Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown contains the definitive version of VF5, refined over the years since its original arcade debut. This new release also adds a significant list of features not previously seen on consoles. Showdown contains a complete overhaul of Virtua Fighter 5's mechanics,Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown contains the definitive version of VF5, refined over the years since its original arcade debut. This new release also adds a significant list of features not previously seen on consoles. Showdown contains a complete overhaul of Virtua Fighter 5's mechanics, balance and animations, along with new game modes, new dynamic fighting arenas, a large collection of customizable character items and new characters added to the roster. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    90
    Virtua Fighter may no longer be at the cutting edge, but Final Showdown proves that it still runs deeper than any of its peers.
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    90
    This is a crowning achievement in fighting games, accurately simulating the dedication it takes to truly know what you and your opponent are capable of, and what they'll do next given their style and instincts. This is, without a doubt, Virtua Fighter's finest iteration yet.
  3. 90
    It's Virtua Fighter 5, only tarted up. [Sept 2012, p.105]
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    Other franchises do an admirable job of capturing the spirit of fighting, the spirited back-and-forths of a good brawl. But with Virtua Fighter, you get the very essence of fighting, the true artistry in martial arts. And it's a total knock out.
  5. 76
    It's balanced, fast, and all around fun, all packaged within a three button fighting system that is incredibly simple to learn.
  6. Jun 8, 2012
    75
    In the end, those who expect all the bells and whistles that have come to grace more recent fighting games, you may pass this up and feel no remorse. Same goes for those who already own a previous installment of VF 5 and feel content. Albeit, for die hard fans, those looking for yet another fighting game to add to their library and those who have strayed from the franchise but are still curious, this can be a good investment.
  7. Jun 4, 2012
    70
    Dedicated fans of the genre who maybe have gotten tired of the madness of Marvel vs. Capcom or other more crazy modern fighting games might appreciate this slightly enhanced and tweaked technical fighter. Most others, I'm afraid-myself included-probably won't find much to invest here.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    VF is a labour of love... It has a very quick learning curve if you just want to play and an extremely lengthy one if you plan to master it -VF is a labour of love... It has a very quick learning curve if you just want to play and an extremely lengthy one if you plan to master it - To put that into context - I've been playing it for over a decade and I'm STILL not that good... but that's part of the charm... It's like learning to play an instrument, the journey is never ending and infinitely satisfying. It WOULD have been passed over by lesser gamers before the inclusion of an online mode but now these same players will be able to glimpse the heights that can be achieved with the cunning of experience, thought and persistence. It's simply the best fighter out there and it has been for at least 12 years. If you don't think so, you haven't played it enough yet. It's cheap but please don't be if you buy it, become a student of the game, seek knowledge and respect it and it will enrich you as a gamer. Collapse
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    The best fighting game ever made. no other fighting game comes close or takes as much skill the most fair balanced fighting game ive everThe best fighting game ever made. no other fighting game comes close or takes as much skill the most fair balanced fighting game ive ever played. this games all about strategy timing for the jumping moves ( you know what i mean when you play the game ) and speed in tapping buttons. almost every other fighting game has that one overpowered cheap character that everyone online plays as street fighter mortal kombat marvel vs capcom the list goes on not this game. simple to learn takes skill characters have unique styles good graphics ( gorgeous levels ) good music only negative thing i can say about this game is the guy who announces at the beginning of fights has an annoying voice and you have to pay for character customization option when it should be free these are just minor problems which take nothing away from the actual game. i have never even played virtua fighter 5 but this has made me a fan. download complete training quickly and play one of the best fighting games ever made. Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Updated graphics, excellent online mode, one of the best communities of players, and the incredible gameplay even more polished make thisUpdated graphics, excellent online mode, one of the best communities of players, and the incredible gameplay even more polished make this title the best fighting game of the moment. Expand
  4. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    VF5FS...When a game makes me hyperventilate when I'm playing it that makes it a great game in my eyes. I had downloaded the trial a week orVF5FS...When a game makes me hyperventilate when I'm playing it that makes it a great game in my eyes. I had downloaded the trial a week or two ago, but finally played it today out of boredom and I knew I had to own it within the first 10 seconds of my first match. I remember the very first time that I played VF1 at my local movie theater back in 1993 and even though the last VF game I remember playing is VF2 on the Sega Saturn I've been a fan for 20 years. It's the first 3d fighting game I ever saw/played and playing VF5FS brings me back to being 17 years old ( I'm 34) the only difference is that now I don't have to walk for 30 minutes just to play for 30 minutes, all I have to do is turn on the 360. Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Perfectly balanced fighter. A wonderful experience and a stable online mode. I just wish I had the time to become a Virtua Fighter Master!Perfectly balanced fighter. A wonderful experience and a stable online mode. I just wish I had the time to become a Virtua Fighter Master! You simply need to buy this, it's only £10!! Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    This is the best fighting game ! Online game is great ! Price is awesome ! The gameplay want to be "realistic" so don't look after fireball orThis is the best fighting game ! Online game is great ! Price is awesome ! The gameplay want to be "realistic" so don't look after fireball or dummy things ; here it's Skill Only and mind game. People who don't understand the gameplay simply don't have/use their brain :]

    Thx SEGA !
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    "Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown" it's a great fighting game for the fans of Virtua Fighter 5: it has very nice and realistic graphics, with"Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown" it's a great fighting game for the fans of Virtua Fighter 5: it has very nice and realistic graphics, with fluid animations without any slowdowns, and a solid gameplay added to the classic Virtua Fighter 5 that we know. For a XBLA game, and for 1200MS it's a nice offer - if you like classic fighting games, this is the one. I particularly doesn't like Street Fighter or KOF series, always liked more Tekken and Virtua Fighter, and this title doesn't let me down on my expectations. Add to that a Online mode, and you will have fun value, for many hours. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews