Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 231
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    4
    Halfway through the game, and a bit sick of it already. The single player could not be more linear. There is one path, and the mission objectives literally do not matter because there is only one objective, and one way to go. Maybe it changes in the second half, but I doubt it. The gameplay is all about shooting at range. When the orks get close, which is usually pretty quick, them engageHalfway through the game, and a bit sick of it already. The single player could not be more linear. There is one path, and the mission objectives literally do not matter because there is only one objective, and one way to go. Maybe it changes in the second half, but I doubt it. The gameplay is all about shooting at range. When the orks get close, which is usually pretty quick, them engage melee. If there is a big guy turn on the rage or whatever it's called to rip things to shreds, or stun him a lot. That's it. The multiplayer is peer to peer with no dedicated server. Saving is done by save points. I will say that I think the game looks nice though. Gameplay is a repetitious boring sweaty arm pit. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2011
    3
    The game is okay. About halfway through, you start repeating everything already done. The game is very linear and very dry story. Its pretty so the kids like it.
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    1
    WEAK GAME! The story was way too short and very predictible. The game is a mix between God of War and Gears of War, a pedigree that it does not live up too. The multi-player is the only reason anyone should ever play this game, and even it is not that good. Weapons choices are lacking and the combat is a bit wonky. This game is not worth anyone's money, the only good reviews I've heardWEAK GAME! The story was way too short and very predictible. The game is a mix between God of War and Gears of War, a pedigree that it does not live up too. The multi-player is the only reason anyone should ever play this game, and even it is not that good. Weapons choices are lacking and the combat is a bit wonky. This game is not worth anyone's money, the only good reviews I've heard come from Warhammer 40k fanboy's who love this game on the bases that it is a Warhammer game. If you want epic combat play God of War or Gears of War. If you want good multi-player, wait for Modern Warfare 3 or Battlefield 3, don't waste your money on this piece of crap. Collapse
  4. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    This game is so NOT good, i watched my friend play it and i fell asleep many times during those repetitive orc fighting parts( most of game), and bad voice acting (all the orcs have Australian accents). Please, if you own an XBox 360, get Gears of War 3 and not this, if you own a PS3, save your money...seriously, wouldn't even take this game for free.
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    3
    Very, very linear plot and character progression. Whether or not one likes the RPG elements of Dawn of War II, it is hard not to think of the missed opportunities for character and kit development when trudging through the singleplayer campaign. At no point do you have much sense of the macabre and gothic themes that have developed during the past decades of Warhammer 40k, instead you mustVery, very linear plot and character progression. Whether or not one likes the RPG elements of Dawn of War II, it is hard not to think of the missed opportunities for character and kit development when trudging through the singleplayer campaign. At no point do you have much sense of the macabre and gothic themes that have developed during the past decades of Warhammer 40k, instead you must fight endless hordes of the same enemies as you progress through similar set-piece battles.

    The lack of a cover system is likewise almost unforgiveable given other recent third-person shooters. The game is basically the demo over and over again. A disappointing showing from Relic.
    Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2012
    4
    I was fairly disappointed with this title. The gameplay is pretty average fare, the environments can be bland, and the story is just alright. This is coming from a Warhammer 40k fan, I believe I would be even less impressed if I was unfamiliar with this universe. The visuals are a mixed bag... some levels are industrial and mind-numbingly plain, while others can be impressive. The jumpI was fairly disappointed with this title. The gameplay is pretty average fare, the environments can be bland, and the story is just alright. This is coming from a Warhammer 40k fan, I believe I would be even less impressed if I was unfamiliar with this universe. The visuals are a mixed bag... some levels are industrial and mind-numbingly plain, while others can be impressive. The jump pack adds some needed diversity, but can only be used at certain moments in the campaign. The combination of a shooting mechanic with melee fighting is a bit different, but just doesn't do enough to set itself apart from other third-person shooters to me. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2016
    3
    I've not played this game in multiplayer, so i will teel only about the single player campaing. Warhammer is my favourite strategy game, but i stayed disappointed when i bought this game. What's up guys ? How could you did something like this ? The story is completly nonsense, with no details or explanations. The gameplay is oriented to action-melee, unlikely the strategy games. I sawI've not played this game in multiplayer, so i will teel only about the single player campaing. Warhammer is my favourite strategy game, but i stayed disappointed when i bought this game. What's up guys ? How could you did something like this ? The story is completly nonsense, with no details or explanations. The gameplay is oriented to action-melee, unlikely the strategy games. I saw just two positive points: Graphics, surprising good, and the characters, ate least, it's a Warhammer game. i DO NOT recommend this game. Expand
  8. Oct 13, 2011
    0
    WEAK GAME! The story was way too short and very predictible. The game is a mix between God of War and Gears of War, a pedigree that it does not live up too. The multi-player is the only reason anyone should ever play this game, and even it is not that good. Weapons choices are lacking and the combat is a bit wonky. This game is not worth anyone's money, the only good reviews I've heardWEAK GAME! The story was way too short and very predictible. The game is a mix between God of War and Gears of War, a pedigree that it does not live up too. The multi-player is the only reason anyone should ever play this game, and even it is not that good. Weapons choices are lacking and the combat is a bit wonky. This game is not worth anyone's money, the only good reviews I've heard come from Warhammer 40k fanboy's who love this game on the bases that it is a Warhammer game. If you want epic combat play God of War or Gears of War. If you want good multi-player, wait for Modern Warfare 3 or Battlefield 3, don't waste your money on this piece of crap. Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 2, 2011
    61
    It eventually becomes too much of a grind. [Dec 2011, p.101]
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    79
    Relic Entertainment has done a solid job on Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine, taking the studio's knowledge of the IP working on the Dawn of War series for PC, and putting it to good use. With some better thought out set-pieces and more variety in the gameplay and visuals, this could have achieved greatness. As it is though, Space Marine feels like the foundations for a barnstorming sequel, and goodness knows it deserves one, as there's massive potential here.
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Nov 14, 2011
    70
    Unfortunately marred by some poorly designed mechanics, gameplay choices and a chunky feel. [Issue#77, p.87]