UFC Undisputed 2009 Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: UFC 2009 Undisputed is an explosive fighting game that details the action, intensity and attitude of a UFC live event. Players explore a deep roster of more than 80 top fighters in UFC competition across all five weight classes. In addition, they enter the Octagon surrounded by the sport’sUFC 2009 Undisputed is an explosive fighting game that details the action, intensity and attitude of a UFC live event. Players explore a deep roster of more than 80 top fighters in UFC competition across all five weight classes. In addition, they enter the Octagon surrounded by the sport’s popular commentators, announcers, referees, trainers, Octagon girls and more. Photorealistic models are at the forefront, as players view amazing ripple effects across the faces and bodies of their fighters from the impact of devastating punches and kicks. A brand new fighting game engine designed specifically for next generation systems delivers innovative, responsive and easy-to-play controls that give unparalleled command of fighters, as players take down opponents with a variety of mixed martial arts disciplines like Muay Thai, Kickboxing and Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. In addition, the game’s Create-A-Fighter system jumpstarts the careers of future champions through character customization and training management, while a robust Career Mode develops a fighter's attributes and skill sets while fighting to enter the UFC Hall of Fame through a series of dynamic storylines. Furthermore, players can enhance their UFC 2009 Undisputed gameplay experience through online support, including downloadable content. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 100
    UFC 2009 Undisputed does have a couple of issues that keep it from being a MMA-fan's dream come true but it is still a tremendous title that will make any fan of the sport proud.
  2. I am not a big fan of the UFC. Sure, I’ve seen a few matches here and there, but I don’t really follow the sport devoutly. I guess wrestling is more my cup of tea. Now, that said, I have to admit I love this game. UFC 2009 Undisputed takes all the things that makes the UFC sport electrifying for fans, and puts it into a cohesive and realistic game experience.
  3. To put it plainly, UFC 2009 Undisputed is not only the game that fans have been waiting for, but it’s also the game that the sport deserves. UFC 2009 is intense, addictive, and acts as a great showcase of how MMA is much more than the brutal bloodsport many detractors claim it to be.
  4. There's some interface stuff I'd like to see streamlined a bit, but the visuals are fantastic, the gameplay is certainly interesting and unique, and the overall presentation is spot on from what I've seen of UFC in general.
  5. Overall UFC 2009 Undisputed is a fantastic title. If you are a UFC fan you owe it to yourself to at least try this game out.
  6. In the end UFC is definitely a worthy investment for those that have the patience, and time, to learn how to play the game as it’s intended to be played.
  7. A great sim, but poor supporting features. [July 2009, p.95]

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. CameronT
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    The game is awesome, if the devolpers are reading this please add some of the WEC fighters as downloadable characters. Kimbo Slice and Urijah The game is awesome, if the devolpers are reading this please add some of the WEC fighters as downloadable characters. Kimbo Slice and Urijah Faber would be nice. Expand
  2. bob
    May 19, 2009
    10
    Stunned by how fun this game is... best fighter I've played on the Xbox 360.
  3. Jason
    May 20, 2009
    10
    This is the UFC game that we have been waiting for. Sure there are some small issues but they are minor. It's a great start to what will This is the UFC game that we have been waiting for. Sure there are some small issues but they are minor. It's a great start to what will be a great yearly franchise! Expand
  4. JoshK
    May 20, 2009
    8
    Career mode is awesome.. Fighting is deep, complex, and very rewarding. Not perfect, but a huge step in the right direction.
  5. CoreyF
    Sep 5, 2009
    8
    I bought this game on a whim and what a surprise it has been. Excellent graphics, nail biting game play, and real life personalities make I bought this game on a whim and what a surprise it has been. Excellent graphics, nail biting game play, and real life personalities make this a difficult game to put down. However, there are a couple things that seem to hold it back. Career mode is engrossing but I was taken aback when I found out that you're only given a few years to complete your career. Fighters such as BJ Penn have been around for ever and continue to fight today and this aspect of real life was completely skipped over. Also I had was surprised that there wasn't any age progression. If you start as a 21 year old, you will finish your career as... a 21 year old. This needs to be addressed in the next title. Online play is fun but without any filtering I find myself constantly paired with players who are 50-70 levels higher than me. This also needs to be addressed to keep online play interesting and most importantly competitive. Finally I find that submission in 2009 tend to be very random. I understand that submissions are difficult to execute in real life, but even some of the best fighters can fall victim to a slight technical mistake and find themselves tapping out. In the game it's nearly impossible to submit a CPU opponent outside of the first few fighters in career mode. Overall this is an excellent game and with a few touch-ups I think the next installment could be remarkable. Expand
  6. CrashReview
    Jul 19, 2009
    7
    This was a hard rating. The game is flawed in how it actually employes and upgrades its combat styles, and by neccesity it is repetive like This was a hard rating. The game is flawed in how it actually employes and upgrades its combat styles, and by neccesity it is repetive like any fighting game. That aside however, the physics are great and this is the first release of this game engine, and the fights do get progressively more difficult. This is no button mashers paradise, but does get dangerously close to the hideously difficult combos of the Tekken series due to the complication of certain combos, moves, and counters and the timing/mind reading required. The menus are tedious and the tattoos and custom shorts/sponsors feel like the come up short. That said its negatives still allow for a really enjoyable game in single and multiplayer that even now after what must be 100hours of game play I still enjoy playing it. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2014
    0
    There is learning curves and then there's this. The tutorials are at least there to try to get across the insane controls of trying to handleThere is learning curves and then there's this. The tutorials are at least there to try to get across the insane controls of trying to handle grappling, mounting, and especially defending or countering such situations. The end result is that unless you are willing to make this game into your hobby *and* job, the situation is as follows : The opponent grabs you and gets you down into the ground, no matter how you wiggle the right stick and do everything the tutorials talk about, the AI destroys you and you lose with a TKO. This on the "beginner" level. Give me a break. Unplayable. Impossible. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews