Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    85
    If you only play a single Warriors game, with such an abundance of content, Warriors Orochi 3 has to be the one. And for those who've played the rest, be assured that you're about to experience the best – because this is a new peak for Omega Force and for the Warriors series.
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    83
    Warriors Orochi 3 is a true monument to Omega Force's games style. Crammed full of contents and with a very good character advancement system, this is the game to own if you're into the "Warriors" type of games.
  3. May 14, 2012
    76
    The story of Warriors Orochi 3 is confusing. But fans of JRPG's are getting a huge game with some entertaining story turns. The gameplay mechanics offer a deep action experience.
  4. Apr 7, 2012
    75
    Koei is back in action with its last hack 'n slash chapter based on Samurai Warriors and Dynasty Warriors heroes: and is a frenzy for all the fans around the world with the same-old-boring-based gameplay!
  5. Apr 18, 2012
    73
    With over 120 characters to choose from to form your fighting trio and a plethora of weapons Koei gives you a solid tactical foundation for the mass brawling. If you avoided the Warriors games so far, Orochi 3 could be the one to change your mind.
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    While undoubtedly nectar of the gods for series fans, the incremental tweaks and polishes to the game's mechanics that a decade of sequels grants make it by far the most rewarding and investible Musou game to date for all-comers.
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    70
    Mediocrity at its best. This is the biggest "Musou" ever, packed with tons of content like old and new characters, unlockable and surprise guest stars like Ryo Hayabusa and Ayane from Dead or Alive. Still the same rough game with the same old graphics engine.
  8. 60
    Essentially Dynasty Warriors 7 with more stuff. [Issue#84, p.89]
  9. 50
    Less "more of the same" and more "less good." [May 2012, p.95]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    9
    I should start by saying that if you're a fan of any Warriors game to date then chances are you will love this. And if you've played a Warriors game before and felt unimpressed, I would advise that this isn't for you.

    That said, Warriors Orochi 3 is the best at what it is. Not having played Samurai Warriors or any recent Dynasty Warrior games, I found the new character (added since WO2) initially confusing in their roles & relationships but quickly grew to like them. The new move sets have been used and although I miss some of their old weapons & actions, what they've been replaced with is still great!

    Due to the long and costly process of dubbing over 120 characters, all speech is in Japanese. While most people enjoy this authenticity I wasn't so keen. It's not bad by any means but I've grown to like the terrible voice acting over the years and when you're in the middle of a fight it's not easy reading all the text that's being thrown at you.

    In terms of content WO3 beats any Warriors game, ever! After a whole night of battling my way through hordes of demons, I'd only just scratched the surface of unlockables and leveling up!

    Although there's still plenty of room for improvement, this has been the best game in the series I've ever played and as I said to begin with, if you're a fan, you're gonna love this.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    Great game, and the best in the Dynasty Warriors series so far. Ton's of characters, level-edit, online and co-op play. Don't listen to the "more of the same" comments, that isn't necessarily a bad thing. How many Madden games are there? Tiger Woods? Modern Warfare? Street Fighter? Dynasty warriors is a great franchise that does 1 thing better then any other game: Make you feel like a God. Full Review »
  3. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Power metal music looks so good when it used as soundtrack in this game. Very creative of arrangement soundtrack music. when "koei" develops new series of these games, they always have new amazing good power metal music in these games. maybe it what makes this game feels so good Full Review »