User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 11 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. tonydeleano
    Apr 29, 2009
    0
    this is with out a doubt one of the worst games to hit,it's right up there with "payback" and that was a load of garbage too.I'm truly sorry I purchased this game,it was not money well spent. The only thing that was half ass decent was the inviroment,the chacter movements were almost stick like,and she gets killed as easy as 1 2 3 . And your back to square one! And that'sthis is with out a doubt one of the worst games to hit,it's right up there with "payback" and that was a load of garbage too.I'm truly sorry I purchased this game,it was not money well spent. The only thing that was half ass decent was the inviroment,the chacter movements were almost stick like,and she gets killed as easy as 1 2 3 . And your back to square one! And that's on the "easy" level !. Expand
  2. MichalK
    May 4, 2009
    5
    Really nice game but it's only nice... Don't expect that anything will bring you above avarage of WWII games.
  3. peterb
    May 2, 2009
    7
    Not to bad at all if stealth games are your thing, after all its been too long since a hitman or a splinter cell fed my addiction for sneaking up on unsuspecting foes in video games. This does have some flaws but not too many to make it a bad game. The gameplay does nothing wrong although it could be somewhat more imaginative, its quite unforgiving and I like it for that. Checkpoints Not to bad at all if stealth games are your thing, after all its been too long since a hitman or a splinter cell fed my addiction for sneaking up on unsuspecting foes in video games. This does have some flaws but not too many to make it a bad game. The gameplay does nothing wrong although it could be somewhat more imaginative, its quite unforgiving and I like it for that. Checkpoints sometimes feel a bit far apart but it just makes you hone sections of the game perfectly, reviews should take note , thats been done on purpose. graphics are nothing amazing but do their job well, I found it on the whole to be a rewarding game, some will say that the story makes little sense, but to me video game stories are secondry to the playability and timing of takedowns in this game is key to enjoyment, it will tide you over nicley until splinter cell conviction or the next hitman arrives. Expand
  4. [anonymous]
    May 6, 2009
    8
    This game is brilliant. Simple mechanics and a challenging presentation are the main points to deal with here. Don't look for super complexity like Splinter Cell, you won't find it but only because it doesn't exist in World World II. The few tools you are given to work with work extremely well and its always a challenge to get through. Later in the game when guards will This game is brilliant. Simple mechanics and a challenging presentation are the main points to deal with here. Don't look for super complexity like Splinter Cell, you won't find it but only because it doesn't exist in World World II. The few tools you are given to work with work extremely well and its always a challenge to get through. Later in the game when guards will break out flashlights and become far more attentive ratchets the difficulty. A superb game, one I'll be playing for a very long time to come. If you want nothing but 100% pure stealth, this game is exactly that. Expand
  5. SaschaB
    May 8, 2009
    8
    nothing new, but very solid and lots of fun, espiecially if you're into stealth-games and love to kill some nazis...
  6. PhiloF
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    Overall, i thought velvet assassin was rather entertaining, and i feel that the critics of this game may have been a little too harsh. it's definitely not perfect, and it isn't the most visually amazing game ever made, But,it definitely has flaws in the imagination. they wanted this game to be realistic. not through graphics, but through game play. they didn't waste their Overall, i thought velvet assassin was rather entertaining, and i feel that the critics of this game may have been a little too harsh. it's definitely not perfect, and it isn't the most visually amazing game ever made, But,it definitely has flaws in the imagination. they wanted this game to be realistic. not through graphics, but through game play. they didn't waste their time making 40 different assassination cut scenes, instead they featured 4 or 5 basic moves, to make the game more about patience and observation, rather than the bloody hack and slash visuals that a lot of games have become today. So if you've been longing for a true stealth game, i'd suggest renting or buying this one. it will keep you entertained for atleast 10-20 hours depending on how many times you fail, which you will, again and again. Expand
  7. MikeM
    May 3, 2009
    8
    For a small developer trying to do something a bit out of the ordinary, Velvet Assassin succeeds. Though its presentation lacks polish, its bare-bones gameplay works; it establishes its own rules, and plays well by them. It almost takes on an 'old school' feel, while being a visually and audibly rich experience.
  8. Dec 28, 2012
    3
    A lonely, isolated gaming experience, easy to forget and move on with. One of the hardest things about the 'Velvet Assassin' experience is finding the will to finish it. The games efforts to engage audience with the haunting audio only makes the game more boring and unpleasant . Just as the stealth genre continues to fall into commercial hell... the release of Velvet Assassin onlyA lonely, isolated gaming experience, easy to forget and move on with. One of the hardest things about the 'Velvet Assassin' experience is finding the will to finish it. The games efforts to engage audience with the haunting audio only makes the game more boring and unpleasant . Just as the stealth genre continues to fall into commercial hell... the release of Velvet Assassin only justifies this predicament. Expand
  9. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    In this game you play the role of British WW2 spy Violette Summer, a protagonist who really does put the 'ass' in 'assassin'. The missions are presented as flashbacks as Violette lies ill in a hospital bed. Whilst not a masterpiece, this is an incredibly underrated game. The stealth mechanics and actual gameplay is pretty simple; but it is the atmosphere, claustrophobic and haunting, thatIn this game you play the role of British WW2 spy Violette Summer, a protagonist who really does put the 'ass' in 'assassin'. The missions are presented as flashbacks as Violette lies ill in a hospital bed. Whilst not a masterpiece, this is an incredibly underrated game. The stealth mechanics and actual gameplay is pretty simple; but it is the atmosphere, claustrophobic and haunting, that will stay with you the most. The graphics aren't great but neither are they terrible. The voice work for Violette is quite good.

    My main complaint with this game is the absolutely terrible shooting mechanics. While this isn't really as issue for most of the game, it becomes a major gripe for the last two missions :/

    All in all, I enjoyed Velvet Assassin much more than I thought I would. There was potential for a sequel too, but I doubt we'll ever see one.
    Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 46
  2. Negative: 8 out of 46
  1. 50
    An ambitious experiment from beginning to end, this innovative wartime stealth effort just can't seem to rise above the commonplace level of mediocrity found in a sea of cookie-cutter World War II titles.
  2. 50
    Assassin features flawed stealth action elements that can ruin the gameplay when they go awry, and only point out the hit-or-miss nature of the mechanics when they work well.
  3. Velvet Assassin is very much an enjoyable game, it might not have the high production values of some of its peers, but in general offers a tense, thrilling, and engaging gameplay experience throughout.