Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 50
  2. Negative: 6 out of 50
Buy On
  1. Feb 3, 2011
    60
    While the timer on my save read around 14 hours by the time I screamed and shouted and pushed my way through Two Worlds II's final (miserable, cheap, and poorly designed) boss encounter, I would put my play time in the neighborhood of 35 hours, at least. This is courtesy of Two Worlds II's propensity to greet exploration with quick, brutal death.
  2. Feb 1, 2011
    70
    This role-playing sequel's big world and seemingly countless quests make it easy to overlook its wrinkles.
  3. Jan 25, 2011
    70
    The gameplay lends itself to be enjoyed with a controller, but falls flat due to its button layout. It still suffers from some setbacks and odd design choices, but unlike the first game, it is actually playable and, most importantly, enjoyable.
  4. Feb 3, 2011
    70
    It's not a perfect sequel, but for those who remember the original Two Worlds, it's an adventure that is finally worth most of its weight in loot.
  5. Feb 3, 2011
    50
    If you're determined to enjoy Two Worlds II you'll need superhuman pain tolerance and more free time than recess at Immortal Elementary.
  6. Mar 7, 2011
    60
    Is Two Worlds II better than the original? Sure, but there's still a lot of room for improvement.
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    50
    Fun concepts brought low by crummy execution. Hand-to-hand combat can benefit from skill-based flourishes, but rarely goes beyond crude whomping. Large plains hide crannies galore, though you navigate them atop a horse with the handling of a bus.
  8. Feb 28, 2011
    50
    The mark of a really good game isn't that it is without flaw. Every game has its weaker elements. Most good games, however, have at least one core game mechanic that they do exceptionally well. It's that lack of anything on which to hang its hat, combined with a few places where it really falls on its face, that hold Two Worlds II back from being particularly interesting.
  9. 55
    The game's dull, repetitive missions drive home the harsh truth: it's an aggressively average action-RPG that's here far too late for anyone to care. [Mar 2011, p.76]
  10. Dec 16, 2010
    60
    Two Worlds II made a lot of progress, on a variety of fronts, compared to the original, but manages to keep the same shortcomings at the same time. It would be a good idea to stop adding stuff and balance what's already there ! To sum it up, it's like an RPG appetizer to wait for more and better. It's likable for its secondary quests, rather than its main one.
  11. 70
    Massive, rubbish but strangely compelling. [Feb 2011, p.94]
  12. Feb 8, 2011
    70
    Just keep in mind that truly enjoying this adventure often requires you to overcome challenges that don't involve puzzling quests or formidable monsters. Yet even with its faults, there's a lot here to indulge your urge to explore and conquer.
  13. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Feb 12, 2011
    60
    It all boils down to how fussy you are about technical shortcomings, really. [Issue#68, p.84]
  14. Dec 16, 2010
    70
    Two Worlds is atmospheric and exiting, vast and addictive. It has some pretty big flaws though that can't be ignored.
  15. Feb 9, 2011
    62
    Most of us, however, will find Two Worlds II boring, mindless, and dull, requiring (and consisting of) such little thought that it should have a warning label.
  16. Jan 28, 2011
    59
    Two Worlds II is for the die-hard RPG enthusiasts who loves their "middle earth" settings and a more PC centric experience. It's a deal in the bargain bin, but for now, I would hold off.
  17. Jun 17, 2011
    65
    As a whole Two Worlds II is a definite step up from Two Worlds in almost every regard, and it especially shines through with its in-depth and thought out quest lines. Two Worlds II isn't however a match to the bigger western RPGs out there, e.g. The Elder Scrolls series. This is let down by the overly convoluting interface and control system that makes the gameplay feel like a generation behind.
  18. Jan 25, 2011
    60
    There are parts of me that are objectively bad, yes. But there are also things that are just obtuse or antiquated, and if people can look past that stuff or even embrace it, there's absolute merit to me.
  19. Feb 7, 2011
    70
    Tuck away the painful memories of the first game and try out this one. You'll feel some validation…even if it takes a little while to get there.
  20. Feb 9, 2011
    70
    So while Two Worlds II might be lacking in polish, it is pure and simple fun without the headache of over complication.
  21. Feb 15, 2011
    70
    Our complaints might well fall on deaf ears though, because whilst Two Worlds II is no technical masterpiece (with clipping issues, horrific drops in frame rate, draw distance, screen tearing), the role-playing it contains is certainly entertaining and thoroughly engaging.
  22. Feb 2, 2011
    70
    Two Worlds II suffers from a handful of the same problems as the original, but the improved graphics engine and deeper gameplay are positive steps forward for the series.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 139
  2. Negative: 28 out of 139
  1. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    Let me start off by saying that this is NOT going to be game of the year, it is not graphically perfect, it is not easy to pick up and play,Let me start off by saying that this is NOT going to be game of the year, it is not graphically perfect, it is not easy to pick up and play, and it requires a very open mind... If you can get passed all of those things, then this is a very fun, very deep game that will keep you wanting more.

    All jokes aside, Two Worlds was an AWFUL game, for every ONE thing it got right, it did FIVE things wrong, Two Worlds II seems to have reversed that formula, and there is definitely more right than wrong here.

    With about 2 hours into the game, I am having a blast, and still getting used to certain things, but so far... I am enjoying it immensely. Definitely don't write this game off if you are a fan of games like Oblivion, Diablo, Sacred II, Etc.

    Things I love: Crafting system, character customization, combat, environments, voice acting
    Things I hate: The fact the tutorial lasted so long, and that the menus are not very fluid or intuitive at first
    VERY IMPORTANT INFO: Install this game to your hard drive before you play, I did not and I had bad graphics lag and the audio would cut out completely here and there, after I installed it to my 360 hard drive, I ran into NONE of those problems again.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    I am not a Two Worlds fan boy. I thought the first game was a disaster. WIth that said, this game is phenomenal, it seems TopWare took theirI am not a Two Worlds fan boy. I thought the first game was a disaster. WIth that said, this game is phenomenal, it seems TopWare took their heads out of their german asses and actually got to work. The games cutscenes, graphical detail, character, armorments, and crafting mechanics are simply amazing. On a wierd note, the games lockpicking sequences are the best I've ever seen in any game. Please buy it, even if you thought the first one was trash like I did; you will enjoy this game I promise. Full Review »
  3. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    If anyone has played the Sacred series, You'll get the same " uh, I don't know if this is going to be a good game" intro. I stuck with it forIf anyone has played the Sacred series, You'll get the same " uh, I don't know if this is going to be a good game" intro. I stuck with it for 4 hours and am into my 20th hour and can say this game was not just put together for a fast buck. The story (interesting so far) and world are immense and intriguing. I have read a lot of negative reviews about this game (usually from whiny princess gamers) and some positive ones that seem to come from seasoned RPG players that actually love the genre. If you are the latter I suggest you give it a try, it will suck you in and for the best. The complaints are ridiculous. The combat is fine, it takes little skill to manage it. People who complain about this are just too spazzy, I suppose. Graphics are above par for a graphics snob. I can only assume the other complaints are biased on the developer for not meticulously Americanizing and knitting together the millions of voice lines and responses it takes to complete a game of this magnitude. The voices are funny-not too serious and somewhat great in my opinion. The inventory system is my only beef but there's tons of stuff to keep track of, so all is forgiven. :)
    I will not make a book out of defending this game, but it sure is worth the price for the hours I know ill enjoy. It's a wonderful RPG at worst and If you like the genre you'll love it. (I have not encountered one glitch- oh, except for a spider doing a moonwalk on the side of a cliff but hey, that takes talent. ::::)
    Full Review »