Warhammer 40,000: Kill Team Xbox 360

Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. Jul 15, 2011
    87
    A fantastic update to the classic twin-stick shooter formula. I would be thrilled to see either a more substantial retail release using this format or an online-enabled downloadable sequel.
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    84
    My biggest complaints with Kill Team are the length – it's needs to be about twice as long, and the local-only co-op mode that doesn't allowed the second player to log in with their gamer profile. This means that only the primary player earns achievements. Despite these two glaring flaws, Warhammer 40,000: Kill Team is a total blast for as long as it lasts, and one of the best co-op experiences I've had on XBLA ever.
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    84
    Frustrations aside, the game's an enjoyable and pretty solid little twin-stick kill-fest. Warhammer fan or not, go out and kill some Orks.
  4. Jul 18, 2011
    82
    A good way to get a taste of things to come for the THQ vision of the Warhammer 40,000 universe, and is definitely worth your time.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    Jan 10, 2012
    80
    Gameplay-wise Kill Team is as simple as they come, but there's something mysteriously addictive and enjoyable in slaughtering thousands of space orks and having a few beers on the side. The different characters and combinations offer even some replayability value. [Jan 2012]
  6. Aug 12, 2011
    80
    Whether you're a Warhammer 40K aficionado or not, this is just the right kind of uncomplicated stress relief to distract you from the BBC News 24 ticker.
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    80
    Overall, Warhammer 40,000: Kill Team is a fun title. If you are a fan of the Warhammer universe you should have fun controlling the Space Marines and if you aren't familiar with the franchise you should still have fun killing a lot of enemies and blowing stuff up.
  8. Jul 18, 2011
    80
    I have to say that overall I was pleasantly surprised with Warhammer 40,000: Kill Team. From the great visuals and sound, to the addictive gameplay, this is a pretty good XBLA title. The only thing that hurts this game somewhat is the short gameplay length and lack of online cooperative play. That being said, fans of twin-stick shooters, and fans of the Warhammer universe alike, will enjoy this title.
  9. Jul 17, 2011
    78
    The game is a high octane blast from beginning to the end. It's a game that isn't afraid to be hard.
  10. Jul 29, 2011
    75
    Kill Team is an absolute blast to play. It's a no-frills action shooter from start to finish with a focus on purely destroying everything in sight. It's just too bad that they decided to leave out online coop because that could have made a good game great.
  11. Jul 27, 2011
    75
    Warhammer 40,000: Kill Team isn't a game that will be remembered for a long time but as an advertisment it works great. It'a a fairly difficult game that encourages you to try out all 4 avaliable characters and play in co-op mode (but unfortunately only in local network). It's biggest flaws are: it's short and has some ridiculously placed checkpoints. Other than that it'a s pretty solid shooter, developed so we could impatiently wait for Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine.
  12. Jul 24, 2011
    75
    The game has definitely been created for fans of this series but unfortunately on the XBox 360, it feels more like an iPhone or iPad game with its dual controls. It's enough to pass a few hours but don't expect anything too indulging unless you're a true fan.
  13. Jul 22, 2011
    75
    A very intense, yet very short game which will be enjoyed by action fans, even if they are not fans of the Warhammer universe. It is incredibly fun, but it lacks more duration and an online mode.
  14. 75
    We'd have appreciated a thicker campaign, more visually diverse missions, and especially the option to play co-op over Xbox Live, but as-is, this hors d'oeuvre is still an entertaining treat.
  15. Jul 18, 2011
    75
    Warhammer 40,000: Kill Team is a fun, simple blast-a-thon that goes a little beyond typical twin-stick shooter mechanics with its classes and upgrade system and it takes place in one of the coolest settings in all of gaming.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jul 17, 2011
    6
    As a Warhammer fanatic, I really want to like this game. Unfortunately, despite its good qualities, such as graphics and atmosphere, there areAs a Warhammer fanatic, I really want to like this game. Unfortunately, despite its good qualities, such as graphics and atmosphere, there are things that I just cannot get over. First of all, the camera in this game is one of the worst I have seen. Half the time you don't even see what you are firing at, and that can be really frustrating! Moreover, a game like this is built for online, four player co-op; yet, Kill Team only has two player local. That is a shame...

    Don't get me wrong, it is by no means a bad game, it just could have been so much better with a little extra work and time.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    4
    Me and my friends where drinking and we decided to buy a game off xbla. The game seems fun at start but gets really boring fast, and it'sMe and my friends where drinking and we decided to buy a game off xbla. The game seems fun at start but gets really boring fast, and it's really short two around 1.5h and there is close to no replay value... Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2011
    8
    If you're a 40k fan this is sort of a must buy, because you've been wanting a game like this for a long time. It's a twin stick shooter whereIf you're a 40k fan this is sort of a must buy, because you've been wanting a game like this for a long time. It's a twin stick shooter where you control two marines killing hundreds and hundreds of orks. It's simple, awesome fun. Add in the fact that there's local co-op, unlockable upgrades for your character, and 4 different character classes to chose from (Librarian, Techmarine, Assault Marine and Devastator) and you've got just enough going on here to make this simple game amusing the entire way though. Even if you're not a 40k fan this is some pretty solid co-op fun, especially for ten bucks. Full Review »