in-depth and thought out quest lines. Two Worlds II isn't however a match to the bigger western RPGs out there, e.g. The Elder Scrolls series. This is let down by the overly convoluting interface and control system that makes the gameplay feel like a generation behind.
  34. Feb 9, 2011
    62
    Most of us, however, will find Two Worlds II boring, mindless, and dull, requiring (and consisting of) such little thought that it should have a warning label.
  35. Mar 7, 2011
    60
    Is Two Worlds II better than the original? Sure, but there's still a lot of room for improvement.
  36. Feb 12, 2011
    60
    It all boils down to how fussy you are about technical shortcomings, really. [Issue#68, p.84]
  37. Feb 3, 2011
    60
    While the timer on my save read around 14 hours by the time I screamed and shouted and pushed my way through Two Worlds II's final (miserable, cheap, and poorly designed) boss encounter, I would put my play time in the neighborhood of 35 hours, at least. This is courtesy of Two Worlds II's propensity to greet exploration with quick, brutal death.
  38. Jan 25, 2011
    60
    There are parts of me that are objectively bad, yes. But there are also things that are just obtuse or antiquated, and if people can look past that stuff or even embrace it, there's absolute merit to me.
  39. Dec 16, 2010
    60
    Two Worlds II made a lot of progress, on a variety of fronts, compared to the original, but manages to keep the same shortcomings at the same time. It would be a good idea to stop adding stuff and balance what's already there ! To sum it up, it's like an RPG appetizer to wait for more and better. It's likable for its secondary quests, rather than its main one.
  40. Jan 28, 2011
    59
    Two Worlds II is for the die-hard RPG enthusiasts who loves their "middle earth" settings and a more PC centric experience. It's a deal in the bargain bin, but for now, I would hold off.
  41. 55
    The game's dull, repetitive missions drive home the harsh truth: it's an aggressively average action-RPG that's here far too late for anyone to care. [Mar 2011, p.76]
  42. Feb 28, 2011
    50
    The mark of a really good game isn't that it is without flaw. Every game has its weaker elements. Most good games, however, have at least one core game mechanic that they do exceptionally well. It's that lack of anything on which to hang its hat, combined with a few places where it really falls on its face, that hold Two Worlds II back from being particularly interesting.
  43. Feb 21, 2011
    50
    Fun concepts brought low by crummy execution. Hand-to-hand combat can benefit from skill-based flourishes, but rarely goes beyond crude whomping. Large plains hide crannies galore, though you navigate them atop a horse with the handling of a bus.
  44. Feb 3, 2011
    50
    If you're determined to enjoy Two Worlds II you'll need superhuman pain tolerance and more free time than recess at Immortal Elementary.
  45. Feb 14, 2011
    49
    Even if the Elder Scrolls cold turkey is hurting bad, buying this would still be a daft decision. [Mar 2011, p.92]
  46. If you need to satisfy your perverted cravings for dwarf tossing, go and play Oblivion (yet) again. But, please, don't buy this. [March 2011, p.100]
  47. Dec 15, 2010
    45
    Dragon Age and Oblivion both do the same thing much better, with the latter being about four years old now. Two Worlds II just doesn't feel new or original in anyway.
  48. Feb 25, 2011
    40
    In summary we don't think we've ever seen so many good ideas in such a bad game. The spell and crafting system really is amongst the best the genre can offer, but everything else is amongst the very worst.
  49. Feb 19, 2011
    40
    Two Worlds 2 just takes too long and requires too much punishment on the part of the player to be an overall enjoyable experience, despite a few fleeting instances of charm.
  50. Feb 4, 2011
    40
    Two Worlds II is just a pale shadow of the games it attempts to imitate. While exceptional open-world RPGs like Oblivion and Fallout: New Vegas encourage exploration by hiding pieces of narrative and flavor in every little corner of the map, the massive fields of Two Worlds II are lifeless and empty.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 58
  2. Negative: 15 out of 58
  1. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    Let me start off by saying that this is NOT going to be game of the year, it is not graphically perfect, it is not easy to pick up and play,Let me start off by saying that this is NOT going to be game of the year, it is not graphically perfect, it is not easy to pick up and play, and it requires a very open mind... If you can get passed all of those things, then this is a very fun, very deep game that will keep you wanting more.

    All jokes aside, Two Worlds was an AWFUL game, for every ONE thing it got right, it did FIVE things wrong, Two Worlds II seems to have reversed that formula, and there is definitely more right than wrong here.

    With about 2 hours into the game, I am having a blast, and still getting used to certain things, but so far... I am enjoying it immensely. Definitely don't write this game off if you are a fan of games like Oblivion, Diablo, Sacred II, Etc.

    Things I love: Crafting system, character customization, combat, environments, voice acting
    Things I hate: The fact the tutorial lasted so long, and that the menus are not very fluid or intuitive at first
    VERY IMPORTANT INFO: Install this game to your hard drive before you play, I did not and I had bad graphics lag and the audio would cut out completely here and there, after I installed it to my 360 hard drive, I ran into NONE of those problems again.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    I am not a Two Worlds fan boy. I thought the first game was a disaster. WIth that said, this game is phenomenal, it seems TopWare took theirI am not a Two Worlds fan boy. I thought the first game was a disaster. WIth that said, this game is phenomenal, it seems TopWare took their heads out of their german asses and actually got to work. The games cutscenes, graphical detail, character, armorments, and crafting mechanics are simply amazing. On a wierd note, the games lockpicking sequences are the best I've ever seen in any game. Please buy it, even if you thought the first one was trash like I did; you will enjoy this game I promise. Full Review »
  3. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    If anyone has played the Sacred series, You'll get the same " uh, I don't know if this is going to be a good game" intro. I stuck with it forIf anyone has played the Sacred series, You'll get the same " uh, I don't know if this is going to be a good game" intro. I stuck with it for 4 hours and am into my 20th hour and can say this game was not just put together for a fast buck. The story (interesting so far) and world are immense and intriguing. I have read a lot of negative reviews about this game (usually from whiny princess gamers) and some positive ones that seem to come from seasoned RPG players that actually love the genre. If you are the latter I suggest you give it a try, it will suck you in and for the best. The complaints are ridiculous. The combat is fine, it takes little skill to manage it. People who complain about this are just too spazzy, I suppose. Graphics are above par for a graphics snob. I can only assume the other complaints are biased on the developer for not meticulously Americanizing and knitting together the millions of voice lines and responses it takes to complete a game of this magnitude. The voices are funny-not too serious and somewhat great in my opinion. The inventory system is my only beef but there's tons of stuff to keep track of, so all is forgiven. :)
    I will not make a book out of defending this game, but it sure is worth the price for the hours I know ill enjoy. It's a wonderful RPG at worst and If you like the genre you'll love it. (I have not encountered one glitch- oh, except for a spider doing a moonwalk on the side of a cliff but hey, that takes talent. ::::)
    Full Review »