Viking: Battle for Asgard Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 89
  2. Negative: 7 out of 89
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2014
    0
    This game was awful. I've played a lot of games in my time but this one still stands out as a useless pile of dung. Buggy, terrible story, no fluidity to the gameplay at all. The only redeeming quality, as with too many games these days, was the graphics. Otherwise just keep your money in your pocket
  2. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    This game is a Great game which I have put many hours into. This game was a early game to the 360 but has remained one of my favourite's.This was one of the first hack and slash games that I ever played. Everything just fits well together, playing as a Viking. The Gameplay is sometimes a bit slow and the controls can get lumpy, the game sometimes glitches during big battles but apart fromThis game is a Great game which I have put many hours into. This game was a early game to the 360 but has remained one of my favourite's.This was one of the first hack and slash games that I ever played. Everything just fits well together, playing as a Viking. The Gameplay is sometimes a bit slow and the controls can get lumpy, the game sometimes glitches during big battles but apart from this the game is great if you like allot of blood and guts, and taking out allot of enemy's at a time. Expand
  3. May 20, 2012
    5
    Bland and generic rpg. The objectives are boring and the aesthetic is boring. Combat is ripped from god of war, except this time the combat sucks and is dull.
  4. May 15, 2011
    8
    My guilty pleasure game. It's by no means amazing, but I could not stop playing it. Twice. Bloody, violent, viking fun. Story's a little weak, the game gets repetitive, but if you're like me and a sucker for Violent Viking action there's not much out there better than this.
  5. Apr 27, 2011
    5
    A "lesser" version of Fable. Art style is similar to the "Fable" series. Being 3 years old, was a little shocked how a random 3year old games graphics were as good as they were. Buttons are easy to learn. Game took me about 8-10hours on the harder difficulty. The quests are pretty simple, you free prisoners or kill a bunch of guys in a camp. My favorite thing about this game was the hugeA "lesser" version of Fable. Art style is similar to the "Fable" series. Being 3 years old, was a little shocked how a random 3year old games graphics were as good as they were. Buttons are easy to learn. Game took me about 8-10hours on the harder difficulty. The quests are pretty simple, you free prisoners or kill a bunch of guys in a camp. My favorite thing about this game was the huge 100vs100+ battles you had at the end of each island. Managed to get all the achievements in 1 run. If you can find it for 5-10$ and are looking for a decent hack and Slash, id recommend buying it. Expand
  6. BenTheman
    Aug 29, 2009
    8
    Pros:
    -Non stop action
    -Gruesome fatalities -Amazing large scale battles -A plethora of enemy types that can be approached different ways for maximum effectiveness. -Open world to do quests in the order you want. Cons -Last boss was a let down -Repetition can start to let the fun out near the end -Only single player if that is something that bothers you This is a great game
    Pros:
    -Non stop action
    -Gruesome fatalities
    -Amazing large scale battles
    -A plethora of enemy types that can be approached different ways for maximum effectiveness.
    -Open world to do quests in the order you want.
    Cons
    -Last boss was a let down
    -Repetition can start to let the fun out near the end
    -Only single player if that is something that bothers you

    This is a great game and its a shame it was reviewed so harshly. A second Viking game could have been a true masterpiece.
    Expand
  7. JitoMendez
    Apr 4, 2008
    7
    I NEED MORE TO DO !!!!! ....... Sorry, but i had to get it out of the way. Viking is a pretty good game with some nice hack n' slash gameplay but I feel Like Sega started out being really excited about this game and ended up just kicking it out the door. What is there is mostly good, cool looking characters, beautiful environment, gory violence (Hack n' Slash was a good choice,I NEED MORE TO DO !!!!! ....... Sorry, but i had to get it out of the way. Viking is a pretty good game with some nice hack n' slash gameplay but I feel Like Sega started out being really excited about this game and ended up just kicking it out the door. What is there is mostly good, cool looking characters, beautiful environment, gory violence (Hack n' Slash was a good choice, these are vikings y'know) but you need variety in the missions. Hey I love killin' as much as the next guy but it will get boring if theres nothing else to do. Also it needed a better story (better doesn't mean complicated, just something to keep your attention) and horses to ride or something 'cause Skarin's slow ass was pissing me off. Look I didn't hate it I just think Sega needed to let it marinate a little longer cause this had the potential to be a huge success. (P.S. wheres the epic music, why is it so damn quiet ?) Expand
  8. decompiler
    Apr 4, 2008
    8
    wow. i can't believe the reviews viking is getting from some of the "professional" reviewers. i'm wondering if some of these people played the same game i'm playing... the gameplay is better than just hack & slash, it's like the next level of hack & slash; there are a bunch of combos you can learn throughout the game that work better against certain foes, and if youwow. i can't believe the reviews viking is getting from some of the "professional" reviewers. i'm wondering if some of these people played the same game i'm playing... the gameplay is better than just hack & slash, it's like the next level of hack & slash; there are a bunch of combos you can learn throughout the game that work better against certain foes, and if you actually try to strategically use them - as i am, playing on the hard difficulty - it makes the combat much deeper than button mashing. is the story great? no, it's pretty transparent. are there glitches? a few very minor collision problems is all i've seen. and yes, a bit more variety in the "average joe enemy" would've been great. what i really want to know is who paid oxm, ign, gamespot, and especially 1up to slam this game? i could see giving viking a 55 or 60 on the day you got evicted, had your car reposessed, your significant other left you, and your dog died, but 33? c'mon, 1up... Expand
  9. BillyB.
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    Very solid open world game, stealth mechanics are simple but work well. Each of the 3 islands have no loading beyond the initial load screen. Story is muted, however gameplay is 1st class, with usually 5 or 6 camp skirmishes, followed by sneaking into the main battle camp to power up a gem, at which point you return to that main battle camp, but this time not sneaking about, with around Very solid open world game, stealth mechanics are simple but work well. Each of the 3 islands have no loading beyond the initial load screen. Story is muted, however gameplay is 1st class, with usually 5 or 6 camp skirmishes, followed by sneaking into the main battle camp to power up a gem, at which point you return to that main battle camp, but this time not sneaking about, with around 1,000+ soldiers, they flock into battle in a similar fashion to Epic's recent demos of flocking hordes, and epic battles ensue. Most of the game is the build up to these battles, if checking a map, clearing out a camp, checking the map, clearing another, similar camp is not for you, you may get bored of repetition, as people did with Assasins Creed. However it's an extremely well made game, and has provided me with a few great nights of entertainment so far. I have 566G's at present and have played 2 of the 3 game islands through before writing this, so if the last boss turns out rubbish don't blame me! Another aspect i really like is the islands will be dark, foggy, and wet, until you liberate areas, then the sun shines, the birds tweet and the once dank environs revela themselves to be RPG pretty.. Expand
  10. [Anonymous]
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    Best hack and slash in years.
  11. GeorgeW.
    Mar 31, 2008
    8
    Even though you see a few glitches here and there and the story isn't up to much, Viking is so much fun. The open world is beautiful and the big battles have to be seen to be believed. It balances perfectly between sandbox and cinematic spectacle. The combat could be deeper and the script is pretty awful but I couldn't care less when it is so much fun.
  12. ShannonL.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Despite what critics have said about it - Viking is a fantastic game. The graphics are awesome, the controls are solid and mildy chunky but only as chunky and solid as you would expect - You ARE playing as a Viking afterall.. The sandbox you roam around in is huge and the game itself is instantlyplayable - there NO loading screens AT ALL when you are in the sandbox even if you die and Despite what critics have said about it - Viking is a fantastic game. The graphics are awesome, the controls are solid and mildy chunky but only as chunky and solid as you would expect - You ARE playing as a Viking afterall.. The sandbox you roam around in is huge and the game itself is instantlyplayable - there NO loading screens AT ALL when you are in the sandbox even if you die and respawn - no load screen. The complaints that there is slowdown is totally mistrewn the only slowdown you get is when trying to kill one of the Shamans and even then it is very minor and definitely not Game breaking. Yes the fetch quests do get repetitive but as while you are on these quests it still involves copius amounts of gratuitous violence to keep even the most hardcore Gorehounds happy. If anything at least rent the game - it would a crying shame if this new IP is some how overlooked because a Viking franchise would be fantastic. Do yourself a favour - if your unsure about this game - rent it, borrow it whatever you do - make sure you play this game. Expand
  13. GioD.
    Mar 28, 2008
    8
    Creative Assembly have crafted another suberb gem for their 2nd concole effort. Viking is ALL brutality, plain and simple. You roam the land of 3 MASSIVE islands to free and recruit other warriors into your army so you can go up against Hel the goddess of death. Once you recruit your warriors you go into battle, but when you go into battle, YOU GO INTO BATTLE. I'm talking hundreds Creative Assembly have crafted another suberb gem for their 2nd concole effort. Viking is ALL brutality, plain and simple. You roam the land of 3 MASSIVE islands to free and recruit other warriors into your army so you can go up against Hel the goddess of death. Once you recruit your warriors you go into battle, but when you go into battle, YOU GO INTO BATTLE. I'm talking hundreds and hundreds of guys on screen hacking and slashing away at one another. If your into action and brutality or like your battles on FULL SCALE ASSUALT (and who doesnt), then you cant go wrong with Viking. Cant wait to see what Creative Assembly does next. Expand
  14. AlexB.
    Mar 28, 2008
    7
    Well, I love this game. I played it for a few hours and I can say: If you love the vikings, huge battles, simple controls and a lot of hack n slay fun, then you should get VIking. + great battles + great atmosphere + for adults only - somethings it slowsdown - the graphics are not the best - the sound is not the best, too but nevertheless a really funny game, that keeps you entertaining Well, I love this game. I played it for a few hours and I can say: If you love the vikings, huge battles, simple controls and a lot of hack n slay fun, then you should get VIking. + great battles + great atmosphere + for adults only - somethings it slowsdown - the graphics are not the best - the sound is not the best, too but nevertheless a really funny game, that keeps you entertaining for a few hours Expand
  15. ChrisM.
    Mar 27, 2008
    7
    I
  16. SteveT.
    Mar 27, 2008
    7
    Ok for a hack n' slasher. Gameplay can be a bit clunky and repetative, but there is nothing terrible or unforgivable. The only problem so far is there is nothing outstanding about the game so far. I hope the dragons bring this game up a notch. Rent is the most likely recomend, I bought it and will hold on to it for a while, but this one is likley to end up in the trade category Ok for a hack n' slasher. Gameplay can be a bit clunky and repetative, but there is nothing terrible or unforgivable. The only problem so far is there is nothing outstanding about the game so far. I hope the dragons bring this game up a notch. Rent is the most likely recomend, I bought it and will hold on to it for a while, but this one is likley to end up in the trade category before too long. Expand
  17. DanielC.
    Mar 27, 2008
    7
    Whilst the game might not be pushing any boubdaries, it is nice to have a change from various modern conflict settings. I enjoyed the mythology behind the game and characters and found the game graphically polished and fun to play although it doesn't push any boundaries. Worth a purchase in my opinion.
  18. May 15, 2011
    8
    My guilty pleasure game. It's by no means amazing, but I could not stop playing it. Twice. Bloody, violent, viking fun. Story's a little weak, the game gets repetitive, but if you're like me and a sucker for Violent Viking action there's not much out there better than this.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 67
  2. Negative: 5 out of 67
  1. An impressive game that provides one of the greatest gaming experiences I’ve had in a while, producing some of the goriest bloodbaths featured in a game to date.
  2. 65
    The battles stumble thanks to chug, the worlds get repetitive, and when you're not really interested in the story or your ultimate goal, hack-and-slash gets on your nerves no matter how many times you cut a guy in two.
  3. Viking's a decent game, thanks to over the top combat moves and a sprawling fantasy world, but its lack of drama and a few design issues make it inferior to Sony's exquisite "God of War" franchise.