User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    I got this game for $25, and i am having a great time playing it, it has some flaws like frame rate stuttering every now and then but for the price i cant complain, the graphics while not the best arnt that bad definatly better than risen on the xbox and the sound is on par with other budget rpgs, if you are a fan of adventure rpg games or nice well crafted fantasy worlds you should not look past this game espically if you see it cheap, overall this is a good game if you can over look some flaws theres alot to like here and fun expireance to be had. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    If you like Fable, you'll like this game. Don't believe the bad critics about this game, especially fom the gun-crazy-pro-violent-fast-paste-brainless-action media-type, which unfortunately comes mostly from the U.S. It's quite as fun as fable with less than beautiful graphics (think xbox graphics) and a little less user-friendly (i.e. quest solving can take more time than usual because of bad map and quest indicators), It has a good story, interesting quests, decent combat and magic mechanics. The camera is a bit shaky during intense battles. It's much longer than the way too short Fable games.

    Some media writers complain about the map because it's inadequate. Inadequate, it is, but I'm sure this complaint comes from the same gun-crazy-give-me everything easy-violent-and -fast media writers that are not used to and do not want to explore and find things on their own. To find things on your own can be quite enjoyable for an RPG player but it can be very frustrated to someone who just plays game to kill and run to get to the next level. There's another thing I noticed, by reading critics from this game and from many other games in wich there is a female lead character, is that de facto those games rub the media critics the wrong way just because they use a female character, and, god forbid, she be sexy. I don't know why this is? I believe part of it comes from an anti-Lara-Croft overexposure of girl-powers and part of it comes from male writers saying: a beautiful girl like that can't be that strong and female writers saying: a strong girl like that can't be that beautiful. It's too bad because, in my opinion, games where it's possible to play as a female character tend to be less about brainless action and more about exploration and solving.
    Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    I love this game. A don"t understand why the critics have such a low opinion of it.. I personally think Venetica is better than Skyrim, Kingdoms of Amalur and as good as The Witcher 2. There are a few strange choices with the voice acting but it adds humour rather than taking away from the experience. I found this game fun to play all the way through and just as much fun on the second run through. Lots to do and fun ways to do things and very good story and the environments are beautiful. I just think it is very under rated and people are missing out on a great game because of this. In future when I see the critics panning a game and the users praising it I will trust the users every time. Collapse
  4. May 28, 2012
    10
    Venetica is a very misunderstood game. On one hand the game itself is dated; everything from the visuals to controls to the interface. However, while the game itself is dated, it doesnt mean its all bad. For fans of the wrpg genre, this could be a nice little budget title to hold their interest. The quests are your run of the mill stuff; collect this, kill that. But tbh for some reason, i enjoyed it. I love wrpg's. I own and have played almost every wrpg on the 360. Risen, elder scrolls 4 & 5, fallout 3 & new vegas, divinity 2: dks, kingdoms of amalur, mass efect 1,2 & 3, two worlds 2, dark souls, fable 1,2 &3, dungeon siege 3, sacred 2, too human, dragon age 1 & 2, and borderlands. I have yet to play arcania or witcher 2, but i will get to that soon. My point is, if you like the games i listed, you may like venetica. It is not as good as any of them, but dont compare it to any of them, and you may enjoy yourself as i did.

    The good: questing, loot, hot female lead, and its only 14 dollars at gamestop
    The bad: smaller world, confusing as hell world map, very dated visuals and interface, a little short around 24 hours long including side quests

    Buy this game if and only if you are a fan of wrpg's. I liked it.
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    This is a brilliant game. Oke, the graphics are not great but the story is very involving. Lots of side quest also to keep you very busy. It is like being Lara Croft in de dark ages. All in all very good work from the developers. Just go out and play this game if you like RPG.
  6. Aug 13, 2012
    0
    I love this game. A don"t understand why the critics have such a low opinion of it.. I personally think Venetica is better than Skyrim, Kingdoms of Amalur and as good as The Witcher 2. There are a few strange choices with the voice acting but it adds humour rather than taking away from the experience. I found this game fun to play all the way through and just as much fun on the second run through. Lots to do and fun ways to do things and very good story and the environments are beautiful. I just think it is very under rated and people are missing out on a great game because of this. In future when I see the critics panning a game and the users praising it I will trust the users every time. Collapse
Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
  1. Mar 7, 2011
    50
    Venetica has a few good ideas and a couple of characters that deserve further examination, but it just doesn't seem to be at all interested in them. That, I suppose, is why I wasn't all that interested by Venetica, either. Ratin
  2. Mar 6, 2011
    55
    Think Syfy original movie. [Mar 2011, p.98]
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    57
    A compelling enough adventure spoilt by shonky controls and shonkier visuals. [Feb 2011, p.93]