User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LiamM
    Sep 6, 2008
    5
    Only half marks were awarded. Why? Because the sound effects are annoying, especially the crowds. There isn't enough female superstars to be certain, and there's no Andy Murray. He will have to be created in Career Mode. Some of the game modes are boring. I would advise you to leave this one out if you don't want to be annoyed.
  2. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 24, 2008
    7
    I gotta to agree with Job A and say that Top Spin 2 is the better Tennis game, but Virtua Tennis is the more instantly playable game. Having played both, VT3 is more playable off and online, with its easy to pick and play model. And with the mini games and range of tournaments, there is a lot to do here. And I love watching the Virtua channel, some it adds that fun factor while seeing I gotta to agree with Job A and say that Top Spin 2 is the better Tennis game, but Virtua Tennis is the more instantly playable game. Having played both, VT3 is more playable off and online, with its easy to pick and play model. And with the mini games and range of tournaments, there is a lot to do here. And I love watching the Virtua channel, some it adds that fun factor while seeing some poor guy getting pasted! But the control system is so disappointing its really a huge shame. The game seems to 'take over' at certain situations when you least expect or want it to, and that really pisses me off.Your player always seems incapable to get in the right area for the right shot, and lag is a major issue which sadly still hasn't been sorted. And cheese gameplay is the order of the day online, i.e. find the cheapest way to win a match and repeat that until somebody comes with a even more cheesy way to beat you! Its hard not to like, like Top Spin 2, but the controls on VT3 are just too warped for any real tennis fan to appreciate. Expand
  3. JobA.
    Feb 23, 2008
    7
    This game has one good thing going for it. It has a great single player game with a lot of things to do and mini games.I played both this game and Top Spin 2 for a long time to see which one is truly better and Top Spins straight up game play is by far the better game without a doubt.Virtua Tennis 3 world tour is better though.I'm into tennis so I own both but if you are trying to This game has one good thing going for it. It has a great single player game with a lot of things to do and mini games.I played both this game and Top Spin 2 for a long time to see which one is truly better and Top Spins straight up game play is by far the better game without a doubt.Virtua Tennis 3 world tour is better though.I'm into tennis so I own both but if you are trying to decide on which one to buy then go for Top Spin's REAL tennis compared to Virtua's arcade feel.I give this game a 7.2. Expand
  4. Jake
    May 22, 2007
    4
    An alright ofline pick up and play game but online it is frustrating because of the lag so if you are looking for an xbox live game stay away
  5. GrantH.
    Apr 10, 2007
    8
    Solid game, with very pleasant graphics. Extremely addictive and well recommended. My only concern would be regarding some AI issues and the fact its near impossible to hit the lines, or achieve ace's. Superb tennis sim though!
  6. VasiliU.
    Apr 7, 2007
    7
    Visually this is a good game, but as far as gameplay goes, I don't agree with the general consensus. The game is too "arcadey." Every third stroke is a dive, and the lack of control over specific strokes is dissapointing. A tennis purist's dream? If it's one of those dreams where you try to run, but can't seem to stay on the ground then I would agree. After playing Visually this is a good game, but as far as gameplay goes, I don't agree with the general consensus. The game is too "arcadey." Every third stroke is a dive, and the lack of control over specific strokes is dissapointing. A tennis purist's dream? If it's one of those dreams where you try to run, but can't seem to stay on the ground then I would agree. After playing this game even for a little bit, the only feeling I had left was one of frustration with untapped potential of what could have been a great game. When's the next top spin coming out? Expand
  7. RedXIII
    Apr 2, 2007
    7
    I usually get bored with tennis game very quickly, this game is an exception, the mini games are a blast along with the career mode. The career mode should be a little bit more in depth, but is still fun none the less. The online is ok, but it seems that even the slightest bit of lag completely ruins it. Overall probably the best tennis game on the market right now. more in depth career I usually get bored with tennis game very quickly, this game is an exception, the mini games are a blast along with the career mode. The career mode should be a little bit more in depth, but is still fun none the less. The online is ok, but it seems that even the slightest bit of lag completely ruins it. Overall probably the best tennis game on the market right now. more in depth career mode would have bumped it up to an 8, but for as good as a tennis game can get pretty much. Expand
  8. AndyM.
    Mar 27, 2007
    8
    A tennis purist's dream, while at the same time never forgetting it is a videogame. There are minor irritations for sure, but this is the benchmark for the genre.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Virtua Tennis 3 looks great, plays extremely well and, online, offers an excellent substitute for the real thing if it’s raining or you’re just too lazy to get out there and play.
  2. The players no longer look like white faced zombies and the online mode is one of the best we've experienced so far.
  3. There is no other sports sim out there that can beat Virtua Tennis 3 for entertainment value. [Issue 18, p.86]