Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 30, 2012
    70
    Diehard enthusiasts of the series are more likely to get a kick out of this DLC to FIFA 12 than just the average fan. 1800 Microsoft points is asking a lot for just a couple of new add-ons, though. Sticking with your standard issue copy is plenty and should hold everyone over until the next one. Of course, it's still a beautifully made title and still reigns as king in the world of fútbol gaming.
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    70
    It's a lightweight package, but UEFA Euro 2012's great presentation captures the grand atmosphere of the tournament.
  3. 70
    Had this been a £39.99 retail game like 2010 FIFA World Cup was then we'd be coughing "rip-off" under our breaths, but kudos to EA for giving UEFA Euro 2012 a price tag that reflects its likely lifespan.
  4. Apr 24, 2012
    68
    With no gameplay enhancements and only surface changes to presentation, this FIFA 12 expansion is a cosmetic add-on with no redeeming new features. The UEFA tournament mode is a lazy attempt to capture the glory of the competition, and the new Expedition mode is a boring grind. Only the most devoted of national fans should bother with this otherwise forgettable expansion.
  5. Apr 24, 2012
    65
    The price-point of UEFA Euro 2012 places it at the high-end of downloadable content, and simply it doesn't offer enough to justify this weighty price-tag.
  6. 60
    A strong foundation, but definitely too expensive.
  7. 60
    Hopefully, we'll see more expansions like UEFA Euro 2012 in future sports games - they do have the potential to really revitalize the game. But with half-finished rosters, missing features, and a solid-but-not-amazing world tour–style mode, this add-on never fires us up the way the original game did.
  8. Apr 30, 2012
    60
    Unfortunately, outside of Expedition, the rest of the package fails to score. Challenge mode has potential, especially when the tournament kicks off, but the lack of qualifying rounds, fully licensed teams and extras leaves this FIFA 12 expansion falling short in front of goal.
  9. Apr 26, 2012
    60
    Me? I would grudgingly buy it, despite feeling that I was being charged too much for too little. I guess that makes me part of the problem.
  10. Apr 26, 2012
    60
    A good recreation of the UEFA Euro competition but the lack of new options means this footy download is not value for money.
  11. May 13, 2012
    50
    Even though it's a "DLC" and not a complete game, Euro 2012 cannot satisfy soccer fans who wait for the full "Euro" experience, complete with all the teams and stadiums.
User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 11 out of 15
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    2
    As a huge FIFA fan and a particular fan of the international competition efforts from EA, I had high hopes for the Euro 2012 expansion pack.As a huge FIFA fan and a particular fan of the international competition efforts from EA, I had high hopes for the Euro 2012 expansion pack.

    Despite rumours that EA had binned the development off and handed it over to Double Helix games and the complete lack of news coming from the EA headquarters, as a loyal FIFA buyer, these issues were simply brushed under the carpet. It's a FIFA game, it must be good, right?

    Unfortunately not. First impressions were actually quite good, the layout is very nice and the atmosphere of the tournament is spot on. The expedition mode is a nice touch aswell. But, it doesn't take long for the faults to become blindingly apparent. Firstly, EA's claim to have "over 50 FIFA registered playable nations" is the grandest piece of misleading advertising I've seen in a very, very long time. Yes, there are 50 playable nations, but many of them aren't licensed, including no less than the two co-hosts of the tournament, Poland and Ukraine. If you were hoping to get Wales to the finals, you'll be doing so with the likes of Gareth Belt and Craig Belmont as your shining stars. That leads nicely onto my second point, because I've made a mistake there, because no, you can't take Wales to the Euro Finals and thats because, rather strangely, the qualification campaign is not playable, making the whole games playability very short. You have a selection of the 4 final groups and you can only rearrange them to include other nations, other nations undoubtedly filled with fake players, kits and emblems. I'm both genuinely upset and appalled with the UEFA Euro 2012 expansion pack for FIFA 12 and the lack of game modes and effort put into its conception by EA. The rumours that Double Helix, creators of Silent Hill Homecoming, were going to be the developers of their first football game went down like a storm in a tea cup. Unfortunately, their effort would probably been much better than this diabolical shambles offered by EA.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 25, 2012
    0
    What a disappointment.

    Where do I even start? Lacking plenty of licensed teams. OK so a few fake kits are one thing, but having teams full
    What a disappointment.

    Where do I even start?

    Lacking plenty of licensed teams. OK so a few fake kits are one thing, but having teams full of fake names harks back to the bad old days of PES. Grr

    No qualifying mode. This is a massive part of football tournaments. EA said they weren't popular in previous games? Doubt this can be true.

    It's really buggy. I've had multiple crashes that have required a restart of my PS. Commentators have been saying things that just weren't relevent or true. Playing online I was told that I'd already qualified after winning 2 games. I hadn't won either of them!

    You can sort out your substitutes before a game, but go and try and select them during a match and they will be a set of completely different players! Not helpful.

    After the match I attempted to find the highlights of the game so that I could rewatch a fine goal. Not possible! They removed this great feature. God knows why.

    I though at least the gameplay would be fine - using FIFA 12's should mean that side of things were still great? Wrong.

    Players seem far less responsive and matches seem slow and sluggish. Not good.


    Maybe they can patch some of the issues but it's still a very disappointing effort and, quite frankly, a massive waste of money.

    AVOID!!!!
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 25, 2012
    2
    What a disappointment, without qualification, with only half the teams licensed (for reasons of business, said EA), probably because querremWhat a disappointment, without qualification, with only half the teams licensed (for reasons of business, said EA), probably because querrem pay for licenses. No wonder they have not released as a separate game, it would be a complete disaster. 24 euros for stadiums, teams and equipment? Just sad, has a new game mode, which is good, and that's what saved him from taking a 0. Just a disaster ... Full Review »