User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RickB.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    This is a great turn-based tactics game. Has a good look to it, animation is charming, and the story isn't half-bad. I can't think of another turn-based tactics game available for arcade -- this feels like Final Fantasy Tactics on PSX blended with Joan D'Arc on PSP. For an arcade title, this is the best you can get within the tactics RPG genre. You will similarly disagree This is a great turn-based tactics game. Has a good look to it, animation is charming, and the story isn't half-bad. I can't think of another turn-based tactics game available for arcade -- this feels like Final Fantasy Tactics on PSX blended with Joan D'Arc on PSP. For an arcade title, this is the best you can get within the tactics RPG genre. You will similarly disagree with the Critic Reviews, if understand and appreciate the previous two titles I mentioned above. Expand
  2. LeeT
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    Ignore the mediocre reviews if you're a fan of tactics RPGs(such as Fire Emblem, Tactics Ogre etc.), especially if you enjoyed the original Vandal Heart games. It may look cartoonified, but the gameplay is still great and pretty much untinckered with, nice solid remake and I for one am chuffed that Konami saw fit to bring Vandal Hearts back, hope it leads to more Tactics RPGs on Ignore the mediocre reviews if you're a fan of tactics RPGs(such as Fire Emblem, Tactics Ogre etc.), especially if you enjoyed the original Vandal Heart games. It may look cartoonified, but the gameplay is still great and pretty much untinckered with, nice solid remake and I for one am chuffed that Konami saw fit to bring Vandal Hearts back, hope it leads to more Tactics RPGs on XBLA, Tactics Ogre next please :) Expand
  3. Macca
    Jan 24, 2010
    8
    Its almost as if all the official reviewers of this game weren't even born when the original of this title was released. Not all games are for teens or those in their twenties. Some of us are on the old side, and rarely get a look in when we want a casual treat, and this is where this version of VH comes in nicely. I don't always crave super hi-tech graphics, for that I play Its almost as if all the official reviewers of this game weren't even born when the original of this title was released. Not all games are for teens or those in their twenties. Some of us are on the old side, and rarely get a look in when we want a casual treat, and this is where this version of VH comes in nicely. I don't always crave super hi-tech graphics, for that I play games like Dirt 2 on my PC etc, and Vandal hearts is pretty enough for the price you pay. The story is ok, and the combat is addictive and not too forgiving if you make mistakes. From the 2nd chapter onwards the game ramps up the difficulty and the game makes you think. A dfeinate recommendation if you feel like a break from the world. Expand
  4. [anonymous]
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Still has the massive arterial spray when you kill someone! Easy to pick up, hard to put down.
  5. rolfo
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    A rear treat. A lovely strategy rpg wich makes me remember my old psx days! Recommended for all!
  6. ErnieM
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    For those of us who actually played the game, wow! A great srpg game in a world of fp shooters. Well worth the small price, i hope they continue making games like this.
  7. Andyman
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    I lose more respect for IGN with each passing day. 'Ugly'? Come on. This $15 XBLA game is prettier than many $60 retail 360 games I've played. Gameplay-wise, VH:FoJ is every bit as good as VH1. I do wish they had opted for VH2's combat system, but that's a personal preference, not a knock on the game. This is one great game, and I sincerely hope Sega takes notice I lose more respect for IGN with each passing day. 'Ugly'? Come on. This $15 XBLA game is prettier than many $60 retail 360 games I've played. Gameplay-wise, VH:FoJ is every bit as good as VH1. I do wish they had opted for VH2's combat system, but that's a personal preference, not a knock on the game. This is one great game, and I sincerely hope Sega takes notice and we see a true Shining Force sequel on XBLA (or even retail!) in the near future. Thanks, Konami... the 10-year wait was worth it. :-) Expand
  8. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    Short but very enjoyable game. The combat is all about tactics which is refreshing and relaxing in these days of hectic over-the-top action. You can actually enjoy this game in your own pace without it demanding your full attention. A rare quality these days! The story scope is too epic for the short span of the game, making the plot skip forward in an awkward manner. Similarly the skillShort but very enjoyable game. The combat is all about tactics which is refreshing and relaxing in these days of hectic over-the-top action. You can actually enjoy this game in your own pace without it demanding your full attention. A rare quality these days! The story scope is too epic for the short span of the game, making the plot skip forward in an awkward manner. Similarly the skill system would be better suited for a longer game with more time to differentiate the characters. The first game in the series was better but this is a worthy addition given the budget constraints. Some expansions (DLC) would be much appreciated! Expand
  9. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    A classic Turn-Based game on a modern console! This game is perfect for anyone looking to pick up a little turn-based play. The visual themes, music selection, and game play mechanics are all solid. The company that made this game must have been bought up and dissolved, because I can't believe they never released a new Vandal Hearts.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 80
    Vandal Hearts is an affirmation that a small company without gobs of funds can take a game premise and turn it into a true treasure.
  2. Vandal Hearts: Flames of Judgment revives an aged tactical role-playing game franchise in a decidedly formulaic fashion.
  3. The Way I See It: An enjoyable visit to an old friend that you liked so much, and didn't need to be reminded of his annoying qualities. If you like the genre & series, you should give it a go!