User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    "Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown" it's a great fighting game for the fans of Virtua Fighter 5: it has very nice and realistic graphics, with fluid animations without any slowdowns, and a solid gameplay added to the classic Virtua Fighter 5 that we know. For a XBLA game, and for 1200MS it's a nice offer - if you like classic fighting games, this is the one. I particularly doesn't like Street Fighter or KOF series, always liked more Tekken and Virtua Fighter, and this title doesn't let me down on my expectations. Add to that a Online mode, and you will have fun value, for many hours. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Updated graphics, excellent online mode, one of the best communities of players, and the incredible gameplay even more polished make this title the best fighting game of the moment.
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    This is the best fighting game ! Online game is great ! Price is awesome ! The gameplay want to be "realistic" so don't look after fireball or dummy things ; here it's Skill Only and mind game. People who don't understand the gameplay simply don't have/use their brain :]

    Thx SEGA !
  4. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Perfectly balanced fighter. A wonderful experience and a stable online mode. I just wish I had the time to become a Virtua Fighter Master! You simply need to buy this, it's only £10!!
  5. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    This is the best fighting game available, and it's only $15.00! $45.00 if you want to customize all of your characters! It's just such a deep game! This is not a game for people that aren't willing to learn the ins and outs of the system. If you want mindless fun. Look else ware. This game is the Chess of fighting games.
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    VF5FS...When a game makes me hyperventilate when I'm playing it that makes it a great game in my eyes. I had downloaded the trial a week or two ago, but finally played it today out of boredom and I knew I had to own it within the first 10 seconds of my first match. I remember the very first time that I played VF1 at my local movie theater back in 1993 and even though the last VF game I remember playing is VF2 on the Sega Saturn I've been a fan for 20 years. It's the first 3d fighting game I ever saw/played and playing VF5FS brings me back to being 17 years old ( I'm 34) the only difference is that now I don't have to walk for 30 minutes just to play for 30 minutes, all I have to do is turn on the 360. Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    The best fighting game ever made. no other fighting game comes close or takes as much skill the most fair balanced fighting game ive ever played. this games all about strategy timing for the jumping moves ( you know what i mean when you play the game ) and speed in tapping buttons. almost every other fighting game has that one overpowered cheap character that everyone online plays as street fighter mortal kombat marvel vs capcom the list goes on not this game. simple to learn takes skill characters have unique styles good graphics ( gorgeous levels ) good music only negative thing i can say about this game is the guy who announces at the beginning of fights has an annoying voice and you have to pay for character customization option when it should be free these are just minor problems which take nothing away from the actual game. i have never even played virtua fighter 5 but this has made me a fan. download complete training quickly and play one of the best fighting games ever made. Collapse
  8. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    VF is a labour of love... It has a very quick learning curve if you just want to play and an extremely lengthy one if you plan to master it - To put that into context - I've been playing it for over a decade and I'm STILL not that good... but that's part of the charm... It's like learning to play an instrument, the journey is never ending and infinitely satisfying. It WOULD have been passed over by lesser gamers before the inclusion of an online mode but now these same players will be able to glimpse the heights that can be achieved with the cunning of experience, thought and persistence. It's simply the best fighter out there and it has been for at least 12 years. If you don't think so, you haven't played it enough yet. It's cheap but please don't be if you buy it, become a student of the game, seek knowledge and respect it and it will enrich you as a gamer. Expand
  9. Jun 11, 2012
    0
    The best fighting game ever made. no other fighting game comes close or takes as much skill the most fair balanced fighting game ive ever played. this games all about strategy timing for the jumping moves ( you know what i mean when you play the game ) and speed in tapping buttons. almost every other fighting game has that one overpowered cheap character that everyone online plays as street fighter mortal kombat marvel vs capcom the list goes on not this game. simple to learn takes skill characters have unique styles good graphics ( gorgeous levels ) good music only negative thing i can say about this game is the guy who announces at the beginning of fights has an annoying voice and you have to pay for character customization option when it should be free these are just minor problems which take nothing away from the actual game. i have never even played virtua fighter 5 but this has made me a fan. download complete training quickly and play one of the best fighting games ever made. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. 90
    It's Virtua Fighter 5, only tarted up. [Sept 2012, p.105]
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    90
    A radical evolution of the franchise. [Issue#87, p.78]
  3. Jul 25, 2012
    75
    Virtua fighter 5 final Showdown has stripped away things like back story to bring to the arcade a lean mean fighting machine, and to bombard the player in choices for DLC customizations of your favorite characters.