User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 62
  2. Negative: 11 out of 62

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nydrin
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    One of the deepest and most beautiful fighters ever. With smooth online play and customization options, you'll be playing this one for a long time to come.
  2. KeithI.
    Nov 5, 2007
    3
    It may be the best fighting game on Xbox 360 but it is just boring. Fighting physics is primitive and the characters needs more dramatic moves.
  3. FPSMaster
    Jan 5, 2008
    5
    This game looks and feels generic like lots of other Sega games The graphics are not that great and pale in comparison to the 2 year old DOA4 being too colorful and arcadey looking. The environments look ok, but the characters look like plastic, are very generic and uninteresting and the animations are very clunky and are missing tons of frames. The movement is slow and the fighting is This game looks and feels generic like lots of other Sega games The graphics are not that great and pale in comparison to the 2 year old DOA4 being too colorful and arcadey looking. The environments look ok, but the characters look like plastic, are very generic and uninteresting and the animations are very clunky and are missing tons of frames. The movement is slow and the fighting is just absolutely boring. There are not very many moves for any of the characters and the rest are just plain old kicks, punches and throws and the ones that are there are the same old ones they've rehashed since the first Virtua Fighter. These moves need to be more dramatic and flashy because it just looks and feels generic and outdated. And it needs to play faster. These moves are waaaaay too slow for a fighting game in 2008. The arenas are no differnt than the ones in the Saturn versions, meaning they're just small, plain, lifeless squares. Compare this to DOA4 where the graphcis are top-notch still after 2 years, have animations that are smooth as butter, multi-tierd arenas that are destructable and full of life and tons and tons more moves that all look different and catch they eye to boot. I don't care what anyone else says, DOA4 is tons deeper and more interesting than this franchise as it has everything in order all-around from graphics, to characters, to moves, to gameplay, to environments.The VF series has become nothing more than one that is trying to be a generic clone of DOA and Tekken and succeeds at neither. Strictly generic in every way. Expand
  4. AAACE5
    Nov 2, 2007
    6
    I can't believe they made it to the fifth edition of this game. It may have a good fighting engine... But overall the series is just boring! Which is why it always gets great reviews, but never sells as well as it should. The male characters need a dramatic overhaul, because they are corny. The female characters need more sex appeal to draw in more male gamers. And the overall I can't believe they made it to the fifth edition of this game. It may have a good fighting engine... But overall the series is just boring! Which is why it always gets great reviews, but never sells as well as it should. The male characters need a dramatic overhaul, because they are corny. The female characters need more sex appeal to draw in more male gamers. And the overall gameplay and environments need a new look and feel. This feels like virtua fighter 3tb with better graphics. Just cause it has online play doesn't make it better. Change the game! Expand
  5. MaxM.
    Nov 5, 2007
    6
    This game is a bit overrated. It's a cheap coppy of Dead or Alive. They did a good job of balancing the characters but the gameplay is a bit too slow for me.
  6. DanteR.
    Nov 5, 2007
    3
    In my personal opinion, I am having a hard time understanding why this is getting such high reviews. I am thinking that people are buying it for the franchise name. I have to say that I found the controls lacking, a button masher by design, it holds little support for a complex combo cyctem like we are used to seeing. I found the animations to be in a great need of tweaking as they seemed In my personal opinion, I am having a hard time understanding why this is getting such high reviews. I am thinking that people are buying it for the franchise name. I have to say that I found the controls lacking, a button masher by design, it holds little support for a complex combo cyctem like we are used to seeing. I found the animations to be in a great need of tweaking as they seemed very clunky. Also I felt that the characters movements were very slow. I think they should have taken a bit more time to designe the game better for the 360 rather then doing a port from the PS3 version. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2012
    2
    I haven't played this anywhere near enough for my opinion to be valid, but the game did not attract me. Normal rounds are far too short, the game is so boring and dull, and the moves list of each character is endless. Had some fun in trials mode (or Command time attack), but got so bored I never really gave it a try. Overall, the graphics are hideous and variety in characters and moves andI haven't played this anywhere near enough for my opinion to be valid, but the game did not attract me. Normal rounds are far too short, the game is so boring and dull, and the moves list of each character is endless. Had some fun in trials mode (or Command time attack), but got so bored I never really gave it a try. Overall, the graphics are hideous and variety in characters and moves and gameplay... almost non-existent. Again, I have to say I didn't play it for long- perhaps a couple of hours. But from what I've seen there's no attraction to this game if you're not experienced with or a fan of fighting games. I would recommend Street Fighter IV instead. Collapse
  8. MattB.
    Jan 2, 2008
    9
    This game stands aside the original Soul Calibur on DC as my favourite ever arcade fighting game. VF5 doesn't try to reinvent the wheel in any way. What it DOES do is absolutely nail the established arcade fighter formula and provide what is in my opinion the best arcade fighting experience to date. An incredibly deep and rewarding fighting system and the best graphics in a fighting This game stands aside the original Soul Calibur on DC as my favourite ever arcade fighting game. VF5 doesn't try to reinvent the wheel in any way. What it DOES do is absolutely nail the established arcade fighter formula and provide what is in my opinion the best arcade fighting experience to date. An incredibly deep and rewarding fighting system and the best graphics in a fighting game ever. Great training mode (the Dojo). Online play. Plenty of Japanese cheese. Best played against another human! Expand
  9. SayedI.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    I was impressed that the 360 iteration was better than the PS3.
  10. ScottM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    The best fighting game got a billion times better by literally bringing the arcade home, with version c oh wait but they made it better with online play hope to see you all on live.
  11. JohnS.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Greatest fighting game on the planet. Ignore the haters. DOA, Tekken, and SC players need to check this game out and battle against people who actually know how to play VF online.
  12. redson
    Jul 12, 2008
    8
    I'm still playing this game after more than 70hrs in the quest arcades (Completed Vanessa, 70% in Brads) and double that online.. VF5 is not a game for non-fighting people tho and this is not a glowing "go buy this game now" review.. Its not a button masher at all, powerful moves and combos can be difficult to pull off with the 360's dpad and the counter/sabaki/reversal system I'm still playing this game after more than 70hrs in the quest arcades (Completed Vanessa, 70% in Brads) and double that online.. VF5 is not a game for non-fighting people tho and this is not a glowing "go buy this game now" review.. Its not a button masher at all, powerful moves and combos can be difficult to pull off with the 360's dpad and the counter/sabaki/reversal system is NOT intuitive or easy to implement.. despite the updates i still feel like the online implementation is broken, especially when compared to DOA4.. there are no lobbies and changing fighters requires creating a new room and starting a new fight.. lag is definitely an issue for advanced users but new or mid level players probably wont notice until its obvious or unplayable.. if you're not a fan of the series or the fighting game genre Virtua Fighter 5 is not the game for you.. go play DOA4; DOA is much more arcady, button mash friendly and has a much better online setup.. Virtua Fighter 5 has a deeper combat system and requires much more commitment but the rewards are totally worth it.. Put it this way; i bought Virtua Fighter 5 twice.. after cracking my first disc by accident (games belong in cases, not on floors) i had to pick up a used copy.. i traded DOA4 for store credit towards my second copy. Expand
  13. MarkM.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    For a fighting game it delivers, point blank. Virtua Fighter 5 is a wonderful experience and it has it where it counts!
  14. AndyK.
    Oct 25, 2007
    8
    Great conversion from the PS3 original...also great visuals, with more features including the "inpossible" online feature but still very bad at fight-physics.
  15. MarkVestibule
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    A fantastic fighting game, and easily the best 3d fighter in the past five years at least. And to the chowderhead that called Virtua Fighter a rip-off of Dead or Alive: Virtua Fighter predates Dead or Alive by three years. Get your facts straight, idiot.
  16. RyanP.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    This game rocks! The online play makes it superior to the PS3 version, which was really slim on content anyway. This is the version to beat, and if you don't own or atleast try VF 5, you're missing out on a fantastic fighting game.
  17. GamerA
    May 7, 2008
    8
    What I'm failing to understand here is why everybody is comparing this to DOA or any other game. Stop comparing and look at the game for the game. Yes purists and franchise followers will be pleased with the return of old characters and two ample additions. People that have played more than one iteration of a franchise will appreciate the return of their favorite characters, just the What I'm failing to understand here is why everybody is comparing this to DOA or any other game. Stop comparing and look at the game for the game. Yes purists and franchise followers will be pleased with the return of old characters and two ample additions. People that have played more than one iteration of a franchise will appreciate the return of their favorite characters, just the same was as Kasumi and Hitome from DOA. The only reason this game does not get a 9 or ten from me is not the lag, that is as common as oxygen in the air and will always exist in one way or another. The framerate is fairly consistent, and is not a gripe. Is DOA didn't have the best graphics it would be near worthless. The levels represent the only critical flaw. To fight somebody person to person you really don't care if you are on a beach, or a dojo, because it is 1v1. If you would use weapons or the environment it takes away from the core function of combat against another person. But the random square takes away from the realism and could have just as well been on even flat ground. So in all the game is fairly good and the characters are all well presented in their own right, with perhaps a retooled level and stage mechanic this game could be a great fighter. Also as others have said, shun the FPS MASTER that compares a fighting game to DOA. Thank you. Expand
  18. DavidH.
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    I have been a VF purist since the first game hit arcades. I have read other user reviews and have this to say: 1) DOA1 was copied from VF1 (using the same hardware even), not vice-versa. They have gone different directions since then, but both are good in their own right. 2) Because VF3tb didn't sell well Sega removed the only "new" thing since this series' inception - varied I have been a VF purist since the first game hit arcades. I have read other user reviews and have this to say: 1) DOA1 was copied from VF1 (using the same hardware even), not vice-versa. They have gone different directions since then, but both are good in their own right. 2) Because VF3tb didn't sell well Sega removed the only "new" thing since this series' inception - varied terrain height. Honestly going back to the roots works, but with the exception of some new fighters and online play, you HAVE played this before, in VF1, VF2, and VF4. I LOVE VF and this game is excellent. If you aren't familiar with the series, you need to take some TIME to learn the inticacies of the controls. HOWEVER I had to dock some points for: 1) Texture clipping, body parts pass through one another. 2) Animations, while good, are not varied enough 3) Online play lag, common to all twitch fighting games, pick a faster fighter to help overcome timing issues, but breaks gameplay balance. 4) Rings? While I always liked ring-outs, the level designs consist of a pretty background behind a square ring. This is one place where 3tb actually improved on the level design, and one place where DOA really shines with tiered levels that you actually feel like you are INSIDE of, rather than pasted on top of. Expand
  19. Aug 29, 2013
    3
    "...One of the universe's biggest mysteries is why SEGA's excellent franchise has never reached the same American commercial success as its competition...." IGN. Well, let me solve that mystery for you now and tell you the reason why........because it's a big bubbling bag of diseased dog-spunk that's why!! I'm sure when you've spent 8 years memorizing a whole load of button-bashing"...One of the universe's biggest mysteries is why SEGA's excellent franchise has never reached the same American commercial success as its competition...." IGN. Well, let me solve that mystery for you now and tell you the reason why........because it's a big bubbling bag of diseased dog-spunk that's why!! I'm sure when you've spent 8 years memorizing a whole load of button-bashing combos and honing your skills like a ****ing warrior monk you may start to enjoy the game, but I'd also like to be able to pick up and play the game to a certain level without having to do this. Unfortunately, VF5 has about as much instant appeal as Joe Merrick's modeling portfolio and it's clearly made for loyal fans who already love the predecessors. To someone like me who hasn't that love because I've not played them it feels slow, stale, unspectacular and weak. I got this game for £10 and still felt cheated, there was just nothing to make me want to keep playing it and 2 days later it was swapped for good. VF5? In 5 words Yawn, yawn, yawn, ****ing yawn. Expand
  20. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    Virtua fighter 5.The deepest and the serious one,no other fighting game feels like this because it starts as a dull arcade that takes time to learn but once you get used to the gameplay it takes you to a whole new level it slowly crosses the boundaries and feels more and more like a martial arts simulation.I recomend this game only to those who are willing to dedicate a large amount ofVirtua fighter 5.The deepest and the serious one,no other fighting game feels like this because it starts as a dull arcade that takes time to learn but once you get used to the gameplay it takes you to a whole new level it slowly crosses the boundaries and feels more and more like a martial arts simulation.I recomend this game only to those who are willing to dedicate a large amount of their time because this is the only way to understand why Virtua fighter 5 is over the top. Expand
  21. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    OMFG! Virtua Fighter 5 is amazing, the characters awesome, the gampelay incredible, and the online is interesting. This new game of the serie es amazing.
  22. Jun 20, 2012
    0
    I haven't played this anywhere near enough for my opinion to be valid, but the game did not attract me. Normal rounds are far too short, the game is so boring and dull, and the moves list of each character is endless. Had some fun in trials mode (or Command time attack), but got so bored I never really gave it a try. Overall, the graphics are hideous and variety in characters and moves andI haven't played this anywhere near enough for my opinion to be valid, but the game did not attract me. Normal rounds are far too short, the game is so boring and dull, and the moves list of each character is endless. Had some fun in trials mode (or Command time attack), but got so bored I never really gave it a try. Overall, the graphics are hideous and variety in characters and moves and gameplay... almost non-existent. Again, I have to say I didn't play it for long- perhaps a couple of hours. But from what I've seen there's no attraction to this game if you're not experienced with or a fan of fighting games. I would recommend Street Fighter IV instead. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Is the most ballanced, prettiest, deepest fighting game ever made perfection? No, but being the most balanced, prettiest and deepest fighting game is more than enough. [Nov 2007, p.94]
  2. The most accomplished, perfectly balanced and dazzlingly polished fighting game ever made - but watch out, it punishes infidels unwilling to invest the time to learn the 'art.' [Issue#25, p.88]
  3. Veterans and newbies alike will be impressed with how sumptuous the game looks. It's easily the best looking fighter on a console.