Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    40
    Venetica contains hints of a compelling quest but feels like its development life was cut short. The end result is a potentially grand concept that just can't flourish within its forced, generic confines.
  2. Jan 14, 2011
    40
    Once I had committed a few hours to the game and was deep inside Venice leveling up and completing quests, I was indeed drawn into the game. But the sordid path it took to get me there and the unnecessary complications of the map were beyond frustrating and would turn away most gamers.
  3. Feb 5, 2011
    30
    Maybe they did bite off more than they could chew, but they at least had aspiration. None the less, Venetica's over-ambition is its own downfall. The many imperfections that would be ironed out from larger more successful RPGs have not been attended to rendering the game as frustrating, which is a pity.
  4. Feb 4, 2011
    25
    Unfortunately, as soon as the game starts to get your hopes up, there is always something-like the fact that you need to constantly manually save your progress since the game does not feature an autosave whatsoever- that rears its ugly head and immediately reminds you that sometimes you get what you pay for.
  5. Jan 25, 2011
    25
    The game is downright ugly. The framerate comes and goes, but the biggest offenders are the generally awful and low key environment textures, the way to similar to every other building design of Venice, and awful collision issues that the character models have. Scarlett will often clip through anything she has to interact with, which becomes even more noticeable in every cutscene that she has to hug her deceased love one in.
  6. Jan 25, 2011
    20
    It's impossible to recommend Venetica to anyone when there are so many other better action-RPGs out there. You might be tempted to pick it up because it's only forty dollars, but don't do it... unless you've already played every other RPG on the market.
  7. 20
    It's simply lacking in every single respect. Not good. [Issue#67, p.86]
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    I got this game for $25, and i am having a great time playing it, it has some flaws like frame rate stuttering every now and then but for theI got this game for $25, and i am having a great time playing it, it has some flaws like frame rate stuttering every now and then but for the price i cant complain, the graphics while not the best arnt that bad definatly better than risen on the xbox and the sound is on par with other budget rpgs, if you are a fan of adventure rpg games or nice well crafted fantasy worlds you should not look past this game espically if you see it cheap, overall this is a good game if you can over look some flaws theres alot to like here and fun expireance to be had. Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    If you like Fable, you'll like this game. Don't believe the bad critics about this game, especially fom theIf you like Fable, you'll like this game. Don't believe the bad critics about this game, especially fom the gun-crazy-pro-violent-fast-paste-brainless-action media-type, which unfortunately comes mostly from the U.S. It's quite as fun as fable with less than beautiful graphics (think xbox graphics) and a little less user-friendly (i.e. quest solving can take more time than usual because of bad map and quest indicators), It has a good story, interesting quests, decent combat and magic mechanics. The camera is a bit shaky during intense battles. It's much longer than the way too short Fable games.

    Some media writers complain about the map because it's inadequate. Inadequate, it is, but I'm sure this complaint comes from the same gun-crazy-give-me everything easy-violent-and -fast media writers that are not used to and do not want to explore and find things on their own. To find things on your own can be quite enjoyable for an RPG player but it can be very frustrated to someone who just plays game to kill and run to get to the next level. There's another thing I noticed, by reading critics from this game and from many other games in wich there is a female lead character, is that de facto those games rub the media critics the wrong way just because they use a female character, and, god forbid, she be sexy. I don't know why this is? I believe part of it comes from an anti-Lara-Croft overexposure of girl-powers and part of it comes from male writers saying: a beautiful girl like that can't be that strong and female writers saying: a strong girl like that can't be that beautiful. It's too bad because, in my opinion, games where it's possible to play as a female character tend to be less about brainless action and more about exploration and solving.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    8
    Nice RPG that kept me intrigued for weeks. The graphics though not great did not detract from the fun I had and overall game experience. ItNice RPG that kept me intrigued for weeks. The graphics though not great did not detract from the fun I had and overall game experience. It was recommended to me and its a shame it has such a bad critic score. I liked the side quests, they often tied in later to the game. I felt like the developers respected me as a player offering even more depth than Fable and your special powers are cool and nice range of fighting/combat choices. Lots of loot. There was so much to like about Venetica. If you don't follow the herd, this game is for you. Full Review »